Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

501–520 of 842

May 7Thursday

OpenAI News

Scaling Trusted Access for Cyber with GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.5-Cyber

OpenAI expanded Trusted Access for Cyber to GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.5-Cyber. The RSS snippet says access is for verified defenders; the post does not disclose criteria, pricing, or benchmark data.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI expands trusted cyber access to GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.5-Cyber. Kept below 85 because admission rules, pricing, evals, and reproducible tests are not disclosed.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Consistent web search and scraping for all models

OpenRouter released tools for tool-calling models to run web search and page scraping. The post says multiple search and scraping engines are supported, but does not disclose names, pricing, or limits. The key item is cross-model tool interface consistency.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but engines, pricing, and limits are not disclosed. This is a mid-weight Product update: useful for model-agnostic agent stacks, not a major model or capability release.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Claude Managed Agents Add Dreaming, With Reported Task Completion Up to 6x

Anthropic added Dreaming, Outcomes, and multi-agent orchestration to Claude managed agents; Harvey reports about 6x higher task completion. Dreaming reads up to 100 sessions; one demo distilled 5.3M tokens into 98 rules, while Outcomes raised success by up to 10 points. Opus 4.7 and Sonnet 4.6 require access, with $0.08 per session-hour runtime fees.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Anthropic adds Dreaming, Outcomes, and multi-agent orchestration with 100-session memory, $0.08/session-hour runtime, and Harvey’s ~6x completion claim. This is a same-day Claude agent update.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Amp releases Neo CLI as coding agents shift toward long-horizon workflows

Amp released Neo, a CLI tool covering remote orchestration, automatic context compression, and a Plugin API. Neo lets local threads be controlled remotely, allows all operations by default, and moves safety control to plugins; the post does not disclose version, pricing, or performance gains.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Neo adds remote orchestration, context compression, Plugin API, and default-allow permissions. Amp’s reach and missing price/version/perf data keep it in the 72–77 band.

OpenAI News

Introducing Trusted Contact in ChatGPT

OpenAI introduced Trusted Contact in ChatGPT, notifying a trusted person when serious self-harm concerns are detected. The feature is optional; the post does not disclose detection mechanics, contact setup, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the ChatGPT safety hook is concrete and emotionally charged. Importance stays in the low featured band because detection, setup, and rollout details are not disclosed.

Financial Times · Technology

Arm projects $2bn in sales of its new AI chip from next year

Arm projects $2bn in sales for its first in-house AI chip from next year. The RSS snippet says the SoftBank-backed UK group has strong demand; the post does not disclose customers, pricing, process node, or delivery cadence.

Why it matters: FT authority plus a $2bn sales projection gives HKR-K, and Arm’s own AI chip adds HKR-H/R. Missing customers, process, price, and delivery cadence keep it at the featured threshold.

The Verge · AI

Google shuts down Project Mariner

Google shut down Project Mariner on May 4, 2026. The experimental web-task agent once supported up to 10 concurrent tasks. Its technology moved into Google products, including Gemini Agent.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the disclosed facts are limited to shutdown timing, a 10-task limit, and migration into Gemini Agent. Strong source authority supports low featured, not a major launch.

Hacker News front page

Higher usage limits for Claude and a compute deal with SpaceX

Anthropic’s post has 91 HN points; the title says Claude gets higher usage limits and a SpaceX compute deal. The RSS body only lists links, 37 comments, and HN metadata. The post does not disclose limit multiples, compute scale, pricing, or timing.

Why it matters: Official title gives HKR-H/R: higher Claude limits and a SpaceX compute deal. HKR-K fails because the feed omits limit multiples, compute scale, pricing, and rollout timing.

May 6Wednesday

The Verge · AI

Google’s AI Search Summaries Will Now Quote Reddit

Google updated AI Search to include firsthand views from Reddit, social media, and forums in summaries. The post says a “perspectives” preview links queries to related online discussions; it does not disclose rollout scope or timing. For search teams, the key issue is how AI summaries cite and rank UGC sources.

Why it matters: HKR-H is strong because Google AI summaries quoting Reddit alters the search surface. HKR-K has the perspectives mechanism, and HKR-R hits SEO/UGC traffic concerns; missing rollout scope keeps it in the 72–77 product-update band.

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA Spectrum-X AI-Native Ethernet Fabric Adds MRC for Gigascale AI

NVIDIA added MRC support to Spectrum-X Ethernet, letting one RDMA connection spread traffic across multiple paths. MRC ran in Blackwell deployments, with microsecond failure bypass and hardware rerouting. The key detail is the OCP open specification and multiplane support for clusters up to hundreds of thousands of GPUs.

Why it matters: HKR-K/R are solid: MRC stripes one RDMA flow across paths, detects failures in microseconds, and is tied to Blackwell deployments. HKR-H is narrow and the source is vendor-owned, so this stays below major release level.

