Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

621–640 of 842

Apr 22Wednesday

OpenAI News

Introducing workspace agents in ChatGPT

OpenAI introduced workspace agents in ChatGPT, describing them as Codex-powered agents that automate complex workflows in the cloud. The RSS snippet confirms secure work across tools for teams, but the post does not disclose pricing, availability, supported tools, or performance metrics.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update inside ChatGPT. HKR-H lands on the jump from chat to workspace agents, HKR-K on Codex-powered cloud execution across tools, and HKR-R on team workflow automation; the score stops at 86 because pricing, rollout, tool support, and metrics

OpenAI News

Speeding up agentic workflows with WebSockets in the Responses API

OpenAI says WebSockets in the Responses API speed up the Codex agent loop, using connection-scoped caching to cut API overhead and improve latency. The RSS snippet confirms the mechanism, but the post does not disclose latency deltas, throughput numbers, or workload conditions. The key point is transport-layer optimization, not a new model.

Why it matters: This is a developer-facing OpenAI product update at the systems layer: WebSockets plus connection-scoped caching target agent-loop round-trip cost. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post does not disclose latency gains, throughput, or workload bounds, so it stays mid-featured rather än

QbitAI · WeChat

SenseAuto's Sage with 3B active params claims to beat GPT-5.4 and Opus 4.6 in cars

SenseAuto released Sage, an in-car multimodal edge model with 32B total params and 3B active params, and says it scored 94% on PinchBench, above Claude Opus 4.6 at 93.3% and GPT-5.4 at 90.5%. The post says Sage runs on Nvidia OrinX with about 0.5s TTFT, 0.03s TPOT, and 80 tok/s throughput; its SCOUT training method cuts GPU hours by about 60%, and ERL raises complex-task completion by 20%. The key point is not the headline race but whether a 3B-active model can sustain multi-step tool use on device.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 3B-active-vs-GPT hook is strong, and the post gives concrete OrinX latency, throughput, and benchmark numbers. I keep it at 79 because the evidence is self-reported and the impact is narrower than a general model launch.

Synced · WeChat

Honor preinstalls YOYO Claw on MagicBook, calling it the world's first "agent laptop"

Honor said it preinstalls its YOYO Claw on MagicBook and claims 50% lower total token use than an OpenClaw setup. The post says it ships with 5 primary agents and 23 sub-agents, plus local processing, second-step confirmation, and kernel-level encryption. The practical angle is packaging agents as a device default, but the post does not disclose model names, hardware specs, pricing, or launch timing.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the factory-installed agent angle is novel, and the post includes concrete details on 5/23 agents, 50% token reduction, local handling, confirmation gates, and kernel-level encryption. It stops at 76 because the model, hardware, price, and ship date are not

Latent Space

OpenAI launches GPT-Image-2

OpenAI shipped GPT-Image-2 in ChatGPT, Codex, and the API. It has thinking and non-thinking variants, with stronger text, layout, editing, multilingual output, and QR codes. Arena ranks it first on 3 Image Arena boards, with 1512 Elo in text-to-image and a +242 lead.

Why it matters: OpenAI shipped GPT-Image-2 across ChatGPT/API/Codex with Arena #1 claims and 1512 T2I Elo. HKR-H/K/R all pass, so this lands in the 85–94 same-day band.

TechCrunch · AI

Meta will record employees’ keystrokes and use it to train its AI models

Meta says a new internal tool converts employees’ mouse movements and button clicks into training data for its AI models. The headline mentions keystrokes, but the post only discloses mouse and click signals, not collection scope, consent, or retention terms. The real issue is the missing internal data-governance detail.

Why it matters: HKR-H, K, and R all pass: Meta tying employee interaction data to model training is a strong, discussable story. I keep it at 80, not P1, because the body confirms mouse and click signals but does not disclose keystroke scope, consent, or retention.

X · @dotey

Anthropic quietly removed Claude Code from the $20 Pro plan on its pricing page without an announcement

Anthropic was spotted removing Claude Code from the $20 Pro plan on its pricing comparison page without an announcement. The snippet says help docs also removed the inclusion, while the Claude Code product page and support bot still say it is included, and some Pro users report access still works; the post does not disclose Anthropic’s formal explanation or effective date. The key issue is price floor: if confirmed, entry cost for Claude Code rises from $20 to $100 per month.

