Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1221–1240 of 1,549

Apr 24Friday

Hacker News front page

GPT-5.5: Mythos-Like Hacking, Open to All

XBOW says GPT-5.5 cut miss rate to 10% on its real-vulnerability benchmark, versus 40% for GPT-5 and 18% for Opus 4.6. It scored 97.5% on visual acuity and used about half the login iterations of the next-best model. The key point is black-box testing: GPT-5.5 without source beat GPT-5 with source.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a major OpenAI model claim, concrete security benchmark numbers, and a clear practitioner safety nerve. The source is XBOW rather than an OpenAI launch post, so it stays below 95.

X · @OpenAI

Introducing GPT-5.5

OpenAI introduced GPT-5.5, and it is now available in ChatGPT and Codex. The RSS snippet says it targets real work and agents, can understand complex goals, use tools, check its work, and carry more tasks to completion; the post does not disclose parameters, pricing, context window, or benchmark results. What matters is the execution loop, not the headline's “new class of intelligence.”

Why it matters: OpenAI launching GPT-5.5 in ChatGPT and Codex is same-day mandatory coverage. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new model release, concrete agent-workflow claims, and direct impact on daily AI work. Price, context window, params, and benchmarks are undisclosed, so it stays below 95.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI says its new GPT-5.5 model is more efficient and better at coding

OpenAI announced GPT-5.5 and says it is more efficient and stronger at coding than GPT-5.4, which shipped last month. The RSS snippet says it handles coding, debugging, online research, and cross-tool work on spreadsheets and documents; the post does not disclose pricing, context window, or benchmark scores.

Why it matters: An OpenAI model release is same-day coverage, and the angle ties efficiency, coding, and tool use into one clear upgrade, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post does not disclose price, context window, or benchmark scores, which keeps it in the high 80s instead of 90+.

Apr 23Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5.5

OpenAI introduced GPT-5.5 and says it targets complex cross-tool tasks such as coding, research, and data analysis. The RSS snippet only confirms “faster” and “more capable”; the post does not disclose benchmarks, context window, pricing, release timing, or availability, which are the details practitioners should watch.

Why it matters: An OpenAI flagship-model release is same-day news, so HKR-H and HKR-R are clear. HKR-K fails because the post discloses the name and use cases but not benchmarks, context window, price, or availability, so this stays featured rather than p1.

Bloomberg Technology

Tencent unveils a major AI foundation model upgrade, testing its new OpenAI hire

Tencent announced a major upgrade to its AI foundation model. It is the company's first high-stakes AI test since hiring a top OpenAI researcher. The post does not disclose the model name, parameter count, benchmarks, or launch timing.

Why it matters: Bloomberg provides source authority, and the framing is strong: Tencent's model release is presented as the first test of its OpenAI hire, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. HKR-K fails because the story does not disclose the model name, size, benchmarks, or launch timing, keeping it at a

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Historic moment: Anthropic nears $1 trillion on private secondary markets, surpassing OpenAI for the first time

Anthropic was quoted at $1.05T-$1.15T on private secondary markets, above OpenAI’s roughly $880B quotes on similar platforms. The post attributes the rerating to scarce float, a sharp rise from a $380B funding valuation three months earlier, and momentum around Claude Code and revenue growth; it does not disclose trade volume, revenue figures, or company confirmation. Do not confuse this with a new funding valuation: these are secondary-market quotes on platforms such as Forge Global.

Why it matters: The signal is a private-secondary quote of $1.05T-$1.15T for Anthropic, above OpenAI's quoted ~$880B, not a new financing round. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but missing volume, revenue detail, and company confirmation keep it in the good-quality band, not must-write.

Bloomberg Technology

SoftBank Seeks $10 Billion Loan Backed by OpenAI Shares

SoftBank is seeking a $10 billion loan backed by its OpenAI shares. The RSS snippet says the move adds debt to support its AI push; the post does not disclose tenor, rate, collateral ratio, or use of proceeds. The key signal is margin financing, not a generic AI bet.

