Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

721–740 of 760

May 22, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing Stargate UAE

OpenAI, with G42, Oracle, NVIDIA, Cisco, and SoftBank, will deploy a 1GW Stargate UAE cluster in Abu Dhabi, with 200MW expected online in 2026. The project is the first OpenAI for Countries deal; OpenAI says the UAE will be the first country with nationwide ChatGPT access, and the site can serve a 2,000-mile radius. What matters is sovereign compute tied to U.S. coordination; the post does not disclose capex split, GPU counts, or how nationwide ChatGPT access will work.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the first overseas Stargate is a strong hook, the post includes 1GW and 200MW-by-2026 specifics, and sovereign compute will drive discussion. It stops short of a higher score because funding split, chip count, and the ChatGPT access mechanism are not yet in

May 21, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

New tools and features in the Responses API

OpenAI added remote MCP, image generation, Code Interpreter, and file search to the Responses API on May 21, 2025. The post says these tools span GPT-4o, GPT-4.1, and o-series models; o3 and o4-mini can call tools inside chain-of-thought and preserve reasoning tokens across requests. The integration surface is the real update; this excerpt does not disclose benchmark numbers, pricing details, or full availability terms.

Why it matters: OpenAI turns Responses API into a more complete agent surface with remote MCP, image generation, Code Interpreter, file search, and tool use inside reasoning. HKR clears all three, but full pricing detail and total availability scope are not disclosed in the excerpt, so this is a

May 16, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

Introducing Codex

OpenAI released the Codex research preview on May 16, 2025, a cloud software engineering agent powered by codex-1 that can handle multiple coding tasks in parallel. It runs each task in an isolated sandbox, can read and edit repos, execute tests and commands, and usually finishes in 1 to 30 minutes with terminal logs and test outputs as evidence. It launched for ChatGPT Pro, Business, and Enterprise users, then expanded to Plus on June 3; the post excerpt does not fully disclose pricing or complete limitations.

Why it matters: This is a same-day write: OpenAI moved from code assistance to a cloud software-engineering agent, with launch access for ChatGPT Pro, Business, and Enterprise. HKR-H/K/R all pass, with concrete mechanics and verifiable outputs; incomplete pricing and limits keep it at 88.

May 8, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

OpenAI’s response to the Department of Energy on AI infrastructure

On May 7, 2025, OpenAI submitted AI infrastructure proposals to the US Department of Energy, urging federal land use, faster permitting, and financial incentives for AI supercomputer hubs. The post says the first Stargate campus is underway in Abilene, Texas, and more sites are being evaluated in Texas and other states; it does not disclose specific tax, power-pricing, or lease terms. The real signal is policy positioning: OpenAI is framing data centers, energy, and permitting as a national industrial agenda.

Why it matters: This is a primary-source policy filing, not a product update, but HKR-H/K/R all land because it connects federal land, permitting, and power to AI compute expansion. The DOE proposal and Abilene Stargate construction are concrete; undisclosed tax, power-price, and lease terms cap

OpenAI News

Introducing data residency in Asia

OpenAI launched data residency on May 7, 2025 in Japan, India, Singapore, and South Korea for ChatGPT Enterprise, ChatGPT Edu, and the API Platform. Eligible API customers must create a new Project and pick a country; new Enterprise and Edu workspaces can store customer content at rest in-region, including chats, uploads, and text, vision, and image data. The key limit: the post only states at-rest storage and does not disclose whether inference stays fully local.

May 7, 2025Wednesday

Mistral AI

Mistral AI launches Le Chat Enterprise, powered by Mistral Medium 3

Mistral AI released Le Chat Enterprise, an enterprise AI assistant powered by the new Mistral Medium 3 model. It includes enterprise search, an agent builder, connectors for custom data and tools, a document library, custom models and hybrid deployment. All features will roll out over the next two weeks.

Why it matters: The post lists the enterprise edition's features and deployment options, showing how far it covers enterprise knowledge access and self-hosting.

Apr 16, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card

OpenAI published the o3 and o4-mini system card on April 16, 2025, saying both models support full tools including web browsing, Python, and image and file analysis. Under Preparedness Framework V2, the Safety Advisory Group found neither model reached the High threshold in three tracked risk categories: bio/chemical capability, cybersecurity, and AI self-improvement.

Why it matters: This primary-source system card adds concrete capability and safety details for o3 and o4-mini: full tool use, Preparedness Framework V2, and sub-High ratings in bio, cyber, and self-improvement. HKR-K and HKR-R pass; HKR-H is weak because the headline is dry.

