Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

641–660 of 760

Mar 7Saturday

Bloomberg Technology

Oracle and OpenAI End Plans to Expand Flagship Data Center

Oracle and OpenAI ended talks to expand a flagship AI data center in Abilene, Texas, after financing delays and OpenAI's changing needs. Meta is considering leasing the site from Crusoe, and Nvidia helped facilitate talks; the post only says such projects cost tens of billions of dollars.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports that OpenAI and Oracle ended talks to expand the Abilene flagship site, with Meta potentially taking the parcel. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the reversal is strong, the story adds financing and demand detail, and the compute-capex angle will travel, but it is still an i

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI, Oracle Won't Expand Flagship AI Data Center in Texas

OpenAI and Oracle have scrapped plans to expand a flagship AI data center in Texas after financing talks dragged and OpenAI's needs changed. The RSS snippet confirms only the Texas site; the post does not disclose the facility name, target capacity, capex, or revised timeline. The signal to watch is shifting compute demand, not just a stalled real estate project.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports OpenAI and Oracle dropped a flagship Texas data-center expansion, citing financing delays and shifting OpenAI demand. HKR-H/K/R all pass and source authority helps, but missing capacity, capex, and timeline details keep it in the low 80s.

Bloomberg Technology

Oracle and OpenAI End Plans to Expand Flagship Data Center

Oracle and OpenAI ended plans to expand a flagship AI data center in Texas. The RSS snippet says talks dragged over financing and OpenAI’s changing needs; the post does not disclose the site’s size, budget, or timeline. The real signal is financing friction plus a demand reassessment.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports a meaningful infrastructure reversal, so HKR-H and HKR-R land: it is unexpected and it hits compute-supply and capex concerns around OpenAI. HKR-K is limited because the writeup omits size, spend, and timing, keeping this near the featured threshold.

MIT Technology Review · AI

Is the Pentagon allowed to surveil Americans with AI?

MIT Technology Review reports that the Pentagon sought to use Anthropic Claude to analyze bulk commercial data on Americans, triggering a public clash; OpenAI then revised its contract to bar intentional domestic surveillance of U.S. persons. The key mechanism disclosed is that the U.S. government can buy commercial location and browsing data, and if collection is deemed lawful, current law often does not restrict feeding it into AI for aggregation and profiling. The real issue is that contract red lines may not bind the DoD; OpenAI has not released the full contract, and the post does not disclose how its safety stack would be enforced.

Why it matters: Full HKR-H/K/R: strong Pentagon-surveillance hook, a concrete legal mechanism on commercial data reuse, and clear resonance for defense-contract and safety-boundary debates. It stops short of 85 because the new OpenAI contract text and enforcement details are not disclosed.

Bloomberg Technology

OpenAI Releases AI Agent Security Tool for Research Preview

OpenAI released a research-preview AI agent for security teams to find and patch vulnerabilities in large databases. The RSS snippet discloses the use case and preview status, but the post does not disclose the model name, supported databases, pricing, or rollout timeline. Watch the deployment boundary, not the headline alone.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because OpenAI is shipping an agent for vuln discovery and patching; HKR-R lands because security automation is a live enterprise nerve. HKR-K is weak: the preview lacks model, coverage, pricing, and rollout details, so this stays at the featured floor.

Bloomberg Technology

Anthropic Unveils Amazon-Inspired Marketplace for AI Software

Anthropic is launching a platform for enterprise customers to buy third-party software, expanding its AI offerings. The RSS snippet confirms the audience and purpose, but the post does not disclose launch timing, revenue terms, or software scope. The key signal is a move from selling models toward channel distribution, as the company faces business uncertainty tied to a Pentagon standoff.

Why it matters: This is a meaningful channel move: Anthropic is extending from model sales into enterprise software distribution. HKR-H and HKR-R pass, but HKR-K is limited because launch timing, rev share, and catalog scope are not disclosed, so it lands at the low end of featured.

Mar 6Friday

Ruan YiFeng's Weblog

Technology Enthusiast Weekly Issue 387: You Are Ahead

Ruanyifeng says that, out of 8.1 billion people, only 1.38 billion have used AI, or 16%; just 15 to 25 million pay for AI services, or 0.3%. The post adds that only 2 to 5 million people have used AI to create their own coding projects, or 0.04%. The real signal is the adoption gap, not the idea that everyone already uses AI.

Why it matters: This is data-backed commentary, not a product launch or primary reporting. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle punctures the 'everyone uses AI' narrative and supplies 16% / 0.3% / 0.04% adoption estimates, but the source basis is unclear here, so it sits at the low end of featured.

