Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

441–460 of 842

May 13Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Step Image Edit 2 image model released with leading performance and efficiency

StepFun released the 3.5B-parameter Step Image Edit 2 model, which ranks first in KRIS-Bench overall, factual, and conceptual categories, and is now available on the Stepfun Open Platform.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is a 3.5B image-editing model topping KRIS-Bench, with concrete launch details. Vendor-only sourcing and no independent test or pricing keep it at the low featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

How Anthropic's Cybersecurity Team Uses Claude Code to Build a Threat Detection Platform

Anthropic’s detection platform engineering team used Claude Code to build the CLUE threat detection and response platform, completing a proof of concept in one day and delivery in one week while reducing analyst log investigation from hours to minutes.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is an Anthropic internal dogfooding case rather than a Claude Code capability launch. CLUE and the timing metrics keep it just above the featured threshold.

Bloomberg Technology

CME Plans Computing Power Futures Market

CME Group and Silicon Data plan to create a futures market for computing power; the RSS snippet says Bloomberg Tech discusses the rationale and mechanics, but the post does not disclose contract specifications, launch timing, or pricing methodology.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: CME moving into compute futures is a fresh hook and targets AI compute-cost anxiety. HKR-K is weak because contract specs, timeline, and pricing method are not disclosed.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Claude Opus 4.7 Fast Mode Opens Research Preview

Claude Opus 4.7 Fast Mode is now available as a research preview in the API and Claude Code. The post does not disclose model parameters, pricing, rate limits, or a general availability date.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass because this is a Claude fast-mode preview in API and Claude Code, directly tied to developer latency and workflows. Thin disclosure on pricing, limits, parameters, and GA timing keeps it at the featured threshold, not 78+.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Claude Enters the Legal Industry

Anthropic released more than 20 MCP connectors and 12 legal plugins, letting Claude work inside Word and Outlook for contract drafting, revision, clause comparison, and routine legal workflows.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a substantive Anthropic vertical product update with 20+ MCP connectors and Office workflows. It is not a model release or platform-wide capability, so it stays in the 72–77 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

GitHub Copilot Individual Plans Add Flex Allotments and a New Max Plan

GitHub will update Copilot individual plans on June 1 by adding flex allotments to Pro and Pro+ and introducing a new Max plan; the post does not disclose pricing, quota limits, or the exact allocation rules in the provided snippet.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land lightly because Copilot plan quotas affect many developers. Missing price, caps, and allocation rules keep it at the low featured threshold, not a major capability update.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google Launches New Android Smart Assistant

Google introduced Android Intelligence at Android Show 2026, with multi-step automation across Android apps, browser-use features for Gemini in Chrome, automatic form filling, Rambler voice-note transcription, and custom Gen UI widgets; the post does not disclose rollout timing, supported devices, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is Android-level agent control, the new facts are concrete automation surfaces, and the resonance is the mobile AI platform fight. Thin source detail keeps it at the low end of the 85-94 band.

Hacker News front page

Show HN: Agentic Interface for Mainframes and COBOL

Hypercubic launched Hopper, an agentic development environment that combines a real TN3270 terminal, z/OS-aware panels for datasets, jobs, and spool output, and an AI agent; sensitive operations require approval, and the terminal remains visible during agent actions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the mainframe-agent angle is novel, with concrete TN3270, z/OS, and approval mechanics. Small-vendor Show HN status and missing customer/pricing/results data keep it at the featured floor.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Build long-running AI agents that pause, resume, and never lose context with ADK

Google Developers describes using ADK to build long-running agents for enterprise workflows lasting days or weeks, such as HR onboarding, with a persistent state machine, persistent session storage, event-driven webhooks, and multi-agent delegation to pause during idle time and resume after restarts without losing context.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the ADK tutorial gives concrete persistence mechanisms for long-running agents. It is useful engineering guidance from Google Developers, not a major model or platform release, so it sits at the 72–77 featured threshold.

TechCrunch · AI

Everything Google announced at its Android Show, from Googlebooks to vibe-coded widgets

Google announced AI-first Googlebooks laptops, more agentic Gemini features, vibe-coded Android widgets, Gemini in Chrome, and refreshed Android Auto ahead of I/O; the RSS snippet does not disclose specs, pricing, availability, or rollout timelines.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass because Google bundled several Gemini/Android AI entry points with named product hooks. Missing parameters, pricing, rollout dates, and testable performance keeps it in the mid-weight product-update band.

