Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1281–1300 of 1,549

Apr 9Thursday

X · @dotey

Anthropic launches Claude Managed Agents, a managed API for building and deploying agents, now in public beta

Anthropic launched Claude Managed Agents, a managed API for building and deploying agents, in public beta. It offers a production sandbox, long-running sessions, and multi-agent coordination; Anthropic says internal tests showed up to a 10-point success-rate gain on structured file-generation tasks versus standard prompt loops. Pricing uses standard Claude token fees plus $0.08 per active session-hour; the real signal is Anthropic moving agent infrastructure into its platform layer.

Why it matters: Anthropic packaged managed agents, sandboxing, and long-running sessions into a public-beta API, which is a real workflow update for developers. HKR-H/K/R all pass: strong platform hook, concrete facts like a 10-point gain and $0.08 per hour, and clear resonance around developer-

Apr 8Wednesday

X · @dotey

Hermes Agent is gaining traction; I installed it and the experience was decent

Nous Research open-sourced Hermes Agent in late February, and the post says it reached nearly 30,000 GitHub stars in under two months. The post describes a closed learning loop: after complex tasks with 5+ tool calls, Hermes writes Markdown skills, with one Reddit report claiming 3 skills in 2 hours and a 40% speedup on repeated research work. The key angle is its self-hosted agent engine that combines skill generation, SQLite-based memory retrieval, and five-layer safety controls.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the piece combines strong OSS momentum, concrete mechanics, and a real builder nerve around self-hosted learning agents. It stays at 78 because the evidence is mostly social commentary and light user feedback, not a primary release or broad independent eval.

Latent Space

Extreme Harness Engineering for Token Billionaires: 1M LOC, 1B toks/day, 0% human code, 0% human review

OpenAI Frontier says it built an internal beta over five months with a repo above 1M LOC, over 1B tokens per day, and 0% human-written or human-reviewed code before merge. The post says the team treated failures as missing capability, context, or structure, then used Symphony orchestration, specs, tests, observability, and sub-1-minute build loops to constrain Codex. The shift to watch is from humans reviewing code to humans designing the harness; the $2k-$3k/day cost is cited secondhand in the post.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the headline is clickworthy, and the piece includes concrete workflow details plus scale numbers. It stays below p1 because this is an interview-style report, not an official launch, and key claims like 1B tokens/day and cost lack independent verification.

Apr 7Tuesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The one piece of data that could actually shed light on your job and AI

University of Chicago economist Alex Imas argues that AI job displacement depends less on task exposure and more on industry-level price elasticity data; the piece cites OpenAI estimating real estate agents as 28% exposed. It adds that the US task catalog started in 1998, and Anthropic compared it with millions of Claude chats in February. The key variable is whether lower prices raise demand enough, and the post does not disclose any economy-wide dataset yet.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-K: it reframes job impact around price elasticity, with concrete anchors like OpenAI's 28% exposure for real-estate agents and Anthropic's O*NET-to-Claude mapping. HKR-R is clear because it hits job displacement anxiety, but this is commentary, not a fresh dataset or a

Apr 3Friday

X · @OpenAI

ChatGPT is now available in CarPlay

OpenAI is rolling out ChatGPT in CarPlay to iPhone users on iOS 26.4+ where CarPlay is supported. The post confirms voice mode is available in-car, but does not disclose regions, vehicle coverage, or feature limits. The key shift is distribution into the driving interface, not a new model launch.

Why it matters: This matters more as a distribution-surface shift than a model update. HKR-H and HKR-R pass on the CarPlay hook and assistant-entry competition; HKR-K stays limited because the post gives iOS 26.4+ rollout only, not regions, car support, or full feature bounds.

