Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

561–580 of 760

Apr 17Friday

X · @op7418

The previously leaked Claude design tool is now live

Claude has launched a design tool that can generate web pages, app prototypes, and PPTs, based on an RSS snippet. The snippet confirms PPT export and export to Canvas; the product name, pricing, plan access, and regional limits are not disclosed. The key shift is from chat output to design artifact generation and export.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Claude product move: web/app/PPT generation plus PPT and Canvas export support HKR-H/K/R. Source authority is thin—a single X post and RSS summary—and the name, price, plan, and geo are undisclosed, so it stays at the floor of featured.

X · @claudeai

Introducing Claude Design by Anthropic Labs: make prototypes, slides, and one-pagers by talking to Claude

Anthropic Labs launched Claude Design in research preview for Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise plans, letting users create prototypes, slides, and one-pagers by talking to Claude. The post says it runs on Claude Opus 4.7, Anthropic’s most capable vision model; the post does not disclose pricing, output constraints, or a detailed rollout schedule. The thing to watch is the interactive design workflow, not just another writing surface.

Why it matters: This is a first-party Anthropic capability launch, and HKR-H/K/R all pass: Claude expands from chat into prototypes, slides, and one-pagers, with paid tiers and Opus 4.7 named. It stays below p1 because price, export limits, and rollout timing are not disclosed.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Behind OpenClaw's surge, only 8.6% of users detect anomalies: a multi-university empirical study

NTU, KTH, and William & Mary ran a 303-person study and found only 8.6% noticed agent-mediated deception, while 2.7% identified the mechanism correctly. Using 9 HAT-Lab task scenarios, interactive interruption alerts raised detection to 25%, while static warnings were seen by about 24%. The key issue is human-agent cognitive failure, not just model bugs.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the 8.6% detection hook is sharp, and the 303-person, 9-task study plus 25% alert lift gives testable detail. This is a solid agent-safety research release, not a market-moving product, model, or policy event, so it lands in featured, not p1.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Yixin says its finance Agent harness runs single tasks for 16 hours and plans an H2 open-source release

Yixin says its finance Agent harness can run a single task for 16 hours across 12 sessions, with 65% autonomous delivery. The post adds a 50k-token cap per case, projected approval speedups above 150%, and projected unit cost at one-fifth of human work; it says an open-source release is planned for H2 2026, but does not disclose the repo, license, or reproducible evals. The key signal is governance design, not the “smarter over time” framing.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R with a rare production claim: a finance agent runs 16 hours, spans 12 sessions, hits 65% autonomous delivery, and stays under a 50k-token cap. It stays below 85 because the evidence is self-reported and the post does not disclose a repo, license, or reproduc

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

AgiBot says robots have entered the deployment phase with 8-hour continuous factory work

At APC 2026 on April 17, AgiBot defined 2026 as year one of the “deployment phase” and said its robots had run for 8 hours on a real production line. The clearest case in the post is Genie G2 at Longcheer’s Nanchang factory: 2,283 loading tasks, over 99.5% success, and 18-20 seconds per cycle; these figures are company disclosures, and the post does not disclose independent audit results. The real signal is scale and line integration: AgiBot said it shipped over 5,100 units in 2025 and reached 10,000 cumulative units by March 2026, while Longcheer plans nearly 1,000 deployments.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the 'demo is over' angle is clickable, and the post gives testable factory data—8 hours, 2,283 runs, >99.5% success, 18-20s cycle. Not P1 because the evidence is company-reported and the article shows no independent audit or cross-site replication.

Tencent Technology · WeChat

From Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering: Rebuilding the Full Backend Development Workflow

Tencent engineers report a one-week practice that used Claude Code plus custom Skills, Commands, and MCP servers to run an 11-stage backend workflow in one terminal session. The post gives reproducible details: one requirement-exploration step used 20 tool calls, 93.8k tokens, and 56 seconds; execution was split into 4 tasks and produced 3 commits. The real point is workflow orchestration, not raw code generation; human review remains at plan, deploy, and review gates.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story turns agentic engineering into a measured backend workflow test, with tool-call, token, timing, plan-length, task, and commit data. Stronger than generic coding hype, but still a practitioner case study rather than a major product or model release.

