Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

661–680 of 760

Feb 14Saturday

MIT Technology Review · AI

ALS stole this musician’s voice. AI let him sing again.

Patrick Darling, 32, returned to the stage on February 11 in London after two years without singing, using an AI voice clone rebuilt from old recordings. The post says speech cloning typically needs about 10 minutes of clean audio; his singing clone was built from noisy phone clips and kitchen recordings, then refined with Eleven Music over about six weeks. The practical signal is access, not sentiment: ElevenLabs offers the tools free to people who lost their voices to ALS and similar conditions, but the post does not disclose model details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the hook is strong, the story gives concrete reproducible details, and the use case hits accessibility plus voice-rights nerves. Still, this is a strong application story, not a major model, product, or research release, so it stays in low featured.

Feb 12Thursday

Lex Fridman (YouTube RSS)

OpenClaw: The Viral AI Agent Behind the Hype - Peter Steinberger | Lex Fridman Podcast #491

Lex Fridman’s episode #491 interviews Peter Steinberger about the open-source AI agent OpenClaw; the transcript says it reached 175k-180k GitHub stars. The post says it can connect to Telegram, WhatsApp, Signal, and iMessage, and use models such as Claude Opus 4.6 and GPT 5.3 Codex; it does not fully disclose the architecture, evals, or security boundaries. The real point is system-level access and self-modifying behavior: this is not chat, but an agent that can take actions.

Why it matters: This is more than a routine podcast. OpenClaw scores on HKR-H/K/R with 175k-180k GitHub stars, messaging integrations, and self-modifying behavior. It stays at featured, not p1, because the post does not disclose architecture, evaluations, or safety boundaries.

MIT Technology Review · AI

Is a secure AI assistant possible?

OpenClaw was uploaded to GitHub in November 2025 and went viral in late January, extending LLMs into email, browsing, and local files with larger security risks. The post names prompt injection as the central threat, says there are likely “hundreds of thousands” of OpenClaw agents online, and notes a public warning from the Chinese government. The key point: the article says there is no silver-bullet defense yet, and the truncated body does not disclose the full mitigation details.

Why it matters: This is not a launch, but it clears HKR-H/K/R: the question is a strong hook, the piece adds concrete scale plus 'no silver-bullet' defense, and it hits the agent-builder safety nerve. Featured, not p1, because the article does not disclose reproducible mitigations.

Feb 10Tuesday

36Kr (direct RSS)

OpenAI to integrate ChatGPT into the U.S. Department of Defense's generative AI platform

The U.S. Department of Defense will work with OpenAI to integrate ChatGPT into GenAI.mil for about 3 million personnel. The RSS snippet discloses the integration, platform name, and user count, but not the model version, access controls, scope, or launch date.

Why it matters: A DoD distribution deal for ChatGPT at roughly 3M-seat scale clears HKR-H, K, and R. The ceiling stays below p1 because the post confirms the platform and reach only; model version, access controls, and launch timing are not disclosed.

36Kr (direct RSS)

Embodied AI company Noematrix raises several hundred million yuan in Series A, with overseas funds joining

Noematrix closed a Series A worth several hundred million yuan, led by C Capital, with Sea Limited and Puhua Capital participating, and Prosperity7 Ventures increasing its stake. Founded in Nov. 2023, the company says its Noematrix Brain has been deployed on wheeled single-arm, wheeled dual-arm, and humanoid dual-arm robots in retail pharmacies and hotel laundries; the post does not disclose valuation or revenue. The sharper signal is its claimed hundreds of thousands of hours of real-robot data and its data-model-scenario loop.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the funding hook is strong, and the body adds real-world data plus deployed robot forms and scenarios. It stays at the low end of featured because this is still a single-company financing scoop, and valuation, revenue, and customer counts are not disclosed.

Feb 9Monday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Voice Ask is live: why is Xiaohongshu pushing search-by-question?

Xiaohongshu fully launched Voice Ask on Jan. 27, letting users long-press to speak on the search page and get structured answers distilled from in-app user experience posts. The post says it can handle 3-minute spoken queries, foreign languages, and dialects, but does not disclose the model, ASR stack, latency, or accuracy. The real shift is from 3-4 character keyword search to longer spoken questions, widening search intent capture and scenario coverage.

