Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

701–720 of 760

Sep 2, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Vijaye Raji to become CTO of Applications with acquisition of Statsig

OpenAI said it will acquire Statsig, and Vijaye Raji will become CTO of Applications once the deal closes. Raji will report to Fidji Simo and lead product engineering for ChatGPT and Codex, including infrastructure and Integrity. Statsig staff will join OpenAI after closing, but the platform will keep operating independently from Seattle; regulatory approval is still pending.

Why it matters: OpenAI is acquiring Statsig and naming Vijaye Raji as CTO of Applications, a high-signal personnel plus M&A story tied to ChatGPT and Codex engineering. HKR clears all three; the post gives scope and close structure but omits price and integration timeline, so this is must-write,

Mistral AI

Mistral adds custom MCP connectors and Memories to Le Chat

Mistral launched a catalog of 20+ secure MCP-based connectors for Le Chat (beta), covering data, productivity, development, automation and business categories. It supports tools including Databricks, Snowflake, GitHub, Atlassian, Asana, Outlook, Box, Stripe and Zapier, and lets users add custom MCP connectors or connect to any remote MCP server.

Why it matters: The post lists the specific tool categories and deployment methods behind the 20+ connectors, showing how far Le Chat reaches into enterprise workflows.

Aug 28, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing gpt-realtime and Realtime API updates for production voice agents

OpenAI released the speech-to-speech model gpt-realtime and made the Realtime API generally available, adding remote MCP server support, image input, and SIP phone calling. The post reports 82.8% on Big Bench Audio versus 65.6% for the December 2024 model, and 30.5% on the audio MultiChallenge benchmark versus 20.6%. The key change is that tool access and phone connectivity now ship in the same production API.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI model + API release, not a minor refresh. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the release has a clear hook, hard benchmark deltas, and direct deployment impact for production voice agents, so it reaches p1.

Aug 7, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5 for developers

OpenAI released GPT-5 in its API on August 7, 2025, in three sizes: gpt-5, gpt-5-mini, and gpt-5-nano. The post reports 74.9% on SWE-bench Verified, 88% on Aider polyglot, 96.7% on τ2-bench telecom, plus new verbosity, minimal reasoning_effort, and custom tools; pricing and full availability details are not disclosed in the provided text. The real developer signal is the API surface change, not just a model rename.

Why it matters: This is an OpenAI flagship-model API launch, so it belongs in the 95–100 band. HKR-H lands on the GPT-5 debut; HKR-K lands on concrete benchmark scores and new controls; HKR-R lands on immediate developer concerns around migration, tooling, and model comparison; the excerpt omits

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5

OpenAI launched GPT-5 on August 7, 2025 and made it available to all ChatGPT users. The system combines a base model, GPT-5 thinking, and a real-time router; Plus gets higher limits, while Pro gets GPT-5 pro. The key change is unified routing with built-in reasoning; the post does not disclose pricing, context window, or API specifics.

Why it matters: An OpenAI frontier-model launch is a top-band event on its own. The excerpt confirms a unified system (base model + GPT-5 thinking + router) and rollout to all ChatGPT users; HKR-H/K/R all pass, and missing price/context/API details do not block p1.

Aug 6, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Providing ChatGPT to the Entire U.S. Federal Workforce

OpenAI partnered with the U.S. General Services Administration to offer ChatGPT Enterprise to the full federal executive workforce for $1 per agency for 1 year. Participating agencies also get 60 days of unlimited advanced models and features, including Deep Research and Advanced Voice Mode; federal business data will not be used for training. The key signal is centralized procurement access, while the post does not disclose agency count, budget size, or exact model list.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s GSA deal turns ChatGPT Enterprise into a federal-wide procurement channel at $1 for one year, which is a real distribution signal, not a routine discount. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post omits agency count, budget size, and full model scope, so I keep it at 84.

Aug 5, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing gpt-oss

OpenAI released gpt-oss-120b and gpt-oss-20b under Apache 2.0, with the 120B model running on one 80GB GPU and the 20B model on devices with 16GB memory. Both are MoE Transformers with 117B and 21B total parameters, 5.1B and 3.6B active params per token, 128k context, and support for the Responses API and Structured Outputs. The part that matters is the lower deployment bar plus open weights; the post excerpt claims strong reasoning, but full benchmark scores are not disclosed here.

