Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

641–660 of 842

Apr 21Tuesday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Huawei launches Pura X Max with debut Xiaoyi companion AI

Huawei launched Pura X Max on April 20 and debuted Xiaoyi companion AI on HarmonyOS 6.1. The post says it can be invoked by double-tapping the nav bar or voice, read screen content with consent, collect tasks across apps into Calendar, and connect with Amap and Didi. The key point is system-level cross-app access and persistent side-panel UX; the post does not disclose price, model specs, or coverage.

Why it matters: It clears all three HKR axes: the OS-side companion AI is a strong hook, and the post gives concrete mechanisms like consent-gated screen reading and cross-app task collection. I kept it in featured, not higher, because price, model details, and rollout coverage are not disclosed

X · @dotey

GitHub paused new sign-ups for Copilot Pro, Pro+, and Student on April 20

GitHub paused new sign-ups for Copilot Pro, Pro+, and Student on April 20, leaving only Copilot Free open to new users. The post says Pro+ now has more than 5x Pro usage, Claude Opus 4.7 is limited to Pro+, and users can request cancellation with a full April refund from Apr 20 to May 20. What matters is the price stayed fixed while access, quotas, and model tiers tightened first.

Why it matters: This is not a capability launch; it is a meaningful Copilot packaging clampdown on entry, quotas, and model access. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the unexpected restrictions, concrete tier changes, and direct developer impact, but the source is an X post rather than a primary GitHub note

Hacker News front page

OpenAI ad partner now selling ChatGPT ad placements based on "prompt relevance"

The headline says an OpenAI ad partner is already selling ChatGPT ad placements using “prompt relevance” for targeting. The link points to an Adweek report on StackAdapt, but only an RSS snippet is provided. The post does not disclose placement, auction logic, pricing, reach, or launch timing; the key issue is whether chat context is becoming ad inventory.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: selling ChatGPT ads by prompt relevance is a sharp hook that touches monetization and trust. HKR-K is weak because the report, as surfaced here, does not disclose placement, auction, pricing, scale, or launch timing, so this stays low-featured.

X · @claudeai

In Cowork, Claude can now build live artifacts: dashboards and trackers connected to your apps and files

Claude added live artifact building in Cowork, letting users create dashboards and trackers tied to apps and files. Opening an artifact refreshes current data; the post does not disclose supported apps, file sources, or permission controls.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is live artifacts that connect to apps/files and refresh on open. This is a substantive Claude workflow update and gets the Claude bump, but the post omits connector scope, permission model, and rollout details, so it lands in the high 70s, not p1.

Bloomberg Technology

Google to Release New AI Chips, Challenging Nvidia | Bloomberg Tech 4/20/2026

Google plans to release new AI chips focused on inference, directly challenging Nvidia. The RSS snippet confirms the inference focus, but the post does not disclose launch timing, model names, performance, pricing, or customers. The real signal is rising competition on inference silicon supply, not the show's other rocket or IPO items.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass because this frames a direct Google-vs-NVIDIA challenge in inference chips. HKR-K is weak: the report confirms the inference focus only; model name, performance, price, timing, and customer scope are not disclosed.

X · @dotey

OpenAI adds Chronicle to Codex, letting it read screen context

OpenAI added Chronicle to Codex and is rolling it out to ChatGPT Pro users on macOS; it uses periodic screenshots, OCR, and tool detection to turn recent screen activity into memory. The memory is stored as plain Markdown in ~/.codex/memories_extensions/chronicle, and the EU, UK, and Switzerland are excluded; OpenAI says screenshots are uploaded for processing, deleted afterward, and not used for training. The part to watch is risk: the background agent can burn rate limits, local plain-text files widen exposure, and OpenAI warns it amplifies prompt-injection from malicious webpages.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the screen-watching memory angle is novel, and the post includes testable details like OCR, plaintext local storage, region limits, and deletion claims. The limited macOS ChatGPT Pro rollout keeps it in the 78–84 band rather than p1.

Bloomberg Technology

Google to Release New Inference-Focused Chips

Google plans to announce a new generation of custom TPUs this week, aimed at AI inference workloads. The RSS snippet confirms only the timing and chip focus; model names, performance, power, and pricing are not disclosed. Watch inference cost and supply, not the headline alone.

Why it matters: HKR-H passes because Google frames the TPU around inference; HKR-R passes because inference cost and supply are live industry nerves. HKR-K fails: Bloomberg confirms timing and positioning only, with no model, perf, power, or price, so this stays in the 72-77 featured band at 74.

The Verge · AI

Fortnite developers can make AI characters now — just don’t try to date them

Epic Games is rolling out a “conversations” tool for Fortnite creators, turning island NPCs into AI characters that can talk with players in unscripted ways. The snippet says creators define persona, knowledge, behavior, and voice with prompts; the title says don’t try to date them, but the post does not disclose the exact guardrails or moderation system.

