Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1241–1260 of 1,549

Apr 22Wednesday

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI unveils new image model that is better at charts and diagrams

OpenAI released an update to its image generation software to produce more accurate, complex charts and scientific diagrams. The RSS snippet does not disclose the model name, launch timing, pricing, benchmarks, or technical method. The real signal is a push into professional use cases, not generic image quality.

Why it matters: Bloomberg gives this a source-authority tiebreak: OpenAI is targeting a high-value weakness in image generation, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. HKR-K misses because the snippet lacks the model name, rollout, price, benchmarks, and mechanism, keeping it at the featured floor.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI’s updated image generator can now pull information from the web

OpenAI said ChatGPT Images 2.0 can pull information from the web when a thinking model is selected, helping generate multiple images from one prompt. It runs on GPT Image 2 and is available to ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise users; the post does not disclose rollout timing, usage limits, or pricing changes. The key shift is web-grounded multi-image generation, not just image quality.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI image update. HKR-H/K/R all pass because web-grounded generation plus multi-image output changes real workflows. I keep it at 75 because rollout timing, usage caps, and pricing changes are not disclosed.

Apr 21Tuesday

Ben's Bites

That's My Designer - Claude

Anthropic added a Design tab to Claude that asks 5-10 interactive questions, then builds wireframes or high-fidelity prototypes. The post says image-to-design works well; in research preview it has separate limits, and the $20 plan appears to allow only 2-3 large generations per week. The sharper point is usability: the author says Claude Cowork depends on connectors and plugins that average users may not find.

Why it matters: Anthropic adding a Design tab to Claude is a clear hook for a Claude-heavy audience. The post includes first-hand, testable details—5-10 interaction turns and only 2-3 large generations per week on the $20 plan—so HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is still a single-feature update, not

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT Images 2.0

OpenAI introduced ChatGPT Images 2.0 as a new image generation model, highlighting better text rendering, multilingual support, and visual reasoning. The RSS snippet names only these three upgrades; the post does not disclose architecture, resolution, pricing, latency, or availability. What matters is whether text fidelity and multilingual consistency improve in real use; for now, only headline-level details are disclosed.

Why it matters: A primary-source OpenAI image update clears HKR-H and HKR-R: the 2.0 label and text-rendering claim hit real workflows. HKR-K is weak because the post discloses only three upgrade areas; resolution, price, latency, architecture, and rollout are absent, so it stays just above the

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

OpenAI launches Chronicle research preview for Codex with screen context

OpenAI launched Chronicle research preview for Codex on April 21. It is limited to ChatGPT Pro users on Mac and reads recent screen context to reduce repeated background prompts. OpenAI says data is “primarily processed locally,” but the post says some cases use cloud help; The Next Web reports screenshots are uploaded and local memories are unencrypted, while upload share and retention time are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because Codex can read recent screen state, not just pasted prompts. HKR-K lands on concrete constraints—ChatGPT Pro only, Mac only, local-first with some cloud assist—and HKR-R lands on the workflow/privacy nerve for coding agents. Research-preview scope keeps it at

Hacker News front page

Even 'uncensored' models can't say what they want

Morgin.ai probed 6 pretrains on 4,442 contexts and found that even “uncensored” models sharply deflate charged words, by hundreds to about 16,000x. It calls this effect flinch: no refusal fires, but token probabilities shift; in one example, qwen3.5-9b-base ranks “deportation” #506 at 0.0014%. The key issue is pretraining-level distribution shaping, not only post-training refusals.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the contrarian angle; HKR-K lands on a quantified 4,442-context benchmark and token-level mechanism; HKR-R lands on the 'uncensored model' debate. Original and useful, but still a single-source research post, so it stays below p1.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI ad partner now selling ChatGPT ad placements based on "prompt relevance"

The headline says an OpenAI ad partner is already selling ChatGPT ad placements using “prompt relevance” for targeting. The link points to an Adweek report on StackAdapt, but only an RSS snippet is provided. The post does not disclose placement, auction logic, pricing, reach, or launch timing; the key issue is whether chat context is becoming ad inventory.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: selling ChatGPT ads by prompt relevance is a sharp hook that touches monetization and trust. HKR-K is weak because the report, as surfaced here, does not disclose placement, auction, pricing, scale, or launch timing, so this stays low-featured.

