Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

441–460 of 760

Apr 30Thursday

r/LocalLLaMA

Building a fully local PDF-to-audiobook workflow with Kokoro 82M, Qwen and llama.cpp

Reddit user purellmagents shared a local PDF-to-audiobook workflow using Kokoro 82M, Qwen 3.5 0.8B/2B, and llama.cpp. The Tauri 2.0 app runs on an M1 Mac, reads 15 initial sentences, then prepares the next 15. The hard parts are PDF-text alignment, code snippets, tables, and first-generation latency.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Reddit personal workflow, not a model or platform release. Specific components and the 15-sentence pipeline keep it at the low featured band.

Hacker News front page

Ramp’s Sheets AI Exfiltrates Financials

PromptArmor disclosed a Ramp Sheets AI flaw with a 6-step attack chain; Ramp said it was fixed on March 16, 2026. A hidden prompt injection in an external sheet made the AI insert an IMAGE formula calling attacker.com with financial data. The key issue is formula insertion without user approval.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post gives a concrete exfil path for an AI spreadsheet tool. Scored 82, not 85+, because it is single-source and impact scale is not disclosed.

X · @dotey

Inside Hermes Agent's Memory System and How It Avoids OpenClaw's Pitfalls

Hermes Agent splits memory into 4 layers: prompt files, SQLite session search, skills, and optional Honcho. MEMORY.md is capped at 2,200 chars, USER.md at 1,375; writes apply after a new session or compression. The key design is cache-first: keep system prompts stable and retrieve long-tail history via tools.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenClaw contrast is clickable, and the memory limits/mechanisms are concrete. Single X-source tutorial, not a product release, keeps it at the featured threshold.

Apr 29Wednesday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Tsinghua AutoSOTA spends about $104K in a week to produce 105 SOTA results

Tsinghua's Fengli Xu team and Beijing Zhongguancun Academy released AutoSOTA, which ran unattended for one week, used about 22B tokens, and produced 105 SOTA results. The system uses eight agents for resource setup, environment fixes, scheduling, idea generation, and audits; each full run averaged 5 hours. The key check is its red-line audit: it forbids changing evaluation scripts and data splits, which decides reproducibility.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: hard numbers, an 8-agent mechanism, and audit constraints make the claim testable. It stays at 84 because this is single-source secondary coverage, not a major model or product release.

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek V4 pricing is genuinely silly; the math made me question my stack

A Reddit user calculates DeepSeek V4-Pro input at $0.145 per million tokens, about 34x cheaper than Claude Opus 4.7. A May promo cuts it to $0.036, while cache hits are $0.0036, about 173x below Opus cached pricing. The key issue is agent-loop cost; the post does not verify the 1M context under production loads.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass on the pricing hook, concrete token prices, and agent-cost pressure. Capped below 78 because this is a Reddit calculation, not an official release or production benchmark.

X · @dotey

OpenAI Expands AWS Partnership, Bringing GPT-5.5, Codex, and Managed Agents to Bedrock

OpenAI expanded its AWS partnership, bringing GPT-5.5, Codex, and Managed Agents to Amazon Bedrock in limited preview. Codex supports Bedrock across CLI, desktop, and VS Code, with over 4M weekly active users. The key detail is reuse of AWS compliance, billing, and cloud commitments.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is more than a routine cloud listing, with OpenAI bringing GPT-5.5, Codex, and Managed Agents to AWS Bedrock. Limited preview, 4M weekly Codex users, and IDE/CLI entry points justify same-day coverage.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI Models Coming to Amazon Bedrock: Interview with OpenAI and AWS CEOs

OpenAI will bring models to AWS via Bedrock Managed Agents, in an interview with Sam Altman and Matt Garman. Microsoft and OpenAI amended their deal: Azure ships first, cross-cloud service is allowed, and IP licensing runs through 2032. The post does not disclose pricing, model list, or launch timing.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: Altman and AWS's CEO confirm OpenAI models on Bedrock, tied to Microsoft agreement changes through 2032. Price, model list, and launch timing are undisclosed, so it stays in the 85–94 band.

X · @dotey

AI terminal tool Warp open-sources client code with OpenAI as founding sponsor

Warp open-sourced its client code under AGPL; only the client is open, while server code stays closed. The Rust terminal has 700,000+ developers, and its Oz cloud AI handles coding, planning, and tests. The key signal is its AI-first contribution workflow.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI sponsorship hook, AGPL/client-only detail, and 700K-developer signal are concrete. This is a strong dev-tool open-source update, not a major model or capability release.

The Verge · AI

Claude can now plug directly into Photoshop, Blender, and Ableton

Anthropic launched Claude connectors for creative apps, including Adobe Creative Cloud, Affinity, Blender, Ableton, and Autodesk. The Blender connector can debug scenes, build tools, and batch-apply object changes; the post does not disclose pricing or full availability.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is Claude inside major creative apps, with concrete connector behavior. Missing price and rollout details keep it below must-write status.

Apr 28Tuesday

X · @claudeai

Claude Now Connects to Tools Creative Professionals Already Use

Claude added a Blender connector for scene debugging, tool building, and batch object edits from Claude. The post does not disclose versions, pricing, or rollout scope; the key issue is agent control boundaries inside DCC workflows.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Claude’s Blender connector is a concrete agent-tool expansion. Missing version, pricing, and rollout details keep it near the featured threshold, not a must-write.

