Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

661–680 of 842

Apr 17Friday

Hacker News front page

Introducing Claude Design by Anthropic Labs

Anthropic launched Claude Design on April 17, 2026, in research preview for Claude Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise subscribers. Powered by Claude Opus 4.7, it generates designs from text, images, DOCX, PPTX, XLSX, and codebases, and exports to Canva, PDF, PPTX, or HTML. The key detail is its one-step handoff bundle to Claude Code; the post does not disclose standalone pricing beyond existing plan limits.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Anthropic product launch, not a routine feature add. HKR-H/K/R all pass on novelty, concrete deployment details, and workflow resonance; the research-preview scope and limited pricing detail keep it at 84 instead of p1.

X · @claudeai

Introducing Claude Design by Anthropic Labs: make prototypes, slides, and one-pagers by talking to Claude

Anthropic Labs launched Claude Design in research preview for Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise plans, letting users create prototypes, slides, and one-pagers by talking to Claude. The post says it runs on Claude Opus 4.7, Anthropic’s most capable vision model; the post does not disclose pricing, output constraints, or a detailed rollout schedule. The thing to watch is the interactive design workflow, not just another writing surface.

Why it matters: This is a first-party Anthropic capability launch, and HKR-H/K/R all pass: Claude expands from chat into prototypes, slides, and one-pagers, with paid tiers and Opus 4.7 named. It stays below p1 because price, export limits, and rollout timing are not disclosed.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

AgiBot says robots have entered the deployment phase with 8-hour continuous factory work

At APC 2026 on April 17, AgiBot defined 2026 as year one of the “deployment phase” and said its robots had run for 8 hours on a real production line. The clearest case in the post is Genie G2 at Longcheer’s Nanchang factory: 2,283 loading tasks, over 99.5% success, and 18-20 seconds per cycle; these figures are company disclosures, and the post does not disclose independent audit results. The real signal is scale and line integration: AgiBot said it shipped over 5,100 units in 2025 and reached 10,000 cumulative units by March 2026, while Longcheer plans nearly 1,000 deployments.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the 'demo is over' angle is clickable, and the post gives testable factory data—8 hours, 2,283 runs, >99.5% success, 18-20s cycle. Not P1 because the evidence is company-reported and the article shows no independent audit or cross-site replication.

X · @dotey

Seedance 2.0 API is now available on Volcano Engine and BytePlus

Volcano Engine has released the Seedance 2.0 API for enterprises, individual developers, and overseas users via BytePlus; China pricing is RMB 46 per million tokens, or about RMB 1 per second for pure video generation. The post says it supports text, image, audio, and video inputs, plus face verification, portrait authorization, and 10,000+ preset avatars for workflow automation; overseas pricing is not disclosed here. The part to watch is orchestration: the post cites up to 10x efficiency gains, but does not disclose a common benchmark or model specs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the overseas rollout is a real hook, and the post includes usable pricing and modality details for practitioners. It stays at 74 because this is an API availability update, not a major model launch, and the post does not disclose model params, benchmark method

X · @op7418

Seedance 2.0 API is now fully open

Volcano Engine has opened the Seedance 2.0 API to domestic users, while BytePlus serves overseas access; the API currently accepts 4 input modalities: text, image, audio, and video. The post also confirms face registration, portrait authorization, and preset virtual avatars, but does not disclose pricing, rate limits, model variants, or regional availability. The real watchpoint is whether video-agent workflows can be wired through Skills and MCP, not the ecosystem rhetoric.

Why it matters: This is a real product update from ByteDance’s stack: HKR-H on full API availability, HKR-K on 4-modal input and consent mechanics, and HKR-R on builder demand for deployable video APIs. I keep it at 75 because pricing, rate limits, regional rollout details, and quality evidence

Latent Space

[AINews] Anthropic Claude Opus 4.7 - one step better than 4.6 in every dimension

Anthropic launched Claude Opus 4.7 at the same $5/$25 per million input/output tokens; the post says 4.7-low through 4.7-high each outperform the matching higher 4.6 tiers. Reported changes include a new xhigh reasoning tier, Claude Code defaulting to xhigh, an 11-point gain on SWE-Bench Pro, and image input up to 2,576 px on the long edge (~3.75 MP). Do not overread the tokenizer change: the same input can use up to 35% more tokens, but the post says total token use still falls by up to 50% from prior equivalents.

Why it matters: Anthropic's flagship-model release fits the policy's 85–94 band. HKR-H/K/R all pass because the post gives concrete pricing, benchmark, image-limit, and token-accounting changes that hit Claude users' core coding and cost concerns.

r/LocalLLaMA

PSA: Qwen3.6 ships with preserve_thinking. Make sure you have it on.