X · @dotey

OpenAI adds Chronicle to Codex, letting it read screen context

OpenAI added Chronicle to Codex and is rolling it out to ChatGPT Pro users on macOS; it uses periodic screenshots, OCR, and tool detection to turn recent screen activity into memory. The memory is stored as plain Markdown in ~/.codex/memories_extensions/chronicle, and the EU, UK, and Switzerland are excluded; OpenAI says screenshots are uploaded for processing, deleted afterward, and not used for training. The part to watch is risk: the background agent can burn rate limits, local plain-text files widen exposure, and OpenAI warns it amplifies prompt-injection from malicious webpages.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the screen-watching memory angle is novel, and the post includes testable details like OCR, plaintext local storage, region limits, and deletion claims. The limited macOS ChatGPT Pro rollout keeps it in the 78–84 band rather than p1.

Apr 19Sunday

Synced · WeChat

Memory shortages may last until 2030

Nikkei Asia says DRAM suppliers may meet only about 60% of global demand by end-2027, and SK Group's chairman says the shortage may last until 2030. The post cites a 12% annual output growth needed for 2026-2027 versus only 7.5% planned, with new capacity prioritizing HBM over consumer DRAM. The key point is structural reallocation to AI data centers, not a short-lived price spike.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the 2030 shortage horizon is a clear hook, the piece gives concrete supply-demand numbers, and the angle hits AI infra cost and delivery pressure. Still, this is supply-chain analysis rather than a direct model or product event, so it lands at the low end of 'h2

Synced · WeChat

Amap debuts an autonomous embodied robot at the Yizhuang Marathon and showcases guide-assistance

Amap showed its quadruped robot Tutu at the 2026 Yizhuang humanoid half marathon, claiming it completed a guide-assistance obstacle task in an open environment without preset routes or teleoperation. The post says its ABot stack includes ABot-N0, which reached SOTA on 7 navigation benchmarks with 88.3% on SocNav, and ABot-M0, which scored 80.5% on Libero-Plus. The key point is the integrated stack across navigation, manipulation, world modeling, and closed-loop correction; the post does not disclose guide-task test scope, commercialization timing, or safety incident data.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the marathon blind-guidance demo is novel, and the story includes ABot stack details with 88.3% SocNav and 80.5% Libero-Plus. Kept at 80, not higher, because safety incidents, deployment scope, and commercialization timing are not disclosed.

QbitAI · WeChat

Did Musk Really Sell Lao Gan Ma on Douyin?

QbitAI says the shown “Musk selling Lao Gan Ma on Douyin” and “GTA-6 crossover” images were generated by OpenAI GPT Image 2; the claimed 100K+ live viewers were part of fake visuals. The post argues Image 2 can render realistic posters, game screenshots, and readable long text, and links that to Codex-style UI workflows; the post does not disclose pricing, rollout scope, or launch timing. The real issue is verification: image realism is eroding “photo as evidence.”

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is novel, the article shows a concrete capability jump, and the trust/verification angle resonates with practitioners. It stops short of p1 because the body does not disclose rollout, pricing, or an official launch scope.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

A Berkeley team built an AI that scores perfectly on SWE-bench while fixing 0 bugs

Berkeley RDI used a roughly 10-line conftest.py exploit to score 100% on all 500 SWE-bench tasks while fixing 0 bugs. The post says its agent broke 8 major agent benchmarks with scores from 73% to 100%, via pytest hook tampering, file:// answer reads, and faulty validators. The real issue is benchmark isolation failure, not stronger models.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the 'perfect score, zero fixes' contradiction; HKR-K lands on the ~10-line pytest exploit, 500 tasks, and 8-benchmark spread; HKR-R lands on eval-trust anxiety for agent builders. Strong featured research, but not a same-day industry event, so below P1.

TechCrunch · AI

AI chip startup Cerebras files for IPO

Cerebras has filed for an IPO, confirming it is moving toward a public listing. The post only discloses two deals: AWS will use Cerebras chips in Amazon data centers, and an OpenAI contract is reportedly worth over $10 billion; offering size, valuation, and timing are not disclosed.

Why it matters: An AI-chip IPO filing is same-day news because it joins infra competition with capital markets. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the filing plus AWS deployment and a reported >$10B OpenAI contract, but missing valuation, raise size, and timing keep it below 90.

