Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

721–740 of 842

Mar 24Tuesday

OpenAI News

Powering product discovery in ChatGPT

OpenAI described work to support product discovery in ChatGPT. The material provided includes only the title and no body text, so it gives no mechanism, scope, or numerical details.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI product update with a strong HKR-H hook and HKR-R impact: ChatGPT is moving closer to a commerce entry point. HKR-K is weak because the post does not disclose category coverage, ranking mechanics, merchant terms, or conversion numbers, so this stays near the lower

Mar 20Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The Download: OpenAI is building a fully automated researcher, and a psychedelic trial blind spot

OpenAI says it plans to build an autonomous AI research intern by September 2026 for a small set of research problems, ahead of a multi-agent automated researcher targeted for 2028. The RSS snippet gives the timeline and staged plan, but the post does not disclose evals, compute budget, or research scope. The real question is whether the agent can produce verifiable research output.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the “fully automated researcher” hook, HKR-K on the two roadmap dates, and HKR-R on research-job substitution plus lab rivalry. It stays below must-write because the post does not disclose benchmarks, compute budget, or scope, so this is a strong roadmap signal, no

MIT Technology Review · AI

OpenAI is making a fully automated researcher its North Star

OpenAI made a “fully automated researcher” its multi-year North Star and plans an autonomous “AI research intern” by September for a small number of specific problems. The post says this roadmap combines reasoning, agents, and interpretability, with a multi-agent research system targeted for 2028; it does not disclose pricing, compute, or evaluation criteria. The real thing to watch is long-horizon execution and task decomposition, not the slogan.

Why it matters: This lands on HKR-H/K/R: the roadmap has a strong hook, new timelines, and a direct job-and-competition nerve. Kept at 84, not p1, because this is a reported strategy piece rather than a shipped product, and price, compute, and evals are not disclosed.

Mar 18Wednesday

Mistral AI

Mistral AI launches Forge, an enterprise model-training system

Mistral AI launched Forge, a system for enterprises to build frontier-class AI models on their own proprietary knowledge. It covers pre-training, post-training and reinforcement learning, supports dense and MoE architectures, and handles multimodal input. Models can be trained and governed on in-house infrastructure. Mistral AI has worked with ASML, Ericsson, the European Space Agency and Singapore's DSO National Laboratories to train models on their proprietary data.

Why it matters: It details the staged capabilities and named partners behind enterprise frontier-model training on private data.

Mar 17Tuesday

NVIDIA Blog

GTC spotlights NVIDIA RTX PCs and DGX Spark running latest open models and AI agents locally

NVIDIA used GTC to showcase RTX PCs and DGX Spark for running local AI agents, and announced Nemotron 3 Nano 4B, Nemotron 3 Super 120B, and the open source NemoClaw stack. The post says DGX Spark has 128GB unified memory for models above 120B parameters; Nemotron 3 Super scored 85.6% on PinchBench, and Qwen 3.5 supports a 262,000-token context window. The key signal is local inference for privacy and zero token cost, while the full “latest open models” lineup and pricing are not disclosed in the post.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the local-agent hook is strong, and the post includes concrete specs and benchmark numbers. I keep it in featured, not higher, because the full model list and pricing are not disclosed and the source is still a vendor launch post.

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5.4 mini and nano

OpenAI released GPT-5.4 mini and nano on March 17, 2026 for coding and subagents; mini runs over 2x faster than GPT-5 mini. In the API, mini has a 400k context window and costs $0.75/$4.50 per 1M input/output tokens, while nano is API-only at $0.20/$1.25. The key signal is performance per latency: mini scores 54.4% on SWE-Bench Pro versus GPT-5.4 at 57.7%.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI model launch, not a routine patch. It includes concrete numbers—>2x speed, 400k context, API pricing, and 54.4% vs 57.7% on SWE-Bench Pro—so HKR-H/K/R all pass; scored at the low end of the 85–94 band.

Mar 12Thursday

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA Nemotron 3 Super delivers 5x higher throughput for agentic AI

NVIDIA launched Nemotron 3 Super, a 120B open model with 12B active parameters, and says it delivers up to 5x higher throughput for agentic AI. It has a 1M-token context window and uses hybrid MoE, latent MoE, and multi-token prediction; the post says Blackwell NVFP4 gives up to 4x faster inference than Hopper FP8, with over 10T training tokens disclosed. What matters is that NVIDIA is releasing open weights, training recipes, and RL environments for reproduction and fine-tuning.

