Skip to content

Microsoft / Copilot

Microsoft's AI push: the Copilot family, Azure AI infrastructure and its OpenAI partnership.

Latest picks

121–140 of 198

Jun 2Tuesday

TechCrunch · AI

Nvidia chases $200B CPU market with AI agent PCs from Microsoft, Dell, and HP

The title says Nvidia is targeting the $200B CPU market with AI agent PCs from Microsoft, Dell, and HP; the RSS snippet does not disclose specifications, pricing, launch timing, or the safety mechanism for bringing agents to consumer PCs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but specs, price, and launch timing are not disclosed. Treat it as a mid-weight product/ecosystem update, with Nvidia plus Microsoft/Dell/HP enough for low featured.

Jun 1Monday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

NVIDIA Releases RTX Spark and Local AI Agent Security and Performance Updates

NVIDIA released RTX Spark, a Windows PC for local AI agents with 1 petaflops of AI compute and 128GB of unified memory. OpenShell uses new Windows security primitives with Microsoft, while llama.cpp optimizations raise Qwen 27B throughput by up to 2x.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: NVIDIA frames RTX Spark for local agents and gives hard specs: 1 petaflops, 128GB, and up to 2x llama.cpp throughput. Vendor-blog framing keeps it in the low 78–84 band.

May 31Sunday

Synced · WeChat

Microsoft open-sources SkillOpt for training Agent skill documents, reaching 3.3k stars in a week

Microsoft open-sourced SkillOpt, a text-space optimization framework that trains Agent skill documents without changing model weights; the paper reports best or tied-best results across 52 combinations covering 7 target models, 6 benchmarks, and 3 execution environments.

Why it matters: Microsoft’s open-source SkillOpt is a strong Agent tooling and research release. HKR-H has the 3.3k-star/trainable-skill hook, HKR-K has the text-parameter mechanism and 52 eval setups, and HKR-R hits agent engineering pain, so it lands in featured at 82.

QbitAI · WeChat

NVIDIA’s MacBook Pro-like laptop reportedly uses an in-house CPU

NVIDIA, Microsoft, and Arm posted the same “new era of PC” teaser, and the article says the rumored N1X laptop may use a 20-core Arm CPU, a Blackwell GPU, 6,144 CUDA cores, and 128GB of LPDDR5X unified memory, while bandwidth and x86 translation remain the stated constraints.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the story rests on hints and rumored specs; launch date, price, and production plan are not confirmed. Treat it as a strong hardware rumor, not a same-day must-write release.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

“What a joke”: GitHub Copilot’s new token-based billing draws developer backlash

GitHub Copilot changed billing to token-based metering, and the RSS snippet says developers are unhappy; the post does not disclose pricing, per-token rates, or the rollout date.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Copilot’s token billing creates conflict, a concrete mechanism, and a cost nerve for developers. Missing price, unit economics, and start date keep it in the lower featured band.

May 29Friday

Ruan YiFeng's Weblog

Technology Enthusiasts Weekly Issue 398: Token Costs Are Hard to Afford

Peter Steinberger posted one month of usage showing 7.6 million requests and 603 billion tokens, with CodexBar estimating a $1.3 million value under preset rates rather than his actual spend as an OpenAI employee.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the CodexBar case turns token economics into concrete usage and cost. This is strong practitioner commentary, not a model or platform release, so it fits the 72–77 featured band.

May 28Thursday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Perplexity Computer Now Integrates with Microsoft Office

Perplexity Computer is now available in Microsoft Excel, Word, PowerPoint, and Outlook, letting users access Computer from the app sidebar to coordinate work, draft documents, model data, create presentations, and handle email.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Perplexity brings Computer into four Office apps with sidebar workflows, a useful product fact and competitive hook. Price, permission model, enterprise rollout, and measured results are not disclosed, so it stays at the featured threshold.

May 23Saturday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Microsoft Says AI Use Can Cost More Than Human Wages

Microsoft says AI use costs more than human wages in specific work scenarios, with its report comparing token- and agent-based usage costs against the cost of hiring people for the same tasks.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the disclosed facts stop at a broad Microsoft cost claim; jobs, amounts, and methodology are not given. Strong featured cost signal, not a major release.

May 22Friday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Microsoft, after investing $13B in OpenAI, saw its engineers run up Claude Code costs

Microsoft plans to end Claude Code subscriptions by the end of June for its Experiences and Devices teams and move nearly 100,000 engineers to GitHub Copilot CLI, with the article attributing the change to external token-based billing costs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI-Claude contrast hooks, the story gives end-June migration, nearly 100k engineers and token-billing, and it hits enterprise coding-agent cost control. Not a model release or official major launch, so 78–84 fits.