Why it matters: The story matters because it may raise Claude Code’s entry price from $20 to $100, giving it HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R. I keep it in featured, not higher, because Anthropic has not confirmed scope, timing, or treatment of existing Pro users.

Hacker News front page

Anthropic removes Claude Code from the $20/month Pro subscription for new users

Anthropic was reported to remove Claude Code from the $20/month Pro plan for new users, while saying existing Pro and Max subscribers are unaffected. The cited evidence: an April 10 archived help page said “Pro or Max plan,” the current page says “Max plan,” and Amol Avasare said this is a test on about 2% of new prosumer signups. The key issue is whether pricing shifts fully to Max or API billing; the post does not disclose retroactive scope or a final rollout timeline.

Why it matters: This clears all three HKR axes: the rollback is a strong hook, the post adds concrete evidence via help-page changes and a ~2% test, and it hits Claude users' cost and access concerns. Scope is still limited to new-user testing and no formal rollout timeline is disclosed, so it’s

X · @dotey

OpenAI launches ChatGPT Images 2.0, available to all ChatGPT and Codex users starting today

OpenAI made ChatGPT Images 2.0 available today to all ChatGPT and Codex users, and also opened the gpt-image-2 API. The RSS snippet says it supports up to 2K output, aspect ratios from 3:1 to 1:3, and more reliable non-English text rendering. In thinking mode, it can search the web, generate multiple styles, and self-check outputs; that tier is limited to Plus, Pro, and Business, with Enterprise not yet available.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update: ChatGPT Images 2.0 rolls into ChatGPT, Codex, and the gpt-image-2 API, with concrete facts on resolution, aspect ratios, and thinking-mode limits. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the source is a short repost-style summary and omits pricing and

X · @OpenAI

Introducing ChatGPT Images 2.0

OpenAI introduced ChatGPT Images 2.0 as an image model for complex visual tasks and directly usable visuals. The RSS snippet cites sharper editing, richer layouts, and “thinking-level intelligence,” but the post does not disclose model size, pricing, latency, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s official post makes this a source-authoritative product update, and the “Images 2.0” framing gives it HKR-H plus HKR-R. I kept it near the featured floor because the post lacks model details, pricing, latency, benchmarks, and rollout scope, so HKR-K fails.

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI unveils new image model that is better at charts and diagrams

OpenAI released an update to its image generation software to produce more accurate, complex charts and scientific diagrams. The RSS snippet does not disclose the model name, launch timing, pricing, benchmarks, or technical method. The real signal is a push into professional use cases, not generic image quality.

Why it matters: Bloomberg gives this a source-authority tiebreak: OpenAI is targeting a high-value weakness in image generation, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. HKR-K misses because the snippet lacks the model name, rollout, price, benchmarks, and mechanism, keeping it at the featured floor.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI’s updated image generator can now pull information from the web

OpenAI said ChatGPT Images 2.0 can pull information from the web when a thinking model is selected, helping generate multiple images from one prompt. It runs on GPT Image 2 and is available to ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise users; the post does not disclose rollout timing, usage limits, or pricing changes. The key shift is web-grounded multi-image generation, not just image quality.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI image update. HKR-H/K/R all pass because web-grounded generation plus multi-image output changes real workflows. I keep it at 75 because rollout timing, usage caps, and pricing changes are not disclosed.

X · @dotey

Google splits Gemini Deep Research into Deep Research and Deep Research Max

Google split Gemini Deep Research into Deep Research and Deep Research Max, with public preview starting today in paid Gemini API tiers. Both run on Gemini 3.1 Pro; one targets speed and cost, while Max runs longer with more compute and repeated search and reasoning. The update adds MCP support for sources such as FactSet, S&P, and PitchBook, plus files, code execution, and File Search; the post does not disclose pricing.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Google product update: Deep Research enters paid Gemini API preview with a standard/Max split for cost-speed vs longer-running compute. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but pricing, rate limits, and performance deltas are not disclosed, so it stays in the 78-84 band.

The Verge · AI

Celebrities will be able to find and request removal of AI deepfakes on YouTube

YouTube is expanding its AI deepfake monitoring tool to Hollywood celebrities, letting enrolled public figures find impersonation videos and request takedowns. Flags are reviewed under YouTube's privacy policy, so not every request is approved. The tool was tested with creators last fall and expanded to politicians and journalists in March; the post does not disclose rollout size or timing.

