Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

561–580 of 842

Apr 28Tuesday

X · @claudeai

Claude Now Connects to Tools Creative Professionals Already Use

Claude added a Blender connector for scene debugging, tool building, and batch object edits from Claude. The post does not disclose versions, pricing, or rollout scope; the key issue is agent control boundaries inside DCC workflows.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Claude’s Blender connector is a concrete agent-tool expansion. Missing version, pricing, and rollout details keep it near the featured threshold, not a must-write.

Ben's Bites

Builders

Ben’s Bites published one newsletter on AI builders. It says OpenAI released GPT-5.5 at 2x GPT-5.4 pricing, with a claimed 40% token-efficiency gain. Claude Managed Agents memory entered public beta, and Cursor’s SpaceX/xAI deal includes a $60B 2026 purchase option.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: GPT-5.5 cost/efficiency figures, Claude Managed Agents Memory beta, and a Cursor deal term. It stays in 85–94 because this is a newsletter roundup, not a primary release.

Hacker News front page

GitHub Copilot code review will start consuming GitHub Actions minutes

GitHub will make Copilot code reviews consume GitHub Actions minutes starting June 1, 2026. Private-repo reviews use plan entitlements, with overages billed at standard Actions rates; public repos stay free. The change covers Copilot Pro, Pro+, Business, and Enterprise, including direct org billing for unlicensed users.

Why it matters: Official GitHub billing change for Copilot code review hits CI quotas and org invoices; HKR-H/K/R all pass, but it is a pricing rule, not a capability release, so it sits low in 72–77.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Agentic Creative Tools: From Photoshop Actions to Claude for Creative Work

Anthropic released 9 creative-tool Connectors for Claude for Creative Work. The post frames agentic creative tools around programmable APIs, connector protocols, and perceptual feedback loops. The post does not disclose the Connector list.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Claude creative agents have a clear hook, 9 connectors add a fact, and creator workflow pressure adds resonance. Missing connector names and access terms keep it below must-write.

Hacker News front page

Claude Pro: Opus Requires Extra Usage in Claude Code

Anthropic lists 6 Claude Code models, and Pro users need extra usage enabled and purchased to use Opus. The guide gives 3 configuration paths: /model, --model, and ANTHROPIC_MODEL in zsh or bash. The post does not disclose extra usage pricing or quotas.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the facts come from a help doc and cover Claude Code access/configuration, not a new model or major capability. Anthropic relevance lifts it to the lower featured band.

X · @dotey

GitHub Copilot switches to usage-based billing on June 1

GitHub Copilot will switch to AI Credits billing on June 1 while keeping subscription prices unchanged. Credits count input, output, and cached tokens; Pro includes $10 monthly credits and Pro+ includes $39. Watch Copilot Agent long-task costs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Copilot billing moves from subscription expectations to token/cache consumption with date and credit amounts. Single-source X context lacks enterprise details and overage rates, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

X · @dotey

Cursor 3 feedback: users want a reliable AI development workspace

Eric Zakariasson’s Cursor 3 feedback thread summarizes 431 replies, with users asking for a stable AI development workspace. Requests center on Agent Window retaining LSP, debugging, Git, terminal and diff workflows, plus multi-agent worktrees and model-cost transparency. The key issue is workflow reliability, not a flashier IDE.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: 431 user replies, concrete workflow requests, and strong resonance for Cursor users. Kept in the low featured band because this is feedback synthesis, not an official Cursor release or roadmap.

Hacker News front page

GitHub Copilot is moving to usage-based billing

GitHub said on 2026-04-27 that GitHub Copilot will move to usage-based billing. The captured post only shows the title, time, and navigation. It does not disclose the launch date, usage metric, prices, or overage rules.

Why it matters: GitHub Copilot billing affects a large developer base. HKR-H and HKR-R are strong, while HKR-K is limited to the usage-based mechanism with no date, metering unit, or price details disclosed.

Apr 27Monday

Mistral AI

Mistral AI opens public preview of Workflows

Mistral AI has put Workflows, its enterprise AI orchestration layer, into public preview. It offers durable execution, observability and human-in-the-loop approvals. ASML, ABANCA and CMA-CGM are already using it to automate critical processes.

Why it matters: It lays out Workflows' orchestration features, deployment model and customer cases, showing the engineering bar for enterprise AI processes.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Five Months After Altman’s Code Red, GPT Image 2 Tops Arena Image Rankings

GPT Image 2 topped three Arena image charts within 12 hours, scoring 1512 in text-to-image and beating Nano Banana 2 by 241 points. Arena calls it the largest Image Arena gap, with 93% blind-test wins and a 316-point text-rendering gain. The key shift is native thinking: planning, self-checking, web search, and 8 coherent images per run.

Why it matters: OpenAI GPT Image 2 topping three Arena image boards is a major multimodal update. HKR-H/K/R all pass, backed by concrete numbers: 1512 score, +241 lead, 93% blind win rate.

QbitAI · WeChat

DeepSeek V4 Cuts Prices Permanently; Cached Inputs Get 90% Off, Coding Test Costs Drop 83%

DeepSeek V4 cut prices twice in two days: input/output pricing is 75% lower, with cached inputs getting another 90% off. QbitAI’s coding test fell from 31.73 yuan for 35M tokens to 5.34 yuan under new pricing, an 83% drop. The key case is high cache-hit workloads, with V4-Pro at about 95–96% cache hits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek V4 pricing has a sharp cost hook, concrete test numbers, and strong cost resonance. It is still a pricing update, not a new model release, so it stays below the 85 P1 band.

