Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1141–1160 of 1,549

May 2Saturday

MIT Technology Review · AI

Musk v. Altman week 1: Musk says xAI distills OpenAI models

Elon Musk testified in week 1 of Musk v. Altman, saying he gave OpenAI $38 million in funding. He asks the court to remove Sam Altman and Greg Brockman and unwind OpenAI’s for-profit restructuring. The sharp detail: Musk said xAI partly distills OpenAI models, while OpenAI previously accused DeepSeek of similar conduct.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the trial has conflict, concrete facts include $38M and xAI’s distillation admission, and OpenAI governance is a live nerve. No ruling or product-level change, so it stays below P1.

TechCrunch · AI

Did you know you can't steal a charity? Elon Musk will remind you.

Elon Musk testified for nearly three days this week in his lawsuit against OpenAI, accusing Sam Altman of betraying its nonprofit mission. Emails, texts, and Musk tweets surfaced in court; the post does not disclose the full claims sought.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass, but the body is a podcast page with limited disclosed facts: Musk’s near-3-day testimony and OpenAI nonprofit dispute, without full claims or ruling status. Featured lower band.

May 1Friday

The Verge · AI

Pentagon strikes classified AI deals with OpenAI, Google, and Nvidia, but not Anthropic

The Pentagon signed classified AI-use deals with 7 firms: OpenAI, Google, Microsoft, Amazon, Nvidia, xAI, and Reflection. Anthropic was excluded as a supply-chain risk; the post does not disclose contract value, model scope, or deployment terms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a classified Pentagon AI vendor list includes OpenAI, Google, Nvidia and 4 others, while Anthropic is absent. Contract value, model scope, and deployment terms are not disclosed, keeping it below 85.

TechCrunch · AI

Musk v. Altman Is Just Getting Started

Elon Musk spent nearly three days on the stand in his lawsuit against OpenAI this week. Emails, texts, and tweets have surfaced; Musk says Sam Altman betrayed OpenAI’s nonprofit mission by shifting to a for-profit model.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a litigation-status update, not a ruling, injunction, or full evidence drop. OpenAI governance stakes justify the 72–77 featured band.

r/LocalLLaMA

OpenAI's Privacy Filter vs GLiNER on 600 PII Samples

A Reddit user compared openai/privacy-filter and GLiNER large-v2.1 on 600 PII samples. On CPU, OpenAI's model ran 2.8 samples/s versus 1.1 for GLiNER; English boundary macro F1 was 0.498 versus 0.416. The key issue is tokenizer offset: strict matching drops openai/privacy-filter to 0.155.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Reddit test has a clear matchup, 600 PII samples, speed/F1 numbers, and a tokenizer-offset caveat. Source authority is limited, so it stays in the low featured band.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Claude Code's Real Story: 98.4% of What Works Is Engineering, Not AI

VILA-Lab analyzed 512,000 lines of Claude Code v2.1.88 and found 1.6% tied to AI decision logic. The other 98.4% is deterministic infrastructure: permissions, context, tool routing, and error recovery. The key shift is harness design, not longer prompts.

Why it matters: Strong HKR: the Claude Code teardown has a sharp counter-narrative and concrete 512k LOC plus 1.6%/98.4% split. It is not an official Anthropic release and lacks full reproduction details, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

OpenAI upgrades Codex to control Macs and run cross-app tasks

OpenAI upgraded Codex with Slack, Google Workspace, and Microsoft 365 integrations. Mike Russell tested Codex on a Mac across Adobe Audition, Photoshop, and Firefly, finishing in about 8 minutes with an 85–90 score. The key shift is OS-level computer control, not code completion.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: OpenAI Codex moves from coding into Mac-level control, with Slack, Google Workspace, and Microsoft 365 integrations. Single-source sourcing caps the score, but the 8-minute test and OS-agent angle justify P1.

Synced · WeChat

Researchers Estimate GPT, Claude, and Gemini Parameter Counts Using API Calls

Bojie Li posted IKP on arXiv to estimate parameter counts of 188 LLMs from 27 vendors via black-box API calls. The dataset has 1,400 questions across 7 rarity tiers, fitted on 89 open models with R²=0.917. Debate centers on synthetic data, MoE effects, and a 90% interval of 0.3x to 3x.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: API-only parameter inference is a strong hook, with concrete counts and error bounds. The 0.3–3x CI limits confidence, so this fits 78–84 featured, not P1.

Latent Space

[AINews] Agents for Everything Else: Codex for Knowledge Work, Claude for Creative Work

OpenAI expanded Codex to non-coding work, with CUA reported 42% faster. The update connects Microsoft, Google, and Salesforce, covering docs, slides, spreadsheets, research, and planning. The key signal is GUI-agent productization, not one benchmark score.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Codex moves into non-code GUI work, with a 42% speed claim and named integrations. Price, rollout scope, and reproduction details are not disclosed, so it stays below P1.

Hacker News front page

Show HN: Pu.sh – a full coding-agent harness in 400 lines of shell

Pu.sh ships a coding-agent harness in about 400 lines of shell, using only sh, curl, and awk. It supports Anthropic and OpenAI, 7 tools, REPL, auto-compaction, checkpoint/resume, pipe mode, and 90 no-API tests. It excludes TUI, streaming, images, OAuth, and Windows.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a small Show HN open-source tool, not a model or platform release. HN frontpage plus a reproducible 400-line implementation clears the featured bar.