Why it matters: This is a meaningful platform-safety update, not model news: YouTube lets enrolled celebrities search for impersonation videos and request removal, with review under privacy rules. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the scope is still a mid-weight product update, so it lands at 74 and tier=

Apr 21Tuesday

QbitAI · WeChat

Mystery model Elephant: 100B parameters reaches same-scale SOTA with high token efficiency

Ant Group's Inclusion AI team is identified as the maker of Elephant, a 100B-parameter model with 256K context and 32K output shown on OpenRouter. The post reports tests on bug fixing, summarizing a 3,000-word meeting note, and a light agent loop, plus AI BENCHY figures of about 2,500 output tokens, about 1 second average latency, and 9.6/10 consistency; the post does not disclose training details, pricing, or an official model card.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a 100B model posting same-scale SOTA with token efficiency is a strong hook, and the piece includes 256K/32K, ~1s latency, 9.6/10 consistency, plus failure cases. It stays below p1 because training details, pricing, and an official model card are not disclosed

Hacker News front page

CrabTrap: An LLM-as-a-judge HTTP proxy to secure agents in production

Brex open-sourced CrabTrap, an HTTP proxy that intercepts every agent request and allows or blocks it against a policy in real time. The page shows a dual path of static rules plus an LLM judge, and logs whether each decision came from rule matching or model judgment; the post does not disclose the model, latency overhead, or error rates.

Why it matters: This lands on HKR-K and HKR-R, with HKR-H from the 'LLM-as-a-judge HTTP proxy' hook. The open-source artifact and execution-layer mechanism are concrete, but the post does not disclose the judge model, latency overhead, or false-positive rate, so it stays in the high 70s.

Ben's Bites

That's My Designer - Claude

Anthropic added a Design tab to Claude that asks 5-10 interactive questions, then builds wireframes or high-fidelity prototypes. The post says image-to-design works well; in research preview it has separate limits, and the $20 plan appears to allow only 2-3 large generations per week. The sharper point is usability: the author says Claude Cowork depends on connectors and plugins that average users may not find.

Why it matters: Anthropic adding a Design tab to Claude is a clear hook for a Claude-heavy audience. The post includes first-hand, testable details—5-10 interaction turns and only 2-3 large generations per week on the $20 plan—so HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is still a single-feature update, not

Synced · WeChat

Sergey Brin revives founder mode? Google forms a strike team to focus on AI coding

Google has formed an AI coding strike team led by Sebastian Borgeaud, with Sergey Brin and Koray Kavukcuoglu directly involved, to improve long-context coding and internal code automation. The pressure signal cited is that Google said about 50% of its code is written by coding agents and reviewed by engineers, while Anthropic staff claimed 100% code use by Claude Code and Opus 4.5; the post does not disclose team size, launch timing, or the exact Google model version. The key issue is whether Google can turn private codebase training into stronger public models.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the founder-return angle is clickable, and the piece includes Google's ~50% agent-written-code claim. It stays below p1 because no public launch is disclosed, and team size, timing, and model version are missing.

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT Images 2.0

OpenAI introduced ChatGPT Images 2.0 as a new image generation model, highlighting better text rendering, multilingual support, and visual reasoning. The RSS snippet names only these three upgrades; the post does not disclose architecture, resolution, pricing, latency, or availability. What matters is whether text fidelity and multilingual consistency improve in real use; for now, only headline-level details are disclosed.

Why it matters: A primary-source OpenAI image update clears HKR-H and HKR-R: the 2.0 label and text-rendering claim hit real workflows. HKR-K is weak because the post discloses only three upgrade areas; resolution, price, latency, architecture, and rollout are absent, so it stays just above the

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

OpenAI launches Chronicle research preview for Codex with screen context

OpenAI launched Chronicle research preview for Codex on April 21. It is limited to ChatGPT Pro users on Mac and reads recent screen context to reduce repeated background prompts. OpenAI says data is “primarily processed locally,” but the post says some cases use cloud help; The Next Web reports screenshots are uploaded and local memories are unencrypted, while upload share and retention time are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because Codex can read recent screen state, not just pasted prompts. HKR-K lands on concrete constraints—ChatGPT Pro only, Mac only, local-first with some cloud assist—and HKR-R lands on the workflow/privacy nerve for coding agents. Research-preview scope keeps it at