Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1361–1380 of 1,549

Nov 12, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

GPT-5.1: A smarter, more conversational ChatGPT

OpenAI announced GPT-5.1 for ChatGPT in the headline, with two stated changes: smarter behavior and more conversational responses. Only the RSS title is available and the body is empty; the post does not disclose model size, pricing, context window, benchmarks, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI title makes this a real event, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. With no body text, benchmarks, pricing, context length, and rollout are missing, so HKR-K fails; that keeps it near the low end of featured, not p1.

Oct 23, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

OpenAI acquires Software Applications Incorporated, maker of Sky

OpenAI has acquired Software Applications Incorporated, and the title states the company makes Sky; the body is empty. The post does not disclose price, close date, or what Sky is, so the key unknown is integration scope.

Oct 22, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Continuing your ChatGPT experience beyond WhatsApp

OpenAI said ChatGPT will stop being available on WhatsApp after January 15, 2026, following a WhatsApp policy and terms change. OpenAI said more than 50 million users used ChatGPT on WhatsApp; users must link accounts before the cutoff because chats will not transfer automatically and WhatsApp does not support exports.

Why it matters: This is not a routine feature post but an official OpenAI notice that a 50M-user distribution channel is closing. HKR-H comes from the unexpected WhatsApp exit; HKR-K has the 2026-01-15 cutoff and policy-change cause; HKR-R hits platform dependency and migration risk.

Oct 21, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT Atlas, the browser with ChatGPT built in

OpenAI launched ChatGPT Atlas on October 21, 2025, with a worldwide macOS release for Free, Plus, Pro, and Go users. Atlas embeds ChatGPT, browser memories, and page-visibility controls into the browser; agent mode preview is available for Plus, Pro, and Business. The key shift is persistent browsing context: web content is excluded from training by default unless users opt in.

Why it matters: OpenAI moving ChatGPT into its own browser is a distribution-layer product move, not a routine feature drop, so this lands at 88 and p1. HKR-H/K/R all pass: novel hook, concrete rollout/privacy details, and clear resonance around browser control, retention, and data boundaries.

Oct 13, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI and Broadcom announce collaboration to deploy 10 gigawatts of OpenAI-designed AI accelerators

OpenAI and Broadcom announced a multi-year deal to deploy 10 gigawatts of OpenAI-designed AI accelerators, with rack deployments starting in H2 2026 and completing by the end of 2029. OpenAI will design the accelerators and systems, while Broadcom provides accelerator deployment plus Ethernet, PCIe, and optical networking for OpenAI sites and partner data centers. The key signal is OpenAI's custom-chip plus Ethernet cluster path, but the post does not disclose process node, chip specs, or capex.

Why it matters: Not a routine partnership story: OpenAI put a 10GW custom-chip plan and a 2026-2029 deployment schedule on record. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but process node, per-chip specs, and capex are still undisclosed, so this lands in p1 rather than 95+.

Oct 9, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Defining and evaluating political bias in LLMs

OpenAI published a political-bias evaluation using about 500 prompts across 100 topics and five bias axes to test ChatGPT objectivity in realistic conversations. It reports near-objective behavior on neutral or mildly slanted prompts, moderate bias on emotionally charged prompts, about 30% lower bias for GPT-5 instant and GPT-5 thinking versus prior models, and signs of political bias in under 0.01% of sampled production replies.

Why it matters: OpenAI published a concrete political-bias evaluation with ~500 prompts, 100 topics, 5 axes, plus a production signal of <0.01%, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. Strong trust and policy resonance, but this is a research/benchmark release rather than a model or product launch.

Oct 6, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Codex is now generally available

OpenAI said on October 6, 2025 that Codex is now generally available, with a Slack integration, a Codex SDK, and new admin controls. The post says daily Codex usage is up more than 10x since early August, and GPT-5-Codex served over 40 trillion tokens in three weeks; starting October 20, cloud tasks count toward usage, but the post does not disclose pricing details. The signal for practitioners is enterprise uptake: OpenAI says nearly all of its engineers use Codex, and they merge 70% more pull requests per week.

OpenAI News

Introducing apps in ChatGPT and the new Apps SDK

OpenAI launched apps inside ChatGPT on October 6, 2025 and previewed the Apps SDK for developers, for logged-in users outside the EEA, Switzerland, and the UK on Free, Go, Plus, and Pro plans. Seven partners are live and 11 more are due later this year; the SDK is open source and built on MCP, while the post does not disclose app review, listing, or revenue-share details.