Apr 2Thursday

OpenAI News

OpenAI acquires TBPN

OpenAI said on April 2, 2026 it acquired tech media company TBPN and will place it in its Strategy org, reporting to Chris Lehane. The post says TBPN keeps editorial independence; deal value, equity terms, and integration timeline are not disclosed.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the deal is unexpected, the post gives concrete governance details, and the media-control angle will get practitioners talking. Held at 82 because price, deal structure, and integration timeline are not disclosed, so it lands below model or product launches

X · @dotey

Bloomberg: OpenAI's secondary market is cooling while Anthropic's is heating up

OpenAI has $600M of shares for sale in the secondary market with no buyers, while Anthropic has about $2B of indicated demand. The post says OpenAI secondary bids are around a $765B valuation versus its last $852B round, while Anthropic bids reach about $600B versus its last $380B round. The signal is the split between primary-round hype and secondary liquidity; the post also says Anthropic had a second security incident this week involving leaked Claude source code.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the OpenAI-vs-Anthropic reversal is clickable, carries concrete secondary-market numbers, and hits valuation and rivalry nerves. Kept below P1 because this is reported market color, not a primary filing or official financing event.

Mar 31Tuesday

OpenAI News

Accelerating the next phase of AI

OpenAI published a post titled "Accelerating the next phase of AI." The provided content includes only the title and URL, with no body text, so no specific product, research, or policy details can be verified.

MIT Technology Review · AI

There are more AI health tools than ever—but how well do they work?

Microsoft launched Copilot Health this month, and Amazon expanded Health AI beyond One Medical; the piece also cites OpenAI’s ChatGPT Health and Anthropic’s Claude, showing consumer health chatbots are becoming a trend. Microsoft says Copilot gets 50 million health questions per day, but all six academics interviewed raised safety concerns over the lack of independent evaluation; the post cites a Mount Sinai study saying ChatGPT Health can over-recommend care for mild cases and miss emergencies. The key issue is external validation, not vendor-run benchmarks.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-K and HKR-R: it combines concrete scale, named critics, and Mount Sinai error modes around a high-risk AI vertical. HKR-H also lands through the 'more tools, but do they work?' tension, but this is trend reporting rather than a market-moving launch or breakthrough, so

Mar 25Wednesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The AI Hype Index: AI Goes to War

An MIT Technology Review Hype Index item says Anthropic, OpenAI, and the Pentagon are competing over military AI use, with “AI goes to war” as the core claim. The RSS snippet names Claude, ChatGPT, OpenClaw, Moltbook, and RentAHuman, but the post does not disclose deal size, timeline, protest scale, or contract terms. The real signal is how fast model vendors are binding themselves to defense systems.

Why it matters: Featured at the floor on HKR-H + HKR-R: frontier model vendors tied to Pentagon use is a strong hook and a real industry nerve. HKR-K is thin because the summary gives no contract value, timeline, or cooperation terms.

OpenAI News

Introducing the OpenAI Safety Bug Bounty program

OpenAI launched a public Safety Bug Bounty on March 25, 2026 for AI abuse and safety issues across its products. Scope includes agentic risks, proprietary information exposure, and account or platform integrity; third-party prompt injection must reproduce at least 50% of the time. This is not a jailbreak bounty: generic policy bypasses are out of scope.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the public AI-safety bounty is novel, the post gives testable scope rules, and builders care about the reporting boundary. It stays in the low featured band because this is a governance/process update, not a model or capability launch.

Mar 24Tuesday

OpenAI News

Powering product discovery in ChatGPT

OpenAI described work to support product discovery in ChatGPT. The material provided includes only the title and no body text, so it gives no mechanism, scope, or numerical details.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI product update with a strong HKR-H hook and HKR-R impact: ChatGPT is moving closer to a commerce entry point. HKR-K is weak because the post does not disclose category coverage, ranking mechanics, merchant terms, or conversion numbers, so this stays near the lower

Mar 20Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The Download: OpenAI is building a fully automated researcher, and a psychedelic trial blind spot

OpenAI says it plans to build an autonomous AI research intern by September 2026 for a small set of research problems, ahead of a multi-agent automated researcher targeted for 2028. The RSS snippet gives the timeline and staged plan, but the post does not disclose evals, compute budget, or research scope. The real question is whether the agent can produce verifiable research output.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the “fully automated researcher” hook, HKR-K on the two roadmap dates, and HKR-R on research-job substitution plus lab rivalry. It stays below must-write because the post does not disclose benchmarks, compute budget, or scope, so this is a strong roadmap signal, no

MIT Technology Review · AI

OpenAI is making a fully automated researcher its North Star

OpenAI made a “fully automated researcher” its multi-year North Star and plans an autonomous “AI research intern” by September for a small number of specific problems. The post says this roadmap combines reasoning, agents, and interpretability, with a multi-agent research system targeted for 2028; it does not disclose pricing, compute, or evaluation criteria. The real thing to watch is long-horizon execution and task decomposition, not the slogan.