Hacker News front page

Discourse Is Not Going Closed Source

Discourse said it will keep its GPLv2 codebase open after 13 years. The post says its team used GPT-5.3 Codex, GPT-5.4, and Claude Opus 4.6 to scan code, and its last monthly release fixed 50 security issues. The key claim is defensive capacity: OpenAI said Codex Security scanned 1.2M+ commits in 30 days and found 792 critical and 10,561 high-severity issues.

X · @dotey

Seedance 2.0 API is now available on Volcano Engine and BytePlus

Volcano Engine has released the Seedance 2.0 API for enterprises, individual developers, and overseas users via BytePlus; China pricing is RMB 46 per million tokens, or about RMB 1 per second for pure video generation. The post says it supports text, image, audio, and video inputs, plus face verification, portrait authorization, and 10,000+ preset avatars for workflow automation; overseas pricing is not disclosed here. The part to watch is orchestration: the post cites up to 10x efficiency gains, but does not disclose a common benchmark or model specs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the overseas rollout is a real hook, and the post includes usable pricing and modality details for practitioners. It stays at 74 because this is an API availability update, not a major model launch, and the post does not disclose model params, benchmark method

X · @op7418

Seedance 2.0 API is now fully open

Volcano Engine has opened the Seedance 2.0 API to domestic users, while BytePlus serves overseas access; the API currently accepts 4 input modalities: text, image, audio, and video. The post also confirms face registration, portrait authorization, and preset virtual avatars, but does not disclose pricing, rate limits, model variants, or regional availability. The real watchpoint is whether video-agent workflows can be wired through Skills and MCP, not the ecosystem rhetoric.

Why it matters: This is a real product update from ByteDance’s stack: HKR-H on full API availability, HKR-K on 4-modal input and consent mechanics, and HKR-R on builder demand for deployable video APIs. I keep it at 75 because pricing, rate limits, regional rollout details, and quality evidence

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

Turn your coworker into a Skill? GitHub viral project and Anthropic Skills explained

The video says the open-source “coworker.skill” project gained over 13,000 GitHub stars in days, but it produces a standardized SKILL.md prompt package, not a digital worker replacement. It gives a timeline: Anthropic launched Claude Skills on Oct 16, 2025, then published Agent Skills as an open standard on Dec 18; the mechanism keeps only a short summary in context until a task matches. The real point is scope: it fits standardized workflows like reports, docs, and code review, while the post does not disclose cross-platform compatibility rates or any settled legal standard.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the coworker-to-Skill hook is sticky, the post adds dates/stars/mechanism, and the labor/IP angle resonates. I kept it at 76 because it is secondary commentary, not a primary release or first-hand test, and key compatibility/legal facts are still undiscolse

X · @dotey

Boris Cherny shares practical tips from recent heavy use of Claude Opus 4.7

Boris Cherny outlined five ways to use Claude Opus 4.7, centered on Auto mode approving safe commands and a /go skill chaining tests, code simplification, and PR creation. The post names Auto mode, Recaps, Focus mode, effort level, and computer use; pricing, launch date, and benchmark data are not disclosed. The real shift is workflow, not just the model itself.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI upgrades Codex with more control over your desktop

OpenAI upgraded Codex on April 16, 2026, expanding its desktop control, and the headline frames it as a move against Anthropic. The truncated post only confirms more desktop power for Codex and says Claude Code has become a preferred tool for many businesses; the post does not disclose exact features, pricing, rollout, or permission limits. The key issue is the permission boundary, not the coding-tool label.

Why it matters: TechCrunch reports an OpenAI Codex desktop-control upgrade framed as a direct move against Anthropic, so HKR-H and HKR-R land. But HKR-K is limited: the article confirms broader permissions only, with no action list, pricing, or rollout details, so it stays at the featured floor.

TechCrunch · AI

Anthropic CPO leaves Figma's board after reports he will offer a competing product

Anthropic CPO Mike Krieger resigned from Figma’s board on April 14; the same day, Figma disclosed it to the SEC, and The Information reported Anthropic’s next model, Opus 4.7, will include design tools that compete with Figma. Figma is a public company worth about $10 billion and already integrates Anthropic models; the real signal is how fast frontier labs are moving from model vendors to application-layer competitors.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the board exit plus rival-product reports create a strong hook, and the SEC disclosure gives a concrete fact pattern. It stays below p1 because the product is still reported rather than launched; scope, ship date, and commercial terms are not disclosed.