QbitAI · WeChat

Meshy tops 10M users and moves into 3D printing as ARR rises 14x

Meshy says it passed 10M registered users, reached $40M ARR, and grew 2025 revenue 14x year over year. Meshy Creative Lab supports keychain, magnet, and keycap design; physical ordering is not live yet. The key signal is print fit: 97% slice-pass rate in Bambu Studio across 75 tested models.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook, revenue metrics, and print-readiness test are concrete. This is a vertical 3D AI product update from company disclosure, so it lands at the lower featured band.

Hacker News front page

The Prompt API

Chrome’s docs describe the Prompt API for calling built-in AI inside the browser. The page links to session management and structured output docs; the captured body does not disclose model, context window, pricing, or rollout details.

Why it matters: Chrome Prompt API clears HKR-H/K/R: native browser AI is a real hook, and session plus structured-output docs add usable detail. Model, context window, pricing, and release timing are not disclosed, keeping it in the lower featured band.

Synced · WeChat

From 99 Lines of Frozen Code to Meshy AI’s 3D Momentum in the West

Meshy AI released Meshy 6 and claims over 60% share in developed Western markets. The post says it has 10M+ users, $40M+ ARR, and 100M+ AI-generated 3D models in three years. The key signal is workflow fit: 37Games reports 30–40% less base sculpting work.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Meshy 6 has a clear founder/product hook, concrete traction metrics, and a production-labor angle. Kept in the low featured band because the market-share claim is company-sourced and no independent benchmark is disclosed.

Apr 26Sunday

Hacker News front page

DeepSeek-V4 on Day 0: From Fast Inference to Verified RL with SGLang and Miles

SGLang and Miles added day-0 inference and RL support for DeepSeek-V4, covering 1.6T Pro and 284B Flash. The post cites a 1M-token context, FP4 MoE expert weights, 128-token SWA, and 4:1 or 128:1 KV compression. The key systems detail is ShadowRadix coherence across three KV pools and two compression-state pools.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a DeepSeek-V4 day-0 systems stack, concrete context/compression mechanisms, and clear deployment-cost stakes. The systems depth narrows reach, but no hard-exclusion rule is triggered.

Apr 25Saturday

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Anthropic lets Claude Cowork run rival models, a stranger move than it looks

Anthropic added an April 22–23 Claude Cowork switch for GPT-5.5, Gemini 3.1 Pro, DeepSeek V4, or local models. The post says third-party deployments have no Anthropic seat fee, and Bedrock, Vertex, and gateway prompts stay outside Anthropic. The key fight is runtime and control plane: AWS, Google, and Microsoft bet on Agent Registry, Apigee, and Entra Agent ID.

Why it matters: All three HKR axes pass: the competitor-model switch is a strong hook, and the article gives billing and data-flow details. Capped below P1 because sourcing is unofficial, with no independent benchmark and a small Cowork base.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

TPU vs. CUDA: A Post-Cloud Next 2026 Assessment

Google announced TPU 8t/8i, TorchTPU, and an Anthropic deal at Cloud Next 2026; TPU 8i is slated for H2 2027 volume production. 8i has 288GB HBM, 8.6TB/s bandwidth, and 384MB SRAM; TorchTPU runs PyTorch on TPU, but the post says independent benchmarks are missing. The key crack is vLLM inference, while the author says TPU will not replace NVIDIA within 18-24 months.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: clear TPU-vs-CUDA rivalry, concrete 8i specs and TorchTPU details, and strong NVIDIA cost/supply resonance. No independent benchmark and H2 2027 production keep it in 78–84, not P1.

X · @dotey

Cursor 3 adds /multitask for parallel async sub-agents

Cursor 3 added /multitask and lets async sub-agents run in parallel. Queued tasks can also switch to parallel mode without waiting for the previous task to finish. The post does not disclose concurrency limits, resource usage, or failure rollback.

Hacker News front page

Google Flow Music

Google Flow Music launched a web creation entry with six sections: songs, playlists, Spaces, videos, projects, and Turntable. The page says Producer creates full songs with Lyria 3, and AI music videos use Veo. Pricing, regions, model specs, and rights terms are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: a Google AI music web product tying Lyria 3 and Veo is clickable, concrete, and competitive. Score stays in 72–77 because price, regions, rights, and model specs are not disclosed.

Hacker News front page

Could a Claude Code routine watch my finances?

Matt May used Claude Code routines with his Driggsby MCP server and Plaid to automate a daily finance email; he says the project took 2 months and about 75k lines of Rust. The post says the Gmail connector can only create drafts, so he added a restricted `email_me()` MCP tool that sends Markdown-only mail to a verified owner address. The practical angle is operability: routine behavior changes via prompt edits, and he already runs alerts on 7-day card anomalies and daily checking outflows over $500.

Why it matters: This is a strong first-person implementation write-up: Claude Code routines + Plaid, Gmail draft-only limits, a constrained email tool, and concrete anomaly rules. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but it is still a single product blog post rather than a lab or platform release, so it lands in