Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1321–1340 of 1,549

Feb 28Saturday

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI Reaches Agreement With Pentagon to Deploy AI Models

OpenAI said it reached an agreement with the Pentagon to deploy its models on a classified network. The RSS snippet is one sentence; it names a “US Department of War,” while the title says Pentagon, and does not disclose model names, scope, or timeline.

Why it matters: An OpenAI-Pentagon deal for classified-network deployment is high-signal and passes HKR-H/K/R. Bloomberg is authoritative, but the feed gives only the agreement itself; model names, contract size, scope, and timing are missing, so this lands as high featured, not p1.

36Kr (direct RSS)

36Kr 9AM Briefing: Lynk apologizes after voice command headlight crash; OpenAI raises $110B; miHoYo reports employee death

OpenAI said it raised $110B, with $30B each from SoftBank and NVIDIA and $50B from Amazon, at a $730B pre-money valuation. The post adds a strategic partnership with Amazon and a next-gen inference compute deal with NVIDIA.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this combines a record-scale $110B raise, a $730B pre-money valuation, and deal terms that tie capital to inference compute and cloud distribution. This changes market structure, not just OpenAI's cash position.

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI Raises $110B From Amazon, Nvidia, Others | Bloomberg Tech 2/27/2026

OpenAI raised $110 billion from backers including Amazon and Nvidia at a $730 billion valuation. The Bloomberg segment also mentions an Anthropic-Pentagon dispute over military AI use and Block cutting half its workforce on an AI bet; the post does not disclose financing terms, dispute details, or the layoff base.

Why it matters: A $110B OpenAI round at a $730B valuation is industry-shaking, so HKR-H/K/R all pass: giant number, named backers, and direct impact on the lab-cloud-chip alliance map. Terms and use of proceeds are still undisclosed, but the core event is enough for P1.

Bloomberg Technology

Private Credit Cracks Worry Investors | Open Interest 2/27/2026

The RSS snippet says OpenAI closed a $110 billion funding round backed by Amazon, SoftBank, and Nvidia. The post does not disclose round structure, valuation basis, or timing; for AI practitioners, the number and cap table are the real signal.

Why it matters: If the RSS summary is accurate, this is same-day must-write funding news: a $110B raise with Amazon, SoftBank, and NVIDIA clears HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R. It stays below 95 because round structure, valuation basis, and closing timing are not disclosed.

Feb 27Friday

OpenAI News

OpenAI and Amazon announce strategic partnership

OpenAI and Amazon announced a multi-year partnership, with Amazon investing $50 billion in OpenAI: $15 billion upfront and $35 billion tied to conditions. They will launch a Stateful Runtime Environment on Amazon Bedrock, and OpenAI will consume about 2 gigawatts of Trainium capacity on AWS. The part to watch is distribution plus compute lock-in: AWS becomes the exclusive third-party cloud distributor for OpenAI Frontier.

Why it matters: This is not a routine partnership post. The disclosed $50B staged investment, Bedrock runtime, and ~2GW Trainium commitment change OpenAI's distribution and compute posture; HKR-H/K/R all pass, so this lands in P1.

OpenAI News

Joint Statement from OpenAI and Microsoft

OpenAI and Microsoft issued a joint statement. The provided content includes only the headline and no body text, so the only confirmed fact is that the statement came from the two companies; its subject, actions, and timing are not stated.

Why it matters: An official statement gives this enough weight: it says OpenAI's new funding and partners do not change Microsoft's existing terms. HKR-K and HKR-R pass because the alliance shapes cloud distribution and market power; HKR-H is weak and detail density is limited.

Feb 26Thursday

OpenAI News

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory and OpenAI partner to accelerate federal permitting

OpenAI and Pacific Northwest National Laboratory evaluated coding agents on NEPA drafting tasks from 18 federal agencies, finding 1-5 hours saved per subsection, or about 15% less drafting time. The DraftNEPABench benchmark was designed with 19 experts and covers 102 tasks, using Codex CLI with GPT-5 for long-document synthesis, cross-checking, and structured writing. The key limit is explicit: this measures well-scoped drafting work, not full real-world permitting decisions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: federal permitting is an unusual hook; the post gives 19 experts, 102 tasks, and 1–5 hours saved; the debate is agents entering regulated workflows. Score stays below major product news because this is a scoped benchmark, not a shipped capability.