Why it matters: Same-day write. OpenAI moving into Apache 2.0 open weights is a strategy story, not a routine update; HKR-H lands on the unexpected move, HKR-K on concrete deployment specs, and HKR-R on cost and open-vs-closed debates. Not 95+ because the excerpt does not disclose full benchmark

OpenAI News

gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card

OpenAI released gpt-oss-120b and gpt-oss-20b as open-weight reasoning models under Apache 2.0, with compatibility for the Responses API. They are text-only models with tool use, Structured Outputs, and adjustable reasoning effort; the post does not disclose context length, pricing, or benchmark scores. On safety, OpenAI says gpt-oss-120b stayed below the High threshold in bio, cyber, and AI self-improvement tests, including after adversarial fine-tuning.

Why it matters: This is a same-day write: HKR-H from OpenAI going open-weight, HKR-K from license/mechanism/safety specifics, and HKR-R from the open-vs-closed debate. I kept it below 90 because the post excerpt does not disclose context length, pricing, or full benchmark results.

Jul 31, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing Stargate Norway

OpenAI said Stargate Norway, its first European AI data center project, is planned for 230MW with a further 290MW expansion target. Nscale and Aker will build it in Narvik, aiming for 100,000 NVIDIA GPUs by end-2026, using renewable power and closed-loop direct-to-chip liquid cooling. The key detail is allocation: OpenAI is an initial offtaker, while surplus capacity is intended for users in Norway, the UK, the Nordics, and Northern Europe; the post does not disclose capex or exact GPU models.

Jul 29, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing study mode in ChatGPT

OpenAI launched study mode in ChatGPT on July 29, 2025 for logged-in Free, Plus, Pro, and Team users, with ChatGPT Edu coming in the next few weeks. It uses custom system instructions to deliver Socratic prompts, scaffolded responses, knowledge checks, and on/off toggling instead of direct answers, adapting to skill-level questions and prior chat memory. The key change is interaction design, not a new model; the post does not disclose the underlying model, outcome metrics, or misuse safeguards.

Jul 22, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Pioneering an AI clinical copilot with Penda Health

OpenAI and Penda Health studied 39,849 visits across 15 clinics in Kenya and found clinicians using AI Consult had 16% fewer diagnostic errors and 13% fewer treatment errors. The copilot used GPT-4o from August 2024, was embedded into the EHR in early 2025, and surfaced green/yellow/red alerts, with red alerts requiring review. The key point is deployment design: this is not autonomous care, but a safety net that triggers when an error is likely.

OpenAI News

Stargate advances with 4.5 GW partnership with Oracle

OpenAI and Oracle agreed to add 4.5 GW of Stargate data center capacity in the U.S., bringing capacity under development to over 5 GW and more than 2 million chips. OpenAI says this advances its January pledge to build 10 GW of U.S. AI infrastructure with $500 billion over four years, and it now expects to exceed that target. The concrete signal is deployment: Stargate I in Abilene has started receiving Nvidia GB200 racks and is already running early training and inference workloads.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is the sheer 4.5GW scale, the post includes concrete capacity numbers, and compute supply is a live industry nerve. At 88, this is a same-day infrastructure story with strategic impact, below only top-tier model or executive news.

OpenAI News

OpenAI’s new economic analysis

OpenAI said more than 500 million people actively use its AI tools, with ChatGPT handling over 2.5 billion messages per day, including 330 million in the US. The post cites examples such as teachers saving nearly six hours per week and Pennsylvania state workers saving 95 minutes per day, and announces a 12-month collaboration with Ronnie Chatterji, Jason Furman, and Michael Strain to study AI’s effects on productivity and labor markets. The key point: OpenAI discloses scale and a few productivity examples, but the post does not disclose a unified methodology, causal identification, or sector-level results.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the post adds fresh scale data and ties it to productivity and labor-market effects. The score stays at 78 because it mostly offers sample cases and a new collaboration; methods, causal identification, and sector-level results are not disclosed.