Why it matters: This is a major OpenAI platform move: ChatGPT gains an app layer and developers get an SDK, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. Concrete facts include plan coverage, region limits, 7+11 partners, and an open-source MCP base; listing, review, and revenue-share terms are still undisclosed.

OpenAI News

AMD and OpenAI announce strategic partnership to deploy 6 gigawatts of AMD GPUs

AMD and OpenAI signed a multi-year, multi-generation deal to deploy 6 gigawatts of AMD Instinct GPUs, with the first 1-gigawatt MI450 rollout set for 2H 2026. The deal covers rack-scale AI systems and future GPU generations; AMD also granted OpenAI warrants for up to 160 million shares tied to deployment, share-price, and technical-commercial milestones.

Why it matters: This is not a routine partnership post; it is a major compute procurement and supply-chain signal from OpenAI. HKR-H/K/R all pass because the 6GW scale, 1GW MI450 timeline, and AMD-vs-NVIDIA angle make it highly clickable, concrete, and debate-worthy.

OpenAI News

Introducing AgentKit, new Evals, and RFT for agents

OpenAI launched AgentKit on October 6, 2025 with three agent-building components: Agent Builder, Connector Registry, and ChatKit. The post says Evals adds datasets, trace grading, automated prompt optimization, and third-party model support; Connector Registry covers Dropbox, Google Drive, SharePoint, Microsoft Teams, and third-party MCPs. The real signal is workflow versioning and safety governance; the title mentions RFT, but the provided post does not disclose its training details, pricing, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: This is a substantial OpenAI release for agent builders, with HKR-H/K/R all passing. It provides concrete mechanisms across Agent Builder, connectors, ChatKit, and Evals, but the excerpt does not disclose RFT mechanics, pricing, or rollout scope, so it stays at 84 rather than p1.

Oct 1, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Samsung and SK join OpenAI’s Stargate initiative to expand global AI infrastructure

OpenAI said on Oct. 1, 2025 that Samsung and SK joined Stargate, with the partnership centered on Korea’s AI chip supply and data center expansion. The post gives one hard target: Samsung Electronics and SK hynix plan to scale advanced memory output to 900,000 DRAM wafer starts per month, while OpenAI also signed Korean data center exploration agreements with MSIT, SK Telecom, and Samsung affiliates. The key gap is execution detail: the post does not disclose investment size, timeline, or facility scale.

Why it matters: OpenAI adding Samsung and SK to Stargate is more than a routine partnership: the post gives a 900k DRAM wafer-start target and concrete data-center assessment ties. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but missing capex, timeline, and site scale keeps it featured, not p1.

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned accounts using ChatGPT to build Russian-speaking malware tooling

OpenAI's October threat report details banned ChatGPT accounts linked to Russian-speaking criminal groups. The operators used the model to prototype malware loaders, credential stealers, RAT components, and evasion layers. Direct malicious requests were refused, so they elicited building-block code and assembled it into attack workflows offline. OpenAI found no evidence the models provided novel capabilities and shared indicators with industry partners.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI threat report with concrete TTPs on how Russian-speaking groups bypassed safety filters by breaking malware construction into small code requests. It's a routine threat disclosure, not a new model or capability, so it lands at the featured threshold. Securit...

OpenAI News

OpenAI bans accounts using ChatGPT for phishing and scripting support tied to PRC intelligence requirements

OpenAI's October threat report details banned ChatGPT accounts whose activity overlapped with publicly tracked groups UNK_DROPPITCH and UTA0388. The actors used the model to draft phishing emails in Chinese, English, and Japanese, and to assist Go and PowerShell malware development—including encrypted C2 and process enumeration. The model introduced no novel offensive capabilities; the operators sought incremental speed and localization, yet left giveaway errors like implausible contact details in email signatures. They also explored DeepSeek for automating mass phishing, though OpenAI cannot confirm whether that work proceeded.

Why it matters: OpenAI's official threat report names specific actor overlaps (UNK_DROPPITCH, UTA0388) and concrete TTPs. Strong cross-source signal, but it's threat intel rather than AI capability news—direct value for product/research readers is limited, so it lands right at the featured th...

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned a covert PRC-linked influence network using its models to mass-produce posts on the South China Sea and Hong Kong

OpenAI's October 2025 report details a covert influence network, dubbed 'Nine-emdash Line,' that used ChatGPT to generate English and Cantonese social media posts. The content attacked Vietnam's environmental record in the South China Sea, smeared Philippine President Marcos, and discredited Hong Kong pro-democracy figures. The operators also used the models for recon—finding niche forums and generating Tibetan names for fake accounts—and sought advice on launching TikTok challenges to hijack trending hashtags. OpenAI banned the accounts; many X accounts were suspended. No technical link to the known 'Spamouflage' operation was found.