OpenAI News

OpenAI Codex and Figma launch code-to-design roundtrip workflow

OpenAI and Figma launched a Codex integration on Feb. 26, 2026 that turns code into editable Figma designs and brings Figma Design, Figma Make, and FigJam content back into code. The workflow uses MCP via the Figma MCP Server in the Codex desktop app; OpenAI says Codex has 1M+ weekly users and usage is up 400%+ since the start of the year. The key issue is whether roundtrip context stays intact; the post does not disclose supported models, permission boundaries, or pricing.

Why it matters: This is a solid OpenAI/Figma workflow update with clear HKR-H/K/R: a bidirectional code↔design loop via MCP and Figma MCP Server. It stays below 85 because the post does not disclose model support, permission boundaries, pricing, or roundtrip reliability.

Feb 19Thursday

OpenAI News

Advancing Independent Research on AI Alignment

OpenAI published an article titled “Advancing Independent Research on AI Alignment,” focused on supporting independent research on AI alignment. The provided content includes only the title and link, with no body text, numbers, or mechanism details, so specific programs, funding, or timelines cannot be confirmed.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-K and HKR-R: the post discloses a $7.5M grant to UK AISI's The Alignment Project and raises a real independence/governance question. HKR-H is weaker because this is a grant announcement, and the post does not disclose a project roster, timeline, or review process.

Feb 15Sunday

Computing Life · Yage

OpenClaw deep dive: why it suddenly took off, and what it means for us

OpenClaw surged in late January 2026 because it plugged local coding agents into Slack, WhatsApp, and Feishu, giving non-technical users file access, command execution, and persistent memory in a chat UI. The article also names the costs: 12% of third-party skills contained malicious code, and the $CLAWD token scam took $16 million; the chat interface remains linear, low-density, and hard to observe. The real takeaway is not to copy OpenClaw blindly, but to reuse its unified context, file-based memory, and composable skills in a controllable stack like OpenCode.

Why it matters: This is more than a recap: it breaks down OpenClaw's adoption mechanism, downside, and reusable design pattern. HKR-H/K/R all pass with two hard facts—12% malicious skills and a $16M scam—but as a personal analysis rather than an official release or industry event, it lands in `+

Computing Life · Yage

OpenClaw Deep Dive: Why It Went Viral and What It Means for You

The post says OpenClaw went viral in late January 2026, changed names 3 times in one week, and a $CLAWD scam token took $16 million. It cites two concrete risks: 12% of third-party skills had malicious code, and some users exposed consoles to the public internet without passwords. The excerpt is truncated, but the core claim is distribution: OpenClaw put agentic AI into WhatsApp, Slack, and Lark for non-technical users.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the viral arc is dramatic, the post includes a 12% malicious-skills figure and a specific exposed-console risk, and the distribution angle matters to agent builders. It is still a secondary deep-dive, not a primary launch or official research, so 78 and tiered

Feb 13Friday

OpenAI News

Beyond rate limits: scaling access to Codex and Sora

OpenAI says in the headline it will scale access to Codex and Sora beyond current rate limits. The body is empty and does not disclose quota changes, eligible users, pricing, or rollout timing. The key missing fact is the access mechanism, not the headline claim.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI product update, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass: the rate-limit angle is clickable and quota pain resonates with users. HKR-K fails because the body discloses no quota delta, eligible tiers, pricing, or rollout date, so it stays at the featured floor.

Feb 12Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5.3-Codex-Spark

OpenAI posted an item titled “Introducing GPT-5.3-Codex-Spark,” confirming the model name GPT-5.3-Codex-Spark. The body is empty in the RSS snippet, so pricing, context window, launch scope, and code-specific details are not disclosed.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI post confirms a new model name, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass on novelty and developer attention. HKR-K fails because the body discloses no specs, pricing, context window, benchmarks, or product scope, keeping this at the featured floor.

Ruan YiFeng's Weblog

Hands-on with Zhipu's flagship GLM-5: compared with Claude Opus 4.6 and GPT-5.3-Codex

Ruan Yifeng compared GLM-5, Claude Opus 4.6, and GPT-5.3-Codex on 4 coding tasks, and judged GLM-5 competitive with the two closed models overall. The post covers web redesign, a 3D sandbox, an Angry Birds clone, and Laravel-to-Next.js migration; in the migration task, GLM-5 and GPT-5.3 took about 5 minutes, while Opus 4.6 took about 20. The key point: this is a single-author hands-on comparison, not a standardized benchmark.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R because it is a named first-person test with 4 tasks, video evidence, and a 5-minute versus ~20-minute gap. I did not score it higher because it is one author's evaluation, not a standardized benchmark or a broad multi-source release event.

