Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

501–520 of 760

Apr 23Thursday

Hugging Face Blog

How to Use Transformers.js in a Chrome Extension

Hugging Face published a guide for a Transformers.js Chrome extension using Gemma 4 E2B. It defines three MV3 entry points: background service worker, side panel, and content script. The key design keeps local inference in the background and uses messaging plus a tool loop.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Hugging Face implementation tutorial, not a model or platform release. Score sits at the featured threshold for a concrete MV3 architecture walkthrough.

X · @claudeai

Interactive charts and diagrams are now in Claude Cowork

Anthropic says Claude Cowork now supports interactive charts and diagrams, available in beta on all paid plans. The RSS snippet confirms only 2 facts: feature type and plan scope; the post does not disclose supported formats, editing flow, rollout timing, or permission limits.

Why it matters: This is low-end featured on source authority and Claude audience fit. HKR-H comes from the interactive-chart hook, HKR-K from beta access for all paid plans; HKR-R is weak because formats, editability, and permission model are not disclosed.

The Verge · AI

OpenAI now lets teams make custom bots that can do work on their own

OpenAI opened ChatGPT cloud “workspace” agents to Business, Enterprise, Edu, and Teachers plans, letting teams build custom bots for business tasks. Examples include finding product feedback on the web and sending a report to Slack, plus drafting follow-up sales emails in Gmail; the post does not disclose pricing, rollout details, or capability limits. The real shift is workflow execution inside ChatGPT, not a one-off chat reply.

Why it matters: OpenAI moves ChatGPT from chat into team workflow agents, so HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is strong, the post adds plan coverage and task examples, and it hits enterprise automation demand. It stops short of P1 because price, rollout detail, and capability boundaries are not disl

X · @dotey

OpenAI launches ChatGPT Workspace Agents for cross-tool enterprise workflow automation

OpenAI released ChatGPT Workspace Agents as a research preview for ChatGPT Business, Enterprise, Edu, and Teachers paid plans. The snippet says agents can connect Slack, Gmail, Google Drive, Salesforce, Notion, Linear, and Atlassian, and take actions like updating tickets, creating docs, and replying in Slack. The key point is admin controls for permissions, approvals, and monitoring; the post does not disclose pricing, quotas, or rollout regions.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update: ChatGPT now offers cross-tool workspace agents with named enterprise integrations, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. I keep it at 86 because it is still a research preview and pricing, quotas, and rollout regions are not disclosed.

Latent Space

Shopify’s AI Phase Transition: 2026 Usage Explosion, Unlimited Opus-4.6 Budget, Tangle

Shopify CTO Mikhail Parakhin detailed its AI stack across 3 projects: Tangle, Tangent, and SimGym. The post says Shopify is a 20-year, $200B software company, but does not disclose exact 2026 usage figures. The key shift is from code generation to review, CI/CD, and deployment stability.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the CTO interview has a clear hook, names internal tools, and maps the coding-agent bottleneck to review and CI/CD. Missing usage numbers keep it in 78–84, not P1.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI: Workspace agents for business

OpenAI is offering Workspace agents in research preview for ChatGPT Business, Enterprise, Edu, and Teachers plans. The page says agents can run on schedules, use tools like Slack, Google Drive, and Microsoft apps, and support approval gates, audit logs, and role-based access control; pricing, model details, and rollout timing are not disclosed.

Hacker News front page

Website streamed live directly from a model

Flipbook generates an entire clickable website in real time with an image model, where each page is a pixel image and every click spawns a deeper image. The post says all on-screen text is drawn by the image model with no HTML or text overlays, and content comes from agentic web search plus model knowledge. The key point is the interaction model, not a standard generative UI; the live video stream remains an experimental, resource-heavy toggle.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a live, clickable site rendered entirely as model-generated pixels is a strong hook, and the post explains the mechanism (no HTML/text overlay, agentic web search). Kept at 76 because latency, cost, model stack, and usage are not disclosed.

X · @OpenAI

Introducing workspace agents in ChatGPT—shared agents for complex tasks and long-running workflows

OpenAI announced workspace agents in ChatGPT, described as shared agents that work across tools and teams for complex and long-running workflows. Only the title and RSS snippet are disclosed; the post does not disclose supported tools, pricing, access tier, permission model, or rollout timing. The key issue to watch is the collaboration boundary of shared agents, not the headline claim alone.

Hacker News front page

Introducing Parallel Agents in Zed

Zed released Parallel Agents on April 22, 2026, letting multiple agents run in parallel in one window. The new Threads Sidebar sets per-thread folder and repo access, and supports stop, archive, and new-thread actions; the new default layout is opt-in for existing users. The key detail is permission scoping and thread orchestration, not just “multiple agents.”

Why it matters: First-party product update with clear HKR-H/K/R: parallel agents in one window plus thread-level repo and folder access control. It stays in the mid-70s because the post gives no performance delta, pricing impact, adoption data, or external validation; this is still a single-tool

The Verge · AI

Anthropic’s Mythos rollout left out America’s cybersecurity agency CISA

Axios reported that Anthropic’s vulnerability-finding model Mythos Preview is already in use at multiple US federal agencies, but CISA still lacks access. The snippet names the Commerce Department and NSA as users, and says the Trump administration is negotiating broader access; the post does not disclose model specs, pricing, or why CISA was excluded. The signal is governance, not just product rollout.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the CISA omission hook, and HKR-K lands on the named-agency adoption fact. It scores 76 and stays featured because the body does not disclose Mythos pricing, model details, or why CISA was excluded.

TechCrunch · AI

AI Overviews are coming to your work Gmail

Google is bringing AI Overviews to work Gmail to generate instant summaries across multiple emails. The RSS snippet confirms only cross-email summarization; the post does not disclose rollout timing, pricing tier, or model details. The key shift is aggregation beyond a single thread.

