Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1261–1280 of 1,549

Apr 17Friday

X · @OpenAI

Introducing GPT-Rosalind, OpenAI's frontier reasoning model for biology, drug discovery, and translational medicine

OpenAI introduced GPT-Rosalind as a reasoning model for biology, drug discovery, and translational medicine research. The title and snippet disclose its intended domains; the post does not disclose size, benchmarks, availability, pricing, or launch timing. The key point is research targeting, but reproducible details are absent so far.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI announcement plus the unusual biology/drug-discovery positioning gives this HKR-H and HKR-R. HKR-K is weak because the post discloses only the model name and target domains; benchmarks, params, access, and launch timing are not disclosed, so it stays at the low

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI upgrades Codex with more control over your desktop

OpenAI upgraded Codex on April 16, 2026, expanding its desktop control, and the headline frames it as a move against Anthropic. The truncated post only confirms more desktop power for Codex and says Claude Code has become a preferred tool for many businesses; the post does not disclose exact features, pricing, rollout, or permission limits. The key issue is the permission boundary, not the coding-tool label.

Why it matters: TechCrunch reports an OpenAI Codex desktop-control upgrade framed as a direct move against Anthropic, so HKR-H and HKR-R land. But HKR-K is limited: the article confirms broader permissions only, with no action list, pricing, or rollout details, so it stays at the featured floor.

X · @dotey

Codex major update: from a coding tool to an assistant that can operate your computer

OpenAI upgraded Codex into a Mac desktop agent and says it serves 3M+ weekly developers. It can see screens, click, type, run parallel agents, and adds 90+ plugins. Desktop rollout starts now for ChatGPT sign-ins; computer control is macOS-first.

Why it matters: OpenAI expands Codex from coding help into a Mac-operating agent, with parallel agents, 90+ plugins, and a claimed 3M weekly developer base. HKR-H/K/R all pass; missing safety boundary and pricing details keep it in the high-80s, not the 90s.

X · @OpenAI

Codex for (almost) everything.

OpenAI said Codex can now use apps on Mac, connect to more tools, and handle ongoing and repeatable tasks. The post also claims image creation, learning from prior actions, and remembering user preferences; it does not disclose app coverage, integration method, pricing, or rollout timing.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI product update, and Codex moves from coding help toward desktop control, tool use, and memory, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post still omits supported apps, integration method, pricing, and launch timing, keeping it in the 78–84 band.

Apr 16Thursday

OpenAI News

Codex for (almost) everything

OpenAI published a post titled "Codex for (almost) everything." The provided content has no body text, so the only confirmed facts are the mention of Codex and the phrase "almost everything," which is not enough to verify features, timing, or scope.

Why it matters: Major OpenAI product release for a huge installed base: Codex moves from coding assist toward a computer-using, memory-bearing agent across the dev lifecycle. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the excerpt is truncated; pricing, rollout, and permission details are still missing, so it lands

Latent Space

[AINews] RIP Pull Requests (2005-2026)

GitHub is, for the first time 21 years after pull requests emerged, letting open-source repos disable PRs; the post frames this as a signal that AI coding workflows are changing collaboration. It gives a 2005-to-2026 timeline and cites agent stacks from OpenAI and Cloudflare as pressure toward prompt-driven contributions and sandboxed execution; the real question is whether Git-based workflows still fit agent collaboration.

Why it matters: This is not a primary GitHub announcement, but it turns one concrete change—open-source repos can disable PRs—into a sharp workflow question for agent coding. HKR-H/K/R all pass; the score stays mid-featured because the excerpt lacks scope, adoption data, and primary-source GitH​

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-Rosalind for life sciences research

OpenAI released GPT-Rosalind on April 16, 2026, and made it available as a research preview in ChatGPT, Codex, and the API for qualified customers. The post says it targets biology, drug discovery, and translational medicine, and adds a free Codex life sciences plugin connecting to 50+ scientific tools and data sources. The real signal is deployment breadth: Amgen, Moderna, and Thermo Fisher Scientific are involved, but the post does not disclose model size, pricing, or benchmark scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because OpenAI is shipping a vertical life-sciences model; HKR-K lands on access paths and the 50+ tool/data plugin. HKR-R also lands on the domain-model debate, but missing params, pricing, and benchmark scores keep it at featured, not p1.

TechCrunch · AI

Google rolls out a native Gemini app for Mac

Google launched a native Gemini app for Mac on April 15 for all users worldwide on macOS 15 and later, with Option + Space as the summon shortcut. Users can share their screen or local files with Gemini, and the app also supports image generation with Nano Banana and video generation with Veo. The key shift is desktop access plus live context sharing, not just another client.