Why it matters: This is a solid model-release story with all three HKR signals, led by strong HKR-K: parameter counts, active params, context length, training scale, and Blackwell/Hopper comparison are all concrete. It stays below 85 because the key performance claims come from NVIDIA's own blog

Mar 11Wednesday

OpenAI News

From model to agent: Equipping the Responses API with a computer environment

OpenAI said on March 11, 2026 that Responses API now works with a shell tool and hosted container workspace, so models can execute commands in an isolated loop. The post says GPT-5.2 and later are trained to propose shell commands, while the API streams outputs and can run multiple commands concurrently across sessions; the container includes a filesystem, optional SQLite, and restricted network access. The key change is orchestration, not the “agent” label; pricing, quotas, and full security details are not disclosed in the visible post.

Why it matters: Substantive OpenAI developer update: the Responses API moves from tool calls to a managed computer environment with shell execution, streaming, parallel runs, and context compaction, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post is truncated and omits pricing, quotas, and full safety details,【

Mar 10Tuesday

OpenAI News

New ways to learn math and science in ChatGPT

OpenAI launched interactive math and science visualizations in ChatGPT on March 10, 2026, covering 70+ core concepts and rolling out globally across all plans. Users can adjust variables, manipulate formulas, and see graphs update in real time; OpenAI says 140 million people use ChatGPT weekly for math and science learning. The key point is productized interactivity, while the post does not disclose the underlying model, evaluation method, or outcome data.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the interactive-visual hook, HKR-K on 140M weekly learners plus 70+ concepts and live manipulation, and HKR-R on the product and edtech nerve. It is still a mid-weight product update; model details and learning-outcome evaluation are not disclosed, so it stays in a

Mar 7Saturday

Bloomberg Technology

Oracle and OpenAI End Plans to Expand Flagship Data Center

Oracle and OpenAI ended talks to expand a flagship AI data center in Abilene, Texas, after financing delays and OpenAI's changing needs. Meta is considering leasing the site from Crusoe, and Nvidia helped facilitate talks; the post only says such projects cost tens of billions of dollars.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports that OpenAI and Oracle ended talks to expand the Abilene flagship site, with Meta potentially taking the parcel. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the reversal is strong, the story adds financing and demand detail, and the compute-capex angle will travel, but it is still an i

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI Releases AI Agent Security Tool for Research Preview

OpenAI released a research-preview AI agent for security teams to find and patch vulnerabilities in large databases. The RSS snippet discloses the use case and preview status, but the post does not disclose the model name, supported databases, pricing, or rollout timeline. Watch the deployment boundary, not the headline alone.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because OpenAI is shipping an agent for vuln discovery and patching; HKR-R lands because security automation is a live enterprise nerve. HKR-K is weak: the preview lacks model, coverage, pricing, and rollout details, so this stays at the featured floor.

Bloomberg Technology

Anthropic Unveils Amazon-Inspired Marketplace for AI Software

Anthropic is launching a platform for enterprise customers to buy third-party software, expanding its AI offerings. The RSS snippet confirms the audience and purpose, but the post does not disclose launch timing, revenue terms, or software scope. The key signal is a move from selling models toward channel distribution, as the company faces business uncertainty tied to a Pentagon standoff.

Why it matters: This is a meaningful channel move: Anthropic is extending from model sales into enterprise software distribution. HKR-H and HKR-R pass, but HKR-K is limited because launch timing, rev share, and catalog scope are not disclosed, so it lands at the low end of featured.

Mar 6Friday

OpenAI News

Codex Security: now in research preview

OpenAI launched Codex Security in research preview on March 6, 2026 for ChatGPT Pro, Enterprise, Business, and Edu users, with free usage for the next month. Over the last 30 days, it scanned more than 1.2 million commits across external repos and reported 792 critical and 10,561 high-severity findings; noise fell by up to 84%, over-reported severity by 90%+, and false positives by 50%+. What matters is the stack: project-specific threat models, sandboxed validation, and patch proposals grounded in system context.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update for dev and security teams, not generic security messaging. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle is novel, the post includes concrete scan and false-positive metrics, and it speaks to AI coding risk plus alert fatigue; still a research preview

Mar 5Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5.4

OpenAI announced GPT-5.4, and the RSS snippet discloses only the title and version number 5.4. The body is empty, so the post does not disclose model size, pricing, context window, benchmarks, or rollout scope; watch the full technical post, not this headline alone.

Why it matters: OpenAI naming GPT-5.4 has same-day news value, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. HKR-K fails because the post discloses only the model name; price, context window, evals, and rollout are missing, so it stays in the 78–84 band instead of higher.

