Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

581–600 of 842

Apr 25Saturday

X · @OpenAI

Update: GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.5 Pro are now available in the API

OpenAI has made two models, GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.5 Pro, available in the API. The post confirms availability only; it does not disclose pricing, context length, modalities, rate limits, or benchmark results. What matters is whether the API docs changed with this post.

Why it matters: OpenAI shipping GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.5 Pro into the API clears HKR-H and HKR-R: it is a high-attention model release with direct developer impact. HKR-K is weak because the post gives availability only; price, context, modalities, and benchmarks are not disclosed, so this stays at 1

Hacker News front page

OpenAI releases GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.5 Pro in the API

OpenAI added GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.5 Pro to its API docs, with the changelog page timestamped Apr 24, 2026. The post is effectively a navigation page with a “Latest: GPT-5.5” link; pricing, context window, benchmark scores, and regional availability are not disclosed.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI docs support HKR-H and HKR-R: a new API model pair immediately affects evals, routing, and spend. HKR-K is weak because the post lacks price, context window, benchmarks, and region details, so this stays near the featured floor.

Apr 24Friday

TechCrunch · AI

DeepSeek previews new AI model that ‘closes the gap’ with frontier models

DeepSeek previewed two new models and said architectural changes make them more efficient and higher-performing than DeepSeek V3.2, while nearly closing the gap with leading models on reasoning benchmarks. The RSS snippet discloses only that there are two models and that they outperform V3.2; model names, parameter counts, benchmark scores, test sets, and release timing are not disclosed. The key question is reproducible evals, because “closes the gap” comes without numbers.

Why it matters: A new-model preview from DeepSeek, a flagship Chinese lab, clears HKR-H and HKR-R on competitive relevance alone. HKR-K is weak because the story gives only 'two models' and 'better than V3.2' while model names, benchmark scores, test sets, and release timing are not disclosed,so

The Verge · AI

China’s DeepSeek previews new AI model a year after jolling US rivals

DeepSeek released a preview of its open-source V4 model on Friday and said it can compete with closed systems from Anthropic, Google, and OpenAI. The RSS snippet says V4 improves coding and highlights compatibility with Huawei tech; parameter count, benchmark scores, and rollout details are not disclosed. The part to watch is the pairing of agent-focused coding gains with tighter alignment to China’s domestic chip stack.

Why it matters: This is a flagship Chinese model update with HKR-H/K/R: a new open-source V4 preview, coding gains, and Huawei compatibility. It stays below the 85 band because the story withholds params, benchmark scores, and launch timing.

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek releases V4: 1.6T Pro, 284B Flash, MIT license, 1M context

DeepSeek released two open-weight V4 models: Pro at 1.6T total with 49B active, and Flash at 284B total with 13B active; both use an MIT license and support 1M context. The RSS snippet points to a Hugging Face collection and a tech report, but the post does not disclose benchmark scores, pricing, training data size, or real inference throughput. The key thing to watch is the 1M context plus low active-parameter ratio; if evals hold, self-hosted long-context and routing economics change materially.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is a flagship DeepSeek open release with two huge MIT-licensed weights and 1M context, strong enough for same-day coverage. The score stops at 86 because the provided text does not disclose benchmarks, throughput, training data, or pricing.

Latent Space

GPT 5.5 and OpenAI Codex Superapp

OpenAI launched GPT-5.5 for ChatGPT and Codex, while API access is delayed for safeguards. The post cites 82.7% Terminal-Bench 2.0, 58.6% SWE-Bench Pro, and a 1M API context window. The sharper signal is Codex: browser control and Prism integration point to a desktop superapp strategy.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: GPT-5.5 is a major OpenAI model update with benchmark numbers and API conditions. Codex plus browser control and Prism raises the coding-agent stakes; this fits the Claude 4.7-level 85–94 band.

X · @Yuchenj_UW

Finally, DeepSeek V4 is here!

DeepSeek announced DeepSeek V4 and says DeepSeek-V4-Pro uses an MIT license with 1.6T parameters and 49B active parameters. The snippet also claims DeepSeek-V4-Pro Max is close to Opus-4.6 Max and GPT-5.4 xHigh across benchmarks; the post does not disclose benchmark names, scores, release timing, or model weights. The key signal is the MIT license and 49B active scale, not the headline comparison.