36Kr (direct RSS)

Qwen’s 10 Million Milk Teas: How Alibaba’s Massive AI Freebie Campaign Unfolded

Alibaba’s Qwen drove over 10 million orders via a Feb. 6 free-order campaign, but the app slowed and crashed from 10 a.m. to noon as load exceeded capacity; orders had already passed 2 million before noon. 36Kr says initial server capacity was only about one-third of the expected peak, and the subsidy pool was framed as 3 billion yuan; the real signal is not a model leap but a paid test of AI commerce entry and consumer acquisition.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the free-milk-tea plus outage hook, while HKR-K lands on concrete scale and capacity numbers. HKR-R also lands because the story speaks to AI distribution, subsidy economics, and infra reliability, but it remains a single-company promo test rather than a market-shi

Feb 7Saturday

MIT Technology Review · AI

Moltbook was peak AI theater

Moltbook went viral within hours, and the platform says it now has 1.7 million agent accounts, 250,000 posts, and 8.5 million comments, but the article argues the activity is mostly human-scripted mimicry. It says OpenClaw can connect Claude, GPT-5, or Gemini to tools like email and browsers; cited operators say the agents lack shared goals, shared memory, and self-directed autonomy, and some viral posts were written by humans posing as bots. The key takeaway is risk: agents tied to private data such as passwords or bank details were active on a site filled with spam and potentially malicious instructions.

Why it matters: This is strong anti-hype commentary, not a market-moving event. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is sharp, the piece adds 1.7M/250k/8.5M plus concrete critique on memory and goals, and the security angle lands with practitioners, so it clears featured but stays mid-70s.

Feb 6Friday

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI launches new agentic coding model minutes after Anthropic releases its own

OpenAI launched an agentic coding model minutes after Anthropic released a similar one, and the model is meant to accelerate Codex, which OpenAI launched earlier this week. The RSS snippet gives only the timing and purpose; the post does not disclose the model name, benchmarks, pricing, context length, or availability. The signal is direct competition in agentic coding, not a substantiated performance claim.

Why it matters: Major-lab product news plus a minutes-apart Anthropic clash gives this HKR-H and HKR-R. The score stays in the low featured band because HKR-K is weak: the post lacks the model name, benchmarks, price, context window, and availability.

Feb 4Wednesday

TheValley101 (硅谷101)

E224 | Why Clawdbot became the first breakout product of 2026 amid the Mac mini rush | Moltbot | MoltBook | OpenClaw

The podcast says Clawdbot passed 100k GitHub stars within days and reached 146k on Feb. 2, while being renamed to Moltbot and then OpenClaw within a week. It attributes the traction to a stack of Claude, long-term memory, IM-based messaging, and proactive heartbeat workflows; the title mentions a Mac mini rush, but the post does not disclose sales figures. The real signal is the interaction layer rather than a new model release: this is industry commentary and user anecdotes, not an official spec sheet.

Why it matters: This is a commentary-led breakdown of a hot agent phenomenon, not a primary launch. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 146k-star surge and rename chain are novel, the post explains memory + IM + heartbeat mechanics, and it hits nerves on agent UX, dedicated hardware, and security bills; the

Feb 3Tuesday

Computing Life · Yage

Beyond Tutorial Thinking: Why AI Education Should Add Engineering Infrastructure, Not Just Content

The team says it ran 4 courses over 2 years for 2,500+ learners, yet only a minority shipped usable products; drop-off centered on setup, experimentation, deployment, and context handling friction. The post says AI Builder Space gives students a no-card unified API, one-click deployment to <name>.ai-builders.space free for 1 year, and MCP access for Cursor and Claude Code via one command. The point is productized teaching infra, not more tutorials; retention, conversion, and cost are not disclosed.

Why it matters: The piece turns a familiar complaint into operational detail: 2500+ learners, 4 failure points, and a concrete platform response with API, deployment, and MCP access. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but missing conversion, retention, and cost data keeps it at the low end of featured.

MIT Technology Review · AI

What We’ve Been Getting Wrong About AI’s Truth Crisis

MIT Technology Review says the US Department of Homeland Security has confirmed using Google and Adobe AI video generators for public-facing content, reported last Thursday. The post cites two failure points: Adobe auto-labels only fully AI-made content, mixed edits are opt-in, and X can remove or hide labels. The key issue is influence after exposure: a new Communications Psychology paper found participants still used a fake confession deepfake to judge guilt even after being told it was fake.

Why it matters: This is not zero-sourcing commentary: it ties confirmed DHS usage to concrete labeling gaps at Adobe and X, then adds a named study showing disclosure did not reset judgment. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but it is still commentary plus one study, not a same-day industry-moving event.

Jan 30Friday

Ruan YiFeng's Weblog

Technology Enthusiast Weekly #383: What Level of AI Programming Are You?