Why it matters: This is a mid-weight product update that gives Fortnite creators AI NPC conversation tooling. It clears all three HKR axes, but moderation rules, pricing, and base model details are not disclosed, so it stays at the low end of featured.

Latent Space

Training Transformers to Address the 95% Failure Rate in Cancer Trials — Noetik

Noetik uses TARIO-2 to predict tumor spatial transcriptomics, targeting a 95% cancer-trial failure rate. GSK signed a $50M technology deal, and TARIO-2 predicts a ~19,000-gene spatial map from routine H&E assays. The key issue is patient-tumor-treatment matching, not the claim that AI cures cancer.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the hook ties 95% cancer-trial failure to transformer matching, with TARIO-2 predicting ~19k spatial genes from H&E and a $50M GSK deal. Vertical AI productization, not a general model release, keeps it at featured threshold.

Apr 20Monday

Synced · WeChat

In the first year of “deployment mode,” AgiBot expanded its rollout plans to seven solutions

AgiBot said at its April 17 Shanghai event that it released 4 robots, 6 AI models, and 7 standardized deployment solutions, and framed 2026 as the first year of embodied AI “deployment mode.” The post cites concrete metrics: Expedition A3 runs 8-10 hours, WITA Omni 1.0 targets sub-500ms interaction latency, and BFM was trained on 100 million-plus frames and 700 hours of motion-capture data; it also claims 5,100-plus shipments and 39% share in 2025, with the 10,000th robot rolling off in March 2026. The real point for practitioners is repeatable delivery rather than launch volume: the post lists 7 scenarios from 3C line loading to patrol, but independent validation details are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story leads with seven deployment playbooks and backs it with shipment, share, latency, and training figures. It stays at 76 because key outcome claims are company-sourced; customer impact and independent validation are not disclosed.

Bloomberg Technology

China’s Netflix iQiyi Goes All-In on AI Content in Big Overhaul

iQiyi has begun the biggest overhaul in its 16-year history, aiming for AI to generate a sizable share of films and shows from scratch someday soon. The RSS snippet gives only that direction; the post does not disclose models, spending, content share, or launch timing. The real signal is the scale of the reorganization, not the slogan.

Why it matters: Bloomberg source authority pushes this above the featured line: a major streamer tying its biggest overhaul in 16 years to AI-generated content lands HKR-H and HKR-R. HKR-K is weak because the feed gives no model, budget, content share, or launch timing, so it stays at 74.

Apr 19Sunday

Synced · WeChat

Amap debuts an autonomous embodied robot at the Yizhuang Marathon and showcases guide-assistance

Amap showed its quadruped robot Tutu at the 2026 Yizhuang humanoid half marathon, claiming it completed a guide-assistance obstacle task in an open environment without preset routes or teleoperation. The post says its ABot stack includes ABot-N0, which reached SOTA on 7 navigation benchmarks with 88.3% on SocNav, and ABot-M0, which scored 80.5% on Libero-Plus. The key point is the integrated stack across navigation, manipulation, world modeling, and closed-loop correction; the post does not disclose guide-task test scope, commercialization timing, or safety incident data.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the marathon blind-guidance demo is novel, and the story includes ABot stack details with 88.3% SocNav and 80.5% Libero-Plus. Kept at 80, not higher, because safety incidents, deployment scope, and commercialization timing are not disclosed.

QbitAI · WeChat

Amap unveiled ABot, its first full-stack embodied AI stack for AGI, and claimed 15 SOTA results

Amap unveiled embodied AI stack ABot and claimed SOTA on 15 metrics. The post says ABot-3DGS builds 10k-scale 3D scenes from centimeter-level map data, while ABot-PhysWorld uses a 14B DiT and 3M real manipulation videos. What matters is the interactive world model and VLA loop; the post does not disclose the 15 benchmarks, exact metrics, or the open-source timeline and scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle is surprising, and the post includes concrete mechanisms and numbers. It stays below the 80s because the claimed 15 SOTAs lack benchmark names, and the open-source scope and timeline are not disclosed.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Amap unveiled ABot-Claw and its quadruped robot Tutu at the Yizhuang Half Marathon

Amap unveiled the ABot-Claw agent system and the quadruped robot Tutu, claiming an autonomous guide-dog demo in the 2026 Yizhuang robot half marathon. The post gives three concrete numbers: ABot-M0 reached 80.5% on Libero-Plus, nearly 30% above Pi0; ABot-N0 hit SOTA on 7 navigation benchmarks; the open UniACT dataset contains 6 million trajectories and 9,500+ hours. What matters is Map as Memory, cloud-edge control, and closed-loop self-correction; the post does not disclose race ranking, pricing, or launch timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the open-environment half-marathon demo is a strong hook, and the post includes concrete benchmark numbers plus a 6M-trajectory release. Kept below p1 because rank, pricing, ship date, and independent replication are not disclosed, and the impact is narrower a

