Skip to content

Embodied AI

AI in the physical world: humanoid robots, embodied foundation models and real-world manipulation.

Latest picks

141–160 of 167

Apr 20Monday

New York Times Chinese

Chinese humanoid robot 'Shandian' finishes a half marathon in 50:26, faster than the human world record

Honor’s humanoid robot Shandian finished a Beijing half marathon in 50:26, faster than Jacob Kiplimo’s 57:20 human world record. The 1.65-meter robot fell after hitting a barrier, resumed with human help, and far beat last year’s best robot time of 2:40:42. The key signal is stronger robotics engineering, not a disclosed AI leap.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: strong headline contrast plus concrete numbers and conditions. It stays below the top bands because this is a benchmark event, not a directly reusable model or product release, and the control stack and race-rule details are not disclosed.

Apr 19Sunday

Synced · WeChat

Amap debuts an autonomous embodied robot at the Yizhuang Marathon and showcases guide-assistance

Amap showed its quadruped robot Tutu at the 2026 Yizhuang humanoid half marathon, claiming it completed a guide-assistance obstacle task in an open environment without preset routes or teleoperation. The post says its ABot stack includes ABot-N0, which reached SOTA on 7 navigation benchmarks with 88.3% on SocNav, and ABot-M0, which scored 80.5% on Libero-Plus. The key point is the integrated stack across navigation, manipulation, world modeling, and closed-loop correction; the post does not disclose guide-task test scope, commercialization timing, or safety incident data.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the marathon blind-guidance demo is novel, and the story includes ABot stack details with 88.3% SocNav and 80.5% Libero-Plus. Kept at 80, not higher, because safety incidents, deployment scope, and commercialization timing are not disclosed.

QbitAI · WeChat

Amap unveiled ABot, its first full-stack embodied AI stack for AGI, and claimed 15 SOTA results

Amap unveiled embodied AI stack ABot and claimed SOTA on 15 metrics. The post says ABot-3DGS builds 10k-scale 3D scenes from centimeter-level map data, while ABot-PhysWorld uses a 14B DiT and 3M real manipulation videos. What matters is the interactive world model and VLA loop; the post does not disclose the 15 benchmarks, exact metrics, or the open-source timeline and scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle is surprising, and the post includes concrete mechanisms and numbers. It stays below the 80s because the claimed 15 SOTAs lack benchmark names, and the open-source scope and timeline are not disclosed.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Amap unveiled ABot-Claw and its quadruped robot Tutu at the Yizhuang Half Marathon

Amap unveiled the ABot-Claw agent system and the quadruped robot Tutu, claiming an autonomous guide-dog demo in the 2026 Yizhuang robot half marathon. The post gives three concrete numbers: ABot-M0 reached 80.5% on Libero-Plus, nearly 30% above Pi0; ABot-N0 hit SOTA on 7 navigation benchmarks; the open UniACT dataset contains 6 million trajectories and 9,500+ hours. What matters is Map as Memory, cloud-edge control, and closed-loop self-correction; the post does not disclose race ranking, pricing, or launch timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the open-environment half-marathon demo is a strong hook, and the post includes concrete benchmark numbers plus a 6M-trajectory release. Kept below p1 because rank, pricing, ship date, and independent replication are not disclosed, and the impact is narrower a

Apr 17Friday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

AgiBot says robots have entered the deployment phase with 8-hour continuous factory work

At APC 2026 on April 17, AgiBot defined 2026 as year one of the “deployment phase” and said its robots had run for 8 hours on a real production line. The clearest case in the post is Genie G2 at Longcheer’s Nanchang factory: 2,283 loading tasks, over 99.5% success, and 18-20 seconds per cycle; these figures are company disclosures, and the post does not disclose independent audit results. The real signal is scale and line integration: AgiBot said it shipped over 5,100 units in 2025 and reached 10,000 cumulative units by March 2026, while Longcheer plans nearly 1,000 deployments.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the 'demo is over' angle is clickable, and the post gives testable factory data—8 hours, 2,283 runs, >99.5% success, 18-20s cycle. Not P1 because the evidence is company-reported and the article shows no independent audit or cross-site replication.

MIT Technology Review · AI

How robots learn: A brief, contemporary history

Companies and investors put $6.1 billion into humanoid robots in 2025, 4x 2024, and MIT Technology Review attributes the surge to a shift in how robots learn. The piece highlights two mechanisms: around 2015, simulation plus reward signals enabled millions of trial-and-error runs; after ChatGPT in 2022, robotics models took images, sensors, and joint states to predict dozens of motor commands per second. The key change is data-driven learning over hand-written rules; the provided text is truncated, so later examples are not fully disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the $6.1B and 4x funding jump provide the hook, and the piece maps the shift from sim+RL to multimodal action models. It stays in the lower featured band because this is commentary rather than a new release, and the excerpt is truncated on company-level detail

Apr 16Thursday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Mihive, under AgiBot, launches a one-stop physical AI data service platform

Mihive, under AgiBot, launched a physical AI data service platform and two body-less collection devices, targeting data output in the tens of millions of hours in 2026. The post cites 1080P 60fps, 1 mm trajectory reconstruction, 480 g weight, 7 HD cameras, 300°+ FOV, and sub-millisecond sync. The key point is the data supply chain: Mihive says it sells usage rights or ownership, and AgiBot must also place market-priced orders.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle is novel, the post includes concrete specs and a capacity target, and it hits the embodied-AI data bottleneck. Kept at 76 because this is still a single-company launch with no disclosed customer scale, pricing, or outcome proof.

