Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1301–1320 of 1,549

Mar 13Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

A defense official reveals how AI chatbots could be used for targeting decisions

A US defense official said the Pentagon can feed target lists into generative AI, have the model rank them using factors like aircraft location, and send strike recommendations for human review. The post says this chatbot layer may sit on top of Maven to speed search and analysis, but it does not disclose the speed gain, and the official did not confirm current operational use. The key issue is verification: chat outputs are easier to use than Maven’s map UI but harder to check.

Why it matters: Full HKR: the headline's hook is a chatbot in target ranking, and the body gives a concrete workflow tied to Maven plus human review. I keep it at 80, not higher, because the official describes a possible use case; speed gains and combat deployment are not confirmed.

Mar 11Wednesday

OpenAI News

From model to agent: Equipping the Responses API with a computer environment

OpenAI said on March 11, 2026 that Responses API now works with a shell tool and hosted container workspace, so models can execute commands in an isolated loop. The post says GPT-5.2 and later are trained to propose shell commands, while the API streams outputs and can run multiple commands concurrently across sessions; the container includes a filesystem, optional SQLite, and restricted network access. The key change is orchestration, not the “agent” label; pricing, quotas, and full security details are not disclosed in the visible post.

Why it matters: Substantive OpenAI developer update: the Responses API moves from tool calls to a managed computer environment with shell execution, streaming, parallel runs, and context compaction, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post is truncated and omits pricing, quotas, and full safety details,【

Mar 10Tuesday

OpenAI News

Improving instruction hierarchy in frontier LLMs

OpenAI published a post titled “Improving instruction hierarchy in frontier LLMs,” focusing on better handling of instruction hierarchy in frontier large language models. Only the title is available and the body is absent, so the confirmed facts are limited to the topic itself and its scope: frontier LLMs.

Why it matters: OpenAI disclosed a named research artifact on instruction hierarchy and prompt-injection robustness, so HKR-H/K/R pass. The excerpt gives no metrics, target models, or release details, which keeps it in the lower featured band.

OpenAI News

New ways to learn math and science in ChatGPT

OpenAI launched interactive math and science visualizations in ChatGPT on March 10, 2026, covering 70+ core concepts and rolling out globally across all plans. Users can adjust variables, manipulate formulas, and see graphs update in real time; OpenAI says 140 million people use ChatGPT weekly for math and science learning. The key point is productized interactivity, while the post does not disclose the underlying model, evaluation method, or outcome data.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the interactive-visual hook, HKR-K on 140M weekly learners plus 70+ concepts and live manipulation, and HKR-R on the product and edtech nerve. It is still a mid-weight product update; model details and learning-outcome evaluation are not disclosed, so it stays in a

Mar 9Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI to acquire Promptfoo

OpenAI said it will acquire Promptfoo and integrate its technology into OpenAI Frontier after closing. The post discloses that Promptfoo is used by over 25% of Fortune 500 companies, and the deal is still subject to customary closing conditions. The key signal is native agent security testing, red-teaming, and traceability in Frontier; the post does not disclose price or timeline.

Why it matters: This is not a routine partnership; OpenAI is absorbing a known eval and red-team vendor into Frontier. HKR-H/K/R all pass on novelty, concrete adoption data, and strong resonance with agent teams, but price, timing, and integration scope are still undisclosed, so it stays below p

Mar 7Saturday

Bloomberg Technology

Oracle and OpenAI End Plans to Expand Flagship Data Center

Oracle and OpenAI ended talks to expand a flagship AI data center in Abilene, Texas, after financing delays and OpenAI's changing needs. Meta is considering leasing the site from Crusoe, and Nvidia helped facilitate talks; the post only says such projects cost tens of billions of dollars.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports that OpenAI and Oracle ended talks to expand the Abilene flagship site, with Meta potentially taking the parcel. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the reversal is strong, the story adds financing and demand detail, and the compute-capex angle will travel, but it is still an i

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI, Oracle Won't Expand Flagship AI Data Center in Texas

OpenAI and Oracle have scrapped plans to expand a flagship AI data center in Texas after financing talks dragged and OpenAI's needs changed. The RSS snippet confirms only the Texas site; the post does not disclose the facility name, target capacity, capex, or revised timeline. The signal to watch is shifting compute demand, not just a stalled real estate project.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports OpenAI and Oracle dropped a flagship Texas data-center expansion, citing financing delays and shifting OpenAI demand. HKR-H/K/R all pass and source authority helps, but missing capacity, capex, and timeline details keep it in the low 80s.