Apr 18Saturday

Synced · WeChat

Claude Design enters research preview for generating mockups, prototypes, and slides

Anthropic launched Claude Design in research preview for Claude Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise users, covering mockups, prototypes, slides, and one-pagers. Powered by Claude Opus 4.7, it can ingest codebases, images, DOCX, PPTX, XLSX, and web captures, then export to Canva, PDF, PPTX, and HTML; the headline cites Figma and Adobe stock drops, but the post does not disclose the moves. The real signal is the workflow link from design system ingestion to handoff into Claude Code.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the design-workflow angle is novel, the post gives concrete mechanism details, and the Figma/Adobe pressure point resonates. I keep it below 85 because the stock-drop claim has no numbers and there is no user test, pricing, or adoption data.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Claude Opus 4.7 splits users 48 hours after launch: benchmark lead, reasoning tests drop

Anthropic's Claude Opus 4.7 drew split reactions within 48 hours: Artificial Analysis scored it at 57, tied for No.1, while NYT Connections Extended fell from 94.7% on 4.6 to 41.0%. The post says a new tokenizer raises token usage to 1.0-1.35x on the same text, and old thinking parameters can return 400 errors; Anthropic also cites a 1753 Elo GDPval-AA score, 79 points above No.2. The real issue is migration cost and capability trade-offs, not a single leaderboard.

Why it matters: The signal is not the “backlash” framing but the four concrete shifts: benchmark lead, reasoning drop, higher token use, and API breakage. HKR-H/K/R all land, but this is secondary analysis 48 hours after launch, not the primary Anthropic release, so it stays below p1.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Bilibili debate: Hermes responds to plagiarism claims for the first time, as MiniMax moves early on Harness

MiniMax says its M2.7 model now handles 30%-50% of daily workflows in its RL team, ran over 100 self-optimization loops, and improved evals by 30%. The post also says Hermes Agent grew from 2B to nearly 300B daily tokens, while M2.7 exceeds 25B daily tokens on OpenRouter; Hermes lead Tommy Eastman denied copying EvoMap in a livestream. The real signal is Harness: the post cites 20-40ms or 80ms sandbox startup and 15k to 600k instances per minute, showing competition is shifting from benchmark scores to agent execution infrastructure.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the plagiarism-response angle pulls clicks, and the story carries concrete metrics on workflow share, self-optimization loops, sandbox latency, and concurrency. It stays at 83 because this is a dense secondary report, not a primary launch or official technical

Hacker News front page

Show HN: AI Subroutines – Run automation scripts inside your browser tab

rtrvr.ai introduced AI Subroutines, which turn a recorded browser task into a callable tool and replay it at zero token cost and zero LLM inference delay. The script runs inside the active tab, reusing auth, CSRF, TLS sessions, and signed headers; recording trims about 300 requests to about 5 and falls back to DOM-only when GraphQL operation IDs are volatile. The part to watch is batching: one LLM call can assign parameters for a 500-row sheet and launch 500 subroutines.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is zero-token browser automation, the post gives concrete mechanics (300→5 requests, DOM fallback, 500-row fan-out), and it hits agent reliability/cost pain. Kept to mid-featured because it is a single-company Show HN post, not a market-wide event.

X · @dotey

Anthropic launches Claude Design, a conversational design generation product

Anthropic released Claude Design in research preview and is rolling it out to Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise subscribers. Powered by Claude Opus 4.7, it can start from text, images, docs, or web clips, then iterate via chat, comments, direct edits, and sliders. On first use it reads a team's codebase and design files to build a design system; outputs export to Canva, PDF, PPTX, or standalone HTML, with one-click handoff to Claude Code.

Why it matters: Anthropic pushes Claude into a new design workflow, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post includes rollout tiers, model name, first-run design-system ingest, and export paths; strong featured story, but still a gradual research preview rather than a top-tier model release.

Apr 17Friday

X · @op7418

The previously leaked Claude design tool is now live

Claude has launched a design tool that can generate web pages, app prototypes, and PPTs, based on an RSS snippet. The snippet confirms PPT export and export to Canvas; the product name, pricing, plan access, and regional limits are not disclosed. The key shift is from chat output to design artifact generation and export.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Claude product move: web/app/PPT generation plus PPT and Canvas export support HKR-H/K/R. Source authority is thin—a single X post and RSS summary—and the name, price, plan, and geo are undisclosed, so it stays at the floor of featured.