Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

541–560 of 842

May 1Friday

The Verge · AI

Meta is running get-rich-quick ads for its AI tools

The Verge says Meta-owned Manus ran quick-money ads for AI tools after a $2B acquisition. The pitch targets local firms with no or bad websites. Manus also paid creators for Instagram, YouTube, and TikTok promotion; some TikTok accounts were removed after inquiry.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story has a strong Meta-versus-grift hook, concrete funnel details, and reputational stakes. It is investigative industry reporting, not a major model or product release.

Apr 30Thursday

MIT Technology Review · AI

Goodfire releases Silico, a mechanistic interpretability tool for debugging LLMs

Goodfire released Silico, letting engineers inspect and adjust LLM parameters during training. It maps neurons and pathways; one Qwen 3 neuron triggered trolley-problem-style outputs. Pricing is case-by-case, and the post does not disclose rates.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Silico offers a concrete interpretability-debugging mechanism. It stays at 76 because this is a startup product preview with no pricing or adoption scale disclosed.

Ben's Bites

Building Gets Easier

Ben’s Bites lists agent tooling updates from Cloudflare, Stripe, Cursor SDK and others, with over 10 product leads. Cloudflare lets agents create accounts, buy domains, get API tokens and deploy; Stripe adds Agentic Commerce Suite, Link CLI and agent-ready Treasury accounts. The key shift is external permissions becoming agent-readable interfaces.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass, but this is a roundup rather than one major launch. Concrete Cloudflare and Stripe agent-permission details keep it in the featured-low band.

Bloomberg Technology

Samsung’s Chip Profit Soars 48-Fold Due to AI Spending Spree

Samsung Electronics’ chip unit posted a 48-fold profit jump in the March quarter, driven by AI data-center orders. The RSS snippet says profit hit a record and beat expectations, but the post does not disclose profit value, memory type, or customers.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Bloomberg reports a 48x chip-profit jump tied to AI data-center demand. I keep it at 74 because the body lacks profit amount, memory category, and customer detail.

TechCrunch · AI

Microsoft says it has over 20M paid Copilot users, and they really are using it

Microsoft says Copilot has over 20M paid users, with engagement growing. The post does not disclose active usage, retention, ARPU, or the counting method.

Why it matters: HKR-K is strong because Microsoft disclosed 20M+ paid Copilot users, a rare adoption metric. The score stays near the featured floor because active rate, retention, ARPU, and methodology are not disclosed.

Bloomberg Technology

Meta Shares Plunge as AI Investments Raise Spending Outlook

Meta raised its 2026 capex outlook to $125B–$145B, and its shares fell after the update. CFO Susan Li cited higher component prices and extra data center costs. The key issue is AI model ROI timing, not one trading day.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Meta’s shares fell after a $125B-$145B capex outlook tied to AI, with CFO-cited component and data-center costs. This is an AI economics signal, not a model or product release, so it stays below 78.

The Verge · AI

Google Search queries hit an all-time high last quarter

Sundar Pichai said Google Search queries hit an all-time high in Q1 2026, with Search revenue up 19%. He cited AI experiences and Gemini App growth; paid subscriptions topped 350 million, but the post does not disclose query volume.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: Alphabet reports record Search queries, +19% Search revenue, and 350M+ paid subscriptions. The missing query base and AI Overviews split keep it in the 72–77 featured band.

r/LocalLLaMA

Building a fully local PDF-to-audiobook workflow with Kokoro 82M, Qwen and llama.cpp

Reddit user purellmagents shared a local PDF-to-audiobook workflow using Kokoro 82M, Qwen 3.5 0.8B/2B, and llama.cpp. The Tauri 2.0 app runs on an M1 Mac, reads 15 initial sentences, then prepares the next 15. The hard parts are PDF-text alignment, code snippets, tables, and first-generation latency.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Reddit personal workflow, not a model or platform release. Specific components and the 15-sentence pipeline keep it at the low featured band.

Bloomberg Technology

Meta’s Need for Gas Power Boosts Entergy Spending by $14 Billion

Entergy raised its four-year capital plan by nearly one-third to $57 billion, mainly for Meta’s Louisiana data center. The work covers gas-fired plants; the post discloses a $14 billion increase, not plant capacity or timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a Meta data center drives Entergy capex to $57B with a $14B increase. The missing plant capacity and start date keep it at the lower featured threshold.

Apr 29Wednesday

r/LocalLLaMA

Mistral Medium 3.5 Launched

Mistral launched Medium 3.5, according to the title. The RSS snippet says it has open weights and a modified MIT license requiring paid licensing for commercial use; the post does not disclose parameter count, benchmarks, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: a Mistral model launch with open weights and paid commercial licensing matters to local-model users. Missing params, benchmarks, and price keeps it below the 78+ band.

