Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

601–620 of 842

Apr 23Thursday

X · @op7418

Claude desktop can connect to third-party inference services via developer mode

The post claims Claude desktop can enable developer mode while signed out, then use an API base URL and key to connect third-party inference services. It lists Help → Troubleshooting → Enable developer mode, then after restart configure third-party inference under Developer and apply locally. The key point is that this looks like a client-side entry point; the post does not disclose Anthropic's support status or model scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hidden developer mode is novel, reproducible, and relevant to lock-in. I keep it at 74 because this is a single X post; Anthropic has not confirmed scope, supported models, or official policy.

The Verge · AI

Microsoft launches 'vibe working' in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint

Microsoft is rolling out Agent Mode in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint this week, extending Copilot from a Q&A assistant to an agent that can act directly on the document canvas. Sumit Chauhan said earlier foundation models were not strong enough for app control; the post does not disclose rollout scope, pricing, or exact actions.

Why it matters: Microsoft moving Agent Mode into Word, Excel, and PowerPoint clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is strong, the mechanism is new, and the Office install base makes it resonate. But rollout scope, pricing, and the exact action list are undisclosed, so it stays below the 85+ band.

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5.5

OpenAI introduced GPT-5.5 and says it targets complex cross-tool tasks such as coding, research, and data analysis. The RSS snippet only confirms “faster” and “more capable”; the post does not disclose benchmarks, context window, pricing, release timing, or availability, which are the details practitioners should watch.

Why it matters: An OpenAI flagship-model release is same-day news, so HKR-H and HKR-R are clear. HKR-K fails because the post discloses the name and use cases but not benchmarks, context window, price, or availability, so this stays featured rather than p1.

Bloomberg Technology

Alibaba Adds China Eastern Flight Booking to Flagship Qwen App

Alibaba added China Eastern flight booking to the Qwen app, letting users book flights directly; the snippet says this is the first time its agentic AI tech has opened to a major commercial partner. The RSS snippet does not disclose launch regions, fare classes, payment flow, or revenue terms. The real signal is Qwen moving from chat entry to transaction flow, not just another assistant feature.

Why it matters: Featured on HKR-H/K/R: Qwen moves from answers to booking, a concrete agent-commerce step. Kept at 76 because the brief does not disclose rollout scope, payment flow, rev-share, or fulfillment details.

X · @dotey

Microsoft makes Copilot Agent Mode the default in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint

Microsoft made Copilot Agent Mode the default experience in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, available now to Microsoft 365 Copilot and Premium subscribers, including Personal and Family plans. Microsoft reports internal test gains: Excel engagement up 67% and approval up 65%, Word engagement up 52%, and PowerPoint new-user retention up 36%. What matters is that multi-step in-document execution is now the default, with preview and rollback controls.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the default flip is the hook, the post includes rollout scope, concrete pilot metrics, and preview/keep/revert controls, and the Office distribution angle will get discussed. I keep it at 84 because this is a large product update, not a new model release or

Hugging Face Blog

How to Use Transformers.js in a Chrome Extension

Hugging Face published a guide for a Transformers.js Chrome extension using Gemma 4 E2B. It defines three MV3 entry points: background service worker, side panel, and content script. The key design keeps local inference in the background and uses messaging plus a tool loop.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Hugging Face implementation tutorial, not a model or platform release. Score sits at the featured threshold for a concrete MV3 architecture walkthrough.

Financial Times · Technology

Tesla boosts spending plans to $25bn as Musk doubles down on AI bet

Tesla raised its spending plan to $25bn, with Musk directing more capital toward AI-linked projects. The RSS snippet names self-driving taxis, trucks, robots, and chip factories, and says the increase will be “very significant”; the post does not disclose the time frame, line items, or model details. The key signal is that Tesla is funding a full stack, not just model training.

Why it matters: FT reports a concrete capex jump to $25bn tied to robotaxis, trucks, robots and chip factories. HKR-H/K/R all pass on scale and strategic relevance, but missing timing, line-item spend and model specifics keep it in mid-featured, not must-write.

X · @claudeai

Interactive charts and diagrams are now in Claude Cowork

Anthropic says Claude Cowork now supports interactive charts and diagrams, available in beta on all paid plans. The RSS snippet confirms only 2 facts: feature type and plan scope; the post does not disclose supported formats, editing flow, rollout timing, or permission limits.

Why it matters: This is low-end featured on source authority and Claude audience fit. HKR-H comes from the interactive-chart hook, HKR-K from beta access for all paid plans; HKR-R is weak because formats, editability, and permission model are not disclosed.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI now lets teams make custom bots that can do work on their own

OpenAI opened ChatGPT cloud “workspace” agents to Business, Enterprise, Edu, and Teachers plans, letting teams build custom bots for business tasks. Examples include finding product feedback on the web and sending a report to Slack, plus drafting follow-up sales emails in Gmail; the post does not disclose pricing, rollout details, or capability limits. The real shift is workflow execution inside ChatGPT, not a one-off chat reply.

Why it matters: OpenAI moves ChatGPT from chat into team workflow agents, so HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is strong, the post adds plan coverage and task examples, and it hits enterprise automation demand. It stops short of P1 because price, rollout detail, and capability boundaries are not disl

X · @dotey

OpenAI launches ChatGPT Workspace Agents for cross-tool enterprise workflow automation

OpenAI released ChatGPT Workspace Agents as a research preview for ChatGPT Business, Enterprise, Edu, and Teachers paid plans. The snippet says agents can connect Slack, Gmail, Google Drive, Salesforce, Notion, Linear, and Atlassian, and take actions like updating tickets, creating docs, and replying in Slack. The key point is admin controls for permissions, approvals, and monitoring; the post does not disclose pricing, quotas, or rollout regions.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update: ChatGPT now offers cross-tool workspace agents with named enterprise integrations, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. I keep it at 86 because it is still a research preview and pricing, quotas, and rollout regions are not disclosed.