Mar 5Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT for Excel and new financial data integrations

OpenAI launched ChatGPT for Excel beta on March 5, 2026, bringing GPT-5.4 into Excel workbooks and finance workflows. The post says it can build and update models, trace changes to cells, and is off by default for Enterprise and Edu admins; OpenAI's internal banking benchmark rose from 43.7% with GPT-5 to 87.3% with GPT-5.4 Thinking. The key move is data access: Moody’s, Dow Jones Factiva, MSCI, Third Bridge, and MT Newswires are live, while FactSet is listed as coming soon.

Why it matters: This is more than a routine add-on: OpenAI puts ChatGPT into Excel, names major finance data feeds, and cites a 43.7%→87.3% internal banking benchmark gain. HKR-H/K/R all pass; importance lands at 82 because this is a strong vertical workflow move, not a market-wide model release

Mar 3Tuesday

OpenAI News

GPT-5.3 Instant: Smoother, more useful everyday conversations

OpenAI released GPT-5.3 Instant on March 3, 2026 as an update to ChatGPT’s most-used model, aiming for fewer unnecessary refusals, fewer disclaimers, and more accurate everyday answers. The post shows one concrete contrast: GPT-5.2 Instant refused long-range archery trajectory help, while GPT-5.3 Instant requested parameters and gave a no-drag example at 300 fps (about 91 m/s), 45°, and 845 m; the key issue is the safety-boundary shift, while the post does not disclose benchmark scores, system card details, or API pricing.

Why it matters: OpenAI updated a core ChatGPT everyday model, and the story clears HKR-H/K/R because the refusal-boundary shift is concrete and widely relevant. The post includes a specific 5.2 vs 5.3 behavior example, but no system card, benchmark table, or API pricing, so it lands below the 85

Feb 27Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

AI is rewiring how the world’s best Go players think

AI has become standard in pro Go training in South Korea, and the piece says competing professionally without it is now essentially impossible. It cites two figures: Shin Jin-seo matches AI moves 37.5% of the time versus a 28.5% player average, and AlphaGo Zero beat AlphaGo Lee 100-0 after three days of training. The shift to watch is training, not hype: KataGo is now a common tool, opening moves often mirror AI for the first 50 turns, and even top players still cannot fully explain its choices.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the novelty is elite cognition shifting under AI, and the story brings concrete numbers plus a named tool. It is a reported commentary rather than a new model or product move, so it sits at the low end of featured.

OpenAI News

OpenAI and Amazon announce strategic partnership

OpenAI and Amazon announced a multi-year partnership, with Amazon investing $50 billion in OpenAI: $15 billion upfront and $35 billion tied to conditions. They will launch a Stateful Runtime Environment on Amazon Bedrock, and OpenAI will consume about 2 gigawatts of Trainium capacity on AWS. The part to watch is distribution plus compute lock-in: AWS becomes the exclusive third-party cloud distributor for OpenAI Frontier.

Why it matters: This is not a routine partnership post. The disclosed $50B staged investment, Bedrock runtime, and ~2GW Trainium commitment change OpenAI's distribution and compute posture; HKR-H/K/R all pass, so this lands in P1.

36Kr (direct RSS)

From short video to long-form: Douyin is also handing news to AI

Douyin launched long-form posts in late 2025, raising the cap from 4,000 to 8,000 Chinese characters, and added “AI-selected news” summaries in its Hot topics tab. Long-form publishing is web-only for now, and the post says AI news will enter the main feed, but it does not disclose ranking weight, licensing scope, or fact-checking rules. The real issue is distribution and accountability: AI summaries and original articles will compete in the same traffic pool.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: Douyin putting AI summaries into its hot-news surface is a strong hook, and the piece includes concrete mechanics like the 8,000-word cap, web-only publishing, and follow-up queries. The real industry angle is distribution, copyright, and fact-checking, but

Ruan YiFeng's Weblog

Weekly for Technology Enthusiasts #386: When Delivery Workers Plug Into AI

Waymo placed a $6.25 task on a delivery platform to send a rider 1 km away to close a robotaxi door, with another $5 after completion. The post frames this as software dispatching human labor, not a one-off gig, and argues platform workers are becoming a human API inside automated workflows. The point to watch is the AI-plus-labor loop; the post does not disclose Waymo's scale, frequency, or formal product design.

Why it matters: Not a primary-source scoop, but the $6.25+$5 Waymo case makes the “humans as API” mechanism concrete. HKR-H/K/R all pass; score stays at the low end of featured because this is commentary and scale, frequency, and a formal product path are not disclosed.

Feb 26Thursday

New York Times Chinese

Where Is the U.S. Losing to China in AI?

The piece argues China has embedded AI into manufacturing, with 30,000+ smart factories, and over half of all industrial robots installed globally in 2024 going to Chinese plants. It cites shop-floor data: Zeekr's Ningbo plant uses 800+ robots, Xiaomi says its Beijing factory produces one car every 76 seconds, while only 18% of U.S. manufacturers report a formal AI strategy and two-thirds struggle to scale pilots. The real point is not frontier models but AI deployment in factory automation, scheduling, and inspection.