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT for Excel and new financial data integrations

OpenAI launched ChatGPT for Excel beta on March 5, 2026, bringing GPT-5.4 into Excel workbooks and finance workflows. The post says it can build and update models, trace changes to cells, and is off by default for Enterprise and Edu admins; OpenAI's internal banking benchmark rose from 43.7% with GPT-5 to 87.3% with GPT-5.4 Thinking. The key move is data access: Moody’s, Dow Jones Factiva, MSCI, Third Bridge, and MT Newswires are live, while FactSet is listed as coming soon.

Why it matters: This is more than a routine add-on: OpenAI puts ChatGPT into Excel, names major finance data feeds, and cites a 43.7%→87.3% internal banking benchmark gain. HKR-H/K/R all pass; importance lands at 82 because this is a strong vertical workflow move, not a market-wide model release

Mar 3Tuesday

OpenAI News

GPT-5.3 Instant: Smoother, more useful everyday conversations

OpenAI released GPT-5.3 Instant on March 3, 2026 as an update to ChatGPT’s most-used model, aiming for fewer unnecessary refusals, fewer disclaimers, and more accurate everyday answers. The post shows one concrete contrast: GPT-5.2 Instant refused long-range archery trajectory help, while GPT-5.3 Instant requested parameters and gave a no-drag example at 300 fps (about 91 m/s), 45°, and 845 m; the key issue is the safety-boundary shift, while the post does not disclose benchmark scores, system card details, or API pricing.

Why it matters: OpenAI updated a core ChatGPT everyday model, and the story clears HKR-H/K/R because the refusal-boundary shift is concrete and widely relevant. The post includes a specific 5.2 vs 5.3 behavior example, but no system card, benchmark table, or API pricing, so it lands below the 85

Feb 28Saturday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Qwen plans AI glasses, earbuds, and rings as tech giants race for a new AI entry point

A report says Alibaba's Qwen plans AI glasses, earbuds, and rings for a global launch in 2026; the glasses are slated for MWC 2026, with reservations opening on March 2. The post adds that Qwen app functions like food delivery and ride hailing will move to these devices, and cites Qwen3.5-Plus with 60% lower memory use, up to 19x inference throughput, and RMB 0.8 per million tokens. The real point is distribution: if the hardware connects Alipay, Amap, and Taobao, Alibaba is chasing the consumer AI entry layer, not just device sales.

Why it matters: This is a distribution-entry story for Alibaba/Qwen, not a routine accessory refresh. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the multi-device bet is a strong hook, the report includes launch timing and model economics, and it hits the ecosystem-front-end nerve; but it is still a media exclusive, so

Feb 27Friday

36Kr (direct RSS)

From short video to long-form: Douyin is also handing news to AI

Douyin launched long-form posts in late 2025, raising the cap from 4,000 to 8,000 Chinese characters, and added “AI-selected news” summaries in its Hot topics tab. Long-form publishing is web-only for now, and the post says AI news will enter the main feed, but it does not disclose ranking weight, licensing scope, or fact-checking rules. The real issue is distribution and accountability: AI summaries and original articles will compete in the same traffic pool.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: Douyin putting AI summaries into its hot-news surface is a strong hook, and the piece includes concrete mechanics like the 8,000-word cap, web-only publishing, and follow-up queries. The real industry angle is distribution, copyright, and fact-checking, but

Feb 14Saturday

Ruan YiFeng's Weblog

Using ByteDance's Seed 2.0 and TRAE with Skills for app building and deployment

Ruanyifeng used ByteDance's Seed 2.0 Code and TRAE to generate one ASCII-to-Excalidraw web app and preview it at localhost:8080. The post says Seed 2.0 includes Pro, Lite, Mini, and Code models, and shows Skills as YAML-headed Markdown files, including Anthropic's frontend-design and Vercel deploy examples.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-K land because the post turns Seed 2.0 Code + TRAE into a runnable mini app and explains the Skill mechanism with concrete setup details. HKR-R also lands for coding-agent workflow reuse, but this is a strong tutorial, not a major ByteDance launch, so it sits at the

MIT Technology Review · AI

ALS stole this musician’s voice. AI let him sing again.

Patrick Darling, 32, returned to the stage on February 11 in London after two years without singing, using an AI voice clone rebuilt from old recordings. The post says speech cloning typically needs about 10 minutes of clean audio; his singing clone was built from noisy phone clips and kitchen recordings, then refined with Eleven Music over about six weeks. The practical signal is access, not sentiment: ElevenLabs offers the tools free to people who lost their voices to ALS and similar conditions, but the post does not disclose model details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the hook is strong, the story gives concrete reproducible details, and the use case hits accessibility plus voice-rights nerves. Still, this is a strong application story, not a major model, product, or research release, so it stays in low featured.