Apr 10, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

BrowseComp: a benchmark for browsing agents

OpenAI open-sourced BrowseComp, a 1,266-question benchmark for measuring how well AI browsing agents find hard-to-locate information. Tasks require short, uniquely gradable answers; annotators checked that GPT-4o, o1, and an early deep research model failed, and that five searches did not reveal the answer on first-page results. The key signal is “hard to find, easy to verify,” which tests persistence, search strategy, and factual verification rather than basic retrieval.

Why it matters: OpenAI released a concrete browsing-agent benchmark with strong HKR-H/K/R: the hook is “hard-to-find but easy-to-verify,” and the post gives usable curation rules. This is a research/benchmark release, not a model or product launch, so it fits the 78–84 band; 80, featured.

Mar 31, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI raises $40 billion at a $300 billion post-money valuation

OpenAI said it raised $40 billion at a $300 billion post-money valuation. The post names SoftBank Group as a partner and says the funds will expand compute infrastructure and support tools for ChatGPT's 500 million weekly users. The AGI framing is broad; the post does not disclose deal structure, funding timing, or product roadmap details.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the $40B/$300B hook; HKR-K on the disclosed financing and 500M weekly users; HKR-R on the capital and compute race. The post omits structure and funding timing, but this is still p1-scale financing news.

Mar 26, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Security on the Path to AGI

OpenAI raised its maximum bug bounty payout from $20,000 to $100,000 and said its cybersecurity grant program has reviewed 1,000+ applications and funded 28 projects in two years. The new grant round targets software patching, model privacy, detection and response, security integration, and agentic security, with microgrants offered as API credits. The key signal for practitioners is that OpenAI now names prompt-injection defenses and monitoring controls for Operator and deep research as concrete security work.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 5x bounty increase is a clear hook, and the post names concrete agent-security targets plus grant metrics. Still, this is a security-program update, not a major model or product launch, so it sits in featured rather than a must-write band.

Mar 25, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing 4o Image Generation

OpenAI integrated 4o image generation into GPT-4o on March 25, 2025, focusing on native multimodal generation, accurate text rendering, and multi-turn image editing in chat. The post points to joint training on image-text distributions and shows a “transformer → diffusion → pixels” pipeline; examples are labeled best of 1, best of ~8, or best of 8. The real signal is consistency and editability, while pricing, API details, and quotas are not disclosed.

Why it matters: This is a major ChatGPT capability update: native image generation lands inside GPT-4o with explicit claims on text rendering and multi-turn editing. HKR-H/K/R all pass; price, API details, and quotas are not disclosed, so it stays below the top of the band.

Mar 11, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

New tools for building agents

OpenAI released the Responses API, three built-in tools, and an Agents SDK on March 11, 2025 for single-agent and multi-agent workflows. The post confirms web search, file search, and computer use, says the API is available to all developers today, and says billing stays at standard token and tool rates. The key platform signal is migration: OpenAI plans an Assistants API sunset in mid-2026 after full feature parity with Responses API.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI developer-platform launch, not a routine feature add. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new entry point, concrete tools and pricing, plus a sunset timeline that will affect agent frameworks and API choices immediately.

Mar 4, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing NextGenAI: A consortium to advance research and education with AI

OpenAI launched NextGenAI and committed $50M in grants, compute funding, and API access to support 15 research institutions using AI in research and education. The post lists 16 founding members including OpenAI; MIT can train and fine-tune models, and Oxford’s Bodleian Library uses the API to transcribe rare texts. The real signal is not a single product, but OpenAI tying universities, hospitals, and libraries into its tooling stack.

Why it matters: HKR-K is clear: OpenAI says NextGenAI brings $50M plus compute and API access to 15 institutions. HKR-R lands because this is a distribution and talent-pipeline move into academia; HKR-H is weaker since the headline is a generic consortium launch, so this sits at the low end of `

Feb 25, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Estonia and OpenAI to bring ChatGPT to schools nationwide

OpenAI will work with Estonia’s government to provide ChatGPT Edu to the national secondary school system, starting with 10th and 11th graders by September 2025. The post says OpenAI will provide ChatGPT Edu, API services, technical support, GDPR compliance, and enterprise controls; it does not disclose pricing, total seats, or the rollout timeline for other grades. The key point is national government deployment, not a campus pilot; OpenAI says this is the first government-led nationwide student access program.