Apr 15Wednesday

Financial Times · Technology

Uber commits $10bn to robotaxis in strategy shift

Uber commits $10bn to robotaxis and shifts strategy. Only the headline is available; the post does not disclose timing, partners, deployment cities, or how the $10bn will be allocated. Watch the spending cadence, not the slogan of a strategy shift.

Why it matters: FT gives one concrete fact — Uber commits $10bn to robotaxis — which clears HKR-K on the number alone, while the strategy pivot gives HKR-H and HKR-R. Missing timeline, partners, deployment cities, and capex cadence keep it in the low end of 78-84: featured, not P1.

Apr 13Monday

Google DeepMind

Google DeepMind releases Gemini Robotics-ER 1.6

Google DeepMind released Gemini Robotics-ER 1.6, an upgrade to its reasoning-first robotics model. It strengthens spatial reasoning and multi-view understanding, and adds gauge-reading ability.

Why it matters: The post details the new model's changes in spatial reasoning, multi-view understanding and gauge reading, plus where it is available, so you can judge progress in high-level robot reasoning.

Apr 11Saturday

QbitAI · WeChat

A Chinese embodied model reached global No.1 as a 100,000-hour human dataset for robots was released

Psibot says it released a 100,889-hour human-plus-robot manipulation dataset, and that Psi-R2 ranked first on AllenAI’s MolmoSpace benchmark. The post lists 95,472 hours of human data, 5,417 hours of robot data, 1,000 open-sourced hours, 294 scenes, 4,821 tasks, and 1,382 objects; Psi-W0 adds 30% failure samples, and Psi-R2 latency drops from 2.2s to under 100ms. The key point is the data loop and benchmark framing: the post claims nearly 10x higher success, but does not disclose task setup, full baselines, or statistics.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the data scale, failure-sample mix, and latency cut are concrete and discussable. I keep it at 80 because the No.1 ranking and near-10x success claim lack task setup, full baselines, and statistical detail in the body.

Apr 9Thursday

QbitAI · WeChat

Beyond MoE, Tencent introduces MoT: a 2B embodied model ranks first in 16 of 22 evaluations

Tencent Hunyuan and Robotics X released HY-Embodied-0.5; its MoT-2B uses 4B total params with 2B active and ranks first in 16 of 22 embodied evaluations. The post says it uses 100M+ embodied data, 600B+ pretraining tokens, 30M+ mid-training samples, plus visual latent tokens, bidirectional attention, RFT, RL, and online distillation. The key point is a rebuilt edge-oriented embodied stack, not a simple VLM fine-tune.

Why it matters: Strong on HKR-H/K/R: the headline has a real hook, the body includes concrete numbers and training mechanisms, and the edge-robotics angle lands with practitioners. I keep it at 83, not 85+, because this is a high-quality embodied-model release, not a broad same-day industry-def

Apr 1Wednesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The gig workers who are training humanoid robots at home

Micro1 hires thousands of contractors across 50+ countries to film chores at home with iPhones and sell that real-world data to humanoid robotics companies. The piece cites $15/hour pay for one worker, says robotics firms spend over $100 million a year on such data, and notes $6 billion+ went into humanoids in 2025. The real issue is data governance: workers know the footage trains robots, but the post shows they often do not know how it is stored, shared, or deleted.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: at-home chore videos are a strong hook, and the piece adds numbers on scale, pay, and spend. The sharper industry signal is the hidden data pipeline and weak governance on storage, sharing, and deletion, so it merits featured, not p1.

Mar 5Thursday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Embodied AI company Pascini raises over RMB 1 billion in Series B, valuation tops RMB 10 billion

Pascini said it closed a Series B round of over RMB 1 billion, bringing its valuation above RMB 10 billion. Lead investors include Huangpujiang Capital, Kaitai Capital, and Xinan Capital; the post says Pascini will use 10-billion-scale real-world multimodal data to train its VTLA model, but does not disclose model details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the round size and valuation are the hook, and the brief gives concrete funding and data numbers. Score stays at 76 because this is a single-company funding flash; model capability, customers, and deployment progress are not disclosed.

Feb 27Friday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Embodied AI startup Zhongke Diwuji, which supplies the "brain" for Unitree, raised hundreds of millions of yuan

Zhongke Diwuji completed Pre-A and Pre-A+ rounds worth hundreds of millions of yuan within one month, and became a Unitree core ecosystem partner in Jan 2026. Since 2025, it has supplied the "brain" model for Unitree robots; the company says its FAM models use secondary pretraining and heatmap alignment to learn new tasks from 3-5 real-robot demos, with 97% success on basic tasks. The signal to watch is commercialization: it is moving from POC to power inspection, industrial handling, and retail deployments, charging robot OEMs per-device license.

