Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

681–700 of 760

Jan 20Tuesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The era of agentic chaos and how data will save us

The piece says a mid-sized enterprise can run 4,000 agents, and misaligned data can directly hit revenue, compliance, and customer experience. It cites BCG saying 60% of companies see minimal gains despite heavy AI spend, while leaders report 5x revenue growth and 3x cost reduction; the article frames reliability through four quadrants—models, tools, context, and governance—and argues data debt is the main blocker, not model quality.

Why it matters: This is a sourced enterprise-AI commentary, not empty thought leadership. HKR-H comes from the '4,000 agents' chaos hook; HKR-K comes from the 60% / 5x / 3x BCG data and four-part reliability frame; HKR-R lands because data debt, compliance, and customer-experience risk are live,

Jan 3Saturday

TechCrunch · AI

How AI is reshaping work and who gets to do it, according to Mercor's CEO

Mercor reached a $10 billion valuation in 3 years and acts as a talent middleman in AI's data boom. The RSS snippet says it connects labs such as OpenAI and Anthropic with former Goldman Sachs, McKinsey, and elite law firm employees, paying up to $200 an hour to provide domain expertise and train models. The real signal is the labor pipeline: experts from automatable fields are helping build these systems; the post does not disclose scale, contract terms, or task allocation.

Why it matters: Featured on HKR-H/K/R: the angle is displaced experts getting paid up to $200/hour to train models, plus a concrete $10B-in-3-years data point. The post does not disclose scale, contract structure, or task allocation, so it stays in the low-featured band.

Jan 1Thursday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Escaping the user-acquisition nightmare: Moonshot AI's 10 billion yuan cash reserve and Yang Zhilin's confidence

Moonshot AI raised $500 million at a $4.3 billion post-money valuation; Yang Zhilin said the company holds over 10 billion yuan in cash and is not rushing to IPO. Named backers include IDG, with Alibaba, Tencent, Gaorong Ventures, and Capital Today reportedly taking super pro rata; the memo also says paid users grew over 170% MoM on average and overseas API revenue rose 4x from September to November. The signal that matters is the shift from paid traffic to open source, model capability, and agents: the post says K2 reached No. 2 on OpenRouter's global trending list within a week of open-sourcing.

Why it matters: Moonshot is a Chinese frontier-model company, so a fresh $500M round plus operating metrics matters. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the strategic pivot and hard numbers, but this is still funding and business reporting, not a major model or product launch, so it stays featured rather than

Oct 22, 2025Wednesday

Hugging Face Blog

Hugging Face and VirusTotal collaborate to strengthen AI security

Hugging Face said on Oct. 22, 2025 it is continuously scanning more than 2.2 million public model and dataset repositories on the Hub through a VirusTotal collaboration. The Hub checks file hashes against VirusTotal and returns status, detection counts, and threat intel without sending raw file contents. The key point is earlier supply-chain visibility before download; the post does not disclose false-positive rates, scan latency, or remediation flow.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story moves threat visibility to before download across 2.2M+ public repos and explains the hash-based integration. It stays below must-write because false-positive rate, scan latency, and remediation flow are not disclosed.

Oct 21, 2025Tuesday

Hugging Face Blog

Unlock the power of images with AI Sheets

Hugging Face added vision support to its open-source AI Sheets, letting users analyze images, extract data, generate visuals, and edit images inside a spreadsheet. The post says AI Sheets uses Inference Providers to access thousands of open models, and manual edits plus thumbs-up feedback become few-shot examples; outputs can be exported as CSV or Parquet. What matters is the unified data workflow, not a standalone demo.

Why it matters: Direct-source Hugging Face product update with concrete mechanics: AI Sheets now handles OCR, image understanding, generation, and editing in one spreadsheet flow, and corrections become few-shot examples. HKR-H and HKR-K pass; HKR-R is weaker because the impact is workflow-level

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT Atlas, the browser with ChatGPT built in

OpenAI launched ChatGPT Atlas on October 21, 2025, with a worldwide macOS release for Free, Plus, Pro, and Go users. Atlas embeds ChatGPT, browser memories, and page-visibility controls into the browser; agent mode preview is available for Plus, Pro, and Business. The key shift is persistent browsing context: web content is excluded from training by default unless users opt in.

Why it matters: OpenAI moving ChatGPT into its own browser is a distribution-layer product move, not a routine feature drop, so this lands at 88 and p1. HKR-H/K/R all pass: novel hook, concrete rollout/privacy details, and clear resonance around browser control, retention, and data boundaries.

Oct 13, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI and Broadcom announce collaboration to deploy 10 gigawatts of OpenAI-designed AI accelerators

OpenAI and Broadcom announced a multi-year deal to deploy 10 gigawatts of OpenAI-designed AI accelerators, with rack deployments starting in H2 2026 and completing by the end of 2029. OpenAI will design the accelerators and systems, while Broadcom provides accelerator deployment plus Ethernet, PCIe, and optical networking for OpenAI sites and partner data centers. The key signal is OpenAI's custom-chip plus Ethernet cluster path, but the post does not disclose process node, chip specs, or capex.

