Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

481–500 of 760

Apr 24Friday

Latent Space

GPT 5.5 and OpenAI Codex Superapp

OpenAI launched GPT-5.5 for ChatGPT and Codex, while API access is delayed for safeguards. The post cites 82.7% Terminal-Bench 2.0, 58.6% SWE-Bench Pro, and a 1M API context window. The sharper signal is Codex: browser control and Prism integration point to a desktop superapp strategy.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: GPT-5.5 is a major OpenAI model update with benchmark numbers and API conditions. Codex plus browser control and Prism raises the coding-agent stakes; this fits the Claude 4.7-level 85–94 band.

X · @op7418

DeepSeek V4 arrives with Flash and Pro variants

DeepSeek released V4 with two variants, Flash and Pro. The RSS snippet says it supports JSON output, tool calling, dialogue prefix continuation, and FIM completion; Flash costs ¥0.2/¥1 per million input/output tokens, while Pro costs ¥1/¥12. At 1M context, output pricing doubles.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Skills Are Products With Built-in Suicide Genes

The author argues Anthropic Skills cannot stand alone as paid products, citing direct sales, hosting, and API funneling as 3 dead ends. The post cites PromptBase at about $5M annual revenue, Stripe’s 2.9% plus 30 cents fee, and Snyk finding 13.4% of skills with critical issues. The sharper point is charging for relationships, time-sensitive access, physical accountability, and judgment.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is sharp, and the post tests three business paths with named examples. It is strong commentary, not a new Anthropic release, so it lands at the featured threshold rather than 78+.

Hugging Face Blog

DeepSeek-V4: a million-token context that agents can actually use

DeepSeek released V4 with two MoE checkpoints, Pro and Flash, both supporting a 1M-token context. Pro has 1.6T total and 49B active parameters; Flash has 284B total and 13B active. The key detail is KV cost: Pro uses 27% of V3.2 single-token FLOPs and 10% of its KV cache; Flash uses 10% and 7%.

Why it matters: DeepSeek-V4 is a flagship Chinese model release with 1M-token context and KV cache at 7%–10% of V3.2. HKR-H/K/R all pass, placing it in the 85–94 same-day band.

Ruan YiFeng's Weblog

Tech Weekly Issue 394: The Second Wave of API Opening

Ruanyifeng’s Weekly Issue 394 argues that production-ready LLMs in H2 2025 triggered a second API-opening wave. The post says agents need platform APIs to act, citing Tencent opening WeChat interfaces after OpenClaw and adoption of MCP and Skills. The key shift is consumer services exposing actions, not only cloud APIs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the historical API-wave frame is clickable, and the post gives mechanisms around agent action APIs, MCP/Skills, and WeChat access. This is strong commentary, not a model or major product release, so it stays in the 72–77 band.

The Verge · AI

Claude is connecting directly to personal apps like Spotify, Uber Eats, and TurboTax

Anthropic added personal app connectors to Claude, covering services such as Spotify, Uber, AllTrails, Instacart, and TurboTax. After connection, Claude can suggest relevant apps inside chats, such as using AllTrails for hike recommendations; the post does not disclose launch count, regions, or plan access. The key shift is Claude moving from work apps into personal consumer workflows.

Why it matters: This gets Anthropic’s positive signal: a substantive product update, but not a model release. HKR-H/K/R all pass because personal-app connectors are a strong hook, the story confirms in-chat app invocation, and it hits the fight for assistant entry points; missing pricing, region

X · @dotey

Anthropic launches memory for Claude Managed Agents in public beta

Anthropic has launched memory for Claude Managed Agents in public beta, letting agents retain and reuse experience across sessions. Memory is stored as files on a filesystem, with shared permissions, concurrent access, audit logs, and rollback; Rakuten reports a 97% drop in first-time errors, and Wisedocs reports 30% faster document validation. The key detail is the implementation path: it uses a filesystem, not a dedicated vector database.

Why it matters: Anthropic adds cross-session memory to Claude Managed Agents beta and discloses the implementation plus two user numbers: Rakuten 97% and Wisedocs 30%. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the scope is still limited to the managed-agent beta, so this lands at 83 and featured.

