Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

481–500 of 842

May 9Saturday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Peekaboo 3.0 Launches With Action-First macOS Control and UI Detection

Peekaboo 3.0 is now live with action-first macOS control, unified screenshots and UI detection, cleaner JSON exchange between CLI and MCP, and improved snapshots; the post does not disclose pricing, model choices, or release timeline beyond the 3.0 launch.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass for a concrete desktop-agent tooling update. Score stays at the featured floor because pricing, model details, and adoption data are not disclosed.

QbitAI · WeChat

Qwen AI Glasses S1 Adds Spatial 3D Display, Proactive Reminders, and Daily AI Features

Qwen AI Glasses S1 added spatial 3D display and proactive services, with ride-hailing, instant shopping, and photo-based homework help scheduled for this month; Wellsenn XR says Qwen AI Glasses hold 53% of China’s online AI glasses sales since March 8.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is an AI-glasses feature update rather than a model or platform release. The 53% online-sales share and this-month feature list justify low featured range.

May 8Friday

Synced · WeChat

OpenAI launches official CLI for terminal-based model access

OpenAI released the open-source openai-cli, letting developers call Responses, cloud tools, image generation and editing, speech transcription, and TTS from a single terminal command.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: an official OpenAI CLI, open-source packaging, and terminal access to multimodal APIs. This is a useful developer workflow update, not a major model capability release, so it sits in low featured.

Latent Space

[AINews] GPT-Realtime-2, Translate, and Whisper: new SOTA realtime voice APIs

OpenAI released GPT-Realtime-2, GPT-Realtime-Translate, and GPT-Realtime-Whisper in the Realtime API, with GPT-Realtime-2 expanding context from 32K to 128K and scoring 96.6% on Artificial Analysis Big Bench Audio.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: an OpenAI real-time voice API refresh, a 32K→128K context jump, and a 96.6% Big Bench Audio claim. Score stays at 86 because this is a major API update, not a flagship foundation-model release.

QbitAI · WeChat

OpenAI releases three realtime voice models for reasoning, translation, and transcription

OpenAI launched GPT-Realtime-2, GPT-Realtime-Translate, and GPT-Realtime-Whisper as API models, covering 128K-context voice reasoning, streaming translation from more than 70 input languages into 13 output languages, and realtime transcription priced at $0.017 per minute.

Why it matters: OpenAI shipped three realtime voice APIs across reasoning, translation, and transcription, hitting HKR-H/K/R. The 128K context, 70+ languages, and $0.017/min price make this a same-day must-write item.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Apple's First AI Wearable: Camera-Equipped AirPods Enter DVT Stage

Apple’s camera-equipped AirPods have entered DVT, with launch possible in September. Each earbud uses a low-res camera for visual Q&A with the upgraded Siri. The post cites Google Gemini support and a data-upload indicator light.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is an unconfirmed hardware rumor, not an Apple launch. DVT status, camera design, and Gemini dependency keep it in the low featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI launches official openai-cli for terminal API calls

OpenAI open-sourced openai-cli for direct API calls from the terminal. The Apache 2.0 tool installs via Homebrew or Go and covers Responses API, structured output, image editing, transcription, and key config. The key detail is Agent workflows using cloud tools like web search and code interpreter.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: official OpenAI terminal tooling is clickable, with concrete install/license/API details and workflow resonance. It is still a developer tooling update, not a model or major capability release, so 76 fits the featured threshold.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI introduces new 'Trusted Contact' safeguard for possible self-harm cases

OpenAI introduced Trusted Contact for ChatGPT self-harm risk cases. The post says it protects users when chats turn to self-harm, but does not disclose triggers, contact flow, or rollout scope. Watch false positives, privacy, and human review boundaries.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s ChatGPT safety update hits HKR-H/R via self-harm intervention and privacy stakes. HKR-K is weak: triggers, contact flow, and rollout are not disclosed, so this lands at the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Codex Plugin Now Supports Parallel Runs Across Chrome Tabs

OpenAI says Codex now runs in Chrome on macOS and Windows. The plugin works across tabs in the background without taking browser control; the post does not disclose version, concurrency limits, or enterprise policy.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post gives platform and execution mechanics only; version, concurrency limits, and enterprise controls are not disclosed. Score: 76 as a practical OpenAI Codex product update.

The Verge · AI

Apple’s AirPods with cameras for AI are reportedly close to production

Mark Gurman says Apple’s camera-equipped AirPods are in DVT, one step before PVT. Testers are using prototypes; the cameras capture low-resolution visual input, not photos or video, for Siri queries like ingredient prompts.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Gurman/The Verge provides a concrete DVT-stage Apple AI hardware update. It is still pre-production, not a launch, so it stays in the 72–77 band.

