Skip to content

Microsoft / Copilot

Microsoft's AI push: the Copilot family, Azure AI infrastructure and its OpenAI partnership.

Latest picks

141–160 of 198

May 11Monday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Anthropic open-sources full-stack financial AI templates

Anthropic open-sourced a financial services AI template library on GitHub, including 10 end-to-end agents, 7 vertical industry plugins, and MCP connectors for 11 financial data providers, with deployment paths from personal plugins to enterprise APIs and integrations for Microsoft 365 and private cloud.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Anthropic shipped a reusable finance-agent template library with GitHub artifacts and concrete counts. It is not a model release, so it stays below 85, but the open-source MCP vertical stack clears featured.

May 8Friday

Bloomberg Technology

The AI Revival of the Three Mile Island Nuclear Plant

Microsoft’s power demand is tied to a Three Mile Island restart and an AI power deal. The RSS snippet does not disclose deal size, restart timing, or pricing. Watch data-center load as a buyer shaping nuclear procurement.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: Three Mile Island tied to Microsoft AI load is a strong infrastructure hook. HKR-K is weak because the RSS text omits deal size, restart timeline, and power price, so this stays at the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Work with Claude across Excel, PowerPoint, Word, and Outlook

Claude now connects to four Microsoft apps: Excel, PowerPoint, Word, and Outlook. Excel, PowerPoint, and Word are generally available; Outlook is in public beta. Admins can deploy via Microsoft admin center and monitor with OpenTelemetry.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Claude enters 4 Microsoft 365 apps with rollout status and OpenTelemetry details. This is a strong Anthropic product update, but not a model release or core capability jump, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

r/LocalLLaMA

WARNING: Open-OSS/privacy-filter Malware

A Reddit user says Hugging Face repo Open-OSS/privacy-filter is an infostealer. It mimics OpenAI's privacy filter, uses loader.py to fetch PowerShell, then downloads an EXE and runs it via Task Scheduler. The author says they reported it to Microsoft and Hugging Face; the post says Linux is unaffected.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: malware disguised as an OpenAI privacy filter has a concrete Windows execution chain. Single Reddit sourcing keeps it at the 72-77 featured threshold.

May 6Wednesday

Bloomberg Technology

Microsoft in Talks to Ax Energy Pledge Amid Data Center Boom

Microsoft is reportedly discussing shelving a clean-energy target as data-center power demand creates constraints. The snippet cites people familiar with the matter but does not disclose the target name, emissions figures, timeline, or final decision.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: a major cloud provider is weighing a clean-power retreat under data-center pressure. Missing target name, emissions numbers, timeline, and outcome keep it in the 72–77 band.

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA Spectrum-X AI-Native Ethernet Fabric Adds MRC for Gigascale AI

NVIDIA added MRC support to Spectrum-X Ethernet, letting one RDMA connection spread traffic across multiple paths. MRC ran in Blackwell deployments, with microsecond failure bypass and hardware rerouting. The key detail is the OCP open specification and multiplane support for clusters up to hundreds of thousands of GPUs.

Why it matters: HKR-K/R are solid: MRC stripes one RDMA flow across paths, detects failures in microseconds, and is tied to Blackwell deployments. HKR-H is narrow and the source is vendor-owned, so this stays below major release level.

May 5Tuesday

The Verge · AI

Google, Microsoft, and xAI Will Let the US Government Review New AI Models

Google DeepMind, Microsoft, and xAI agreed to let CAISI review new AI models before public release. CAISI says it will run pre-deployment evaluations and targeted research, after 40 reviews since 2024; the post does not disclose model names. The key issue is review scope and release timing, not the announcement alone.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: major labs accept US pre-release review, with CAISI citing 40 reviews since 2024. Specific model names and review criteria are not disclosed, so this stays below the must-write band.

Hacker News front page

Google, Microsoft and xAI Agree to Share Early AI Models with U.S.

Google, Microsoft and xAI agreed to share early AI models with the U.S. The snippet lists 3 companies, a WSJ link, an HN link, 5 points, and 0 comments. The post does not disclose the agency, model scope, review mechanism, or timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body discloses only the headline fact. Recipient agency, model scope, review mechanism, and timeline are missing, so this stays in the 72–77 featured band.

Financial Times · Technology

Google, xAI and Microsoft agree to US national security reviews of new AI models

Google, xAI and Microsoft agreed to US national security reviews of new AI models, covering three tech groups. The agreement follows concerns over Anthropic’s latest Mythos model; the post does not disclose the review mechanism, model list, or timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: three major firms accepted US national-security reviews. Missing mechanism, model scope, and timeline keep it in the 78–84 band, not P1.

r/LocalLLaMA

vibevoice.cpp: Microsoft VibeVoice ported to ggml/C++ with no Python at inference

LocalAI released vibevoice.cpp, a ggml/C++ port of Microsoft VibeVoice for CPU, CUDA, Metal, and Vulkan inference. TTS uses a 30s reference clip for 24kHz cloned speech; ASR uses a 7B model with diarized JSON and was tested on 17min audio. The key constraint is memory: 17min CPU Q8_0 peaks near 26GB, with no streaming output yet.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a practical open-source VibeVoice C++ port with concrete runtime numbers. Reddit-source scope and niche audio deployment keep it in the 72–77 featured band, not same-day must-write.