Bloomberg Technology

Oracle and OpenAI End Plans to Expand Flagship Data Center

Oracle and OpenAI ended plans to expand a flagship AI data center in Texas. The RSS snippet says talks dragged over financing and OpenAI’s changing needs; the post does not disclose the site’s size, budget, or timeline. The real signal is financing friction plus a demand reassessment.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports a meaningful infrastructure reversal, so HKR-H and HKR-R land: it is unexpected and it hits compute-supply and capex concerns around OpenAI. HKR-K is limited because the writeup omits size, spend, and timing, keeping this near the featured threshold.

MIT Technology Review · AI

Is the Pentagon allowed to surveil Americans with AI?

MIT Technology Review reports that the Pentagon sought to use Anthropic Claude to analyze bulk commercial data on Americans, triggering a public clash; OpenAI then revised its contract to bar intentional domestic surveillance of U.S. persons. The key mechanism disclosed is that the U.S. government can buy commercial location and browsing data, and if collection is deemed lawful, current law often does not restrict feeding it into AI for aggregation and profiling. The real issue is that contract red lines may not bind the DoD; OpenAI has not released the full contract, and the post does not disclose how its safety stack would be enforced.

Why it matters: Full HKR-H/K/R: strong Pentagon-surveillance hook, a concrete legal mechanism on commercial data reuse, and clear resonance for defense-contract and safety-boundary debates. It stops short of 85 because the new OpenAI contract text and enforcement details are not disclosed.

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI Releases AI Agent Security Tool for Research Preview

OpenAI released a research-preview AI agent for security teams to find and patch vulnerabilities in large databases. The RSS snippet discloses the use case and preview status, but the post does not disclose the model name, supported databases, pricing, or rollout timeline. Watch the deployment boundary, not the headline alone.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because OpenAI is shipping an agent for vuln discovery and patching; HKR-R lands because security automation is a live enterprise nerve. HKR-K is weak: the preview lacks model, coverage, pricing, and rollout details, so this stays at the featured floor.

Mar 6Friday

OpenAI News

Codex Security: now in research preview

OpenAI launched Codex Security in research preview on March 6, 2026 for ChatGPT Pro, Enterprise, Business, and Edu users, with free usage for the next month. Over the last 30 days, it scanned more than 1.2 million commits across external repos and reported 792 critical and 10,561 high-severity findings; noise fell by up to 84%, over-reported severity by 90%+, and false positives by 50%+. What matters is the stack: project-specific threat models, sandboxed validation, and patch proposals grounded in system context.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update for dev and security teams, not generic security messaging. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle is novel, the post includes concrete scan and false-positive metrics, and it speaks to AI coding risk plus alert fatigue; still a research preview

Mar 5Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5.4

OpenAI announced GPT-5.4, and the RSS snippet discloses only the title and version number 5.4. The body is empty, so the post does not disclose model size, pricing, context window, benchmarks, or rollout scope; watch the full technical post, not this headline alone.

Why it matters: OpenAI naming GPT-5.4 has same-day news value, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. HKR-K fails because the post discloses only the model name; price, context window, evals, and rollout are missing, so it stays in the 78–84 band instead of higher.

OpenAI News

Reasoning models struggle to control their chains of thought, and that’s good

OpenAI frames an article around the claim that reasoning models struggle to control their chains of thought, and that this is a good thing. Only the title is available here, with no body text, so there are no verifiable numbers, methods, or mechanisms to summarize. The claim relates to reasoning and safety discussions, but any interpretation should stay limited to the headline.

Why it matters: OpenAI presents a contrarian but testable safety claim, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The excerpt shows the thesis, section headers, and paper link, but not the key numbers, setup, or limits, so this stays high featured rather than P1.

OpenAI News

GPT-5.4 Thinking System Card

OpenAI published the GPT-5.4 Thinking System Card on March 5, 2026 and says it is the latest GPT-5 reasoning model and the first general-purpose model with mitigations for high-capability cybersecurity. The post confirms the safety approach follows prior GPT-5 models and builds on measures used for GPT-5.3 Codex, but it does not disclose benchmark scores, mitigation details, or deployment conditions. The key signal is the risk threshold change: OpenAI has extended high-cyber mitigations to a general reasoning model.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: a new GPT-5 reasoning model and the first general-purpose model with high-capability cyber mitigations. It stays below p1 because the disclosed text does not provide eval scores, mitigation details, or deployment conditions.