The Verge · AI

Gemini’s Latest Updates Are All About Controlling Your Phone

Google announced Gemini Intelligence at its pre-I/O Android showcase, placing Gemini in Chrome on Android, autofill suggestions, and in-app actions; the RSS snippet does not disclose supported device models, rollout timing, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass because Gemini is moving into Android phone control across Chrome, autofill, and app actions. Missing device list, launch timing, and pricing keep it in the 72–77 product-update band.

TechCrunch · AI

Google brings agentic AI and vibe-coded widgets to Android

Google is adding Gemini Intelligence to Android, and the RSS snippet only discloses Gboard-based dictation and form-filling capabilities; the post does not disclose launch timing, supported devices, pricing, or technical implementation details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass because this is a Google Android platform AI update with named features. Missing rollout timing, device scope, and pricing keep it at the low featured band, not a must-write release.

TechCrunch · AI

The AI legal services industry is heating up — Anthropic is getting in on the action

Anthropic introduced tools for law firms that cover five clerical workflows: document search and review, case law resources, deposition preparation, document drafting, and related tasks; the RSS snippet does not disclose pricing, launch timing, or model details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Anthropic is moving into a high-value legal workflow with five named use cases. No pricing, customer scale, or new model capability is disclosed, so this stays just above the featured threshold.

TechCrunch · AI

Google adds Gemini-powered dictation to Gboard, which could be bad news for dictation startups

Google adds Gemini-powered dictation to Gboard for an initial launch on Samsung Galaxy and Google Pixel phones; the post does not disclose supported languages, pricing, offline behavior, or a rollout date.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Gemini dictation lands inside Gboard with Galaxy and Pixel named, and the platform-bundling angle matters to AI startups. Missing language, pricing, offline mode, and timing keep it at the low featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Code w/ Claude SF 2026: Building on Exponential AI Growth

Anthropic expanded developer tooling at Code w/ Claude SF 2026: Claude Code rate limits doubled, Claude Opus API limits increased, and hosted agents on the Claude platform added four functions, including memory review, multi-agent delegation, output criteria, and webhooks.

Why it matters: Anthropic ships a substantive Claude Code update with concrete numbers and feature additions; HKR-H/K/R all pass. This is strong dev-tool news, not a flagship model release, so it fits the 78–84 band.

Financial Times · Technology

CME plans to launch futures market for AI computing power

CME plans to launch futures contracts tied to GPU rental prices, allowing traders and companies to bet on or hedge future costs; the RSS snippet does not disclose contract specifications, launch timing, or the reference index.

Why it matters: FT reports CME plans GPU rental-price futures, clearing HKR-H/K/R through novelty, mechanism, and compute-cost resonance. Missing contract specs, launch timing, and index details keep it at featured threshold, not P1.

May 12Tuesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Install the official Codex plugin in Claude Code

The author describes installing OpenAI’s official Codex plugin in Claude Code via the plugin marketplace: add the repository, install the plugin, reload, and configure it, then use it to build a Skill where Claude Code handles reasoning and Codex acts as moderator.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: cross-stack plugin use is clickable, the install path is concrete, and it matters to AI dev workflows. It stays low-featured because this is a tutorial-style tip, not a model or platform release.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Dungeons & Desktops: Building a Procedurally Generated Roguelike with GitHub Copilot CLI

A GitHub employee used GitHub Copilot CLI to build an extension that parses any codebase into one Roguelike-style dungeon layout, with procedural level generation used as the core mechanism for a creative coding and game prototyping demo.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-K pass: an official GitHub tutorial has a novel demo and a clear mechanism. It is not a major Copilot capability release, and lacks production metrics, pricing, or benchmark data, so it sits at the tutorial-featured floor.

Hacker News front page

Show HN: Statewright – Visual State Machines for More Reliable AI Agents

Statewright uses a Rust state-machine engine to constrain Claude Code tool access, iterations, transitions, and guards; the post says 13–20B models improved consistently on real SWE-bench tasks, but it does not disclose benchmark scores, sample size, or the exact evaluation protocol.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the state-machine constraint is a clear agent-reliability hook with a testable SWE-bench claim. Exact scores and reproduction details are not disclosed, so it stays just above the featured threshold.

Synced · WeChat

Unitree launches GD01 civilian piloted transforming mech from RMB 3.9 million

Unitree launched the GD01 piloted transforming mech with a starting price of RMB 3.9 million, biped and quadruped modes, and a stated payload of about 500 kilograms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Unitree’s GD01 has a rare manned-mech hook plus concrete price, modes, and payload. It is a notable robotics product launch, not a foundation-model-scale event, so it sits at the lower featured band.