Why it matters: Data-backed commentary with all three HKR axes: a strong US-vs-China hook, concrete factory metrics, and direct resonance on AI deployment and competitiveness. Not a new product, model, or research release, so it stays in the low featured band.

OpenAI News

OpenAI Codex and Figma launch code-to-design roundtrip workflow

OpenAI and Figma launched a Codex integration on Feb. 26, 2026 that turns code into editable Figma designs and brings Figma Design, Figma Make, and FigJam content back into code. The workflow uses MCP via the Figma MCP Server in the Codex desktop app; OpenAI says Codex has 1M+ weekly users and usage is up 400%+ since the start of the year. The key issue is whether roundtrip context stays intact; the post does not disclose supported models, permission boundaries, or pricing.

Why it matters: This is a solid OpenAI/Figma workflow update with clear HKR-H/K/R: a bidirectional code↔design loop via MCP and Figma MCP Server. It stays below 85 because the post does not disclose model support, permission boundaries, pricing, or roundtrip reliability.

Feb 20Friday

Hugging Face Blog

GGML and llama.cpp join Hugging Face to support the long-term progress of Local AI

Hugging Face said the GGML and llama.cpp team is joining the company, while Georgi Gerganov’s team will still spend 100% of its time maintaining llama.cpp. The post says the project remains 100% open source and community driven, with full technical and community autonomy. The key angle is tighter delivery from transformers model definitions into llama.cpp, aiming for near “single-click” shipping; the post does not disclose timeline, team size, or deal terms.

Why it matters: This is a meaningful local-AI infrastructure move: HF brings in the GGML/llama.cpp team, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. I kept it at 78 because the post confirms staffing and integration direction, but not a ship date, team size, or deal terms.

MIT Technology Review · AI

Microsoft has a new plan to prove what’s real and what’s AI online

Microsoft evaluated 60 combinations of provenance, watermarking, and fingerprinting methods, and shared a blueprint with MIT Technology Review for labeling AI-manipulated content online. The plan only indicates origin and manipulation, not truthfulness; an audit found just 30% of test posts were labeled correctly, so the real issue is adoption and execution by platforms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: strong hook, two concrete facts (60 combinations tested, 30% correct labels), and a live trust-infrastructure debate. It stays at featured, not higher, because this is a blueprint and standards problem, not a deployed product or binding rule.

Feb 15Sunday

Computing Life · Yage

OpenClaw deep dive: why it suddenly took off, and what it means for us

OpenClaw surged in late January 2026 because it plugged local coding agents into Slack, WhatsApp, and Feishu, giving non-technical users file access, command execution, and persistent memory in a chat UI. The article also names the costs: 12% of third-party skills contained malicious code, and the $CLAWD token scam took $16 million; the chat interface remains linear, low-density, and hard to observe. The real takeaway is not to copy OpenClaw blindly, but to reuse its unified context, file-based memory, and composable skills in a controllable stack like OpenCode.

Why it matters: This is more than a recap: it breaks down OpenClaw's adoption mechanism, downside, and reusable design pattern. HKR-H/K/R all pass with two hard facts—12% malicious skills and a $16M scam—but as a personal analysis rather than an official release or industry event, it lands in `+

Computing Life · Yage

OpenClaw Deep Dive: Why It Went Viral and What It Means for You

The post says OpenClaw went viral in late January 2026, changed names 3 times in one week, and a $CLAWD scam token took $16 million. It cites two concrete risks: 12% of third-party skills had malicious code, and some users exposed consoles to the public internet without passwords. The excerpt is truncated, but the core claim is distribution: OpenClaw put agentic AI into WhatsApp, Slack, and Lark for non-technical users.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the viral arc is dramatic, the post includes a 12% malicious-skills figure and a specific exposed-console risk, and the distribution angle matters to agent builders. It is still a secondary deep-dive, not a primary launch or official research, so 78 and tiered

Feb 14Saturday

Ruan YiFeng's Weblog

Using ByteDance's Seed 2.0 and TRAE with Skills for app building and deployment

Ruanyifeng used ByteDance's Seed 2.0 Code and TRAE to generate one ASCII-to-Excalidraw web app and preview it at localhost:8080. The post says Seed 2.0 includes Pro, Lite, Mini, and Code models, and shows Skills as YAML-headed Markdown files, including Anthropic's frontend-design and Vercel deploy examples.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-K land because the post turns Seed 2.0 Code + TRAE into a runnable mini app and explains the Skill mechanism with concrete setup details. HKR-R also lands for coding-agent workflow reuse, but this is a strong tutorial, not a major ByteDance launch, so it sits at the