Why it matters: Google shipping a native Gemini app for Mac clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is desktop entry, the new facts are hotkey and context sharing, and the resonance is the desktop assistant race. Still a mid-weight product update, not a model leap, so it sits at the low end of featured.

X · @dotey

OpenAI Agents SDK adds built-in sandbox and native Harness

OpenAI upgraded Agents SDK with a built-in sandbox and native Harness; it supports Python now, is available to all OpenAI API users, and pricing stays unchanged. The post says the sandbox can read and write files, run code, install dependencies, and persist state, with support for Cloudflare, Vercel, Modal, E2B, Daytona, and custom setups. The key detail is state-execution separation for crash recovery; TypeScript support is still in development, and the post does not disclose a release date.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI developer-tool update. HKR-K is strong because it discloses testable mechanics—sandboxed execution, persisted state, and recovery after container failure; HKR-H and HKR-R also pass, but the impact stays at the SDK/tooling layer, so it fits featured, a

Apr 15Wednesday

OpenAI News

The next evolution of the Agents SDK

OpenAI published a post about the next evolution of the Agents SDK. Only the title is available, with no body text or details, so specific features, numbers, and timing cannot be confirmed. For AI developers, it signals continued updates to the Agents SDK, but the scope is unclear from the source provided.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI developer-platform update: the post confirms native sandbox execution, a stronger agent-loop harness, and harness/compute separation, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. It stays below P1 because pricing, rollout scope, and performance numbers are not disclosed in

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

Will OpenClaw Go Closed Source? Peter Steinberger on OpenClaw at AI Engineer

Peter Steinberger said at the April 9, 2026 AI Engineer event that OpenClaw will not go closed source; the project reached nearly 30,000 commits and almost 2,000 contributors in 5 months. The talk says OpenClaw logged 1,142 security reports, 99 marked critical, 469 public with a 60% closure rate, and Fast Mode cut his parallel sessions from nearly 10 to 5-6. The key signal is the operating model: local-first, model-neutral, and a foundation for security maintenance; the post does not disclose a release date or implementation details for Dreaming.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the close-source question is a strong hook, and the talk adds concrete stats on contributors, advisories, and Fast Mode. The score stays near the featured floor because this is a YouTube recap, and several teased items lack mechanism or release details.

Apr 14Tuesday

X · @dotey

Rather than AI First, this is really Software Engineering First

The post argues “AI First” is an engineering problem: if AI writes code in 2 hours, review, testing, deploy, monitoring, and rollback must also run automatically, with humans kept at key decision points. Its concrete prerequisites are automated tests, CI/CD, A/B testing, production monitoring, task management, and a clear architecture; without them, a 25-person team just shifts bottlenecks from coding to QA and ops. The real boundary is use case fit: API services, data platforms, and internal tools fit better than complex UI, core products, or high-security systems.

Why it matters: This is a strong practitioner commentary rather than a news event. HKR-H lands on the contrarian framing, HKR-K on concrete prerequisites and scope limits, and HKR-R on the bottleneck-shift argument; it stays in the mid-70s because there are no named cases, first-person tests, or

OpenAI News

Trusted access for the next era of cyber defense

OpenAI published an article titled “Trusted access for the next era of cyber defense,” focused on trusted access for the next phase of cyber defense. Only the title is available here and no body text is provided, so the confirmed details are limited to its emphasis on “trusted access” and “cyber defense.”

Why it matters: OpenAI gives concrete TAC scale—thousands of verified defenders and hundreds of critical-software teams—and explicitly ties it to GPT-5.4-Cyber and an upcoming release. HKR is 3/3, but the excerpt cuts off model specs, evals, and access details, so this is strong featured, not p1

Apr 13Monday

X · @dotey

Sam Altman's San Francisco home was attacked again within 48 hours; police arrested two shooting suspects

San Francisco police said Sam Altman’s Russian Hill home was shot at again at 1:40 a.m. on April 12 and that two suspects were arrested at 4:15 p.m. the same day. The post names Amanda Tom, 25, and Muhamad Tarik Hussein, 23, on negligent discharge charges; a separate attack within 48 hours involved a 20-year-old man accused of throwing a Molotov cocktail. The key fact is repeated escalation at the same address, while the post says no one was injured and OpenAI and police did not disclose more on the second case.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: two attacks on the same Sam Altman home within 48 hours is a strong hook, and the post includes times, names and charges. It stays featured, not p1, because there is no product or market impact yet and the source is a social post summary.