May 2Saturday

TechCrunch · AI

Pentagon inks deals with Nvidia, Microsoft, and AWS to deploy AI on classified networks

The Pentagon signed three deals with Nvidia, Microsoft, and AWS to deploy AI on classified networks. The snippet says DOD is diversifying vendors after its Anthropic terms dispute; it does not disclose value, models, or timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the Pentagon-classified-network angle is strong, and the article adds three vendor deals. Missing deal size, models, and deployment timeline keeps it in the lower featured band.

May 1Friday

The Verge · AI

Microsoft wants lawyers to trust its new AI agent in Word documents

Microsoft launched Legal Agent in Word for legal teams, focused on tasks such as contract review. It follows legal workflows, reviews clauses against a playbook, and handles tracked changes; the post does not disclose pricing or rollout scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Word-native legal review is a sharp enterprise-agent angle, and the playbook plus tracked-changes mechanism adds substance. Price, rollout, and customer evidence are not disclosed, so it stays at the lower featured band.

The Verge · AI

How the new Microsoft and OpenAI deal breaks down

Microsoft updated its OpenAI deal Monday, letting OpenAI offer products and services across all cloud providers. The RSS snippet does not disclose full contract terms, revenue sharing, or compute commitments. The key shift is the end of cloud exclusivity.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: lifting cloud exclusivity is a testable deal change with real impact on cloud competition and OpenAI distribution. Missing full terms, revenue split, and compute commitments keeps it below 85.

Apr 30Thursday

TechCrunch · AI

Satya Nadella says he’s ready to ‘exploit’ the new OpenAI deal

Satya Nadella said Microsoft will use the new OpenAI deal to offer OpenAI tech to cloud customers without paying. The post only discloses Nadella’s quote and the access mechanism, not term length, pricing, or product scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H is strong from Nadella’s “exploit” wording; HKR-K/R pass on the licensing mechanism and cloud-competition stakes. Missing term, pricing, and product scope keep it at the featured threshold.

TechCrunch · AI

Microsoft says it has over 20M paid Copilot users, and they really are using it

Microsoft says Copilot has over 20M paid users, with engagement growing. The post does not disclose active usage, retention, ARPU, or the counting method.

Why it matters: HKR-K is strong because Microsoft disclosed 20M+ paid Copilot users, a rare adoption metric. The score stays near the featured floor because active rate, retention, ARPU, and methodology are not disclosed.

Apr 29Wednesday

X · @dotey

Microsoft VibeVoice-ASR tested on Mac for a one-hour podcast

Simon Willison ran 4-bit VibeVoice-ASR on an M5 Max MacBook Pro and transcribed a one-hour podcast in 8m45s. The 9B MIT-licensed model supports 60-minute audio, 50+ languages, and structured speaker output. Memory is the constraint: prefill peaked at 61.5GB, making 32GB laptops impractical.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Simon Willison’s local test gives speed, parameter size, and memory peak that practitioners can act on. It is a single benchmark, not a fresh model launch, so it stays at the featured threshold.

TechCrunch · AI

Amazon is already offering new OpenAI products on AWS

AWS announced OpenAI model offerings one day after Microsoft ended exclusive rights. The snippet names one new agent service, but does not disclose models, pricing, regions, or launch timing. Watch the shift from Azure exclusivity to multi-cloud distribution.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI moving from Azure exclusivity to AWS distribution is a real industry hook. Missing model list, pricing, regions, and launch timing keep it at 78, not must-write.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI Models Coming to Amazon Bedrock: Interview with OpenAI and AWS CEOs

OpenAI will bring models to AWS via Bedrock Managed Agents, in an interview with Sam Altman and Matt Garman. Microsoft and OpenAI amended their deal: Azure ships first, cross-cloud service is allowed, and IP licensing runs through 2032. The post does not disclose pricing, model list, or launch timing.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: Altman and AWS's CEO confirm OpenAI models on Bedrock, tied to Microsoft agreement changes through 2032. Price, model list, and launch timing are undisclosed, so it stays in the 85–94 band.

Financial Times · Technology

OpenAI expands Amazon deal after Microsoft loosens exclusivity terms

OpenAI expanded its Amazon deal after Microsoft loosened exclusivity terms; AWS customers get direct access to its most advanced models. The RSS snippet does not disclose deal value, launch timing, model list, or API pricing.

Why it matters: FT reports OpenAI expanding its Amazon deal after Microsoft loosened exclusivity, clearing HKR-H/K/R. Details are thin: no deal size, launch date, model list, or pricing, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

Bloomberg Technology

Amazon Inks Deal with OpenAI, Plans New AWS Applications

AWS announced an OpenAI partnership one day after OpenAI ended Microsoft exclusivity. AWS also plans office AI productivity software; the post does not disclose deal value, duration, or app list.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass because the OpenAI-AWS deal reframes the Microsoft tie and affects cloud procurement. Missing deal value, duration, and app specifics keep it at 78, below must-write.