Skip to content

Microsoft / Copilot

Microsoft's AI push: the Copilot family, Azure AI infrastructure and its OpenAI partnership.

Latest picks

161–180 of 198

Apr 28Tuesday

Financial Times · Technology

OpenAI and Microsoft Loosen Ties in Revised AI Deal

OpenAI and Microsoft revised their AI deal, redrawing a $135bn alliance. The snippet says OpenAI seeks more independence to raise revenue; the post does not disclose equity, compute, or revenue-share terms.

Why it matters: FT reports OpenAI and Microsoft revised their $135B alliance and loosened ties, giving strong HKR-H/R. HKR-K is limited to the directional change; equity, compute, and revenue-share terms are not disclosed, so this stays in 78–84.

X · @dotey

OpenAI and Microsoft renegotiate partnership, loosening Azure tie-in

OpenAI and Microsoft renegotiated their deal; OpenAI can deploy to any cloud when Microsoft does not support a capability. Microsoft remains primary cloud partner, with OpenAI products first on Azure. Microsoft’s license runs to 2032 but becomes non-exclusive; OpenAI revenue sharing to Microsoft continues until 2030, with the cap undisclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Azure lock-in reversal is clickable, the post gives 2032/2030 contract dates and non-exclusive licensing, and the stakes hit cloud spend and control. Single X-sourced summary keeps it at low P1.

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI Drops Exclusivity Deal with Microsoft

OpenAI and Microsoft dropped AI model exclusivity rights, letting both sides sign new rival deals. Bloomberg also says China blocked Meta’s $2 billion purchase of AI startup Manus. Elon Musk’s dispute with Sam Altman is heading to court over OpenAI’s founding mission.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: the title names OpenAI-Microsoft exclusivity ending, and the summary gives the rival-deal condition. Bloomberg authority and strategic impact put it in must-write territory, but video-summary depth keeps it below 90.

r/LocalLLaMA

Microsoft Presents TRELLIS.2: Open-Source 4B Image-to-3D Model

Microsoft’s title says TRELLIS.2 is an open-source 4B image-to-3D model. The title lists 1536³ PBR assets, native 3D VAEs, and 16× spatial compression; the Reddit body is blocked by 403 and discloses no license or benchmarks.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: 4B, 1536³, 16× compression, and open source are concrete. Reddit 403 leaves no paper, license, benchmark, or official link, so the score sits at the featured floor.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI ends Microsoft legal peril over its $50B Amazon deal

OpenAI secured Microsoft concessions to sell products on AWS and proceed with its $50B Amazon deal. Microsoft gets more cash via revenue sharing; the post does not disclose the split, product scope, or legal terms.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: a $50B Amazon deal plus Microsoft’s concession is same-day material for OpenAI cloud distribution. Terms, product scope, and legal details are undisclosed, so the score stays low in the 85–94 band.

The Verge · AI

Microsoft and OpenAI’s famed AGI agreement is dead

Microsoft changed its OpenAI deal and dropped the AGI clause. OpenAI products ship first on Azure, but can now serve customers on any cloud; the post does not disclose term length or revenue split. The key shift is weaker cloud exclusivity.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story names a dead AGI clause and a looser cloud-delivery mechanism while Azure remains preferred. A rewritten OpenAI-Microsoft contract affects compute buying, cloud competition, and AGI control.

Apr 27Monday

Hacker News front page

The Next Phase of the Microsoft–OpenAI Partnership

OpenAI and Microsoft amended their partnership, keeping Microsoft as OpenAI’s primary cloud partner. OpenAI products ship first on Azure, but OpenAI can serve customers on any cloud; Microsoft keeps a non-exclusive IP license through 2032. Microsoft stops paying revenue share to OpenAI, while OpenAI’s payments to Microsoft continue through 2030 with a cap.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is a rewrite of OpenAI–Microsoft cloud priority, IP licensing, and revenue-share mechanics. It fits 85–94: same-day must-write, below a GPT-6 or IPO-level event.

