Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

521–540 of 842

May 5Tuesday

The Verge · AI

OpenAI is reportedly launching a phone for ChatGPT

Ming-Chi Kuo says OpenAI is fast-tracking a ChatGPT phone for mass production in early 2027. It reportedly uses a customized MediaTek Dimensity 9600 with enhanced-HDR ISP; the post does not disclose price, design, or OS details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Kuo report rather than an OpenAI launch. Missing price, form factor, and OS details keep it below must-write territory.

TechCrunch · AI

Meta will use AI to analyze height and bone structure to identify underage users

Meta will use AI to analyze height and bone structure to identify underage users; the system runs in select countries. The post does not disclose countries, error rates, or appeals.

Why it matters: HKR-H comes from the biometric age-detection hook; HKR-K has a concrete mechanism; HKR-R hits privacy and child-safety concerns. Missing countries, false-positive rate, and appeals keep it in the low featured band.

OpenAI News

OpenAI Introduces MRC for Large-Scale AI Training Networks

OpenAI introduced MRC for large-scale AI training cluster networks. MRC stands for Multipath Reliable Connection and is released via OCP to improve resilience and performance; the post does not disclose throughput, latency, or cluster size.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: OpenAI shared MRC via OCP, with a concrete multipath reliability mechanism. No throughput, latency, or cluster scale is disclosed, so this stays in the 72–77 featured band.

OpenAI News

GPT-5.5 Instant: smarter, clearer, and more personalized

OpenAI updated ChatGPT’s default model to GPT-5.5 Instant for default chat use. The RSS snippet says answers are more accurate, hallucinations are reduced, and personalization controls improved; the post does not disclose metrics, pricing, or context window.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI changed ChatGPT’s default model to GPT-5.5 Instant. The post lacks evals, pricing, and context window details, so it stays at the low end of the 85–94 band.

QbitAI · WeChat

Doubao Tests Paid Subscriptions, With Top Tier at 500 Yuan per Month

Doubao listed three App Store subscription tiers at 68, 200, and 500 yuan per month, while keeping a free basic version. QbitAI says the paywall is not live, and ByteDance has only confirmed full details will come through official channels. Doubao app DAU passed 140 million in April, and model calls exceeded 120 trillion tokens per day by March 2026.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the pricing leak is concrete and high-signal for China AI monetization. It stays below P1 because paid access is not live and model quotas or tier benefits are not disclosed.

r/LocalLLaMA

MTPLX: 2.24x Faster TPS Native MTP Inference Engine for Apple Silicon

MTPLX raises Qwen3.6-27B on a MacBook Pro M5 Max from 28 to 63 tok/s. The test used 4-bit MLX, temperature 0.6, top_p 0.95, top_k 20, with D3 as the best depth. The key detail is native MTP heads: no external drafter and no second-model memory.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a 2.24x speed hook, concrete test conditions, and a local-inference cost nerve. Reddit single-post sourcing and narrow Apple Silicon scope keep it in low featured, not P1.

OpenAI News

New Ways to Buy ChatGPT Ads

OpenAI expanded ChatGPT ad buying with a beta self-serve Ads Manager, CPC bidding, and enhanced measurement tools. The post says ads protect privacy and keep chats separate; it does not disclose pricing, rollout scope, or timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI is turning ChatGPT ads into buyable tooling. Price, placement scope, and rollout timing are not disclosed, so this stays a mid-weight business product update.

May 4Monday

r/LocalLLaMA

Gemma 4 E2B runs well on an 8GB Android phone, powering a private voice notes app

A Reddit user ran Gemma 4 E2B locally on an 8GB OnePlus CE 5 and built a private voice notes app. Whisper Small 244MB transcribes, Gemma 4 E2B 2.4GB splits and tags, and a 10-15s note takes 12-15s end to end. Search uses query expansion, FTS lanes, RRF, and optional Gemma top-K reranking with a 15s fallback.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Reddit first-person build, not an official Google release. Concrete hardware, latency, model size, and retrieval details place it near the top of the tutorial band.

r/LocalLLaMA

Could PC x64 Instruction Extensions Relieve Hardware Shortage?

Intel and AMD unveiled ACE, an x86 extension claiming 1,024 multiplications per clock. It uses 2D tile registers and outer-product algorithms, versus 64 multiplications for AVX. No ACE hardware is released; power, framework support, and shipping timelines are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle links CPU ISA changes to AI hardware scarcity, with concrete ACE throughput and mechanism. Kept below 85 because no hardware, power data, framework support, or shipment timeline is disclosed.

May 2Saturday

Hacker News front page

Show HN: Filling PDF Forms with AI Using Client-Side Tool Calling

SimplePDF released a Copilot demo that fills PDF forms via client-side tool calling; SimplePDF has 200k+ monthly users. PDFs stay in the browser, with parsing, rendering, and field detection local. The demo uses a DeepSeek V4 Flash proxy by default, with BYOK, cloud, or LM Studio options.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the client-side PDF-agent angle is specific, with a clear privacy mechanism and builder relevance. It sits in the 72–77 band as a useful product demo, not a major platform release.

