Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1181–1200 of 1,549

Apr 29Wednesday

X · @dotey

AI terminal tool Warp open-sources client code with OpenAI as founding sponsor

Warp open-sourced its client code under AGPL; only the client is open, while server code stays closed. The Rust terminal has 700,000+ developers, and its Oz cloud AI handles coding, planning, and tests. The key signal is its AI-first contribution workflow.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI sponsorship hook, AGPL/client-only detail, and 700K-developer signal are concrete. This is a strong dev-tool open-source update, not a major model or capability release.

Apr 28Tuesday

Ben's Bites

Builders

Ben’s Bites published one newsletter on AI builders. It says OpenAI released GPT-5.5 at 2x GPT-5.4 pricing, with a claimed 40% token-efficiency gain. Claude Managed Agents memory entered public beta, and Cursor’s SpaceX/xAI deal includes a $60B 2026 purchase option.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: GPT-5.5 cost/efficiency figures, Claude Managed Agents Memory beta, and a Cursor deal term. It stays in 85–94 because this is a newsletter roundup, not a primary release.

QbitAI · WeChat

Xiaomi open-sources MiMo-V2.5 series; Pro builds a macOS-like desktop in 4 hours

Xiaomi open-sourced MiMo-V2.5 weights, covering Pro Agent, multimodal base, TTS, and ASR models. MiMo-V2.5-Pro built a 54-app macOS-like desktop in 4 hours without human takeover; it scored 233/233 on SysY with 672 tool calls in 4.3 hours. Key details for practitioners are the 1M context, 100T-token program, and free Agent-framework access.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Xiaomi open-sourced MiMo-V2.5 weights with concrete agent and coding-task numbers. Domestic flagship model release bump puts it in the must-write same-day band.

Synced · WeChat

Open-source medical video understanding system uAI-NEXUS-MedVLM released

United Imaging Intelligence released uAI-NEXUS-MedVLM for medical video understanding, with a CVPR 2026 paper. MedVidBench has 532k video-instruction pairs across 8 medical sources and 8 tasks. Qwen2.5-VL-7B SFT reached 89.4% CVS accuracy; GPT-5.4 scored 16.4%.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story has a real-medical-video open-source hook, concrete 530K+ data scale, 8 tasks, and a 89.4% vs 16.4% result. The medical focus keeps it in the 78–84 band.

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI Misses Its Own User and Sales Goals, WSJ Reports

WSJ says OpenAI missed its own new-user and sales goals. The RSS snippet cites internal concern over AI infrastructure spending. The post does not disclose targets, gaps, timing, or spend size.

Why it matters: HKR-H/R are strong because OpenAI growth missed its plan and infra spend is the nerve. HKR-K is thin: WSJ reports the miss, but target size, gap, period, and spend are undisclosed.

Financial Times · Technology

OpenAI and Microsoft Loosen Ties in Revised AI Deal

OpenAI and Microsoft revised their AI deal, redrawing a $135bn alliance. The snippet says OpenAI seeks more independence to raise revenue; the post does not disclose equity, compute, or revenue-share terms.

Why it matters: FT reports OpenAI and Microsoft revised their $135B alliance and loosened ties, giving strong HKR-H/R. HKR-K is limited to the directional change; equity, compute, and revenue-share terms are not disclosed, so this stays in 78–84.

X · @dotey

OpenAI and Microsoft renegotiate partnership, loosening Azure tie-in

OpenAI and Microsoft renegotiated their deal; OpenAI can deploy to any cloud when Microsoft does not support a capability. Microsoft remains primary cloud partner, with OpenAI products first on Azure. Microsoft’s license runs to 2032 but becomes non-exclusive; OpenAI revenue sharing to Microsoft continues until 2030, with the cap undisclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Azure lock-in reversal is clickable, the post gives 2032/2030 contract dates and non-exclusive licensing, and the stakes hit cloud spend and control. Single X-sourced summary keeps it at low P1.

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI Drops Exclusivity Deal with Microsoft

OpenAI and Microsoft dropped AI model exclusivity rights, letting both sides sign new rival deals. Bloomberg also says China blocked Meta’s $2 billion purchase of AI startup Manus. Elon Musk’s dispute with Sam Altman is heading to court over OpenAI’s founding mission.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: the title names OpenAI-Microsoft exclusivity ending, and the summary gives the rival-deal condition. Bloomberg authority and strategic impact put it in must-write territory, but video-summary depth keeps it below 90.

Bloomberg Technology

Musk, Altman Feud Heads to Court Over Future of OpenAI

Jury selection began in Musk and Sam Altman’s case over OpenAI’s corporate structure. Bloomberg says the case may affect OpenAI’s future; the post does not disclose claims, trial length, or remedies.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Bloomberg reports jury selection in a lawsuit over OpenAI’s structure. The post lacks claims, schedule, and ruling paths, so it stays in the 72–77 band.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI ends Microsoft legal peril over its $50B Amazon deal

OpenAI secured Microsoft concessions to sell products on AWS and proceed with its $50B Amazon deal. Microsoft gets more cash via revenue sharing; the post does not disclose the split, product scope, or legal terms.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: a $50B Amazon deal plus Microsoft’s concession is same-day material for OpenAI cloud distribution. Terms, product scope, and legal details are undisclosed, so the score stays low in the 85–94 band.