Apr 11Saturday

X · @OpenAI

OpenAI says an Axios third-party library security issue prompted macOS app certificate updates

OpenAI said an Axios third-party library security issue led it to require all macOS users to update their OpenAI apps. The post says it found no evidence of user data access, system compromise, or software tampering; the change updates macOS app certificates to reduce fake app distribution risk. The post does not disclose affected versions or a timeline.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI desktop security incident with a concrete macOS mitigation, so HKR-H/K/R all land. It stays in the low featured band because the post does not disclose affected versions, exposure window, discovery date, or full remediation timeline.

X · @dotey

OpenAI Codex team's Nick Baumann: build dedicated CLI tools for AI instead of feeding messy data repeatedly

OpenAI Codex engineer Nick Baumann says teams should wrap repeated data access into parameterized CLI tools with JSON output instead of repeatedly dumping logs, docs, and API responses into Codex. The post lists 3 examples in daily use: codex-threads for past sessions, slack-cli for threaded Slack search, and typefully-cli for posting workflows; access still goes through the existing auth gateway. The point for practitioners is narrower interfaces: models handle focused commands more reliably than raw, noisy source data.

Why it matters: This is a practical workflow note from an OpenAI Codex team member, not a formal launch, but it offers a reusable mechanism: wrap noisy context behind parameterized JSON-returning CLIs and shows 3 live examples. HKR-H/K/R all land; no benchmark, scale, or major product release,so

Apr 10Friday

QbitAI · WeChat

Tencent open-sources 3B SVG model HiVG to make tokens geometry-aware

Tencent Hunyuan open-sourced the 3B-parameter HiVG, claiming 62.7%-63.8% shorter SVG sequences via hierarchical tokenization and better SVG generation metrics than GPT-5.2, Claude-4.5-Sonnet, and some 8B open models. The post reports 0.896 SSIM, 0.114 LPIPS, and 0.957 CLIP-S on Image-to-SVG; the core method packs drawing commands plus coordinates into segment tokens and uses HMN to initialize coordinate embeddings. The part to watch is token design, not parameter count; paper, code, and project page are public.

Why it matters: Tencent's HiVG earns HKR-H and HKR-K: a 3B open model claims GPT/Claude-level SVG results, and the article includes 62.7%-63.8% token compression plus SSIM 0.896, LPIPS 0.114, and CLIP-S 0.957. HKR-R is weaker because SVG generation remains niche, so it lands at the low end of `f

OpenAI News

Our response to the Axios developer tool compromise

OpenAI said a macOS app-signing workflow executed the poisoned Axios 1.14.1 on March 31, 2026, and it will rotate and revoke the old certificate by May 8. The workflow could access signing and notarization material for ChatGPT Desktop, Codex App, Codex CLI, and Atlas; OpenAI said it found no evidence of user-data, product, or code compromise, and traced the issue to a GitHub Actions floating tag and no minimumReleaseAge.

Why it matters: This is a first-party incident disclosure with full HKR: H from a poisoned dependency reaching OpenAI's signing pipeline, K from concrete root-cause and remediation details, R from supply-chain trust and fake-app risk. The scope appears limited, so it lands as strong featured, no

X · @OpenAI

OpenAI updates ChatGPT Pro and Plus subscriptions to support growing Codex usage

OpenAI set a new ChatGPT Pro tier at $100/month and raised Codex usage to 5x ChatGPT Plus. The tier keeps all Pro features, including the exclusive Pro model and unlimited Instant and Thinking access. Through May 31, $100 Pro subscribers get up to 10x Plus usage on Codex; the real signal is separate pricing for heavy code-agent demand.

Why it matters: This is an OpenAI product-pricing update centered on Codex usage, with HKR-K from concrete pricing/quota facts and HKR-R from a clear signal on code-agent monetization. No new model or capability is disclosed, and HKR-H is weaker, so it lands as solid featured rather than must-wr

Apr 9Thursday

X · @op7418

Meta releases Muse Spark model

Meta released the Muse Spark model with native multimodal reasoning, tool use, visual chain-of-thought, and multi-agent orchestration, but it is only available in the Meta AI app and is not open source for now. The snippet says its Contemplating mode coordinates multiple parallel agents for reasoning, and its Artificial Analysis score is below Gemini 3.1 Pro, GPT-5.4, and Claude Opus 4.6. The post does not disclose model size, pricing, or rollout timing.

Why it matters: A major-lab model launch plus the “poached team’s first output” angle lands HKR-H/K/R. The score stays near the featured floor because the post offers capability claims and relative benchmark placement only; params, pricing, rollout timing, and access scope are not disclosed.