Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1161–1180 of 1,549

Apr 30Thursday

TechCrunch · AI

Satya Nadella says he’s ready to ‘exploit’ the new OpenAI deal

Satya Nadella said Microsoft will use the new OpenAI deal to offer OpenAI tech to cloud customers without paying. The post only discloses Nadella’s quote and the access mechanism, not term length, pricing, or product scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H is strong from Nadella’s “exploit” wording; HKR-K/R pass on the licensing mechanism and cloud-competition stakes. Missing term, pricing, and product scope keep it at the featured threshold.

Bloomberg Technology

Anthropic Considering Funding Offers at Over $900 Billion Value

Anthropic is weighing a new funding round at a valuation above $900 billion. The post cites people familiar with the matter but does not disclose round size, investors, or timing. The key signal is the valuation anchor versus OpenAI.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Bloomberg gives a striking $900B+ Anthropic valuation anchor with clear market resonance. The deal is not closed and lacks amount, investors, or timing, so it stays in 85–94, not 95+.

OpenAI News

Where the goblins came from

OpenAI posted about goblin outputs in GPT-5; only an RSS snippet is available. The snippet names timeline, root cause, and fixes, but does not disclose mechanisms or conditions. The key issue is how personality-driven quirks enter model behavior.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: OpenAI is addressing odd GPT-5 behavior with clear talk value. HKR-K fails because the RSS text lacks reproduction conditions, timeline, and fix details, so it stays in the low featured band.

The Verge · AI

All the Evidence Unveiled So Far in Musk v. Altman

The Verge summarizes Musk v. Altman trial exhibits, including emails, photos, and corporate documents. The snippet says Jensen Huang gave OpenAI a scarce supercomputer and Musk shaped its mission; the post does not disclose the full exhibit list or trial schedule.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the trial evidence has a strong OpenAI-origin hook, concrete emails/docs/supercomputer details, and governance resonance. It is a strong legal evidence roundup, not a ruling or product release, so it stays in 78–84.

Hacker News front page

Show HN: A New Benchmark for Testing LLMs for Deterministic Outputs

Interfaze released Structured Output Benchmark, scoring schema pass rate, types, and value accuracy across text, image, and audio. Each record has a JSON Schema and human plus LLM-checked ground truth; GLM-4.7 ranks No. 2 overall. The key bug is field-level value error: GPT-5.4 ranks 3rd on text and 9th on images.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the ranking has a hook, the methodology is concrete, and structured-output reliability matters to builders. Single-source Show HN launch with no adoption signal keeps it in the 72–77 band.

Apr 29Wednesday

The Verge · AI

Tumbler Ridge families are suing OpenAI

Seven Tumbler Ridge shooting victims' families sued OpenAI and Sam Altman. They allege OpenAI flagged 18-year-old Jesse Van Rootselaar's ChatGPT gun-violence chats but did not alert police. The post does not disclose the alert mechanism or full evidence chain.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the lawsuit ties OpenAI to alleged pre-shooting flagged gun chats and raises concrete liability questions. The story stays at 82 because the alert mechanism and evidence chain are not disclosed.

The Verge · AI

ChatGPT Downloads Are Slowing and May Affect OpenAI's IPO

Sensor Tower says ChatGPT uninstalls rose 132% year over year in April as users left or tried rivals. After OpenAI’s February Pentagon deal, last month’s uninstall rate rose 413%; MAU growth fell from 168% in January to 78% in April.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is ChatGPT growth slowing before an IPO, with Sensor Tower churn and MAU-growth figures. It stays below 85 because the data is third-party mobile analytics, not OpenAI financials or a product launch.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Google Translate Turns 20 as Pichai Highlights Four AI Generations

Google Translate turned 20 on April 28, and Pichai said it now has 1B monthly users. The post traces four AI phases: SMT, GNMT, PaLM 2, and Gemini 2.5 Flash Native Audio, including 110 languages added in 2024. The key shift is native speech-to-speech translation that preserves intonation, pacing, and pitch.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the core event is a Google Translate anniversary and architecture recap, not a clear launch. The 1B MAU, 110-language expansion, and native speech-to-speech detail justify featured at the 72–77 band.

Financial Times · Technology

How OpenAI’s $500bn Data Centre Venture Stargate Has Shifted Shape

OpenAI’s Stargate data centre venture is valued at $500bn. The RSS snippet says Sam Altman’s flexible infrastructure approach unsettles partners but boosts compute lead; the post does not disclose structure, partners, or timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: FT’s OpenAI $500bn Stargate angle has a clear compute-arms-race hook. HKR-K is weak because structure, partners, and timing are not disclosed, so it stays in the 72–77 band.

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek V4 pricing is genuinely silly; the math made me question my stack

A Reddit user calculates DeepSeek V4-Pro input at $0.145 per million tokens, about 34x cheaper than Claude Opus 4.7. A May promo cuts it to $0.036, while cache hits are $0.0036, about 173x below Opus cached pricing. The key issue is agent-loop cost; the post does not verify the 1M context under production loads.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass on the pricing hook, concrete token prices, and agent-cost pressure. Capped below 78 because this is a Reddit calculation, not an official release or production benchmark.