Why it matters: This is a flagship DeepSeek model launch, and the MIT license plus 49B active scale make HKR-H/K/R pass. I keep it at 84, not p1, because the current source does not disclose benchmark names, exact scores, release timing, or a weights link.

X · @op7418

DeepSeek V4 detailed official announcement is out

DeepSeek says V4 Pro has 1.6T total parameters with 49B active, while Flash has 284B total and 13B active; both were pretrained on 32T tokens. Web and app Expert mode map to Pro, and Fast mode maps to Flash. The post also says several benchmarks are on par with Opus 4.6, with stronger agent ability and world knowledge, plus a new attention mechanism that reduces compute and memory demand.

Why it matters: This is a flagship DeepSeek release, scored on par with peer US lab model launches. HKR-H/K/R all pass on concrete scale numbers, 32T data, and an inference-efficiency mechanism; benchmark setup, pricing, and API availability are not disclosed in the summary.

X · @op7418

DeepSeek V4 arrives with Flash and Pro variants

DeepSeek released V4 with two variants, Flash and Pro. The RSS snippet says it supports JSON output, tool calling, dialogue prefix continuation, and FIM completion; Flash costs ¥0.2/¥1 per million input/output tokens, while Pro costs ¥1/¥12. At 1M context, output pricing doubles.

Hugging Face Blog

DeepSeek-V4: a million-token context that agents can actually use

DeepSeek released V4 with two MoE checkpoints, Pro and Flash, both supporting a 1M-token context. Pro has 1.6T total and 49B active parameters; Flash has 284B total and 13B active. The key detail is KV cost: Pro uses 27% of V3.2 single-token FLOPs and 10% of its KV cache; Flash uses 10% and 7%.

Why it matters: DeepSeek-V4 is a flagship Chinese model release with 1M-token context and KV cache at 7%–10% of V3.2. HKR-H/K/R all pass, placing it in the 85–94 same-day band.

The Verge · AI

Claude is connecting directly to personal apps like Spotify, Uber Eats, and TurboTax

Anthropic added personal app connectors to Claude, covering services such as Spotify, Uber, AllTrails, Instacart, and TurboTax. After connection, Claude can suggest relevant apps inside chats, such as using AllTrails for hike recommendations; the post does not disclose launch count, regions, or plan access. The key shift is Claude moving from work apps into personal consumer workflows.

Why it matters: This gets Anthropic’s positive signal: a substantive product update, but not a model release. HKR-H/K/R all pass because personal-app connectors are a strong hook, the story confirms in-chat app invocation, and it hits the fight for assistant entry points; missing pricing, region

X · @dotey

Anthropic launches memory for Claude Managed Agents in public beta

Anthropic has launched memory for Claude Managed Agents in public beta, letting agents retain and reuse experience across sessions. Memory is stored as files on a filesystem, with shared permissions, concurrent access, audit logs, and rollback; Rakuten reports a 97% drop in first-time errors, and Wisedocs reports 30% faster document validation. The key detail is the implementation path: it uses a filesystem, not a dedicated vector database.

Why it matters: Anthropic adds cross-session memory to Claude Managed Agents beta and discloses the implementation plus two user numbers: Rakuten 97% and Wisedocs 30%. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the scope is still limited to the managed-agent beta, so this lands at 83 and featured.

X · @claudeai

Memory on Claude Managed Agents is now in public beta

Claude has put Memory for Managed Agents into public beta, and agents can now learn from every session. The post only says it uses an intelligence-optimized memory layer balancing performance and flexibility; it does not disclose capacity, retention, pricing, or access conditions. What matters for practitioners is when persistent memory becomes default and how it changes agent evals and state management.

Why it matters: Memory on Claude Managed Agents is a substantive Anthropic product update with clear practitioner resonance, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. HKR-K is weak because the post omits capacity, retention, pricing, and default-on conditions, keeping it in low featured rather than p1.