Why it matters: Not a routine partnership story: OpenAI put a 10GW custom-chip plan and a 2026-2029 deployment schedule on record. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but process node, per-chip specs, and capex are still undisclosed, so this lands in p1 rather than 95+.

Oct 6, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Codex is now generally available

OpenAI said on October 6, 2025 that Codex is now generally available, with a Slack integration, a Codex SDK, and new admin controls. The post says daily Codex usage is up more than 10x since early August, and GPT-5-Codex served over 40 trillion tokens in three weeks; starting October 20, cloud tasks count toward usage, but the post does not disclose pricing details. The signal for practitioners is enterprise uptake: OpenAI says nearly all of its engineers use Codex, and they merge 70% more pull requests per week.

OpenAI News

Introducing apps in ChatGPT and the new Apps SDK

OpenAI launched apps inside ChatGPT on October 6, 2025 and previewed the Apps SDK for developers, for logged-in users outside the EEA, Switzerland, and the UK on Free, Go, Plus, and Pro plans. Seven partners are live and 11 more are due later this year; the SDK is open source and built on MCP, while the post does not disclose app review, listing, or revenue-share details.

Why it matters: This is a major OpenAI platform move: ChatGPT gains an app layer and developers get an SDK, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. Concrete facts include plan coverage, region limits, 7+11 partners, and an open-source MCP base; listing, review, and revenue-share terms are still undisclosed.

OpenAI News

Introducing AgentKit, new Evals, and RFT for agents

OpenAI launched AgentKit on October 6, 2025 with three agent-building components: Agent Builder, Connector Registry, and ChatKit. The post says Evals adds datasets, trace grading, automated prompt optimization, and third-party model support; Connector Registry covers Dropbox, Google Drive, SharePoint, Microsoft Teams, and third-party MCPs. The real signal is workflow versioning and safety governance; the title mentions RFT, but the provided post does not disclose its training details, pricing, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: This is a substantial OpenAI release for agent builders, with HKR-H/K/R all passing. It provides concrete mechanisms across Agent Builder, connectors, ChatKit, and Evals, but the excerpt does not disclose RFT mechanics, pricing, or rollout scope, so it stays at 84 rather than p1.

Oct 1, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Samsung and SK join OpenAI’s Stargate initiative to expand global AI infrastructure

OpenAI said on Oct. 1, 2025 that Samsung and SK joined Stargate, with the partnership centered on Korea’s AI chip supply and data center expansion. The post gives one hard target: Samsung Electronics and SK hynix plan to scale advanced memory output to 900,000 DRAM wafer starts per month, while OpenAI also signed Korean data center exploration agreements with MSIT, SK Telecom, and Samsung affiliates. The key gap is execution detail: the post does not disclose investment size, timeline, or facility scale.

Why it matters: OpenAI adding Samsung and SK to Stargate is more than a routine partnership: the post gives a 900k DRAM wafer-start target and concrete data-center assessment ties. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but missing capex, timeline, and site scale keeps it featured, not p1.

Sep 29, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Buy it in ChatGPT: Instant Checkout and the Agentic Commerce Protocol

OpenAI launched Instant Checkout in ChatGPT on September 29, 2025, letting U.S. Plus, Pro, and Free users buy from U.S. Etsy sellers in chat; it currently supports single-item purchases. OpenAI says ChatGPT has over 700 million weekly users and open-sourced the Agentic Commerce Protocol with Stripe; Stripe merchants can enable it with as little as one line of code, while the post does not disclose the fee rate merchants pay.

Why it matters: This is a high-weight ChatGPT product expansion from discovery to completed purchases, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post confirms U.S. Free/Plus/Pro checkout with U.S. Etsy sellers and a Stripe-backed protocol layer; merchant fee details are not disclosed, so it stays high but sub-

Sep 25, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

More ways to work with your team and tools in ChatGPT

OpenAI rolled out shared projects for ChatGPT Business on September 25, 2025, and made them available for Enterprise and Edu plans. Shared projects support email or link invites, two access levels, and private project memory; Enterprise and Edu have them off by default under admin control. OpenAI also added Gmail, Google Calendar, Outlook, Teams, SharePoint, GitHub, Dropbox, and Box connectors, and said ChatGPT can now choose connectors automatically per prompt.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: shared projects, 8 connectors, and prompt-routed connector selection are concrete workflow changes with clear admin controls. I keep it below 85 because this is a collaboration-layer product update, not a model release or a broad capability jump.

