Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

521–540 of 760

Apr 22Wednesday

TechCrunch · AI

SpaceX is working with Cursor and has an option to buy the startup for $60B

SpaceX is working with Cursor and holds an option to acquire the startup for $60B. The RSS snippet discloses the collaboration and purchase option, but not the term, trigger conditions, ownership impact, or payment mix. The sharper signal is strategic weakness: the snippet says neither Cursor nor xAI has proprietary models matching leading offerings from Anthropic and OpenAI.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the surprise combo and the $60B option. HKR-K lands on the concrete number and deal structure; HKR-R lands because Cursor is a daily tool for AI builders. Missing term details keep it at the low end of p1, not higher.

Hacker News front page

Anthropic removes Claude Code from the $20/month Pro subscription for new users

Anthropic was reported to remove Claude Code from the $20/month Pro plan for new users, while saying existing Pro and Max subscribers are unaffected. The cited evidence: an April 10 archived help page said “Pro or Max plan,” the current page says “Max plan,” and Amol Avasare said this is a test on about 2% of new prosumer signups. The key issue is whether pricing shifts fully to Max or API billing; the post does not disclose retroactive scope or a final rollout timeline.

Why it matters: This clears all three HKR axes: the rollback is a strong hook, the post adds concrete evidence via help-page changes and a ~2% test, and it hits Claude users' cost and access concerns. Scope is still limited to new-user testing and no formal rollout timeline is disclosed, so it’s

The Verge · AI

SpaceX cuts a deal to maybe buy Cursor for $60 billion

SpaceX announced an either-or deal: buy AI coding platform Cursor for $60 billion or pay a $10 billion fee. The RSS snippet says this could help xAI's coding tools chase Anthropic; the post does not disclose the structure, timing, or IPO linkage. Watch the $10 billion breakup fee, not just the tentative acquisition headline.

Why it matters: All three HKR axes land: the headline has a strong unexpected hook, and the report gives two hard facts — a $60B price and a $10B breakup fee. I keep it at featured, not P1, because only top-line terms are disclosed; structure, timing, and the exact xAI linkage are still undiscol

Bloomberg Technology

SpaceX Has Deal for Right to Acquire Cursor for $60 Billion

SpaceX said it signed a deal giving it the right to acquire AI coding startup Cursor later this year for $60 billion. If it does not proceed, it can pay $10 billion for the companies' collaboration; the post does not disclose trigger terms, scope, or regulatory details.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports an unusual, high-value deal: SpaceX gets the right to acquire Cursor for $60B, or pays $10B for cooperation if it does not proceed. HKR-H/K/R all pass; missing trigger, scope, and regulatory details keep it at the low end of the 85-94 band.

X · @dotey

OpenAI launches ChatGPT Images 2.0, available to all ChatGPT and Codex users starting today

OpenAI made ChatGPT Images 2.0 available today to all ChatGPT and Codex users, and also opened the gpt-image-2 API. The RSS snippet says it supports up to 2K output, aspect ratios from 3:1 to 1:3, and more reliable non-English text rendering. In thinking mode, it can search the web, generate multiple styles, and self-check outputs; that tier is limited to Plus, Pro, and Business, with Enterprise not yet available.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update: ChatGPT Images 2.0 rolls into ChatGPT, Codex, and the gpt-image-2 API, with concrete facts on resolution, aspect ratios, and thinking-mode limits. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the source is a short repost-style summary and omits pricing and

X · @OpenAI

Introducing ChatGPT Images 2.0

OpenAI introduced ChatGPT Images 2.0 as an image model for complex visual tasks and directly usable visuals. The RSS snippet cites sharper editing, richer layouts, and “thinking-level intelligence,” but the post does not disclose model size, pricing, latency, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s official post makes this a source-authoritative product update, and the “Images 2.0” framing gives it HKR-H plus HKR-R. I kept it near the featured floor because the post lacks model details, pricing, latency, benchmarks, and rollout scope, so HKR-K fails.