X · @dotey

Microsoft VibeVoice-ASR tested on Mac for a one-hour podcast

Simon Willison ran 4-bit VibeVoice-ASR on an M5 Max MacBook Pro and transcribed a one-hour podcast in 8m45s. The 9B MIT-licensed model supports 60-minute audio, 50+ languages, and structured speaker output. Memory is the constraint: prefill peaked at 61.5GB, making 32GB laptops impractical.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Simon Willison’s local test gives speed, parameter size, and memory peak that practitioners can act on. It is a single benchmark, not a fresh model launch, so it stays at the featured threshold.

X · @dotey

OpenAI Expands AWS Partnership, Bringing GPT-5.5, Codex, and Managed Agents to Bedrock

OpenAI expanded its AWS partnership, bringing GPT-5.5, Codex, and Managed Agents to Amazon Bedrock in limited preview. Codex supports Bedrock across CLI, desktop, and VS Code, with over 4M weekly active users. The key detail is reuse of AWS compliance, billing, and cloud commitments.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is more than a routine cloud listing, with OpenAI bringing GPT-5.5, Codex, and Managed Agents to AWS Bedrock. Limited preview, 4M weekly Codex users, and IDE/CLI entry points justify same-day coverage.

Financial Times · Technology

Musk claims Altman ‘stole a charity’ in OpenAI trial testimony

Musk testified in an OpenAI trial that Altman “stole a charity.” The RSS snippet only says he called it “dangerous” for an untrustworthy person to run AI; the post does not disclose claims, evidence, or timeline.

Why it matters: FT authority and OpenAI governance stakes clear HKR-H/R, but the feed only confirms the courtroom allegation without evidence or procedural detail. Lower-end featured fits the 72–77 band.

TechCrunch · AI

Amazon is already offering new OpenAI products on AWS

AWS announced OpenAI model offerings one day after Microsoft ended exclusive rights. The snippet names one new agent service, but does not disclose models, pricing, regions, or launch timing. Watch the shift from Azure exclusivity to multi-cloud distribution.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI moving from Azure exclusivity to AWS distribution is a real industry hook. Missing model list, pricing, regions, and launch timing keep it at 78, not must-write.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI Models Coming to Amazon Bedrock: Interview with OpenAI and AWS CEOs

OpenAI will bring models to AWS via Bedrock Managed Agents, in an interview with Sam Altman and Matt Garman. Microsoft and OpenAI amended their deal: Azure ships first, cross-cloud service is allowed, and IP licensing runs through 2032. The post does not disclose pricing, model list, or launch timing.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: Altman and AWS's CEO confirm OpenAI models on Bedrock, tied to Microsoft agreement changes through 2032. Price, model list, and launch timing are undisclosed, so it stays in the 85–94 band.

The Verge · AI

Elon Musk takes the stand in high-profile trial against OpenAI

Elon Musk began testifying in his trial against OpenAI, Sam Altman, and Greg Brockman. The post says Musk invested up to $38 million early and later filed at least four lawsuits involving OpenAI.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the conflict is strong, with $38M and four lawsuits as concrete facts. Kept below 85 because testimony is a process milestone, not a ruling or governance change.

Financial Times · Technology

OpenAI expands Amazon deal after Microsoft loosens exclusivity terms

OpenAI expanded its Amazon deal after Microsoft loosened exclusivity terms; AWS customers get direct access to its most advanced models. The RSS snippet does not disclose deal value, launch timing, model list, or API pricing.

Why it matters: FT reports OpenAI expanding its Amazon deal after Microsoft loosened exclusivity, clearing HKR-H/K/R. Details are thin: no deal size, launch date, model list, or pricing, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

Bloomberg Technology

Musk Testifies He’s Suing OpenAI to Stop Altman’s ‘Looting’

Elon Musk testified Tuesday that he is suing OpenAI and two co-founders. The case targets its shift from charity to for-profit business; the title names Sam Altman, and the snippet adds Greg Brockman. The post does not disclose damages, venue, or requested remedies.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Musk’s testimony and the “looting” quote create a strong OpenAI governance hook. Missing damages, venue, and requested relief keep it in 78–84, below P1.

X · @OpenAI

A 60-Year-Open Erdős Problem Was Solved With Help From GPT-5.4 Pro

OpenAI says GPT-5.4 Pro helped solve an Erdős problem open for 60 years. The post names Sebastien Bubeck, Ernest Ryu, and Andrew Mayne, but does not disclose the problem name, proof details, or reproducible conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass because an OpenAI model aiding a 60-year Erdős problem is a strong AI-research hook. HKR-K fails: no problem name, proof details, or reproduction conditions are disclosed.

Bloomberg Technology

Amazon Inks Deal with OpenAI, Plans New AWS Applications

AWS announced an OpenAI partnership one day after OpenAI ended Microsoft exclusivity. AWS also plans office AI productivity software; the post does not disclose deal value, duration, or app list.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass because the OpenAI-AWS deal reframes the Microsoft tie and affects cloud procurement. Missing deal value, duration, and app specifics keep it at 78, below must-write.