Feb 11Wednesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

A “QuitGPT” campaign is urging people to cancel their ChatGPT subscriptions

The QuitGPT campaign is urging users to cancel the $20-a-month ChatGPT Plus plan after reports that OpenAI president Greg Brockman and his wife each donated $12.5 million to MAGA Inc. The post says ChatGPT had nearly 900 million weekly active users in December 2025, while QuitGPT claims 17,000+ sign-ups and one Instagram post with 36 million views; the real signal is that model-quality complaints are merging with political backlash.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because the boycott angle is unexpected; HKR-K lands on concrete trigger and scale numbers; HKR-R lands because it turns AI vendor politics into churn and brand-risk talk. Importance stops at 80 because the piece shows mobilization, not verified subscription losses or

Feb 10Tuesday

36Kr (direct RSS)

OpenAI to integrate ChatGPT into the U.S. Department of Defense's generative AI platform

The U.S. Department of Defense will work with OpenAI to integrate ChatGPT into GenAI.mil for about 3 million personnel. The RSS snippet discloses the integration, platform name, and user count, but not the model version, access controls, scope, or launch date.

Why it matters: A DoD distribution deal for ChatGPT at roughly 3M-seat scale clears HKR-H, K, and R. The ceiling stays below p1 because the post confirms the platform and reach only; model version, access controls, and launch timing are not disclosed.

Feb 9Monday

OpenAI News

Testing ads in ChatGPT

OpenAI is testing ads in ChatGPT; the only confirmed fact is that this is a test, not a full rollout. The post body is empty, so placement, audience scope, timeline, and pricing mechanics are not disclosed. Watch whether default traffic surfaces become monetized.

Why it matters: Official source authority puts this in featured range: HKR-H lands because “ads in ChatGPT” is a sharp hook, and HKR-R lands because it hits commercialization of the default AI entry point. HKR-K misses because the body discloses no placement, scope, timeline, or pricing.

Feb 6Friday

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI launches new agentic coding model minutes after Anthropic releases its own

OpenAI launched an agentic coding model minutes after Anthropic released a similar one, and the model is meant to accelerate Codex, which OpenAI launched earlier this week. The RSS snippet gives only the timing and purpose; the post does not disclose the model name, benchmarks, pricing, context length, or availability. The signal is direct competition in agentic coding, not a substantiated performance claim.

Why it matters: Major-lab product news plus a minutes-apart Anthropic clash gives this HKR-H and HKR-R. The score stays in the low featured band because HKR-K is weak: the post lacks the model name, benchmarks, price, context window, and availability.

Feb 1Sunday

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned an account linked to Chinese law enforcement that used ChatGPT to plan a covert influence operation targeting Japan's prime minister

OpenAI 在 2026 年 2 月的安全报告里披露了一个案例。一个关联中国执法人员的 ChatGPT 账号,试图让模型帮忙设计一套搞臭日本首相高市早苗的方案,模型没答应。但用户后来上传了行动进展报告让模型润色,说明这事绕过 ChatGPT 照样推进了。报告里提到他们动用了 #右翼共生者 这类标签,在 X、Pixiv 等平台用小号发帖,内容集中在攻击...

Why it matters: OpenAI's own safety report case study with concrete op details — not a generic warning. Downside: it's one case in a larger report, and the model refused the request, so the news hook is softer than an active breach. But the geopolitics + AI misuse combo is strong signal for p...

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned Russia-linked ChatGPT accounts used to mass-produce multilingual influence content

OpenAI disclosed 'Fish Food' on Feb 1, banning ChatGPT accounts tied to the Russia-linked Rybar network. The accounts used Russian prompts to mass-generate content in English, Spanish, and other languages, posted via unaffiliated Telegram and X accounts. One batch of 7 tweets hit over 150K views for the top post from an account with 600K+ followers. The actor also drafted Africa election-interference proposals, with the priciest plan budgeted at $600K a year.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI disclosure of a malicious-use case with a named operation and adversary entity — high information density. The deduction is because this is a February re-publication, so timeliness is weakened, and it's an excerpt from a broader safety report rather than a s...