Financial Times · Technology

Elite law firm Sullivan & Cromwell admits to AI 'hallucinations'

Sullivan & Cromwell apologized to a judge over AI-related errors in a bankruptcy case, and the title says the firm admitted to “hallucinations.” The RSS snippet discloses only that partners bill above $2,000 per hour and the errors were software-driven; the post does not disclose the AI tool, error count, or court response. Watch the process failure: premium human review still did not catch checkable mistakes.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: an elite firm admitting court-facing AI errors is clicky and highly discussable. HKR-K fails because the story omits the tool, error count, and court response; FT source authority lifts it to 73 and featured, not higher.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI’s updated image generator can now pull information from the web

OpenAI said ChatGPT Images 2.0 can pull information from the web when a thinking model is selected, helping generate multiple images from one prompt. It runs on GPT Image 2 and is available to ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise users; the post does not disclose rollout timing, usage limits, or pricing changes. The key shift is web-grounded multi-image generation, not just image quality.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI image update. HKR-H/K/R all pass because web-grounded generation plus multi-image output changes real workflows. I keep it at 75 because rollout timing, usage caps, and pricing changes are not disclosed.

X · @dotey

Google splits Gemini Deep Research into Deep Research and Deep Research Max

Google split Gemini Deep Research into Deep Research and Deep Research Max, with public preview starting today in paid Gemini API tiers. Both run on Gemini 3.1 Pro; one targets speed and cost, while Max runs longer with more compute and repeated search and reasoning. The update adds MCP support for sources such as FactSet, S&P, and PitchBook, plus files, code execution, and File Search; the post does not disclose pricing.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Google product update: Deep Research enters paid Gemini API preview with a standard/Max split for cost-speed vs longer-running compute. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but pricing, rate limits, and performance deltas are not disclosed, so it stays in the 78-84 band.

The Verge · AI

Celebrities will be able to find and request removal of AI deepfakes on YouTube

YouTube is expanding its AI deepfake monitoring tool to Hollywood celebrities, letting enrolled public figures find impersonation videos and request takedowns. Flags are reviewed under YouTube's privacy policy, so not every request is approved. The tool was tested with creators last fall and expanded to politicians and journalists in March; the post does not disclose rollout size or timing.

Why it matters: This is a meaningful platform-safety update, not model news: YouTube lets enrolled celebrities search for impersonation videos and request removal, with review under privacy rules. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the scope is still a mid-weight product update, so it lands at 74 and tier=

Apr 21Tuesday

Hacker News front page

CrabTrap: An LLM-as-a-judge HTTP proxy to secure agents in production

Brex open-sourced CrabTrap, an HTTP proxy that intercepts every agent request and allows or blocks it against a policy in real time. The page shows a dual path of static rules plus an LLM judge, and logs whether each decision came from rule matching or model judgment; the post does not disclose the model, latency overhead, or error rates.

Why it matters: This lands on HKR-K and HKR-R, with HKR-H from the 'LLM-as-a-judge HTTP proxy' hook. The open-source artifact and execution-layer mechanism are concrete, but the post does not disclose the judge model, latency overhead, or false-positive rate, so it stays in the high 70s.

The Verge · AI

John Ternus’ first big problem is AI

Apple said hardware chief John Ternus will become CEO on September 1, and the official release does not mention AI once. He has spent 25 years at Apple and is its first hardware-background CEO in about 30 years; the post does not disclose his AI strategy, Siri plans, or org changes. The real issue is Apple’s visible AI gap after last year’s WWDC criticism.

Why it matters: This is significant personnel news with a strong AI framing, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. It stays below the top bands because HKR-K is weak: the piece gives the Sept. 1 transition date and Ternus's background, but no concrete AI strategy, Siri plan, or org change.

Ben's Bites

That's My Designer - Claude

Anthropic added a Design tab to Claude that asks 5-10 interactive questions, then builds wireframes or high-fidelity prototypes. The post says image-to-design works well; in research preview it has separate limits, and the $20 plan appears to allow only 2-3 large generations per week. The sharper point is usability: the author says Claude Cowork depends on connectors and plugins that average users may not find.