Steve Yegge frames AI coding into 8 levels and says he is at level 8, where an orchestrator manages parallel AI coding sessions. The post lays out a path from IDE copilots to YOLO acceptance, 3-5 windows, 10+ windows, then orchestration; it also says his AI-built tool Gas Town has 225,000 lines of Go code, which he has never read, and had 6,000 stars as of last week. The real signal is black-box programming as a workflow choice, with cost and failure risk stated plainly.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the 8-level framing is sticky, and the post carries concrete workflow and project numbers. The score stays below 78 because this is secondary commentary, not a primary model, product, or research release.

Bloomberg Technology

Perplexity Inks Microsoft AI Cloud Deal Amid Dispute With Amazon

Perplexity signed a $750 million Azure cloud deal with Microsoft while facing a legal dispute with its longtime cloud partner Amazon. The RSS snippet discloses the deal size, cloud provider, and dispute context, but not the contract term, compute scale, or lawsuit details. The key signal is a cloud supply rebalance that can affect training and inference costs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a $750M Azure deal signed during an Amazon dispute is clicky, concrete, and discussable. It stays below 85 because the story gives price and counterpart, but not term, compute volume, or migration scope.

Bloomberg Technology

Amazon in Talks to Invest Up to $50 Billion in OpenAI and Expand Ties

Amazon is in talks to invest up to $50 billion in OpenAI and expand their existing relationship. The RSS snippet says the tie-up includes Amazon selling compute to OpenAI; the post does not disclose deal structure, timing, or whether talks will close. The key signal is compute linkage, not just capital.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the sheer $50B number and the unexpected Amazon-OpenAI tie-up; HKR-K lands on the reported compute-sales linkage. HKR-R is strong because cloud alignment and OpenAI's supply stack are core industry nerves, but key deal terms remain undisclosed, so this stays below

MIT Technology Review · AI

DHS is using Google and Adobe AI to make videos

A DHS document says the agency uses Google Veo 3, Google Flow, and Adobe Firefly for public-facing content, with an estimated 100 to 1,000 licenses. It also says DHS uses Microsoft Copilot Chat for drafting and summarization and Poolside for coding; the post does not disclose which specific videos used which tool. The key point for practitioners is that commercial video generators are now inside a federal public-communications workflow, while watermark retention and attribution remain unverifiable across platforms.

Jan 28Wednesday

Mistral AI

Mistral releases terminal coding agent Mistral Vibe 2.0

Mistral released Mistral Vibe 2.0, a terminal coding agent powered by the Devstral 2 model family. It adds custom subagents, multi-option clarification, slash-command skills, a unified agent mode and automatic updates.

Why it matters: The post lists Vibe 2.0's custom subagents, slash-command skills and subscription entry point, enough to judge how terminal coding agent workflows change.

Jan 27Tuesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

Inside OpenAI’s big play for science

OpenAI launched its OpenAI for Science team in October 2025 to test how GPT-5-class models can support scientists. Kevin Weil said GPT-5.2 scored 92% on GPQA versus GPT-4’s 39%; the piece also notes OpenAI deleted posts that overstated old-paper retrieval as solving unsolved math problems.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the piece has an insider-angle hook, a concrete GPQA 92% vs 39% data point, and a real tension between scientific ambition and overclaim risk. It stays at 80 because this is reported strategy analysis, not a new model release or shipped capability.

Jan 23Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

“Dr. Google” had its issues. Can ChatGPT Health do better?

OpenAI launched ChatGPT Health this month, and says 230 million people ask ChatGPT health questions each week. The post says it is not a new model but a wrapper with health guidance and tools, including optional access to medical records and fitness data. The real issue is evaluation: cited studies put GPT-4o at about 85% accuracy on realistic prompts, but only about half of no-choice licensing answers were rated fully correct.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story has a strong replacement hook and includes concrete usage plus evaluation numbers. I keep it in the 78–84 band because this is a high-stakes OpenAI product layer, not a new model launch, and rollout, regulatory, and liability details are not fullydis

Jan 21Wednesday

NVIDIA Blog

Jensen Huang on AI’s “Five-Layer Cake” at Davos: the largest infrastructure buildout in human history

Jensen Huang said at Davos that global VC investment topped $100 billion in 2025, with most capital going to AI-native startups building the AI stack’s application and infrastructure layers. He described AI as a five-layer stack: energy, chips and computing infrastructure, cloud data centers, models, and applications, and cited a US nursing shortage of about 5 million where AI can handle charting and transcription. The key point for practitioners is that the bottleneck is not just models, but the full infrastructure and labor chain.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/R because Jensen's Davos framing is a strong, discussable hook for practitioners. HKR-K also passes on specific facts (> $100B VC, five-layer stack, 5M nurse gap), but it is still executive commentary, not a model or product launch, so it stays in the 78-84 band