Jul 21, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Fidji Simo: AI should be a source of broad empowerment

OpenAI published a July 21, 2025 essay by Fidji Simo saying she will join in a few weeks as CEO of Applications and arguing AI should broaden access to knowledge, health, and creativity. The post cites 2x learning gains from AI tutors and a 2024 OpenAI result where 90% said ChatGPT made complex ideas easier to understand; it does not disclose any new product, pricing, or launch date.

Why it matters: HKR-K and HKR-R pass: OpenAI officially says Fidji Simo will become Applications CEO within weeks, a material org move, and the post includes two concrete figures: 2x and 90%. HKR-H fails because the headline is generic and no product, pricing, or launch timing is disclosed, so I

Jul 17, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

ChatGPT agent System Card

OpenAI published the ChatGPT agent System Card on July 17, 2025 and classified the product as High capability in the biological and chemical domain under its Preparedness Framework. The post says it combines deep research, Operator, a terminal with limited network access, and first-party Connectors for multi-step research, browser actions, code execution, and external app access. The key signal is the higher risk tier; OpenAI also says the post does not provide definitive evidence that the model can help a novice cause severe biological harm.

Why it matters: This is not routine safety paperwork. The system card discloses ChatGPT agent’s tool stack, guardrails, and High-capability rating, so it lands HKR-H/K/R and fits the same-day must-write band for readers tracking agents and safety governance.

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT agent

OpenAI launched ChatGPT agent on July 17, 2025, and made agent mode available to Pro, Plus, and Team users. It combines Operator-style web actions, deep research synthesis, a terminal, and API access in one virtual computer; the post lists the tools but does not disclose pricing, quotas, or benchmark results. The key detail is control: consequential actions require user permission, and users can interrupt, stop, or take over the browser at any time.

Jul 9, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

A letter from Sam & Jony

OpenAI said on July 9, 2025 that the io Products, Inc. team has formally merged into OpenAI, while Jony Ive and LoveFrom remain independent. The post says the groups collaborated for 2 years and io was founded 1 year ago by Jony Ive, Scott Cannon, Evans Hankey, and Tang Tan; it does not disclose deal value, product details, or a launch timeline.

Why it matters: Not a product launch, but a high-weight org and design move. HKR-H/R are strong because OpenAI + Jony Ive points to the next AI hardware/interface fight; HKR-K passes on concrete timing, but the score stays below 85 because price, device form, and launch timing are undisclosed.

Jul 8, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI works with AFT to shape AI in schools with 400,000 teachers

OpenAI and the American Federation of Teachers launched a five-year plan to train 400,000 US K-12 educators in AI by 2030, about 1 in 10 teachers nationwide. OpenAI pledged $10 million over five years, with $8 million in funding and $2 million in compute and engineering support; the program includes a New York hub, free training, API credits, and support from Microsoft, Anthropic, and UFT. The key detail for practitioners is priority access and tokens for educator-built tools, but the post does not disclose model names, credit amounts, or procurement terms.

Why it matters: This is a distribution-focused education partnership, not a model launch. HKR-H/K/R all clear via the unusual coalition, concrete scope, and school-access angle, but missing model, token, and procurement details keep it in the low featured band.

Jun 16, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing OpenAI for Government

OpenAI launched OpenAI for Government on June 16, 2025, consolidating its existing US public-sector work under one program for federal, state, and local agencies. Its first partnership is a pilot with the US Department of Defense CDAO under a contract capped at $200 million, offering ChatGPT Enterprise, ChatGPT Gov, secure environments, and limited custom national-security models. The practical signal is deployment: a Pennsylvania pilot reported about 105 minutes saved per employee per day, while the post does not disclose model versions, pricing, or rollout scale.

Why it matters: This is not a model launch, but it is a meaningful OpenAI government push with a DoD pilot capped at $200M and a named 105-min/day productivity claim. HKR-H/K/R all pass, so it clears featured; missing model/version, pricing, and deployment detail keeps it below p1.

May 27, 2025Tuesday

Mistral AI

Mistral releases Agents API with built-in connectors and MCP tools

Mistral released an Agents API that pairs its language models with built-in connectors for code execution, web search, image generation and MCP tools. It also offers persistent memory across conversations and agent orchestration.

Why it matters: Mistral details the connectors, memory and orchestration of its Agents API, letting readers judge how an agent platform would be deployed.