Financial Times · Technology

UK in talks with Anthropic over Mythos access for banks

The UK is in talks with Anthropic about bank access to Mythos, with the stated use case being cyber security testing. The RSS snippet says British lenders are seeking advice from US groups testing the model; the post does not disclose Mythos capabilities, deployment terms, customer scope, or timing. The key issue is whether finance gets controlled access to a frontier offensive-defensive security model, not a generic AI rollout.

Why it matters: FT reports UK-Anthropic talks on controlled Mythos access for bank cyber testing. HKR-H and HKR-R land because the angle is unusual and hits finance/security nerves, but HKR-K is limited: scope, customers, deployment, and timeline are not disclosed.

Bloomberg Technology

An AI Agent Takes Over a Store and Orders Too Many Candles

Andon Market in San Francisco’s Cow Hollow put store operations under an AI agent named Luna, which handles assortment and pricing, and the headline says it over-ordered candles. The RSS snippet only confirms Luna acts like a CEO; the post does not disclose the candle quantity, failure mechanism, financial impact, or remediation. The real signal is that a retail operating loop was delegated to an agent.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports a real store delegating assortment and pricing to an AI agent, turning agent risk into a concrete incident. HKR-H and HKR-R pass, but HKR-K is limited because quantity, loss, trigger, and rollback are undisclosed, so this sits at the low end of featured.

X · @dotey

Codex now supports GPT-5.5 and adds five capability upgrades

Codex now supports GPT-5.5 and adds 5 upgrades aimed at moving it from a coding tool to an agent that can execute longer tasks. The RSS snippet says it can control browsers and computers, create files in Microsoft Office and Google Drive, and use gpt-image-2; an auto-review mode invokes a separate review agent for high-risk actions. What matters is longer task chains, but the post does not disclose pricing, rollout scope, or safety thresholds.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Codex product update: the main signal is the shift toward an agent that can execute chained tasks, not just a new model toggle. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the item is second-hand and omits pricing, rollout scope, and safety thresholds, so it lands as featured,

X · @claudeai

Claude can now connect to more apps outside work, including Tripadvisor, Booking.com, and Resy

Claude added at least 10 consumer app connections, including Tripadvisor, Booking.com, Resy, Instacart, Spotify, Audible, AllTrails, Thumbtack, and TurboTax. The RSS snippet confirms only a product update; the post does not disclose integration method, supported actions, regions, permission scope, or rollout timing. The key question is whether Claude can act in these apps directly, not just list them.

Why it matters: Official Anthropic product update with clear HKR-H/K/R: consumer app connectors expand Claude beyond workplace tools and widen its assistant surface. The score stays at 75 because the post lists apps only; actions, permissions, regions, and rollout details are not disclosed.

X · @OpenAI

Introducing GPT-5.5

OpenAI introduced GPT-5.5, and it is now available in ChatGPT and Codex. The RSS snippet says it targets real work and agents, can understand complex goals, use tools, check its work, and carry more tasks to completion; the post does not disclose parameters, pricing, context window, or benchmark results. What matters is the execution loop, not the headline's “new class of intelligence.”

Why it matters: OpenAI launching GPT-5.5 in ChatGPT and Codex is same-day mandatory coverage. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new model release, concrete agent-workflow claims, and direct impact on daily AI work. Price, context window, params, and benchmarks are undisclosed, so it stays below 95.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI says its new GPT-5.5 model is more efficient and better at coding

OpenAI announced GPT-5.5 and says it is more efficient and stronger at coding than GPT-5.4, which shipped last month. The RSS snippet says it handles coding, debugging, online research, and cross-tool work on spreadsheets and documents; the post does not disclose pricing, context window, or benchmark scores.

Why it matters: An OpenAI model release is same-day coverage, and the angle ties efficiency, coding, and tool use into one clear upgrade, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post does not disclose price, context window, or benchmark scores, which keeps it in the high 80s instead of 90+.