Why it matters: OpenAI's first public naming and dissection of a PRC-linked influence op, with concrete recon and cross-language generation details. Capped at 78 because it's a threat intel summary, not a product/model update — less pull for readers who only track technical progress.

Sep 30, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Sora 2 System Card

OpenAI published the Sora 2 System Card on September 30, 2025, and said the video-audio generation model will launch first via limited invites on sora.com and a standalone iOS app. The post confirms no video uploads and no image uploads with photorealistic people at launch; API timing, pricing, and benchmark scores are not disclosed.

Why it matters: This lands in the 78–84 band. HKR-H comes from the Sora 2 + iOS app hook; HKR-K from concrete launch limits and safety rules; HKR-R from competition and likeness-abuse nerves. It stays below P1 because price, eval scores, context details, and API timing are not disclosed.

OpenAI News

Sora 2 is here

OpenAI released Sora 2 on September 30, 2025 and launched a social iOS app called Sora built on the model. The post says it generates video with synced dialogue and sound effects, and its “characters” feature uses a one-time video and audio recording to verify identity and insert a real person’s likeness; pricing, generation limits, and rollout regions are not disclosed. The key shift is from model demo to a consumer app with a feed, teen limits, and parental controls.

Why it matters: This is a same-day write: OpenAI shipped a flagship video/audio model and attached it to a standalone app, so HKR-H/K/R all clear. The post gives real product facts like synced dialogue and sound effects, but missing price, duration caps, and rollout details keeps it below 90.

Sep 29, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing parental controls

OpenAI launched parental controls for all ChatGPT users on September 29, 2025, letting parents link with teen accounts and manage usage settings from their own account. Linked teen accounts get stronger content safeguards by default, and parents can set quiet hours, disable voice, memory, image generation, and opt out of model training. The key mechanism is the alert flow: suspected self-harm signals trigger human review, and acute distress leads to email, SMS, and push notifications to parents.

Why it matters: OpenAI rolled parental controls to all ChatGPT users and disclosed a concrete self-harm escalation flow: system detection, human review, then email/SMS/push alerts to parents. HKR-K and HKR-R are strong; this is a substantive safety product update, but not a model-level launch,so

OpenAI News

Combating online child sexual exploitation & abuse

OpenAI said on September 29, 2025 it bans any sexualized content involving people under 18, and reports accounts that generate or upload CSAM/CSEM to NCMEC. The post names hash matching, Thorn’s CSAM classifier, and OpenAI models for monitoring text, image, audio, video, and uploads; the key signal is that OpenAI says it has observed users uploading abusive material and asking for detailed descriptions.

Why it matters: HKR-K and HKR-R pass: OpenAI discloses a concrete moderation stack across uploads and admits observed abuse patterns. HKR-H is weak because the title is a direct safety policy note, so this fits the 72–77 featured band.

OpenAI News

Buy it in ChatGPT: Instant Checkout and the Agentic Commerce Protocol

OpenAI launched Instant Checkout in ChatGPT on September 29, 2025, letting U.S. Plus, Pro, and Free users buy from U.S. Etsy sellers in chat; it currently supports single-item purchases. OpenAI says ChatGPT has over 700 million weekly users and open-sourced the Agentic Commerce Protocol with Stripe; Stripe merchants can enable it with as little as one line of code, while the post does not disclose the fee rate merchants pay.

Why it matters: This is a high-weight ChatGPT product expansion from discovery to completed purchases, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post confirms U.S. Free/Plus/Pro checkout with U.S. Etsy sellers and a Stripe-backed protocol layer; merchant fee details are not disclosed, so it stays high but sub-

Sep 25, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

More ways to work with your team and tools in ChatGPT

OpenAI rolled out shared projects for ChatGPT Business on September 25, 2025, and made them available for Enterprise and Edu plans. Shared projects support email or link invites, two access levels, and private project memory; Enterprise and Edu have them off by default under admin control. OpenAI also added Gmail, Google Calendar, Outlook, Teams, SharePoint, GitHub, Dropbox, and Box connectors, and said ChatGPT can now choose connectors automatically per prompt.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: shared projects, 8 connectors, and prompt-routed connector selection are concrete workflow changes with clear admin controls. I keep it below 85 because this is a collaboration-layer product update, not a model release or a broad capability jump.