TechCrunch · AI

After Dissing Anthropic for Limiting Mythos, OpenAI Restricts Access to Cyber, Too

OpenAI will first roll out GPT-5.5 Cyber only to “critical cyber defenders.” The RSS snippet does not disclose eligibility rules, pricing, or launch timing. The access-tiering model is the key detail for practitioners.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body is RSS-only: it confirms tiered access for GPT-5.5 Cyber, not criteria, pricing, or timeline. This fits a lower-featured OpenAI safety product update.

The Verge · AI

Elon Musk confirms xAI used OpenAI’s models to train Grok

Elon Musk testified Thursday in a California federal court that xAI used OpenAI models to improve Grok. The mechanism described is model distillation: a larger teacher model transfers knowledge to a smaller student model. The post does not disclose which OpenAI models, data volume, or training runs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Musk confirmed in court that xAI used OpenAI models to train Grok, with distillation as the mechanism. Missing model names, scale, and runs keeps it in 78–84, not P1.

TechCrunch · AI

Elon Musk testifies that xAI trained Grok on OpenAI models

Elon Musk testified that xAI trained Grok on OpenAI models. The post only says distillation concerns frontier labs; it does not disclose scale, model versions, or case context.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: Musk’s testimony puts xAI, Grok, OpenAI, and distillation evidence in one story. Missing model versions, scale, and full litigation context keep it at the low end of the 85+ band.

Bloomberg Technology

Anthropic Weighs Funding Offers at Over $900 Billion Valuation

Anthropic is weighing a new funding round at a valuation above $900 billion. Bloomberg cites sources; if completed, Anthropic would overtake OpenAI by valuation. The post does not disclose round size, investors, or timing.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports Anthropic is weighing funding offers above a $900B valuation, enough to reorder the top-lab capital race. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the deal is not closed and amount, investors, and timeline are undisclosed.

The Verge · AI

How the new Microsoft and OpenAI deal breaks down

Microsoft updated its OpenAI deal Monday, letting OpenAI offer products and services across all cloud providers. The RSS snippet does not disclose full contract terms, revenue sharing, or compute commitments. The key shift is the end of cloud exclusivity.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: lifting cloud exclusivity is a testable deal change with real impact on cloud competition and OpenAI distribution. Missing full terms, revenue split, and compute commitments keeps it below 85.

Apr 30Thursday

The Verge · AI

OpenAI talks about not talking about goblins

OpenAI explained instructions telling its coding model to avoid goblins and similar creatures after Wired reported them. OpenAI says GPT-5.1’s “Nerdy” personality began using creature metaphors; the post does not disclose the full fix.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the goblins prompt is unusual, OpenAI names the GPT-5.1 Nerdy persona behavior, and coders care about hidden prompt reliability. No full fix mechanism is disclosed, so it stays in the low featured band.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

AI Raw Proofs Pile Up on GitHub as Terence Tao Says Solving Alone Is Not Enough

Terence Tao says math is shifting from proof scarcity to proof abundance, with 20-plus AI solutions pending assessment on an Erdős problems GitHub page. The post says GPT-5.4 Pro generated an Erdős #1196 approach in 80 minutes, and Tao verified the core within 24 hours. The key issue is verification and digestion workflow, not raw proof count.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: Tao plus GitHub proof backlog gives HKR-H, while 20+ pending AI solutions and an 80-minute GPT-5.4 Pro claim give HKR-K. This is not a model release, so it stays below 85.

QbitAI · WeChat

OpenAI Explains Why GPT-5.5 Keeps Saying “Goblin”

OpenAI says GPT-5.5’s “goblin” habit came from Nerd-persona rewards and training transfer. After GPT-5.1, ChatGPT’s “goblin” use rose 175%; Nerd replies were 2.5% of all replies but 66.7% of goblin mentions. The key issue is reward bias spreading through RL, rollouts, and SFT.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: an odd model-behavior hook, concrete usage stats, and a clear alignment lesson about reward leakage. It is not a major capability release, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

Bloomberg Technology

SoftBank’s $40 Billion Loan for OpenAI Stake Draws More Banks

SoftBank signed a $40 billion bridge loan for its OpenAI investment, and banks brought more lenders into syndication. The post cites people familiar with the matter but does not disclose pricing, maturity, collateral, or OpenAI stake size.

Why it matters: Bloomberg adds bank-side progress on SoftBank’s OpenAI stake financing: the $40B scale clears HKR-H/K/R. Missing rates, term, collateral, and stake size keep it at featured, not P1.

Latent Space

[AINews] The Inference Inflection

Latent Space argues inference demand has hit an inflection point, citing its Apr 28-29, 2026 AINews roundup. Jensen Huang is quoted saying per-task compute rose about 10,000x in two years, with usage up about 100x. The key watchpoints are CPU sandboxes, agent harnesses, and split inference workloads.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Latent Space AINews roundup and trend read, not a model launch or major product release. It fits the upper featured-threshold band for insightful commentary.