Why it matters: Anthropic adding a Design tab to Claude is a clear hook for a Claude-heavy audience. The post includes first-hand, testable details—5-10 interaction turns and only 2-3 large generations per week on the $20 plan—so HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is still a single-feature update, not

Synced · WeChat

Sergey Brin revives founder mode? Google forms a strike team to focus on AI coding

Google has formed an AI coding strike team led by Sebastian Borgeaud, with Sergey Brin and Koray Kavukcuoglu directly involved, to improve long-context coding and internal code automation. The pressure signal cited is that Google said about 50% of its code is written by coding agents and reviewed by engineers, while Anthropic staff claimed 100% code use by Claude Code and Opus 4.5; the post does not disclose team size, launch timing, or the exact Google model version. The key issue is whether Google can turn private codebase training into stronger public models.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the founder-return angle is clickable, and the piece includes Google's ~50% agent-written-code claim. It stays below p1 because no public launch is disclosed, and team size, timing, and model version are missing.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

OpenAI launches Chronicle research preview for Codex with screen context

OpenAI launched Chronicle research preview for Codex on April 21. It is limited to ChatGPT Pro users on Mac and reads recent screen context to reduce repeated background prompts. OpenAI says data is “primarily processed locally,” but the post says some cases use cloud help; The Next Web reports screenshots are uploaded and local memories are unencrypted, while upload share and retention time are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because Codex can read recent screen state, not just pasted prompts. HKR-K lands on concrete constraints—ChatGPT Pro only, Mac only, local-first with some cloud assist—and HKR-R lands on the workflow/privacy nerve for coding agents. Research-preview scope keeps it at

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Huawei launches Pura X Max with debut Xiaoyi companion AI

Huawei launched Pura X Max on April 20 and debuted Xiaoyi companion AI on HarmonyOS 6.1. The post says it can be invoked by double-tapping the nav bar or voice, read screen content with consent, collect tasks across apps into Calendar, and connect with Amap and Didi. The key point is system-level cross-app access and persistent side-panel UX; the post does not disclose price, model specs, or coverage.

Why it matters: It clears all three HKR axes: the OS-side companion AI is a strong hook, and the post gives concrete mechanisms like consent-gated screen reading and cross-app task collection. I kept it in featured, not higher, because price, model details, and rollout coverage are not disclosed

Financial Times · Technology

Anthropic and Amazon agree $100bn AI infrastructure deal

Anthropic and Amazon agreed a $100bn AI infrastructure deal aimed at expanding chip supply and compute capacity. The RSS snippet says Anthropic moved after outages this year; the post does not disclose term, financing structure, chip source, or delivery scale. The key point is capacity lock-in, not a generic partnership.

Why it matters: FT reports a $100bn AI infrastructure agreement between Anthropic and Amazon, large enough to sit in the must-write-today band. HKR-H lands on the unusual scale, HKR-K on the new figure and outage-driven supply expansion, and HKR-R on compute scarcity plus cloud lock-in for fron​

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Musk wants Cursor: a $60B acquisition option, a $10B partnership, and the rise of acqui-hire deals

The article says SpaceX offered Cursor two paths: buy Anysphere for $60B in 2026 or pay $10B for a tech partnership. The $60B figure is about 20% above Cursor's reported $50B fundraising valuation, but the post does not disclose payment terms; it also says Cursor uses xAI's Colossus to train Composer 2.5. The real signal is acqui-hire risk: xAI already hired two Cursor engineering leaders in March, so a $10B partnership would not guarantee a broad employee exit.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 60B buyout vs 10B partnership frame is a strong hook, and the piece includes concrete facts—20% over Cursor's 50B talks, Colossus training Composer 2.5, and two leaders already at xAI. Not P1 because payment terms and the final path are still undisclosed.

X · @claudeai

In Cowork, Claude can now build live artifacts: dashboards and trackers connected to your apps and files

Claude added live artifact building in Cowork, letting users create dashboards and trackers tied to apps and files. Opening an artifact refreshes current data; the post does not disclose supported apps, file sources, or permission controls.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is live artifacts that connect to apps/files and refresh on open. This is a substantive Claude workflow update and gets the Claude bump, but the post omits connector scope, permission model, and rollout details, so it lands in the high 70s, not p1.

X · @AnthropicAI

Anthropic expands collaboration with Amazon to secure up to 5 gigawatts of compute for Claude

Anthropic expanded its collaboration with Amazon to secure up to 5 gigawatts of compute for training and deploying Claude. Capacity starts coming online this quarter, with nearly 1 gigawatt expected by end-2026; the post does not disclose contract value, chip type, or data center locations.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: 5 GW is a strong hook, the post gives a concrete rollout timeline, and compute supply is a core frontier-lab nerve. I kept it below 85 because price, chip mix, and datacenter locations are not disclosed.