X · @dotey

Official best practices for using Claude Opus 4.7 with Claude Code

Anthropic shared guidance for Claude Opus 4.7 in Claude Code: the default Effort level is now xhigh, and users should provide goals, constraints, and acceptance criteria upfront. The post lists five Effort tiers—low, medium, high, xhigh, and max—with xhigh recommended for most coding, API design, migration, and code review tasks. The key shift is behavior: adaptive thinking is built in, while tool use and SubAgent spawning are less frequent by default, so prompts should state those needs explicitly.

Why it matters: This is not a model launch, but an official Anthropic workflow note that changes day-to-day Claude Code usage: default effort, 5 levels, and fewer tool/SubAgent calls unless asked. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the scope is narrower than a major product release.

X · @dotey

Codex major update: from a coding tool to an assistant that can operate your computer

OpenAI upgraded Codex into a Mac desktop agent and says it serves 3M+ weekly developers. It can see screens, click, type, run parallel agents, and adds 90+ plugins. Desktop rollout starts now for ChatGPT sign-ins; computer control is macOS-first.

Why it matters: OpenAI expands Codex from coding help into a Mac-operating agent, with parallel agents, 90+ plugins, and a claimed 3M weekly developer base. HKR-H/K/R all pass; missing safety boundary and pricing details keep it in the high-80s, not the 90s.

X · @OpenAI

Codex for (almost) everything.

OpenAI said Codex can now use apps on Mac, connect to more tools, and handle ongoing and repeatable tasks. The post also claims image creation, learning from prior actions, and remembering user preferences; it does not disclose app coverage, integration method, pricing, or rollout timing.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI product update, and Codex moves from coding help toward desktop control, tool use, and memory, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post still omits supported apps, integration method, pricing, and launch timing, keeping it in the 78–84 band.

TechCrunch · AI

Google now lets you explore the web side-by-side with AI Mode

Google said on April 16 that clicking a link in AI Mode on Chrome desktop now opens the web page side-by-side with AI Mode. The feature keeps search context and uses page context plus web information for follow-up answers; the post does not disclose rollout scope, timing details, or regional limits. The practical shift is that Google is merging search chat and site browsing into one workflow.

Why it matters: This is a mid-weight Google search workflow update with HKR-H/K/R all present, but it is still a single-feature change. The story gives the context-retention and page-plus-web follow-up mechanism; rollout scope, regions, and timing are not disclosed, so it lands at the low end of

X · @dotey

browser-use open-sources video-use, a Claude Code skill that turns raw camera footage into edited videos

browser-use released video-use, a Claude Code skill that turns raw footage into a final.mp4 automatically. It converts footage into ElevenLabs word-level timestamp transcripts, shrinking one asset to about 12KB; the post says feeding frames directly would cost about 45 million tokens. The key detail is the structured editing pipeline: the model mostly reads text, uses timeline images only at uncertain cuts, and runs up to 3 self-check repair passes after rendering.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the result is instantly clickable, and the post includes a concrete text-first editing architecture with 12KB vs about 45M-token economics. Kept below higher bands because this is a builder-facing Claude Code skill, not a platform-level release.

X · @dotey

Musk's xAI is turning into a GPU lessor, with $50 billion coding tool Cursor as its first customer

xAI is leasing tens of thousands of GPUs to Cursor to train its coding model Composer 2.5, while Cursor is reportedly fundraising at about a $50 billion valuation. The post says xAI's internal model FLOPs utilization is about 11%, versus a typical 35% to 45%, across roughly 200,000 Nvidia GPUs. The key point for practitioners is that xAI is starting to monetize idle compute as cloud capacity, not just build models.

Why it matters: This clears all three HKR axes: a strong strategic twist plus concrete numbers on utilization and fleet size. I keep it at 84, not higher, because this is business/economics reporting on capacity monetization, not a model launch, product ship, or top-level personnel move.

Apr 16Thursday

X · @op7418

Claude Code now supports Claude Opus 4.7

Claude Code now supports Claude Opus 4.7, and the RSS snippet confirms X-HIGH as the default reasoning level. The only concrete detail disclosed is that users must switch manually to Max if X-HIGH is insufficient. The post does not disclose pricing, rate limits, or launch timing.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Claude product update with all three HKR signals: a new model in Claude Code plus one concrete operational detail, X-HIGH vs. manual Max. I kept it below the top band because price, rate limits, and formal release timing are not disclosed.