Financial Times · Technology

Meta to cut 10% of jobs to offset Zuckerberg’s AI spending

Meta plans to cut 10% of jobs to offset Zuckerberg’s AI spending, and the RSS snippet says it plans to spend $135bn on data centres this year. The post does not disclose the employee base, timeline, affected teams, or AI project details.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because the headline frames a stark swap: 10% cuts for AI spending. HKR-K and HKR-R also land on two concrete figures and the jobs-vs-capex nerve, but body detail is thin—cut base, timing, and affected teams are not disclosed—so this is featured, not p1.

X · @dotey

Codex now supports GPT-5.5 and adds five capability upgrades

Codex now supports GPT-5.5 and adds 5 upgrades aimed at moving it from a coding tool to an agent that can execute longer tasks. The RSS snippet says it can control browsers and computers, create files in Microsoft Office and Google Drive, and use gpt-image-2; an auto-review mode invokes a separate review agent for high-risk actions. What matters is longer task chains, but the post does not disclose pricing, rollout scope, or safety thresholds.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Codex product update: the main signal is the shift toward an agent that can execute chained tasks, not just a new model toggle. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the item is second-hand and omits pricing, rollout scope, and safety thresholds, so it lands as featured,

X · @dotey

OpenAI launches GPT-5.5 for paid ChatGPT and enterprise users, with Codex; API coming soon

OpenAI launched GPT-5.5 for ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise users, alongside Codex. OpenAI says per-token latency matches GPT-5.4, while Terminal-Bench 2.0 rises to 82.7% from 75.1%; API pricing is $5 per 1M input tokens and $30 per 1M output tokens with a 1M-token context. The key detail is efficiency: the post says GPT-5.5 uses about half the total tokens of frontier rival coding models at the same intelligence level.

Why it matters: This is a core OpenAI model release with benchmark, pricing, and 1M-context details, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The title says the API is “coming soon” while the summary lists API pricing; that mismatch trims confidence slightly, but it still belongs in the must-write p1 band.

X · @claudeai

Claude can now connect to more apps outside work, including Tripadvisor, Booking.com, and Resy

Claude added at least 10 consumer app connections, including Tripadvisor, Booking.com, Resy, Instacart, Spotify, Audible, AllTrails, Thumbtack, and TurboTax. The RSS snippet confirms only a product update; the post does not disclose integration method, supported actions, regions, permission scope, or rollout timing. The key question is whether Claude can act in these apps directly, not just list them.

Why it matters: Official Anthropic product update with clear HKR-H/K/R: consumer app connectors expand Claude beyond workplace tools and widen its assistant surface. The score stays at 75 because the post lists apps only; actions, permissions, regions, and rollout details are not disclosed.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI releases GPT-5.5, bringing the company one step closer to an AI 'super app'

OpenAI released GPT-5.5 and said it moves ChatGPT one step closer to an AI “super app.” The RSS snippet only says the model improves across multiple categories; it does not disclose size, pricing, context window, benchmarks, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: An OpenAI GPT-5.5 launch is inherently high-signal, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass on novelty and market impact. HKR-K fails because the post gives no price, context window, benchmarks, or rollout scope; that keeps it at featured, not p1.

X · @OpenAI

Introducing GPT-5.5

OpenAI introduced GPT-5.5, and it is now available in ChatGPT and Codex. The RSS snippet says it targets real work and agents, can understand complex goals, use tools, check its work, and carry more tasks to completion; the post does not disclose parameters, pricing, context window, or benchmark results. What matters is the execution loop, not the headline's “new class of intelligence.”

Why it matters: OpenAI launching GPT-5.5 in ChatGPT and Codex is same-day mandatory coverage. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new model release, concrete agent-workflow claims, and direct impact on daily AI work. Price, context window, params, and benchmarks are undisclosed, so it stays below 95.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI says its new GPT-5.5 model is more efficient and better at coding

OpenAI announced GPT-5.5 and says it is more efficient and stronger at coding than GPT-5.4, which shipped last month. The RSS snippet says it handles coding, debugging, online research, and cross-tool work on spreadsheets and documents; the post does not disclose pricing, context window, or benchmark scores.

Why it matters: An OpenAI model release is same-day coverage, and the angle ties efficiency, coding, and tool use into one clear upgrade, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post does not disclose price, context window, or benchmark scores, which keeps it in the high 80s instead of 90+.