The Verge · AI

SpaceX Has a $55 Billion Plan to Build AI Chips in Texas

SpaceX plans to invest at least $55 billion in its Terafab chip plant in Austin, Texas. A hearing notice says later phases could lift total investment to $119 billion. Musk said in March the target was chips for 200GW of compute per year; the post does not disclose process nodes.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass on the SpaceX chip-plant hook, hard capex numbers, and compute-supply resonance. Not P1 because process node, timeline, and committed customers are not disclosed.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Work with Claude across Excel, PowerPoint, Word, and Outlook

Claude now connects to four Microsoft apps: Excel, PowerPoint, Word, and Outlook. Excel, PowerPoint, and Word are generally available; Outlook is in public beta. Admins can deploy via Microsoft admin center and monitor with OpenTelemetry.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Claude enters 4 Microsoft 365 apps with rollout status and OpenTelemetry details. This is a strong Anthropic product update, but not a model release or core capability jump, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

Bloomberg Technology

Apple’s Camera-Equipped AirPods Reach Late Testing in AI Device Push

Apple moved camera-equipped AirPods into late-stage development. The RSS snippet says they may be Apple’s first wearable built for the AI era; the post does not disclose camera specs, mechanisms, or launch timing.

Why it matters: Bloomberg sourcing and camera-equipped AirPods give HKR-H/K/R. The report stays in the 72–77 band because it discloses late testing only, not specs, AI workflow, or launch timing.

The Verge · AI

ChatGPT’s Trusted Contact will alert loved ones of safety concerns

OpenAI is launching optional Trusted Contact for ChatGPT, letting adult users assign one emergency contact. If self-harm or suicide topics are detected, OpenAI alerts the contact; the post does not disclose false-positive handling or regional rollout.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI extends ChatGPT safety into human notification. The article lacks false-positive handling, rollout regions, and appeal flow, so it sits below model or core capability releases.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Perplexity launches Personal Computer app for Mac

Perplexity opened its Personal Computer Mac app to all users. It runs on any Mac and works across local files, native Mac apps, the web, and Perplexity secure servers. The post does not disclose pricing, permission boundaries, or task success rates.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the source is a single product post with no pricing, permission model, or task success rate. Score stays in the mid-weight product-update band.

May 7Thursday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Trillion-parameter instruction model Ling-2.6-1T released

inclusionAI says Ling-2.6-1T is now live on OpenRouter. The trillion-parameter instruction model uses “fast thinking” and claims top AIME26 and SWE-bench Verified results with about 75% lower cost. The post does not disclose pricing, context length, or full benchmark scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a 1T instruction model on OpenRouter with fast thinking, AIME26/SWE-bench claims, and ~75% cost reduction. Missing price, context window, and full scores keep it in the 78–84 band.

Hacker News front page

AlphaEvolve: Gemini-powered coding agent scaling impact across fields

Google DeepMind describes AlphaEvolve as a Gemini-powered coding agent; the body is only an RSS snippet. The title discloses coding-agent scope and cross-field impact, but the post does not disclose model version, benchmarks, or deployments.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass on a DeepMind Gemini coding-agent announcement, but HKR-K fails: only title-level facts are disclosed. This reaches featured threshold, not 78+, because evals, model version, and deployments are absent.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Apify mcpc and x402 Give AI Agents an Auto-Payment Wallet

Apify mcpc integrates the x402 payment protocol, letting AI agents auto-sign payments on HTTP 402. x402 compresses paid API settlement into one HTTP round trip plus a signature; mcpc supports Claude Code and USDC-funded wallets. The key point is machine settlement for paid tool calls, not the wallet label.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is fresh, the mechanism is concrete, and agent payments hit a real practitioner nerve. It is still a mid-weight integration with no usage scale, pricing, or production case disclosed.

QbitAI · WeChat

Vidu Claw Generates Ad Videos From One Prompt and a Hundred-Yuan Budget

Shengshu Technology opened Vidu Claw, which generates ad scripts, voiceover, music, editing, and final videos from one prompt; its Video Plan includes up to 40 minutes of daily generation across video, image, and audio.

Why it matters: HKR-H has a concrete ad-test hook, HKR-K adds the 40-minute daily quota and one-prompt workflow, and HKR-R hits production-cost pressure. No benchmark or pricing detail, so this stays at the featured threshold.

Ben's Bites

Elon Doubled Limits

Ben’s Bites says Anthropic doubled Claude usage on paid plans via SpaceX’s Colossus 1. The issue also lists GPT-5.5 Instant, ChatGPT spreadsheet integration, and three Claude Managed Agents features. The title names Elon, but the post does not disclose exact limits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the SpaceX Colossus 1 angle, 2x Claude usage, and quota pressure are all concrete. Missing exact caps, pricing, and rollout scope keep it in the low featured band.