Latent Space

Shopify’s AI Phase Transition: 2026 Usage Explosion, Unlimited Opus-4.6 Budget, Tangle

Shopify CTO Mikhail Parakhin detailed its AI stack across 3 projects: Tangle, Tangent, and SimGym. The post says Shopify is a 20-year, $200B software company, but does not disclose exact 2026 usage figures. The key shift is from code generation to review, CI/CD, and deployment stability.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the CTO interview has a clear hook, names internal tools, and maps the coding-agent bottleneck to review and CI/CD. Missing usage numbers keep it in 78–84, not P1.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI: Workspace agents for business

OpenAI is offering Workspace agents in research preview for ChatGPT Business, Enterprise, Edu, and Teachers plans. The page says agents can run on schedules, use tools like Slack, Google Drive, and Microsoft apps, and support approval gates, audit logs, and role-based access control; pricing, model details, and rollout timing are not disclosed.

Hacker News front page

Website streamed live directly from a model

Flipbook generates an entire clickable website in real time with an image model, where each page is a pixel image and every click spawns a deeper image. The post says all on-screen text is drawn by the image model with no HTML or text overlays, and content comes from agentic web search plus model knowledge. The key point is the interaction model, not a standard generative UI; the live video stream remains an experimental, resource-heavy toggle.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a live, clickable site rendered entirely as model-generated pixels is a strong hook, and the post explains the mechanism (no HTML/text overlay, agentic web search). Kept at 76 because latency, cost, model stack, and usage are not disclosed.

X · @OpenAI

Introducing workspace agents in ChatGPT—shared agents for complex tasks and long-running workflows

OpenAI announced workspace agents in ChatGPT, described as shared agents that work across tools and teams for complex and long-running workflows. Only the title and RSS snippet are disclosed; the post does not disclose supported tools, pricing, access tier, permission model, or rollout timing. The key issue to watch is the collaboration boundary of shared agents, not the headline claim alone.

Hacker News front page

Introducing Parallel Agents in Zed

Zed released Parallel Agents on April 22, 2026, letting multiple agents run in parallel in one window. The new Threads Sidebar sets per-thread folder and repo access, and supports stop, archive, and new-thread actions; the new default layout is opt-in for existing users. The key detail is permission scoping and thread orchestration, not just “multiple agents.”

Why it matters: First-party product update with clear HKR-H/K/R: parallel agents in one window plus thread-level repo and folder access control. It stays in the mid-70s because the post gives no performance delta, pricing impact, adoption data, or external validation; this is still a single-tool

TechCrunch · AI

AI Overviews are coming to your work Gmail

Google is bringing AI Overviews to work Gmail to generate instant summaries across multiple emails. The RSS snippet confirms only cross-email summarization; the post does not disclose rollout timing, pricing tier, or model details. The key shift is aggregation beyond a single thread.

Why it matters: HKR-K and HKR-R pass: Google adds cross-email summaries to enterprise Gmail, a core work workflow. HKR-H is weaker, and rollout timing, plan scope, and model details are undisclosed, so this stays low-featured rather than P1.

The Verge · AI

Google Meet will take AI notes for in-person meetings too

Google expanded Gemini notetaking to in-person meetings and added support for Zoom and Microsoft Teams. The post confirms summaries and transcripts; in-person support had previously been limited to Android alpha users. Google also says it works for impromptu meetings outside meeting rooms, which matters because the recorder is no longer confined to native Meet calls.

Apr 22Wednesday

OpenAI News

Making ChatGPT better for clinicians

OpenAI is making ChatGPT for Clinicians free for verified U.S. physicians, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists. The RSS snippet says it supports clinical care, documentation, and research; the post does not disclose model version, pricing limits, launch timing, or verification steps. The real signal is access expanding to individual clinicians, not just enterprise buyers.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the unusual angle: OpenAI is offering a clinician-specific ChatGPT tier free to verified U.S. practitioners. HKR-K and HKR-R also pass, but the post omits model version, rollout timing, pricing limits, and verification details, so this scores as a meaningful access

The Verge · AI

Meta will track employees’ computer activity to train its AI agents

Meta is installing its MCI tool on US employees’ computers and using mouse movements, clicks, keystrokes, and occasional screenshots from work apps and sites to train AI agents. Reuters says the data is meant to teach models to operate computers more like humans and automate tasks employees already do; Meta says it will not be used for performance reviews. The key gap is scope: the post discloses US staff and work contexts, but not retention, opt-out, or full rollout details.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the surveillance-for-agents hook. HKR-K lands on concrete collection details: US staff, mouse/keyboard events, occasional screenshots. HKR-R lands on privacy plus job-automation nerves. Strong reporting, but not a shipped product or model release, and key scope/ret

r/LocalLLaMA

ServiceNow-AI/SuperApriel-15B-Instruct · Hugging Face

ServiceNow released SuperApriel-15B-Instruct, a single-checkpoint 15B model with 8 deployment presets spanning 1.0× to 10.7× decode throughput at 32K sequence length. It has 48 decoder layers with 4 mixer variants per layer and up to 262K context positions depending on runtime; the key point is that speed-quality tradeoffs and speculative decoding are exposed from the same weights.

Why it matters: A single checkpoint spanning 8 deployment presets with 1.0x-10.7x decode throughput gives strong HKR-H and HKR-K, and the serving tradeoff gives HKR-R. The blast radius is narrower: this is a 15B inference-focused release, not a frontier-lab flagship update, so 76 and featured.