Hacker News front page

Microsoft to Stop Sharing Revenue with Main AI Partner OpenAI

Bloomberg says Microsoft will stop sharing revenue with OpenAI, with publication time listed as 2026-04-27. The captured body is mostly Bloomberg navigation text and does not disclose split rates, timing, contract terms, or responses.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the captured body is only Bloomberg navigation. The title is high-impact; missing timing, split ratio, and comments keep it below 85.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

First Spatio-Temporal Time-Series Reasoning Framework for LLMs | ACL'26

Emory University, Microsoft, and partners introduced STReasoner for spatio-temporal time-series reasoning, with ST-Bench covering four task types. It uses Network SDE plus Multi-Agent data generation, then Align, SFT+CoT, and S-GRPO training. The article claims inference cost is 0.004× closed models, with code on GitHub.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-K pass: the story has a “first framework” hook plus ST-Bench, S-GRPO, 0.004× cost, and code release. HKR-R is weak because spatiotemporal reasoning is a narrower research lane.

Apr 25Saturday

Hacker News front page

What's Missing in the 'Agentic' Story

Mark Nottingham critiques the “AI agent works for you” story and lists 8 trust-misalignment cases online. One example says Microsoft’s new Outlook sends third-party email passwords to its cloud and 700+ data partners. The key issue is delegation boundaries, not model capability alone.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is sourced commentary rather than a model or product release. Mark Nottingham’s Web-protocol authority and HN traction put it at the featured threshold, not P1.

Apr 24Friday

X · @dotey

Codex now supports GPT-5.5 and adds five capability upgrades

Codex now supports GPT-5.5 and adds 5 upgrades aimed at moving it from a coding tool to an agent that can execute longer tasks. The RSS snippet says it can control browsers and computers, create files in Microsoft Office and Google Drive, and use gpt-image-2; an auto-review mode invokes a separate review agent for high-risk actions. What matters is longer task chains, but the post does not disclose pricing, rollout scope, or safety thresholds.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Codex product update: the main signal is the shift toward an agent that can execute chained tasks, not just a new model toggle. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the item is second-hand and omits pricing, rollout scope, and safety thresholds, so it lands as featured,

Financial Times · Technology

Microsoft to offer 7% of US staff voluntary redundancy for the first time

Microsoft will offer voluntary redundancy to 7% of its US staff for the first time. The RSS snippet says long-serving employees can take buyouts, while the company plans to spend $140bn on AI this year; the post does not disclose affected teams, roles, or timing. The signal to watch is AI capex expansion paired with workforce reshaping in the same year.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: “first time” plus 7% is a strong hook, the 7% figure is a concrete new fact, and the AI-capex-versus-headcount tension resonates with practitioners. It stays in the lower featured band because the affected departments, roles, and timing are not disclosed.

Apr 23Thursday

The Verge · AI

Microsoft launches 'vibe working' in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint

Microsoft is rolling out Agent Mode in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint this week, extending Copilot from a Q&A assistant to an agent that can act directly on the document canvas. Sumit Chauhan said earlier foundation models were not strong enough for app control; the post does not disclose rollout scope, pricing, or exact actions.

Why it matters: Microsoft moving Agent Mode into Word, Excel, and PowerPoint clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is strong, the mechanism is new, and the Office install base makes it resonate. But rollout scope, pricing, and the exact action list are undisclosed, so it stays below the 85+ band.

X · @dotey

Microsoft makes Copilot Agent Mode the default in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint

Microsoft made Copilot Agent Mode the default experience in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, available now to Microsoft 365 Copilot and Premium subscribers, including Personal and Family plans. Microsoft reports internal test gains: Excel engagement up 67% and approval up 65%, Word engagement up 52%, and PowerPoint new-user retention up 36%. What matters is that multi-step in-document execution is now the default, with preview and rollback controls.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the default flip is the hook, the post includes rollout scope, concrete pilot metrics, and preview/keep/revert controls, and the Office distribution angle will get discussed. I keep it at 84 because this is a large product update, not a new model release or

Bloomberg Technology

Microsoft Commits $18 Billion to Build Australian AI Capacity

Microsoft said it will spend A$25 billion ($17.9 billion) in Australia by the end of 2029, its largest investment there. The post discloses only the total, location, and deadline; it does not disclose data center scale, GPU count, customer allocation, or product scope.