The Verge · AI

ChatGPT Downloads Are Slowing and May Affect OpenAI's IPO

Sensor Tower says ChatGPT uninstalls rose 132% year over year in April as users left or tried rivals. After OpenAI’s February Pentagon deal, last month’s uninstall rate rose 413%; MAU growth fell from 168% in January to 78% in April.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is ChatGPT growth slowing before an IPO, with Sensor Tower churn and MAU-growth figures. It stays below 85 because the data is third-party mobile analytics, not OpenAI financials or a product launch.

X · @op7418

Deepseek’s multimodal model is fully rolled out

Deepseek fully rolled out a multimodal model, available via the web image-recognition mode. The post says it looks like a separate model; it does not disclose name, size, pricing, or API timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the X post only confirms web image-recognition access; model name, params, price, and API timing are missing. DeepSeek’s multimodal rollout is strong, but the thin sourcing keeps it in 78–84.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Google Translate Turns 20 as Pichai Highlights Four AI Generations

Google Translate turned 20 on April 28, and Pichai said it now has 1B monthly users. The post traces four AI phases: SMT, GNMT, PaLM 2, and Gemini 2.5 Flash Native Audio, including 110 languages added in 2024. The key shift is native speech-to-speech translation that preserves intonation, pacing, and pitch.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the core event is a Google Translate anniversary and architecture recap, not a clear launch. The 1B MAU, 110-language expansion, and native speech-to-speech detail justify featured at the 72–77 band.

QbitAI · WeChat

DeepSeek’s multimodal AI has entered testing

DeepSeek researchers confirmed V4 vision mode is in gray testing, with an image-recognition mode on the homepage. A screenshot shows it identified drinks and cup types in a non-text-heavy image after 4 seconds. The post does not disclose rollout scope, API access, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek’s V4 vision gray test is a real domestic flagship update with a concrete 4s sample. Score stays at 80 because access scope, API form, pricing, and benchmarks are not disclosed.

QbitAI · WeChat

ShengShu Technology Claims MotuBrain, a Dual-Benchmark Robot Brain for Long-Horizon Tasks

ShengShu Technology claimed MotuBrain on April 29 after it topped WorldArena and RoboTwin2.0 in mid-April. It scored 95.8 and 96.1 in RoboTwin2.0 Clean and Randomized settings, and a demo used 3 humanoid robots across 5 tasks. The key detail is its World Action Model: a video-action-language MoT design for cross-embodiment tasks beyond 10 atomic actions.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: the mystery-model reveal creates HKR-H, while benchmark scores and MoT details support HKR-K/R. Score stays at 82 because evidence is one report plus company demos, not independent deployment data.

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek V4 pricing is genuinely silly; the math made me question my stack

A Reddit user calculates DeepSeek V4-Pro input at $0.145 per million tokens, about 34x cheaper than Claude Opus 4.7. A May promo cuts it to $0.036, while cache hits are $0.0036, about 173x below Opus cached pricing. The key issue is agent-loop cost; the post does not verify the 1M context under production loads.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass on the pricing hook, concrete token prices, and agent-cost pressure. Capped below 78 because this is a Reddit calculation, not an official release or production benchmark.

TechCrunch · AI

Amazon is already offering new OpenAI products on AWS

AWS announced OpenAI model offerings one day after Microsoft ended exclusive rights. The snippet names one new agent service, but does not disclose models, pricing, regions, or launch timing. Watch the shift from Azure exclusivity to multi-cloud distribution.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI moving from Azure exclusivity to AWS distribution is a real industry hook. Missing model list, pricing, regions, and launch timing keep it at 78, not must-write.

Bloomberg Technology

Apple Readies Photo-Editing Overhaul With New AI Tools in iOS 27

Apple plans to overhaul built-in photo editing for iPhone, iPad, and Mac in iOS 27 with AI tools. The RSS snippet says it targets Android competition; the post does not disclose features, models, timing, or supported devices.

Why it matters: Bloomberg sourcing and Apple’s native Photos surface support HKR-H and HKR-R. HKR-K fails because concrete tools, rollout timing, and model details are not disclosed, so this sits at the 72 featured floor.

The Verge · AI

Claude can now plug directly into Photoshop, Blender, and Ableton

Anthropic launched Claude connectors for creative apps, including Adobe Creative Cloud, Affinity, Blender, Ableton, and Autodesk. The Blender connector can debug scenes, build tools, and batch-apply object changes; the post does not disclose pricing or full availability.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is Claude inside major creative apps, with concrete connector behavior. Missing price and rollout details keep it below must-write status.

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA Launches Nemotron 3 Nano Omni for Vision, Audio, and Language Agents

NVIDIA launched Nemotron 3 Nano Omni, claiming up to 9x higher throughput at the same interactivity. It uses a 30B-A3B hybrid MoE with Conv3D, EVS, and 256K context, taking text, images, audio, video, documents, charts, and GUIs as input. Open weights, datasets, and training methods arrive April 28, 2026 on Hugging Face, OpenRouter, build.nvidia.com, and 25+ platforms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: NVIDIA’s open multimodal model has a 9x efficiency claim, 30B-A3B MoE, and 256K context. Single-vendor sourcing keeps it in the good-quality band, below must-write.