Hacker News front page

GitHub Copilot code review will start consuming GitHub Actions minutes

GitHub will make Copilot code reviews consume GitHub Actions minutes starting June 1, 2026. Private-repo reviews use plan entitlements, with overages billed at standard Actions rates; public repos stay free. The change covers Copilot Pro, Pro+, Business, and Enterprise, including direct org billing for unlicensed users.

Why it matters: Official GitHub billing change for Copilot code review hits CI quotas and org invoices; HKR-H/K/R all pass, but it is a pricing rule, not a capability release, so it sits low in 72–77.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Agentic Creative Tools: From Photoshop Actions to Claude for Creative Work

Anthropic released 9 creative-tool Connectors for Claude for Creative Work. The post frames agentic creative tools around programmable APIs, connector protocols, and perceptual feedback loops. The post does not disclose the Connector list.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Claude creative agents have a clear hook, 9 connectors add a fact, and creator workflow pressure adds resonance. Missing connector names and access terms keep it below must-write.

Hacker News front page

Claude Pro: Opus Requires Extra Usage in Claude Code

Anthropic lists 6 Claude Code models, and Pro users need extra usage enabled and purchased to use Opus. The guide gives 3 configuration paths: /model, --model, and ANTHROPIC_MODEL in zsh or bash. The post does not disclose extra usage pricing or quotas.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the facts come from a help doc and cover Claude Code access/configuration, not a new model or major capability. Anthropic relevance lifts it to the lower featured band.

X · @dotey

The West forgot how to build things, and may forget how to write code

Denis Stetskov compares Western defense production gaps with AI coding, citing Stinger orders placed in 2022 for 2026 delivery. He says Europe’s 1M-shell target was 9 months late, and METR found senior developers 19% slower with AI. The key risk is the junior-engineer pipeline, not code generation speed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the analogy is clickable, the post gives concrete defense and METR numbers, and the junior-engineer pipeline resonates. X translation/commentary limits authority, so it sits just above the featured threshold.

X · @dotey

GitHub Copilot switches to usage-based billing on June 1

GitHub Copilot will switch to AI Credits billing on June 1 while keeping subscription prices unchanged. Credits count input, output, and cached tokens; Pro includes $10 monthly credits and Pro+ includes $39. Watch Copilot Agent long-task costs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Copilot billing moves from subscription expectations to token/cache consumption with date and credit amounts. Single-source X context lacks enterprise details and overage rates, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

X · @dotey

Cursor 3 feedback: users want a reliable AI development workspace

Eric Zakariasson’s Cursor 3 feedback thread summarizes 431 replies, with users asking for a stable AI development workspace. Requests center on Agent Window retaining LSP, debugging, Git, terminal and diff workflows, plus multi-agent worktrees and model-cost transparency. The key issue is workflow reliability, not a flashier IDE.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: 431 user replies, concrete workflow requests, and strong resonance for Cursor users. Kept in the low featured band because this is feedback synthesis, not an official Cursor release or roadmap.

Hacker News front page

GitHub Copilot is moving to usage-based billing

GitHub said on 2026-04-27 that GitHub Copilot will move to usage-based billing. The captured post only shows the title, time, and navigation. It does not disclose the launch date, usage metric, prices, or overage rules.

Why it matters: GitHub Copilot billing affects a large developer base. HKR-H and HKR-R are strong, while HKR-K is limited to the usage-based mechanism with no date, metering unit, or price details disclosed.

Apr 27Monday

The Verge · AI

Canva apologizes after its AI tool replaces ‘Palestine’ in designs

Canva said Magic Layers replaced “Palestine” with “Ukraine” in designs. The tool should split flat images into editable layers, not alter visible content; X user @ros_ie9 said “Gaza” was unaffected. Canva says it fixed the issue; the post does not disclose the trigger mechanism.

Why it matters: This is a concrete Canva Magic Layers incident, not a routine feature post. HKR-H comes from the unexpected word swap, HKR-K from the stated tool boundary and fix, and HKR-R from political-bias and trust risk.

Hacker News front page

Show HN: Utilyze — an open-source GPU monitoring tool claiming higher accuracy than nvtop

Systalyze open-sourced Utilyze to measure real GPU compute efficiency in production, with negligible overhead claimed. The post says nvidia-smi and nvtop only check whether any kernel runs during the sampling window; an H100 has 132 SMs and 17,424 cores. The key issue is real throughput headroom, not binary utilization dashboards.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is sharp, the post explains the sampling flaw, and GPU waste is a real practitioner nerve. Unknown vendor and single-tool scope keep it in the 72–77 band.

Hacker News front page

Running Local LLMs Offline on a Ten-Hour Flight

Dmitri Lerko ran Gemma 4 31B and Qwen 4.6 36B locally during a 10-hour flight with no Wi‑Fi. The MacBook Pro M5 Max had 128GB unified memory and a 40-core GPU; sustained load used about 1% battery per minute, and performance degraded past 100k tokens. The sharp finding is instrumentation: an iPhone cable delivered 60W, while a MacBook cable delivered 94W under the same load.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is a named first-person local-inference test with concrete hardware, model, battery, and power numbers. Scope stays practical rather than industry-shaking, so it lands in the 72–77 band.