Why it matters: Bloomberg delivers a concrete financing signal, not generic AI optimism: SoftBank wants a $10B margin loan backed by OpenAI shares. HKR-H/K are strong and HKR-R is solid via valuation and leverage debate, but undisclosed terms keep it below must-write.

OpenAI News

GPT-5.5 Bio Bug Bounty

OpenAI launched the GPT-5.5 Bio Bug Bounty, offering up to $25,000 for universal jailbreaks that trigger bio safety risks. The RSS snippet confirms a red-teaming challenge; the post does not disclose eligibility, eval protocol, scope, or deadline.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s GPT-5.5 bio bug bounty clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is sharp, the $25k cap is concrete, and bio-risk red-teaming hits a real safety nerve. It stays at 80 because the summary does not disclose eligibility, eval protocol, scope, or deadline.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI now lets teams make custom bots that can do work on their own

OpenAI opened ChatGPT cloud “workspace” agents to Business, Enterprise, Edu, and Teachers plans, letting teams build custom bots for business tasks. Examples include finding product feedback on the web and sending a report to Slack, plus drafting follow-up sales emails in Gmail; the post does not disclose pricing, rollout details, or capability limits. The real shift is workflow execution inside ChatGPT, not a one-off chat reply.

Why it matters: OpenAI moves ChatGPT from chat into team workflow agents, so HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is strong, the post adds plan coverage and task examples, and it hits enterprise automation demand. It stops short of P1 because price, rollout detail, and capability boundaries are not disl

X · @dotey

OpenAI launches ChatGPT Workspace Agents for cross-tool enterprise workflow automation

OpenAI released ChatGPT Workspace Agents as a research preview for ChatGPT Business, Enterprise, Edu, and Teachers paid plans. The snippet says agents can connect Slack, Gmail, Google Drive, Salesforce, Notion, Linear, and Atlassian, and take actions like updating tickets, creating docs, and replying in Slack. The key point is admin controls for permissions, approvals, and monitoring; the post does not disclose pricing, quotas, or rollout regions.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update: ChatGPT now offers cross-tool workspace agents with named enterprise integrations, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. I keep it at 86 because it is still a research preview and pricing, quotas, and rollout regions are not disclosed.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI: Workspace agents for business

OpenAI is offering Workspace agents in research preview for ChatGPT Business, Enterprise, Edu, and Teachers plans. The page says agents can run on schedules, use tools like Slack, Google Drive, and Microsoft apps, and support approval gates, audit logs, and role-based access control; pricing, model details, and rollout timing are not disclosed.

X · @OpenAI

Introducing workspace agents in ChatGPT—shared agents for complex tasks and long-running workflows

OpenAI announced workspace agents in ChatGPT, described as shared agents that work across tools and teams for complex and long-running workflows. Only the title and RSS snippet are disclosed; the post does not disclose supported tools, pricing, access tier, permission model, or rollout timing. The key issue to watch is the collaboration boundary of shared agents, not the headline claim alone.

Apr 22Wednesday

OpenAI News

Making ChatGPT better for clinicians

OpenAI is making ChatGPT for Clinicians free for verified U.S. physicians, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists. The RSS snippet says it supports clinical care, documentation, and research; the post does not disclose model version, pricing limits, launch timing, or verification steps. The real signal is access expanding to individual clinicians, not just enterprise buyers.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the unusual angle: OpenAI is offering a clinician-specific ChatGPT tier free to verified U.S. practitioners. HKR-K and HKR-R also pass, but the post omits model version, rollout timing, pricing limits, and verification details, so this scores as a meaningful access

OpenAI News

Introducing workspace agents in ChatGPT

OpenAI introduced workspace agents in ChatGPT, describing them as Codex-powered agents that automate complex workflows in the cloud. The RSS snippet confirms secure work across tools for teams, but the post does not disclose pricing, availability, supported tools, or performance metrics.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update inside ChatGPT. HKR-H lands on the jump from chat to workspace agents, HKR-K on Codex-powered cloud execution across tools, and HKR-R on team workflow automation; the score stops at 86 because pricing, rollout, tool support, and metrics

OpenAI News

Speeding up agentic workflows with WebSockets in the Responses API

OpenAI says WebSockets in the Responses API speed up the Codex agent loop, using connection-scoped caching to cut API overhead and improve latency. The RSS snippet confirms the mechanism, but the post does not disclose latency deltas, throughput numbers, or workload conditions. The key point is transport-layer optimization, not a new model.