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT for Excel and new financial data integrations

OpenAI launched ChatGPT for Excel beta on March 5, 2026, bringing GPT-5.4 into Excel workbooks and finance workflows. The post says it can build and update models, trace changes to cells, and is off by default for Enterprise and Edu admins; OpenAI's internal banking benchmark rose from 43.7% with GPT-5 to 87.3% with GPT-5.4 Thinking. The key move is data access: Moody’s, Dow Jones Factiva, MSCI, Third Bridge, and MT Newswires are live, while FactSet is listed as coming soon.

Why it matters: This is more than a routine add-on: OpenAI puts ChatGPT into Excel, names major finance data feeds, and cites a 43.7%→87.3% internal banking benchmark gain. HKR-H/K/R all pass; importance lands at 82 because this is a strong vertical workflow move, not a market-wide model release

Mar 3Tuesday

OpenAI News

GPT-5.3 Instant: Smoother, more useful everyday conversations

OpenAI released GPT-5.3 Instant on March 3, 2026 as an update to ChatGPT’s most-used model, aiming for fewer unnecessary refusals, fewer disclaimers, and more accurate everyday answers. The post shows one concrete contrast: GPT-5.2 Instant refused long-range archery trajectory help, while GPT-5.3 Instant requested parameters and gave a no-drag example at 300 fps (about 91 m/s), 45°, and 845 m; the key issue is the safety-boundary shift, while the post does not disclose benchmark scores, system card details, or API pricing.

Why it matters: OpenAI updated a core ChatGPT everyday model, and the story clears HKR-H/K/R because the refusal-boundary shift is concrete and widely relevant. The post includes a specific 5.2 vs 5.3 behavior example, but no system card, benchmark table, or API pricing, so it lands below the 85

OpenAI News

GPT-5.3 Instant System Card

OpenAI published a document page titled "GPT-5.3 Instant System Card." The available information only includes the title, source, and URL, with no body text provided, so details such as safety evaluations, capability limits, methods, or numbers cannot be confirmed.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI documentation for a new GPT-5.3 Instant variant gives it HKR-H and HKR-R. The score stays at low-featured because the post offers positioning and a safety carry-over, but no evals, pricing, latency metrics, or context-window detail.

MIT Technology Review · AI

OpenAI’s “compromise” with the Pentagon is what Anthropic feared

On February 28, OpenAI said it reached a deal letting the Pentagon use its models in classified settings under existing law. The disclosed terms bar mass domestic surveillance and weapons direction without humans, but the post says the contract does not give OpenAI a standalone right to block otherwise lawful uses, and the military plans to phase in OpenAI and xAI within six months to replace Claude. The key gap is execution: the post does not disclose the concrete safety mechanism for classified deployment.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the Pentagon/Anthropic conflict in the headline. HKR-K and HKR-R land because the story adds concrete use limits, shows OpenAI lacks an independent veto over lawful use, and ties that to defense-model competition on a 6-month timeline.

Feb 28Saturday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Qwen plans AI glasses, earbuds, and rings as tech giants race for a new AI entry point

A report says Alibaba's Qwen plans AI glasses, earbuds, and rings for a global launch in 2026; the glasses are slated for MWC 2026, with reservations opening on March 2. The post adds that Qwen app functions like food delivery and ride hailing will move to these devices, and cites Qwen3.5-Plus with 60% lower memory use, up to 19x inference throughput, and RMB 0.8 per million tokens. The real point is distribution: if the hardware connects Alipay, Amap, and Taobao, Alibaba is chasing the consumer AI entry layer, not just device sales.

Why it matters: This is a distribution-entry story for Alibaba/Qwen, not a routine accessory refresh. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the multi-device bet is a strong hook, the report includes launch timing and model economics, and it hits the ecosystem-front-end nerve; but it is still a media exclusive, so

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI Defends Pentagon Deal, Claims Safety Exceeds Anthropic’s

OpenAI agreed to deploy its AI models inside the US Defense Department’s classified network after Anthropic’s Pentagon relationship collapsed over surveillance and autonomous weapons concerns. The RSS snippet discloses only the classified-network setting; it does not disclose model names, contract value, timeline, or safety metrics. The title claims OpenAI’s safety exceeds Anthropic’s, but the post does not disclose the comparison method.

Why it matters: This is not a routine partnership story: OpenAI gets onto a classified Pentagon network after Anthropic's talks broke over monitoring and autonomous-weapons limits. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but missing model names, contract size and launch timing keep it below 90.