Why it matters: Embodied AI plus a Unitree supplier angle gives HKR-H and HKR-R. The story adds company-reported facts—3-5 real-robot demos, 97% base-task success, per-robot licensing—so HKR-K passes; it stays below 85 because the funding size is vague and no third-party replication is disclosed

Ruan YiFeng's Weblog

Weekly for Technology Enthusiasts #386: When Delivery Workers Plug Into AI

Waymo placed a $6.25 task on a delivery platform to send a rider 1 km away to close a robotaxi door, with another $5 after completion. The post frames this as software dispatching human labor, not a one-off gig, and argues platform workers are becoming a human API inside automated workflows. The point to watch is the AI-plus-labor loop; the post does not disclose Waymo's scale, frequency, or formal product design.

Why it matters: Not a primary-source scoop, but the $6.25+$5 Waymo case makes the “humans as API” mechanism concrete. HKR-H/K/R all pass; score stays at the low end of featured because this is commentary and scale, frequency, and a formal product path are not disclosed.

Feb 26Thursday

New York Times Chinese

Where Is the U.S. Losing to China in AI?

The piece argues China has embedded AI into manufacturing, with 30,000+ smart factories, and over half of all industrial robots installed globally in 2024 going to Chinese plants. It cites shop-floor data: Zeekr's Ningbo plant uses 800+ robots, Xiaomi says its Beijing factory produces one car every 76 seconds, while only 18% of U.S. manufacturers report a formal AI strategy and two-thirds struggle to scale pilots. The real point is not frontier models but AI deployment in factory automation, scheduling, and inspection.

Why it matters: Data-backed commentary with all three HKR axes: a strong US-vs-China hook, concrete factory metrics, and direct resonance on AI deployment and competitiveness. Not a new product, model, or research release, so it stays in the low featured band.

Feb 10Tuesday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Embodied AI company Noematrix raises several hundred million yuan in Series A, with overseas funds joining

Noematrix closed a Series A worth several hundred million yuan, led by C Capital, with Sea Limited and Puhua Capital participating, and Prosperity7 Ventures increasing its stake. Founded in Nov. 2023, the company says its Noematrix Brain has been deployed on wheeled single-arm, wheeled dual-arm, and humanoid dual-arm robots in retail pharmacies and hotel laundries; the post does not disclose valuation or revenue. The sharper signal is its claimed hundreds of thousands of hours of real-robot data and its data-model-scenario loop.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the funding hook is strong, and the body adds real-world data plus deployed robot forms and scenarios. It stays at the low end of featured because this is still a single-company financing scoop, and valuation, revenue, and customer counts are not disclosed.

Jan 21Wednesday

NVIDIA Blog

Jensen Huang on AI’s “Five-Layer Cake” at Davos: the largest infrastructure buildout in human history

Jensen Huang said at Davos that global VC investment topped $100 billion in 2025, with most capital going to AI-native startups building the AI stack’s application and infrastructure layers. He described AI as a five-layer stack: energy, chips and computing infrastructure, cloud data centers, models, and applications, and cited a US nursing shortage of about 5 million where AI can handle charting and transcription. The key point for practitioners is that the bottleneck is not just models, but the full infrastructure and labor chain.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/R because Jensen's Davos framing is a strong, discussable hook for practitioners. HKR-K also passes on specific facts (> $100B VC, five-layer stack, 5M nurse gap), but it is still executive commentary, not a model or product launch, so it stays in the 78-84 band

Jan 20Tuesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The UK government is backing AI scientists that can run their own lab experiments

UK agency ARIA selected 12 AI scientist projects from 245 proposals, doubled its planned funding, and will give each team about £500,000 for nine months. ARIA defines an AI scientist as a system that hypothesizes, runs experiments, analyzes results, and iterates; the funded projects still rely on existing tools. The key signal is reproducible lab-loop execution, not press-release heat: one cited external study reports LLM agents failed to complete a scientific workflow 3 out of 4 times.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: 'AI runs its own lab experiments' is a strong hook, and the piece includes 12 teams, 245 proposals, ~£500k each, a 9-month term, and a cited 75% failure rate. Important for agentic science, but this is funding for early systems, not a proven breakthrough.

TheValley101 (硅谷101)

E221 | CES, Chinese brands going global, and whether we really need humanoid robots

At CES, Silicon Valley 101 discussed humanoid robot deployment and cited official figures: 21 of 38 humanoid exhibitors were Chinese companies. Guests noted Boston Dynamics plans Atlas deliveries in 2026 and 30,000 annual capacity by 2028, but argued scale claims do not prove product-market fit; in warehouses, wheeled bases plus arms often beat humanoids on ROI.

Why it matters: Featured on HKR-H/K/R: the contrarian humanoid question is clickable, the episode provides CES counts and Atlas production targets, and the ROI-vs-hype debate hits practitioners. Not higher because this is commentary with second-hand claims, not a primary-source release.