Why it matters: HKR-K and HKR-R pass: Google adds cross-email summaries to enterprise Gmail, a core work workflow. HKR-H is weaker, and rollout timing, plan scope, and model details are undisclosed, so this stays low-featured rather than P1.

The Verge · AI

Google Meet will take AI notes for in-person meetings too

Google expanded Gemini notetaking to in-person meetings and added support for Zoom and Microsoft Teams. The post confirms summaries and transcripts; in-person support had previously been limited to Android alpha users. Google also says it works for impromptu meetings outside meeting rooms, which matters because the recorder is no longer confined to native Meet calls.

Apr 22Wednesday

OpenAI News

Making ChatGPT better for clinicians

OpenAI is making ChatGPT for Clinicians free for verified U.S. physicians, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists. The RSS snippet says it supports clinical care, documentation, and research; the post does not disclose model version, pricing limits, launch timing, or verification steps. The real signal is access expanding to individual clinicians, not just enterprise buyers.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the unusual angle: OpenAI is offering a clinician-specific ChatGPT tier free to verified U.S. practitioners. HKR-K and HKR-R also pass, but the post omits model version, rollout timing, pricing limits, and verification details, so this scores as a meaningful access

Hacker News front page

Show HN submissions tripled and are now mostly vibe-coded

Adrian Krebs scored 500 recent Show HN landing pages and says submissions have tripled, with 67% of pages triggering at least 2 AI design patterns. The method used Playwright plus an in-page script to check DOM and computed styles across 15 deterministic CSS/DOM signals; manual QA found about 5% to 10% false positives. The real signal is not model quality, but fast homogenization from AI default frontend templates.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: a sharp hook, a concrete 500-page method, and a real nerve for AI builders. I keep it at 78, not higher, because it is a single-author experiment rather than a product launch or a cross-source industry event.

The Verge · AI

Meta will track employees’ computer activity to train its AI agents

Meta is installing its MCI tool on US employees’ computers and using mouse movements, clicks, keystrokes, and occasional screenshots from work apps and sites to train AI agents. Reuters says the data is meant to teach models to operate computers more like humans and automate tasks employees already do; Meta says it will not be used for performance reviews. The key gap is scope: the post discloses US staff and work contexts, but not retention, opt-out, or full rollout details.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the surveillance-for-agents hook. HKR-K lands on concrete collection details: US staff, mouse/keyboard events, occasional screenshots. HKR-R lands on privacy plus job-automation nerves. Strong reporting, but not a shipped product or model release, and key scope/ret

OpenAI News

Introducing workspace agents in ChatGPT

OpenAI introduced workspace agents in ChatGPT, describing them as Codex-powered agents that automate complex workflows in the cloud. The RSS snippet confirms secure work across tools for teams, but the post does not disclose pricing, availability, supported tools, or performance metrics.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update inside ChatGPT. HKR-H lands on the jump from chat to workspace agents, HKR-K on Codex-powered cloud execution across tools, and HKR-R on team workflow automation; the score stops at 86 because pricing, rollout, tool support, and metrics

OpenAI News

Speeding up agentic workflows with WebSockets in the Responses API

OpenAI says WebSockets in the Responses API speed up the Codex agent loop, using connection-scoped caching to cut API overhead and improve latency. The RSS snippet confirms the mechanism, but the post does not disclose latency deltas, throughput numbers, or workload conditions. The key point is transport-layer optimization, not a new model.

Why it matters: This is a developer-facing OpenAI product update at the systems layer: WebSockets plus connection-scoped caching target agent-loop round-trip cost. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post does not disclose latency gains, throughput, or workload bounds, so it stays mid-featured rather än

Financial Times · Technology

OpenAI in talks to commit up to $1.5bn to private equity joint venture

OpenAI is in talks to commit up to $1.5bn to a private equity joint venture. The RSS snippet says the new company is meant to help deploy AI in businesses owned by PE firms; the post does not disclose the partner, deal structure, or timeline. This is not a model launch but a distribution bet on enterprise deployment.

Why it matters: An FT-sourced OpenAI capital move with a clear $1.5bn ceiling gives HKR-K, and the PE distribution angle adds HKR-H/R. Missing partner, structure, and timeline keep it in the low-80s: featured, not p1.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Musk sets Cursor deal terms: SpaceX can buy it for $60B or pay a $10B collaboration fee

SpaceX disclosed terms to work with Cursor: it can acquire the startup this year for $60B or pay a $10B collaboration fee. The post says xAI already supplies Colossus compute to train Cursor's Composer, while Cursor had over $2B annualized revenue and 1M+ daily users by Feb. 2026. The key point is the bundle: SpaceX gets a coding product, and Cursor gets model and compute support.

Why it matters: The reported deal structure alone is material: a $60B buy option or a $10B price to extend the partnership. HKR-H/K/R all clear on novelty, numbers, and industry resonance, but without primary docs or clear multi-source confirmation, it stays high featured rather than p1.

X · @dotey

Anthropic quietly removed Claude Code from the $20 Pro plan on its pricing page without an announcement

Anthropic was spotted removing Claude Code from the $20 Pro plan on its pricing comparison page without an announcement. The snippet says help docs also removed the inclusion, while the Claude Code product page and support bot still say it is included, and some Pro users report access still works; the post does not disclose Anthropic’s formal explanation or effective date. The key issue is price floor: if confirmed, entry cost for Claude Code rises from $20 to $100 per month.

Why it matters: The story matters because it may raise Claude Code’s entry price from $20 to $100, giving it HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R. I keep it in featured, not higher, because Anthropic has not confirmed scope, timing, or treatment of existing Pro users.