May 20Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Microsoft reportedly warns internally that GitHub faces existential risk as AI coding tools reduce hosting need

Microsoft internally warned that GitHub faces an existential risk from AI coding assistants such as Cursor and Claude Code, and told some teams to stop using Claude Code by the end of June 2026 and move to GitHub Copilot CLI.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle is sharp, the summary gives a Claude Code-to-Copilot CLI deadline, and the workflow stakes are real. Single-source “reported” framing and no Microsoft response keep it below the 85 must-write band.

May 19Tuesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Former executive says Microsoft’s AI strategy faltered, with Copilot paid usage below 3%

Former Microsoft executive Matt Veloso said Microsoft generated about $30 billion from its AI partnership between 2023 and 2025, while related costs reached $100 billion; he also said actual usage among paid Copilot users is below 3%.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a former executive gives concrete Microsoft AI cost, revenue, and Copilot usage numbers. Kept at 80 because this is a single former-exec claim, not an official Microsoft disclosure.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Take your local GitHub sessions anywhere

GitHub launched remote control sessions for Copilot, letting users start tasks in VS Code or the command line and continue them through github.com or GitHub Mobile.

Why it matters: GitHub Copilot session handoff from VS Code/CLI to web and mobile clears HKR-H/K/R, but the post only gives entry points and use case; permissions, pricing, and supported task scope are not disclosed.

May 16Saturday

Synced · WeChat

Why Robots Need World Models: Top Institutions Release Joint Survey

NTU MARS Lab and collaborators released a 43-page survey on robot world models, covering definitions, architectures, applications, benchmarks, and challenges around action-conditioned consistency, inference efficiency, and physical grounding.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-K pass: the hook is robot world models, and the post cites a 43-page survey with benchmarks and action-consistency framing. HKR-R is weak, so this stays at the featured threshold.

QbitAI · WeChat

Zhejiang University and Microsoft use 3,000 text prompts to improve video 3D consistency with World-R1

Zhejiang University and Microsoft introduced World-R1, training Wan 2.1 with about 3,000 text-only prompts, Flow-GRPO, and a four-part reward; the 1.3B version improves PSNR over the baseline by 10.23 dB.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is unusual, and the post gives 3,000 text samples, Flow-GRPO, and a +10.23 dB PSNR gain. Strong multimodal research, but not a foundation-model launch, so 78.

May 15Friday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Microsoft Has Invested Over $100 Billion in OpenAI, Nadella Says No One Wanted to Bet Then

Microsoft has invested more than $100 billion in OpenAI, including a $13 billion original investment and Azure infrastructure costs, while the partnership has generated about $30 billion in revenue; the renewed non-exclusive agreement caps OpenAI’s revenue share at $38 billion cumulatively through 2030.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is not a product launch, but the Microsoft-OpenAI economics include three concrete figures on spend, revenue, and revenue-share caps, placing it in the 78–84 quality band.

The Verge · AI

Microsoft starts canceling Claude Code licenses

Microsoft plans to remove most Claude Code licenses and push many developers toward Copilot CLI; the snippet says Microsoft opened access in December to thousands of internal developers, but the post does not disclose the exact license count, pricing, or migration schedule.

Why it matters: HKR-H comes from Microsoft dropping a rival coding tool; HKR-K adds the Dec rollout to thousands of internal devs; HKR-R hits Claude Code vs. Copilot competition. Strong featured, not a major release.

May 14Thursday

The Verge · AI

Microsoft Edge Copilot update uses AI to pull information from across your tabs

Microsoft Edge will let Copilot gather information from all open tabs so users can ask questions, compare products, and summarize articles; the snippet says users can choose which experiences to enable, but the post does not disclose a rollout date.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass, but the post gives tab-wide reading, product comparison, and summaries without launch timing or deeper execution. This fits the lower featured band for a mid-weight product update.

Bloomberg Technology

Microsoft Spent Over $100 Billion on OpenAI Partnership

Microsoft has spent more than $100 billion on its OpenAI partnership, but the RSS snippet does not disclose the spending breakdown, timeline, or agreement terms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Bloomberg adds a striking over-$100B figure tied to Microsoft-OpenAI economics and control. The post does not disclose spend composition, timeline, or agreement terms, so it stays at 84.

May 13Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Claude Enters the Legal Industry

Anthropic released more than 20 MCP connectors and 12 legal plugins, letting Claude work inside Word and Outlook for contract drafting, revision, clause comparison, and routine legal workflows.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a substantive Anthropic vertical product update with 20+ MCP connectors and Office workflows. It is not a model release or platform-wide capability, so it stays in the 72–77 band.

May 12Tuesday

Bloomberg Technology

Microsoft Targeted $92 Billion Return on Early OpenAI Investment

Microsoft targeted a $92 billion return from its early OpenAI investments, according to the RSS snippet; the post does not disclose the investment terms, payout schedule, or actual realized return.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass because Bloomberg adds the $92B target and the Microsoft-OpenAI economics are high-salience. Terms, timing, and realized returns are not disclosed, so it stays below must-write.