Why it matters: This lands on HKR-H/K/R: the roadmap has a strong hook, new timelines, and a direct job-and-competition nerve. Kept at 84, not p1, because this is a reported strategy piece rather than a shipped product, and price, compute, and evals are not disclosed.

Mar 19Thursday

Ben's Bites

What makes a good AGENTS.md?

Ben's Bites says AGENTS.md should keep only behavior preferences, not tech-stack maps or key files; the post cites a study saying that hurts performance and raises cost by 20%. It recommends symlinking AGENTS.md to CLAUDE.md, using conditional blocks, and relying on folder-level dynamic loading; the study name and setup are not disclosed. The real point is not more context, but smaller persistent instructions.

Why it matters: This is a practitioner explainer for coding-agent users, not a product launch. HKR-K and HKR-R pass on the concrete 'keep AGENTS.md small' claim, the 20% cost figure, and usable patterns; HKR-H is weak, and the cited study name and setup are not disclosed, so it sits at the low '

OpenAI News

OpenAI to acquire Astral

OpenAI plans to acquire Astral, and the only confirmed condition is the title phrase “to acquire.” The RSS item has no body, so price, timeline, regulatory process, and Astral’s business scope are not disclosed.

Why it matters: An OpenAI acquisition headline clears HKR-H and HKR-R because M&A affects talent, product integration, and competitive reading. HKR-K is weak: the post confirms the deal only, with no price, timeline, regulatory path, or integration details, so it sits at the low end of featured.

Mar 18Wednesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The Pentagon plans to let AI companies train models on classified data, defense official says

The Pentagon is discussing secure facilities where AI firms can train military-specific models on classified data. The post says training would follow tests on nonclassified data; the DoD keeps data ownership, and company staff would access it only rarely with clearance. The key issue is leakage: one shared model may resurface classified information across groups with different access levels.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the unusual classified-data-training angle; HKR-K lands on concrete guardrails and ownership terms; HKR-R lands on defense procurement and leakage risk. Score stays below 85 because this is a planning-stage report, not a signed program, budget, or deployment.

Mar 17Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5.4 mini and nano

OpenAI released GPT-5.4 mini and nano on March 17, 2026 for coding and subagents; mini runs over 2x faster than GPT-5 mini. In the API, mini has a 400k context window and costs $0.75/$4.50 per 1M input/output tokens, while nano is API-only at $0.20/$1.25. The key signal is performance per latency: mini scores 54.4% on SWE-Bench Pro versus GPT-5.4 at 57.7%.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI model launch, not a routine patch. It includes concrete numbers—>2x speed, 400k context, API pricing, and 54.4% vs 57.7% on SWE-Bench Pro—so HKR-H/K/R all pass; scored at the low end of the 85–94 band.

MIT Technology Review · AI

Where OpenAI’s technology could show up in Iran

Just over two weeks after OpenAI’s classified-use deal with the Pentagon, MIT Technology Review outlined three places its tech could surface in Iran-related conflict. The post names target prioritization, Anduril counter-drone analysis, and GenAI.mil back-office use; it does not disclose when classified integration will finish or confirm deployment in Iran.

Why it matters: MIT Technology Review maps OpenAI’s classified-defense deal to 3 Iran-linked scenarios, giving it strong HKR-H and HKR-R. HKR-K is weaker because the piece does not confirm deployment, integration timing, or system limits, so it lands at the featured floor.

Mar 13Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The Download: how AI is used for military targeting, and the Pentagon's war on Claude

A US Defense Department official said the military can feed target lists into a classified generative AI system to analyze and rank strike priority, with humans reviewing the output. The title also says the Pentagon CTO called Claude a risk to the defense supply chain because of a built-in “policy preference”; the post does not disclose the exact model, timeline, or control mechanism. The key point is that generative AI is entering high-stakes decision loops while audit details remain undisclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the post links genAI directly to target-priority ranking and frames a Pentagon pushback against Claude over embedded policy preferences. Key facts—the model used, deployment timing, and audit controls—are not disclosed, so it stays in the low featured band.