Why it matters: This is a developer-facing OpenAI product update at the systems layer: WebSockets plus connection-scoped caching target agent-loop round-trip cost. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post does not disclose latency gains, throughput, or workload bounds, so it stays mid-featured rather än

Financial Times · Technology

OpenAI in talks to commit up to $1.5bn to private equity joint venture

OpenAI is in talks to commit up to $1.5bn to a private equity joint venture. The RSS snippet says the new company is meant to help deploy AI in businesses owned by PE firms; the post does not disclose the partner, deal structure, or timeline. This is not a model launch but a distribution bet on enterprise deployment.

Why it matters: An FT-sourced OpenAI capital move with a clear $1.5bn ceiling gives HKR-K, and the PE distribution angle adds HKR-H/R. Missing partner, structure, and timeline keep it in the low-80s: featured, not p1.

Latent Space

OpenAI launches GPT-Image-2

OpenAI shipped GPT-Image-2 in ChatGPT, Codex, and the API. It has thinking and non-thinking variants, with stronger text, layout, editing, multilingual output, and QR codes. Arena ranks it first on 3 Image Arena boards, with 1512 Elo in text-to-image and a +242 lead.

Why it matters: OpenAI shipped GPT-Image-2 across ChatGPT/API/Codex with Arena #1 claims and 1512 T2I Elo. HKR-H/K/R all pass, so this lands in the 85–94 same-day band.

X · @dotey

Anthropic quietly removed Claude Code from the $20 Pro plan on its pricing page without an announcement

Anthropic was spotted removing Claude Code from the $20 Pro plan on its pricing comparison page without an announcement. The snippet says help docs also removed the inclusion, while the Claude Code product page and support bot still say it is included, and some Pro users report access still works; the post does not disclose Anthropic’s formal explanation or effective date. The key issue is price floor: if confirmed, entry cost for Claude Code rises from $20 to $100 per month.

Why it matters: The story matters because it may raise Claude Code’s entry price from $20 to $100, giving it HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R. I keep it in featured, not higher, because Anthropic has not confirmed scope, timing, or treatment of existing Pro users.

X · @dotey

OpenAI launches ChatGPT Images 2.0, available to all ChatGPT and Codex users starting today

OpenAI made ChatGPT Images 2.0 available today to all ChatGPT and Codex users, and also opened the gpt-image-2 API. The RSS snippet says it supports up to 2K output, aspect ratios from 3:1 to 1:3, and more reliable non-English text rendering. In thinking mode, it can search the web, generate multiple styles, and self-check outputs; that tier is limited to Plus, Pro, and Business, with Enterprise not yet available.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update: ChatGPT Images 2.0 rolls into ChatGPT, Codex, and the gpt-image-2 API, with concrete facts on resolution, aspect ratios, and thinking-mode limits. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the source is a short repost-style summary and omits pricing and

X · @OpenAI

Introducing ChatGPT Images 2.0

OpenAI introduced ChatGPT Images 2.0 as an image model for complex visual tasks and directly usable visuals. The RSS snippet cites sharper editing, richer layouts, and “thinking-level intelligence,” but the post does not disclose model size, pricing, latency, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s official post makes this a source-authoritative product update, and the “Images 2.0” framing gives it HKR-H plus HKR-R. I kept it near the featured floor because the post lacks model details, pricing, latency, benchmarks, and rollout scope, so HKR-K fails.