Apr 18Saturday

Synced · WeChat

What is OpenAI prioritizing under compute limits?

Greg Brockman said OpenAI narrowed priorities under hard compute limits to two bets: a personal assistant and AI workers that solve hard user problems, and current compute cannot fully support both. The snippet says Sora resources were reduced while focus shifted to reasoning models, a unified AI layer, and the next base model Spud; it does not disclose the claimed compute budget, timeline, or model specs. The key point is not a B2B retreat but a compute-driven reprioritization.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the compute-ceiling angle is strong, the piece adds concrete priority shifts, and OpenAI roadmap triage hits cost and dependency nerves. It stays at 80 because this is secondary reporting; spend, timing, and technical details are not disclosed.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI’s former Sora boss is leaving

The headline says OpenAI’s former Sora lead is leaving. For now, only the personnel change and its link to Sora are confirmed; the post does not disclose the person’s name, timing, destination, or handoff.

Why it matters: This lands on HKR-H and HKR-R: a Sora leadership departure is inherently clickable and relevant to roadmap talk. HKR-K fails because the article only confirms a departure; the missing name, timing, destination, and handoff keep it near the featured floor.

TechCrunch · AI

Kevin Weil and Bill Peebles exit OpenAI as the company continues to shed 'side quests'

Kevin Weil and Bill Peebles have left OpenAI, and the headline says the company is still shedding 'side quests.' This RSS item only provides a title; the post does not disclose their roles, timing, successors, or what 'side quests' covers. The signal to watch is organizational narrowing, not the departure gossip, but the scope is undisclosed.

Why it matters: TechCrunch reports two named OpenAI exits plus a broader 'shed side quests' signal, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. HKR-K fails because the body does not disclose role level, timing, successors, or business impact, which keeps this at the low end of featured.

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI’s Former Product Chief and Sora Head Leave Company

OpenAI is losing two leaders: its former product chief and the head of Sora; the title confirms the count is two. The post does not disclose timing, reasons, successors, or names; the key watchpoint is whether the Sora org changes as well.

Why it matters: A Bloomberg personnel report on OpenAI and the Sora line clears HKR-H/K/R: surprise, a concrete new fact, and direct relevance to org stability and roadmap risk. The body gives roles only; names, reasons, and succession are missing, so it stays below the 95+ industry-shaking band

Apr 17Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

How robots learn: A brief, contemporary history

Companies and investors put $6.1 billion into humanoid robots in 2025, 4x 2024, and MIT Technology Review attributes the surge to a shift in how robots learn. The piece highlights two mechanisms: around 2015, simulation plus reward signals enabled millions of trial-and-error runs; after ChatGPT in 2022, robotics models took images, sensors, and joint states to predict dozens of motor commands per second. The key change is data-driven learning over hand-written rules; the provided text is truncated, so later examples are not fully disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the $6.1B and 4x funding jump provide the hook, and the piece maps the shift from sim+RL to multimodal action models. It stays in the lower featured band because this is commentary rather than a new release, and the excerpt is truncated on company-level detail

Hacker News front page

Discourse Is Not Going Closed Source

Discourse said it will keep its GPLv2 codebase open after 13 years. The post says its team used GPT-5.3 Codex, GPT-5.4, and Claude Opus 4.6 to scan code, and its last monthly release fixed 50 security issues. The key claim is defensive capacity: OpenAI said Codex Security scanned 1.2M+ commits in 30 days and found 792 critical and 10,561 high-severity issues.

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

Turn your coworker into a Skill? GitHub viral project and Anthropic Skills explained

The video says the open-source “coworker.skill” project gained over 13,000 GitHub stars in days, but it produces a standardized SKILL.md prompt package, not a digital worker replacement. It gives a timeline: Anthropic launched Claude Skills on Oct 16, 2025, then published Agent Skills as an open standard on Dec 18; the mechanism keeps only a short summary in context until a task matches. The real point is scope: it fits standardized workflows like reports, docs, and code review, while the post does not disclose cross-platform compatibility rates or any settled legal standard.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the coworker-to-Skill hook is sticky, the post adds dates/stars/mechanism, and the labor/IP angle resonates. I kept it at 76 because it is secondary commentary, not a primary release or first-hand test, and key compatibility/legal facts are still undiscolse