Why it matters: This is a national distribution deal, not a routine campus case study. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the countrywide rollout, the Sep 2025 grade-level plan, and the fight to own students' default AI layer; missing price, seat count, and expansion timeline keep it below 85.

Feb 14, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

OpenAI and Guardian Media Group launch content partnership

OpenAI and Guardian Media Group launched a content deal that gives ChatGPT's 300 million weekly users direct access to Guardian journalism and extended summaries. Content will carry Guardian attribution and links, and Guardian will deploy ChatGPT Enterprise across its business. The key point is bundled licensing plus distribution; the post does not disclose commercial terms, revenue share, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s official post adds concrete facts—300M weekly users, extended summaries, and attribution—so HKR-K and HKR-R pass. This is weaker than a model or core product launch, and the post does not disclose commercial terms or rollout scope, so it sits at the featured threshold.

Feb 10, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI partners with Schibsted Media Group

OpenAI partnered with Schibsted Media Group to bring content from titles including VG, Aftenposten, Aftonbladet, and Svenska Dagbladet into ChatGPT for news summaries across its 300 million users. OpenAI says responses will include clear attribution to Schibsted brands for verification; the post does not disclose term length, licensing scope, or revenue sharing. The key signal is that licensed news is moving into ChatGPT’s main answer flow, not just referral traffic.

Why it matters: Primary-source OpenAI partnership with a concrete product effect: Schibsted titles will feed attributed news summaries in ChatGPT for 300m users. HKR-K and HKR-R pass because it expands licensed news inside ChatGPT's answer flow; HKR-H is weak since terms, scope, and economics go

Feb 6, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing data residency in Europe

OpenAI launched European data residency for the API, ChatGPT Enterprise, and ChatGPT Edu on February 5, 2025. New API Projects can select Europe for in-region processing with zero data retention, while existing Projects cannot be changed; new Enterprise and Edu workspaces can store chats, files, and text, vision, and image content at rest in Europe, but the post does not disclose the eligible endpoint list.

Why it matters: A solid enterprise/compliance update. HKR-K lands on concrete conditions—Europe region, zero data retention, new projects only, no migration for existing ones—and HKR-R lands on EU legal and procurement pressure. HKR-H is weak, so this sits at the low end of featured.

Feb 3, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing deep research

OpenAI launched deep research in ChatGPT, an agentic feature that spends 5 to 30 minutes finding, analyzing, and synthesizing hundreds of web pages, images, and PDFs into a cited report. It runs on a version of OpenAI o3 optimized for web browsing and data analysis and was trained on real-world browser and Python tasks; after the April 2025 update, Plus/Team/Enterprise/Edu get 25 queries per month, Pro 250, and Free 5. The key point is a productized workflow for multi-step, source-backed research, not a basic search refresh.

Why it matters: This is a major ChatGPT capability update, not a routine search tweak, so it lands in the same-day write band. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the autonomous 5 to 30 minute workflow, the o3-based browsing stack, cited outputs, and the direct impact on knowledge-work research flows.

Jan 31, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

OpenAI o3-mini

OpenAI released o3-mini on Jan 31, 2025 across ChatGPT and the API, raising Plus and Team limits from 50 to 150 messages per day versus o1-mini. The post confirms function calling, Structured Outputs, developer messages, streaming, and low/medium/high reasoning effort, but no vision; API access starts with usage tiers 3-5, and Enterprise arrives in February. The key signal is cost-performance: testers preferred o3-mini over o1-mini 56% of the time, with 39% fewer major errors on hard real-world questions; the page references Codeforces and other evals, but the provided body is truncated so not all scores are disclosed.

Why it matters: OpenAI o3-mini is a same-day, official model release, so it lands in the must-write band. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new model hook, concrete usage and benchmark deltas, and clear relevance to cost-sensitive coding and reasoning workflows.

Jan 28, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT Gov

OpenAI launched ChatGPT Gov on January 28, 2025 for U.S. agencies to deploy in Microsoft Azure commercial or Azure Government cloud with access to models including GPT-4o. The post lists file upload, shared chats, custom GPTs, and an admin console, and ties the setup to IL5, CJIS, ITAR, and FedRAMP High requirements. The signal is adoption: since 2024, 90,000+ users across 3,500+ U.S. agencies have sent 18 million+ messages.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the Gov-specific SKU is a real hook, and the post includes hard numbers plus compliance targets. Strong featured rather than p1 because this is a packaging/deployment launch with adoption proof, not a major frontier-model capability jump.