The Verge · AI

Microsoft and OpenAI’s famed AGI agreement is dead

Microsoft changed its OpenAI deal and dropped the AGI clause. OpenAI products ship first on Azure, but can now serve customers on any cloud; the post does not disclose term length or revenue split. The key shift is weaker cloud exclusivity.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story names a dead AGI clause and a looser cloud-delivery mechanism while Azure remains preferred. A rewritten OpenAI-Microsoft contract affects compute buying, cloud competition, and AGI control.

Apr 27Monday

The Verge · AI

Elon Musk and Sam Altman’s Court Battle Over OpenAI’s Future

Elon Musk’s 2024 lawsuit against OpenAI enters jury selection on April 27. Musk alleges OpenAI abandoned its founding mission, seeks removal of Sam Altman and Greg Brockman, and asks up to $150 billion in damages. The key issue is whether the court touches OpenAI’s nonprofit-commercial structure.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Musk vs. Altman supplies the hook, Apr. 27 jury selection and $150B damages add concrete facts, and OpenAI’s nonprofit-control question hits governance nerves. No ruling or structure change yet, so it stays at the top of 78–84.

Dwarkesh Patel podcast

What I've been Thinking About This Weekend: Open Questions, Intelligence vs Power, Verification in Science

Dwarkesh lists open AI questions, including that five hyperscalers own over 70% of global AI compute. He asks about coding agents, KV cache costs, merging training with inference, and online learning; the post gives questions, not experimental answers.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Dwarkesh adds a concrete compute-concentration claim and practitioner-relevant questions. No experiment, release, or policy change, so it stays in the 72–77 commentary band.

Hacker News front page

The Next Phase of the Microsoft–OpenAI Partnership

OpenAI and Microsoft amended their partnership, keeping Microsoft as OpenAI’s primary cloud partner. OpenAI products ship first on Azure, but OpenAI can serve customers on any cloud; Microsoft keeps a non-exclusive IP license through 2032. Microsoft stops paying revenue share to OpenAI, while OpenAI’s payments to Microsoft continue through 2030 with a cap.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is a rewrite of OpenAI–Microsoft cloud priority, IP licensing, and revenue-share mechanics. It fits 85–94: same-day must-write, below a GPT-6 or IPO-level event.

Hacker News front page

Microsoft to Stop Sharing Revenue with Main AI Partner OpenAI

Bloomberg says Microsoft will stop sharing revenue with OpenAI, with publication time listed as 2026-04-27. The captured body is mostly Bloomberg navigation text and does not disclose split rates, timing, contract terms, or responses.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the captured body is only Bloomberg navigation. The title is high-impact; missing timing, split ratio, and comments keep it below 85.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Five Months After Altman’s Code Red, GPT Image 2 Tops Arena Image Rankings

GPT Image 2 topped three Arena image charts within 12 hours, scoring 1512 in text-to-image and beating Nano Banana 2 by 241 points. Arena calls it the largest Image Arena gap, with 93% blind-test wins and a 316-point text-rendering gain. The key shift is native thinking: planning, self-checking, web search, and 8 coherent images per run.

Why it matters: OpenAI GPT Image 2 topping three Arena image boards is a major multimodal update. HKR-H/K/R all pass, backed by concrete numbers: 1512 score, +241 lead, 93% blind win rate.

Hacker News front page

AI can cost more than human workers now

Axios says some firms now spend more on AI than salaries; Nvidia's Bryan Catanzaro says compute costs exceed employee costs. Gartner forecasts 2026 IT spending at $6.31T, up 13.5%, driven by AI infrastructure, software, and cloud. Watch token costs: Uber's CTO has already exhausted the 2026 AI budget.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the piece turns AI cost anxiety into budget facts, including Nvidia compute costs and Uber’s token-budget issue. It stays in the 72–77 band because this is trend reporting, not a launch or hard news event.

OpenAI News

An Open-Source Spec for Orchestration: Symphony

OpenAI released Symphony, an open-source spec for Codex orchestration. The RSS snippet says it turns issue trackers into always-on agent systems; the post does not disclose spec details, license, APIs, or benchmarks.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: an OpenAI open-source Codex orchestration spec is relevant to agent workflows. HKR-K is weak because license, interfaces, and reproducible mechanics are not disclosed.

OpenAI News

Our Principles

OpenAI published a Sam Altman essay listing 5 principles: democratization, agency, universal prosperity, resilience, and adaptability. It cites pathogen risk, cybersecurity, alignment, and iterative deployment; the post does not disclose a model, parameters, pricing, or launch timeline. The key signal is OpenAI admitting future tradeoffs between agency and resilience.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass because this is an official Sam Altman policy essay with named tradeoffs and risk categories. No model, price, parameters, or launch timeline are disclosed, so it stays below the major-update band.

Apr 26Sunday

Hacker News front page

Why SWE-bench Verified No Longer Measures Frontier Coding Capabilities

OpenAI stopped reporting SWE-bench Verified scores and recommends SWE-bench Pro instead. It audited 138 tasks that o3 failed inconsistently across 64 runs and found 59.4% had test or prompt flaws. The key issue is contamination: tested frontier models reproduced some gold patches or task details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI backs the SWE-bench Verified retirement with an audit and contamination evidence, then points to SWE-bench Pro. It affects coding-model evaluation, but it is not a model or major product launch, so it sits in 78–84.