QbitAI · WeChat

Boston Dynamics executives exit as Atlas output is reported at four units per month

Boston Dynamics showed a new Atlas gymnastics demo, while the post says output is only four units per month. Atlas has 56 DoF, weighs 90 kg, runs four hours, and 2026 capacity is allocated to Hyundai RMAC and Google DeepMind. The key issue is scale: Hyundai targets 30,000 units yearly, but today’s rate needs over 200 years for 10,000.

Why it matters: HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R all pass: the hook is sharp, the piece has concrete production and spec numbers, and robotics scaling is a practitioner nerve. It stays below 85 because this is secondary reporting, not a major release.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

GPT-5.5 Instant becomes ChatGPT’s free default model

OpenAI made GPT-5.5 Instant the default ChatGPT model, rolling it out free to all users. AIME 2025 rose from 65.4% to 81.2%, responses are 30.2% shorter, and hallucinations fell 52.5% versus GPT-5.3 Instant on high-risk prompts. Plus and Pro web users get chat, file, and Gmail personalization first; the API model ID is chat-latest.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a free default ChatGPT model switch, concrete benchmark and behavior deltas, and direct impact on daily OpenAI workflows. This fits the 85–94 must-write band.

TechCrunch · AI

Apple plans to make iOS 27 a Choose Your Own Adventure of AI models

Apple reportedly plans to let iOS 27 users choose third-party AI models for multiple tasks. The RSS snippet does not disclose model names, task scope, launch timing, or integration mechanics.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: system-level model choice on iOS has a strong platform hook and distribution stakes. Kept in 72–77 because the RSS summary lacks model names, task scope, launch timing, and API mechanics.

The Verge · AI

Apple could let you pick a favorite AI model in iOS 27

Apple plans to let third-party chatbots run system-wide Apple Intelligence in iOS 27, iPadOS 27, and macOS 27. Mark Gurman says Extensions can handle Siri, Writing Tools, and Image Playground this fall. The post does not disclose supported models, pricing, or developer APIs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Apple system-level model picker is a strong hook, with named Extension targets. Scored 80 because model list, pricing, and developer APIs are not disclosed, and this remains a roadmap report.

Financial Times · Technology

Meta plans advanced agentic AI assistant for consumers

Meta plans a consumer agentic AI assistant; the RSS body has one sentence. It says Meta is funding an OpenClaw counterpart for everyday task execution. The post does not disclose model size, launch timing, pricing, regions, or permission controls.

Why it matters: FT reports Meta plans a consumer agentic assistant, with HKR-H/K/R present. Details on launch, pricing, model, and permission design are missing, so this sits at the lower featured band.

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA and ServiceNow Partner on Autonomous AI Agents for Enterprises

NVIDIA and ServiceNow expanded their partnership with Project Arc, an enterprise desktop agent. It connects via Action Fabric and uses OpenShell for sandboxed, policy-governed execution. Blackwell delivers over 50x Hopper’s token output per watt and nearly 35x lower cost per million tokens.

Why it matters: HKR-K/R pass: the post gives mechanisms and Blackwell economics. HKR-H misses because the angle is a standard vendor partnership, so this sits in the 72–77 featured-threshold band.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI claims ChatGPT’s new default model hallucinates way less

OpenAI says ChatGPT’s default GPT-5.5 Instant reduced hallucinations in internal evaluations. Versus GPT-5.3 Instant, hallucinated claims fell 52.5% on high-stakes prompts. Inaccurate claims fell 37.3% on flagged hard chats; the post does not disclose full eval size.

Why it matters: OpenAI changed ChatGPT’s default model and gave two hallucination-reduction figures, satisfying HKR-H/K/R. Internal evals lack set size and reproduction details, but a default ChatGPT model change is same-day material.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI releases GPT-5.5 Instant, a new default model for ChatGPT

OpenAI released GPT-5.5 Instant as ChatGPT’s new default model. The company says it reduces hallucinations in law, medicine, and finance while keeping prior low latency; the post does not disclose benchmarks, rollout scope, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a new ChatGPT default model, testable reliability claims, and direct workflow impact. Missing eval numbers, rollout scope, and pricing keep it in the mid 85–94 band.

r/LocalLLaMA

Gemma 4 MTP Released

Google released Gemma 4 MTP drafters with 4 Hugging Face checkpoints listed. MTP uses a smaller draft model to predict multiple tokens, then the target model verifies them in parallel, giving up to 2x decoding speedups with identical output quality.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the practical hook is 2x lower-latency decoding, with 4 checkpoints and a clear speculative-decoding mechanism. It is a useful Gemma update, not a flagship model release, so 75 fits the featured lower band.

May 5Tuesday

Hacker News front page

Show HN: Airbyte Agents – context for agents across multiple data sources

Airbyte launched Airbyte Agents, using Context Store to index operational data for agents. Its public benchmark reports up to 80% fewer tokens for Gong and 90% for Zendesk versus vendor MCPs. The key point is pre-indexed context, not another MCP wrapper.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a concrete pre-indexing angle, reproducible claims, and agent data-access pain. Airbyte is not a frontier lab, so this stays at the lower featured band.