OpenAI News

OpenAI introduces GDPval to measure model performance on real-world tasks

OpenAI introduced GDPval, an eval covering 44 occupations and 1,320 real-world work tasks, with 220 gold tasks open-sourced. It spans the top 9 U.S. GDP industries, uses tasks built and vetted by professionals averaging 14+ years of experience, and is limited to one-shot evaluation rather than iterative workflows. The key shift is from exam-style prompts to real deliverables like docs, slides, spreadsheets, diagrams, and multimedia.

Why it matters: OpenAI's GDPval is a strong HKR-H/K/R story: the hook is evaluation on real work outputs, the post adds concrete dataset numbers and limits, and it hits the automation-of-knowledge-work nerve. It is not a model launch or executive event, so it stays featured rather than p1.

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT Pulse

OpenAI previewed ChatGPT Pulse for Pro users on mobile on September 25, 2025, with one daily proactive research update. It uses memory, chat history, feedback, and optional Gmail and Google Calendar connections to generate visual cards; integrations are off by default and outputs pass safety checks. The shift to async delivery matters more than the headline, but the post does not disclose the model, pricing changes, or a Plus launch date.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the novel angle is proactive outreach, and the post gives concrete scope and input sources. This is a meaningful ChatGPT product update, but model details, rollout beyond Pro mobile, update cadence, and pricing changes are not disclosed, so it stays featured,

Sep 24, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

SAP and OpenAI partner to launch sovereign 'OpenAI for Germany'

SAP and OpenAI announced OpenAI for Germany for the German public sector, planned for 2026 and hosted by Delos Cloud on Microsoft Azure. SAP plans to expand Delos Cloud in Germany to 4,000 GPUs for AI workloads; the post does not disclose model names, pricing, or contract size. The key point is delivery: this is a sovereign public-sector deployment focused on compliance, data residency, and AI agents inside existing workflows.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story pairs a novel sovereign-deployment angle with concrete facts like a 2026 launch, Delos Cloud on Azure, and 4,000 GPUs. It matters because sovereignty and public-sector procurement are live issues, but missing model, pricing, and deal-scope details it

Sep 23, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI, Oracle, and SoftBank expand Stargate with five new AI data center sites

OpenAI, Oracle, and SoftBank announced five new U.S. Stargate AI data center sites, bringing planned capacity to nearly 7 GW and investment to over $400 billion in three years. The post says this keeps Stargate on track to reach its full $500 billion, 10 GW commitment by the end of 2025; Oracle-linked sites account for over 5.5 GW, while two SoftBank-OpenAI sites can scale to 1.5 GW in 18 months. The key signal is supply progress: Abilene is already running early training and inference workloads with first NVIDIA GB200 racks delivered in June.

Sep 22, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI and NVIDIA announce strategic partnership to deploy 10 gigawatts of NVIDIA systems

OpenAI and NVIDIA signed a letter of intent to deploy at least 10 gigawatts of NVIDIA systems for OpenAI’s next-generation AI infrastructure. NVIDIA plans to invest up to $100 billion into OpenAI as each gigawatt is deployed, and the first 1 GW phase is targeted for H2 2026 on the Vera Rubin platform. The key detail is execution: this is still an LOI, and final terms are not yet closed.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the official post discloses 10 GW, millions of GPUs, up to $100B intended investment, and a first 1 GW phase in H2 2026 on Vera Rubin. It is still a letter of intent, not a signed final deal, so it stays below the 95+ band; the scale still makes it p1.

Sep 15, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing upgrades to Codex

OpenAI released GPT-5-Codex and made it the default model for Codex cloud tasks and code review; in testing, it worked independently for more than 7 hours on complex tasks. OpenAI says it used 93.7% fewer tokens than GPT-5 on the lowest 10% of employee turns, while spending 2x longer reasoning, editing, and testing on the highest 10%. The key point is one model now spans interactive coding and long-running agentic execution; pricing and full availability details are not fully disclosed in the provided body.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI developer-tool update: GPT-5-Codex becomes the default for Codex cloud tasks and code review, with concrete numbers on 7-hour autonomy and token use. HKR-H/K/R all pass; pricing and full availability are not fully disclosed in the excerpt, so it stays

OpenAI News

How people are using ChatGPT

OpenAI and Harvard economist David Deming released a study of 1.5 million ChatGPT conversations, framed as the largest consumer-usage analysis to date against ChatGPT’s 700 million weekly active users. The paper says feminine-name users rose from 37% in Jan 2024 to 52% in Jul 2025; 49% of messages were Asking, 40% Doing, 11% Expressing, and about 30% of usage was work-related. The shift to watch is distribution: by May 2025, adoption growth in the lowest-income countries was over 4x that of the highest-income countries, while the study covers consumer plans only.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story has a strong hook, concrete usage splits, and clear relevance to workplace adoption and global diffusion. I stop at 82 because this is a consumer-usage study, not a model or product change, so it is high-signal context rather than same-day must-cover