Qwen3.6 adds a preserve_thinking flag to keep prior reasoning in context and address the KV cache invalidation issue seen with the Qwen3.5 template. The post cites the Qwen3.6-35B-A3B model page and gives a two-turn 20-digit-number test: with preserve_thinking on, the model can return the second number from its earlier reasoning. The practical point is cross-turn reasoning retention for agent and tool workflows; LM Studio does not support it yet, and an oMLX PR is open.

Why it matters: HKR-H, K, and R all pass: the story has a strong hidden-setting hook, a concrete two-turn repro, and a clear nerve for local-model and agent users. I keep it in the low 70s because this is a Reddit PSA rather than a primary release note, and the impact is concentrated in Qwen/OSS

X · @OpenAI

Introducing GPT-Rosalind, OpenAI's frontier reasoning model for biology, drug discovery, and translational medicine

OpenAI introduced GPT-Rosalind as a reasoning model for biology, drug discovery, and translational medicine research. The title and snippet disclose its intended domains; the post does not disclose size, benchmarks, availability, pricing, or launch timing. The key point is research targeting, but reproducible details are absent so far.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI announcement plus the unusual biology/drug-discovery positioning gives this HKR-H and HKR-R. HKR-K is weak because the post discloses only the model name and target domains; benchmarks, params, access, and launch timing are not disclosed, so it stays at the low

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI upgrades Codex with more control over your desktop

OpenAI upgraded Codex on April 16, 2026, expanding its desktop control, and the headline frames it as a move against Anthropic. The truncated post only confirms more desktop power for Codex and says Claude Code has become a preferred tool for many businesses; the post does not disclose exact features, pricing, rollout, or permission limits. The key issue is the permission boundary, not the coding-tool label.

Why it matters: TechCrunch reports an OpenAI Codex desktop-control upgrade framed as a direct move against Anthropic, so HKR-H and HKR-R land. But HKR-K is limited: the article confirms broader permissions only, with no action list, pricing, or rollout details, so it stays at the featured floor.

X · @dotey

Claude Opus 4.7 uses more thinking tokens, so Anthropic permanently raised rate limits for paid users

Anthropic permanently raised rate limits for all paid subscribers because Claude Opus 4.7 uses more thinking tokens than its predecessor. The post confirms the affected group but does not disclose the increase size, pricing rules, or rollout timing; users who do not see the change should verify they are on Opus 4.7 and have updated Claude Code.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Anthropic quota update for paying users, with all three HKR axes present: a strong surprise hook, a concrete operational fact, and direct resonance on usage limits. It stays at featured, not P1, because the post does not disclose the size of the increase, pr

X · @dotey

Official best practices for using Claude Opus 4.7 with Claude Code

Anthropic shared guidance for Claude Opus 4.7 in Claude Code: the default Effort level is now xhigh, and users should provide goals, constraints, and acceptance criteria upfront. The post lists five Effort tiers—low, medium, high, xhigh, and max—with xhigh recommended for most coding, API design, migration, and code review tasks. The key shift is behavior: adaptive thinking is built in, while tool use and SubAgent spawning are less frequent by default, so prompts should state those needs explicitly.

Why it matters: This is not a model launch, but an official Anthropic workflow note that changes day-to-day Claude Code usage: default effort, 5 levels, and fewer tool/SubAgent calls unless asked. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the scope is narrower than a major product release.

X · @dotey

Codex major update: from a coding tool to an assistant that can operate your computer

OpenAI upgraded Codex into a Mac desktop agent and says it serves 3M+ weekly developers. It can see screens, click, type, run parallel agents, and adds 90+ plugins. Desktop rollout starts now for ChatGPT sign-ins; computer control is macOS-first.

Why it matters: OpenAI expands Codex from coding help into a Mac-operating agent, with parallel agents, 90+ plugins, and a claimed 3M weekly developer base. HKR-H/K/R all pass; missing safety boundary and pricing details keep it in the high-80s, not the 90s.

X · @OpenAI

Codex for (almost) everything.

OpenAI said Codex can now use apps on Mac, connect to more tools, and handle ongoing and repeatable tasks. The post also claims image creation, learning from prior actions, and remembering user preferences; it does not disclose app coverage, integration method, pricing, or rollout timing.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI product update, and Codex moves from coding help toward desktop control, tool use, and memory, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post still omits supported apps, integration method, pricing, and launch timing, keeping it in the 78–84 band.