Why it matters: 75. HKR-K and HKR-R pass: Bloomberg reports a A$25B Australia commitment through 2029, a material signal on regional compute and sovereignty. HKR-H is weak because the story discloses amount, place, and timing only; data-center scale, GPU count, and customer allocation are not.

The Verge · AI

Google Meet will take AI notes for in-person meetings too

Google expanded Gemini notetaking to in-person meetings and added support for Zoom and Microsoft Teams. The post confirms summaries and transcripts; in-person support had previously been limited to Android alpha users. Google also says it works for impromptu meetings outside meeting rooms, which matters because the recorder is no longer confined to native Meet calls.

Apr 20Monday

r/LocalLLaMA

TRELLIS.2 image-to-3D now runs on Mac (Apple Silicon) with no NVIDIA GPU required

A developer ported Microsoft's TRELLIS.2 to Apple Silicon and reports generating ~400K-vertex meshes from one photo in about 3.5 minutes on an M4 Pro with 24GB. The port replaces five CUDA-only extensions with PyTorch MPS and custom backends; texture baking takes about 18 seconds, removing the NVIDIA and cloud requirement.

Why it matters: This is a community port, not an official release, but HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is NVIDIA-free image-to-3D on Apple Silicon, and the post includes testable details (M4 Pro 24GB, ~400k vertices, 3.5 minutes, 5 CUDA-extension rewrites). Reddit-level source authority keeps it in

Hacker News front page

Show HN: TRELLIS.2 image-to-3D running on Apple Silicon, no Nvidia GPU needed

Developer shivampkumar ported Microsoft's 4B-parameter TRELLIS.2 to Apple Silicon with PyTorch MPS for single-image 3D generation. He replaced flash_attn, nvdiffrast, and custom sparse conv kernels with pure PyTorch sparse 3D conv, SDPA attention, and Python mesh extraction. On an M4 Pro with 24GB, it generates ~400K-vertex meshes in about 3.5 minutes; slower than H100 seconds, but fully offline.

Why it matters: Strong on all HKR axes: a clear hook, concrete implementation details, and benchmark-like numbers. This is not a Microsoft model launch, but a reproducible local port with real practitioner relevance, so it lands in featured rather than p1.

Apr 17Friday

Hacker News front page

How Big Tech wrote secrecy into EU law to hide data centres' environmental toll

Microsoft and DigitalEurope pushed a 2024 EU confidentiality clause that blocks public access to individual data-centre energy and water metrics. The article says the EU plans to triple capacity in five years with €176 billion expected investment; 10 legal scholars said the clause may breach the Aarhus Convention, and a 2025 Commission email told member states to keep individual KPIs confidential.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is sharp, the sourcing is concrete, and the topic hits a live AI-infrastructure nerve. This is not a model launch, but it materially sharpens the debate on data-centre transparency, so it clears featured, not p1.

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

Turn your coworker into a Skill? GitHub viral project and Anthropic Skills explained

The video says the open-source “coworker.skill” project gained over 13,000 GitHub stars in days, but it produces a standardized SKILL.md prompt package, not a digital worker replacement. It gives a timeline: Anthropic launched Claude Skills on Oct 16, 2025, then published Agent Skills as an open standard on Dec 18; the mechanism keeps only a short summary in context until a task matches. The real point is scope: it fits standardized workflows like reports, docs, and code review, while the post does not disclose cross-platform compatibility rates or any settled legal standard.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the coworker-to-Skill hook is sticky, the post adds dates/stars/mechanism, and the labor/IP angle resonates. I kept it at 76 because it is secondary commentary, not a primary release or first-hand test, and key compatibility/legal facts are still undiscolse