Hacker News front page

Spotify Adds 'Verified' Badges to Distinguish Human Artists from AI

Spotify added 'Verified' badges for human artists to distinguish them from AI, per the title. The RSS snippet does not disclose the verification process, rollout scope, timing, or review criteria.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R are strong: human-vs-AI artist labeling is clickable and identity-charged. HKR-K is thin because only the badge fact is disclosed; no audit mechanism or rollout scope. Mid-weight product update, not P1.

May 1Friday

The Verge · AI

Microsoft wants lawyers to trust its new AI agent in Word documents

Microsoft launched Legal Agent in Word for legal teams, focused on tasks such as contract review. It follows legal workflows, reviews clauses against a playbook, and handles tracked changes; the post does not disclose pricing or rollout scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Word-native legal review is a sharp enterprise-agent angle, and the playbook plus tracked-changes mechanism adds substance. Price, rollout, and customer evidence are not disclosed, so it stays at the lower featured band.

r/LocalLLaMA

16x Spark Cluster Build Update

Reddit user Kurcide finished a 16-node DGX Spark cluster, with all nodes hitting line rate on the fabric. Each node uses one QSFP56 link to an FS N8510, showing 100–111 Gbps per rail and about 200 Gbps aggregate. The key angle is unified memory: 8 nodes served 434GB GLM-5.1-NVFP4, with DeepSeek and Kimi tests next.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post gives first-person cluster numbers, networking conditions, and a live 434GB model test. Scope stays local-inference hardware, so it fits the 72–77 band rather than a broader product-release tier.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

OpenAI upgrades Codex to control Macs and run cross-app tasks

OpenAI upgraded Codex with Slack, Google Workspace, and Microsoft 365 integrations. Mike Russell tested Codex on a Mac across Adobe Audition, Photoshop, and Firefly, finishing in about 8 minutes with an 85–90 score. The key shift is OS-level computer control, not code completion.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: OpenAI Codex moves from coding into Mac-level control, with Slack, Google Workspace, and Microsoft 365 integrations. Single-source sourcing caps the score, but the 8-minute test and OS-agent angle justify P1.

Latent Space

[AINews] Agents for Everything Else: Codex for Knowledge Work, Claude for Creative Work

OpenAI expanded Codex to non-coding work, with CUA reported 42% faster. The update connects Microsoft, Google, and Salesforce, covering docs, slides, spreadsheets, research, and planning. The key signal is GUI-agent productization, not one benchmark score.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Codex moves into non-code GUI work, with a 42% speed claim and named integrations. Price, rollout scope, and reproduction details are not disclosed, so it stays below P1.

Financial Times · Technology

Huawei’s AI chip sales surge as Nvidia stalls in China

Huawei received large AI processor orders from Chinese tech companies as Nvidia stalls in China. The post does not disclose order value, chip models, or delivery timing. The key issue is China’s domestic compute substitution path, not one sales headline.

Why it matters: FT sourcing and the Huawei-vs-Nvidia China angle clear HKR-H and HKR-R. HKR-K is weak because value, chip model, and delivery timing are not disclosed, so this stays in the 78–84 band.

NVIDIA Blog

Nemotron Labs: What OpenClaw Agents Mean for Every Organization

NVIDIA says OpenClaw reached 250,000 GitHub stars by March 2026, passing React within 60 days. OpenClaw is Peter Steinberger’s self-hosted persistent agent; NVIDIA introduced NemoClaw with OpenShell sandboxing and Nemotron models. The key issue is governance: the post claims reasoning AI raised token use 100x, and autonomous agents add another 1,000x.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenClaw’s GitHub growth is a hook, and NemoClaw names concrete sandbox and access-control mechanisms. NVIDIA’s own blog keeps it in the 78–84 band.

TechCrunch · AI

After Dissing Anthropic for Limiting Mythos, OpenAI Restricts Access to Cyber, Too

OpenAI will first roll out GPT-5.5 Cyber only to “critical cyber defenders.” The RSS snippet does not disclose eligibility rules, pricing, or launch timing. The access-tiering model is the key detail for practitioners.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body is RSS-only: it confirms tiered access for GPT-5.5 Cyber, not criteria, pricing, or timeline. This fits a lower-featured OpenAI safety product update.

TechCrunch · AI

Google’s Gemini AI assistant is hitting the road in millions of vehicles

Google is bringing its Gemini AI assistant to millions of vehicles. The RSS text says it brings more advanced conversational AI into driving. The post does not disclose models, timing, feature scope, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass on the scale hook, the “millions of vehicles” fact, and Google’s in-car distribution fight. Missing models, launch timing, feature limits, and pricing keep it in the 72–77 band.

TechCrunch · AI

Stripe introduces Link, a digital wallet autonomous AI agents can use

Stripe introduced Link, a digital wallet for cards, banks, subscriptions, and AI-agent spending. The post cites approval flows, but does not disclose fees, limits, or merchant coverage. Watch the authorization boundary for agent payments.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: agent wallet payments are clickable, the approval-control mechanism is concrete, and spend authorization is a live practitioner concern. Missing rates, limits, and merchant coverage keep it in the 72–77 band.