TechCrunch · AI

Google now lets you explore the web side-by-side with AI Mode

Google said on April 16 that clicking a link in AI Mode on Chrome desktop now opens the web page side-by-side with AI Mode. The feature keeps search context and uses page context plus web information for follow-up answers; the post does not disclose rollout scope, timing details, or regional limits. The practical shift is that Google is merging search chat and site browsing into one workflow.

Why it matters: This is a mid-weight Google search workflow update with HKR-H/K/R all present, but it is still a single-feature change. The story gives the context-retention and page-plus-web follow-up mechanism; rollout scope, regions, and timing are not disclosed, so it lands at the low end of

Apr 16Thursday

X · @op7418

Claude Code now supports Claude Opus 4.7

Claude Code now supports Claude Opus 4.7, and the RSS snippet confirms X-HIGH as the default reasoning level. The only concrete detail disclosed is that users must switch manually to Max if X-HIGH is insufficient. The post does not disclose pricing, rate limits, or launch timing.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Claude product update with all three HKR signals: a new model in Claude Code plus one concrete operational detail, X-HIGH vs. manual Max. I kept it below the top band because price, rate limits, and formal release timing are not disclosed.

Hacker News front page

Andon Labs gave an AI a 3-year retail lease in San Francisco and asked it to make a profit

Andon Labs gave AI agent Luna a 3-year retail lease on Union St in San Francisco and tasked it with running the store for profit. The post says Luna put job listings on LinkedIn, Indeed, and Craigslist within 5 minutes, hired 2 full-time staff, and chose inventory, pricing, hours, and store branding. The point to watch is AI managing humans: Luna did not always proactively disclose that it was an AI, while profit, revenue, and cost figures are not disclosed.

Why it matters: Strong on HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R: an AI runs a real SF store lease, with concrete details on hiring and tool access. But profit, revenue, and cost data are undisclosed, and this is a self-published company post, so featured fits better than P1.

X · @dotey

Anthropic officially releases Claude Opus 4.7 at unchanged pricing

Anthropic released Claude Opus 4.7 at unchanged pricing: $5 per million input tokens and $25 per million output tokens; the API name is claude-opus-4-7, now live across Claude, Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud Vertex AI, and Microsoft Foundry. The post gives two concrete changes: vision input now supports up to 2576 pixels on the long edge, and the new tokenizer can raise token usage to 1.0-1.35x for the same text. Watch migration cost, not list price; higher reasoning settings and multi-turn runs can increase output length and bills.

Why it matters: An Anthropic substantive model release belongs in the 85+ band, and this is not just a rename: the 2576px vision limit and 1.0–1.35x tokenization shift affect migration tests and billing immediately. HKR-H/K/R all pass, so it clears p1.

X · @op7418

Anthropic releases Claude Opus 4.7 with the following main updates

Anthropic has rolled out Claude Opus 4.7 across all Claude products and the API, with pricing unchanged from Opus 4.6. The post lists better long-horizon task handling, more precise instruction following, self-verification before reporting, vision support up to 2,576-pixel long-edge images, plus Claude Code Ultra Review, an xhigh thinking level, and auto-approval for Max users.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Anthropic model release across Claude and the API, with testable details: unchanged pricing, a 2,576px vision limit, self-checking outputs, and Claude Code workflow changes. HKR-H/K/R all pass; it fits the same-day must-write band, so p1.

X · @claudeai

Introducing Claude Opus 4.7, our most capable Opus model yet.

Claude introduced Opus 4.7 and describes it as its most capable Opus model so far. The RSS snippet gives three claims: better rigor on long-running tasks, more precise instruction following, and self-verification before replying; the post does not disclose benchmarks, context window, pricing, or rollout scope. What matters is whether those claims show up in public evals, not the tagline.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Anthropic model release and clears HKR-H/K/R: a new Opus, three testable behavior claims, and strong resonance with Claude-heavy practitioners. The score stays in the high 80s because benchmarks, pricing, context window, and rollout scope are not disclosed.

Hacker News front page

Introducing Claude Opus 4.7

Anthropic released Claude Opus 4.7 on Apr. 16 at the same price as Opus 4.6: $5 per million input tokens and $25 per million output tokens. The post says it improves on Opus 4.6 in advanced software engineering, long-running tasks, and higher-resolution vision, and ships across Claude, the API, Amazon Bedrock, Vertex AI, and Microsoft Foundry. The key detail is the first deployment of Anthropic’s cyber request blocking on a less capable model; the post cites benchmark gains but does not fully disclose every score in text.

Why it matters: Anthropic shipping Claude Opus 4.7 is a same-day write: GA, unchanged $5/$25 pricing, and rollout across Claude, API, Bedrock, Vertex AI, and Foundry give it direct workflow impact. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post does not publish full benchmark scores.