Hacker News front page

An update on recent Claude Code quality reports

Anthropic said three product-layer changes degraded Claude Code quality for Sonnet 4.6, Opus 4.6, and Opus 4.7, while the API was unaffected; all were fixed on April 20 in v2.1.116. The changes were lowering default reasoning effort on March 4, a March 26 bug that cleared prior thinking every turn after sessions sat idle for over an hour, and an April 16 prompt tweak to reduce verbosity that hurt coding quality. The signal for practitioners is sharp: product and prompt changes can degrade code performance even when model and inference evals do not reproduce it early.

Apr 23Thursday

The Verge · AI

You’re about to feel the AI money squeeze

Anthropic sharply restricted OpenClaw’s access to Claude this month and pushed heavy third-party agent users toward pricier paid plans. The RSS snippet says system strain and profit pressure drove the move, and Boris Cherny said existing subscriptions do not fit this usage pattern; the post does not disclose pricing, limits, or rollout scope. Watch the monetization shift: agent-style usage is being carved out of flat subscriptions.

Why it matters: Anthropic is turning heavy Claude agent usage into a pricing and access story, which directly affects tool builders and power users. HKR-H/K/R all land, but missing price, quota, and rollout details keep it at the low end of featured.

X · @op7418

Claude desktop can connect to third-party inference services via developer mode

The post claims Claude desktop can enable developer mode while signed out, then use an API base URL and key to connect third-party inference services. It lists Help → Troubleshooting → Enable developer mode, then after restart configure third-party inference under Developer and apply locally. The key point is that this looks like a client-side entry point; the post does not disclose Anthropic's support status or model scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hidden developer mode is novel, reproducible, and relevant to lock-in. I keep it at 74 because this is a single X post; Anthropic has not confirmed scope, supported models, or official policy.

The Verge · AI

Microsoft launches 'vibe working' in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint

Microsoft is rolling out Agent Mode in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint this week, extending Copilot from a Q&A assistant to an agent that can act directly on the document canvas. Sumit Chauhan said earlier foundation models were not strong enough for app control; the post does not disclose rollout scope, pricing, or exact actions.

Why it matters: Microsoft moving Agent Mode into Word, Excel, and PowerPoint clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is strong, the mechanism is new, and the Office install base makes it resonate. But rollout scope, pricing, and the exact action list are undisclosed, so it stays below the 85+ band.

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5.5

OpenAI introduced GPT-5.5 and says it targets complex cross-tool tasks such as coding, research, and data analysis. The RSS snippet only confirms “faster” and “more capable”; the post does not disclose benchmarks, context window, pricing, release timing, or availability, which are the details practitioners should watch.

Why it matters: An OpenAI flagship-model release is same-day news, so HKR-H and HKR-R are clear. HKR-K fails because the post discloses the name and use cases but not benchmarks, context window, price, or availability, so this stays featured rather than p1.

Bloomberg Technology

Alibaba Adds China Eastern Flight Booking to Flagship Qwen App

Alibaba added China Eastern flight booking to the Qwen app, letting users book flights directly; the snippet says this is the first time its agentic AI tech has opened to a major commercial partner. The RSS snippet does not disclose launch regions, fare classes, payment flow, or revenue terms. The real signal is Qwen moving from chat entry to transaction flow, not just another assistant feature.

Why it matters: Featured on HKR-H/K/R: Qwen moves from answers to booking, a concrete agent-commerce step. Kept at 76 because the brief does not disclose rollout scope, payment flow, rev-share, or fulfillment details.

X · @dotey

Microsoft makes Copilot Agent Mode the default in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint

Microsoft made Copilot Agent Mode the default experience in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, available now to Microsoft 365 Copilot and Premium subscribers, including Personal and Family plans. Microsoft reports internal test gains: Excel engagement up 67% and approval up 65%, Word engagement up 52%, and PowerPoint new-user retention up 36%. What matters is that multi-step in-document execution is now the default, with preview and rollback controls.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the default flip is the hook, the post includes rollout scope, concrete pilot metrics, and preview/keep/revert controls, and the Office distribution angle will get discussed. I keep it at 84 because this is a large product update, not a new model release or