Skip to content

Embodied AI

AI in the physical world: humanoid robots, embodied foundation models and real-world manipulation.

Latest picks

121–140 of 167

May 8Friday

Synced · WeChat

ICLR 2026: NVIDIA and Purdue Use an Agentic Loop for Text-to-3D Scene Generation

NVIDIA Cosmos Lab and Purdue University proposed Scenethesis, a language-and-vision agentic framework for text-to-3D scene generation that uses visual grounding, SDF-based physical constraints, and a judge module; experiments report about 72% first-pass success, 91% after self-checking, and collision rate reduction from 6.1% to 0.8%.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: NVIDIA/Purdue plus an agent loop is clickable, and the post gives SDF constraints, a judge module, and 72%→91% results. Strong research signal, but not a product release, so it stays in 78–84.

May 6Wednesday

QbitAI · WeChat

Boston Dynamics executives exit as Atlas output is reported at four units per month

Boston Dynamics showed a new Atlas gymnastics demo, while the post says output is only four units per month. Atlas has 56 DoF, weighs 90 kg, runs four hours, and 2026 capacity is allocated to Hyundai RMAC and Google DeepMind. The key issue is scale: Hyundai targets 30,000 units yearly, but today’s rate needs over 200 years for 10,000.

Why it matters: HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R all pass: the hook is sharp, the piece has concrete production and spec numbers, and robotics scaling is a practitioner nerve. It stays below 85 because this is secondary reporting, not a major release.

May 3Sunday

QbitAI · WeChat

GS-Playground Embodied AI Simulation Framework Open-Sourced with High-Throughput 3DGS Rendering

Tsinghua AIR DISCOVER Lab and partners open-sourced GS-Playground, accepted by RSS 2026. On an RTX 4090, it reports 10,000 FPS at 640×480 and 2,048 parallel scenes; a 50-humanoid benchmark reaches 1,015 FPS. The key point is coupling batch 3DGS rendering with parallel physics.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the open-source RSS 2026 work reports concrete RTX 4090 throughput and parallel-scene numbers. The robotics-simulation scope is narrower than a model launch, so it fits the 78–84 band.

May 2Saturday

TechCrunch · AI

Meta buys robotics startup to bolster its humanoid AI ambitions

Meta acquired Assured Robot Intelligence; the deal value is undisclosed. ARI’s team and co-founders will join Meta Superintelligence Labs, after building humanoid robot foundation models for household chores and other physical labor. The key signal is Meta moving robot data and model work in-house.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the article gives acquisition, team destination, and research direction only; price, roadmap, and technical metrics are undisclosed. Meta's scale clears featured, not P1.

Bloomberg Technology

Meta Acquires Robotics AI Company to Help Build Humanoid Technology

Meta Platforms acquired Assured Robot Intelligence to advance humanoid robot technology. The startup develops AI models for robots; the post does not disclose price, team size, or product timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: Bloomberg reports Meta acquiring Assured Robot Intelligence for humanoid robotics, a competitive Big Tech move. HKR-K is weak because price, team size, and product timeline are not disclosed.

Apr 30Thursday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Chinese motor startup targets robot joint mass production with lower costs

Xiaoxiang Electric says its axial-flux motors have shipped nearly 70,000 units and entered Huawei, BYD, GAC, and Meituan supply chains. The post cites 1/3 lower size and weight at equal power, 97.5% efficiency, above-96% yield, and a planned 150,000-unit automated line this year. The key issue is joint-motor production, as joints make up 35%–45% of humanoid robot cost.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a supplier progress story, not a model or platform release. Concrete shipment, efficiency, yield, and BOM numbers put it at the featured threshold.

Synced · WeChat

After Generalist, Jianlan Luo’s Team Releases LWD for Embodied AI Training

Jianlan Luo’s team and Agibot released LWD, tested on 16 Agibot G1 robots in real settings. LWD Online scored 0.95 across 8 tasks and 0.91 on long-horizon tasks. Its offline-to-online RL uses failures as data; failed trajectories were 34.8% of a 652.5-hour pool.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: LWD has real-robot scale, task counts, success rates, and failure-trajectory share. Robotics is narrower than a foundation-model launch, so it lands at 78, not P1.

Apr 29Wednesday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

MotuBrain Tops WorldArena and RoboTwin2.0 Rankings

Shengshu MotuBrain scored 63.77 EWM on WorldArena and 95.8/96.1 on RoboTwin2.0 Clean/Randomized. The post says it extends Motus with video-action modeling, Latent Action VAE, MoT, and UniDiffuser for cross-embodiment long tasks. Track reproducibility: it does not disclose training scale, submission details, or real-robot success rates.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a single-source benchmark claim. Training scale, submission details, and real-robot success rates are not disclosed, so it stays below the 78+ band.

QbitAI · WeChat

ShengShu Technology Claims MotuBrain, a Dual-Benchmark Robot Brain for Long-Horizon Tasks

ShengShu Technology claimed MotuBrain on April 29 after it topped WorldArena and RoboTwin2.0 in mid-April. It scored 95.8 and 96.1 in RoboTwin2.0 Clean and Randomized settings, and a demo used 3 humanoid robots across 5 tasks. The key detail is its World Action Model: a video-action-language MoT design for cross-embodiment tasks beyond 10 atomic actions.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: the mystery-model reveal creates HKR-H, while benchmark scores and MoT details support HKR-K/R. Score stays at 82 because evidence is one report plus company demos, not independent deployment data.

TechCrunch · AI

Colby Adcock’s Scout AI Raises $100M to Train Models for War

Scout AI raised $100M to train AI agents for war scenarios. The post only says its training ground targets single-soldier control of autonomous vehicle fleets; it does not disclose round type, investors, or valuation.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: $100M, a war-agent bootcamp, and one-soldier vehicle formation control are concrete. Missing investors, valuation, and round details keep it below must-write range.

X · @dotey

HKUST, NUS, Oxford and others release an 88-page survey on world models

Over 10 universities released an 88-page survey proposing a “capability level × domain law” framework for world models. It reviews 400+ works and reports the best video models pass physical-consistency tests at only 26.2%. The key L3 case is A-Lab: 353 closed-loop experiments in 17 days, yielding 36 compounds.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the survey turns “world model” confusion into a testable taxonomy, with 400+ papers, a 26.2% physics-consistency rate, and A-Lab’s 353 trials in 17 days. Not a model launch, so it stays below the 85 band.

Apr 28Tuesday

QbitAI · WeChat

NTU REI-Bench Tests Vague Human Instructions, With Success Rates Dropping Up to 36.9%

NTU MARS Lab released REI-Bench, a benchmark with 9 ambiguity levels for vague human instructions. Tests used 4 robot planning frameworks and 6 small LLMs; LLaMA3.1-8B+SayCan fell from 57.7% to 46.9% in standard multi-turn context. The key issue is implicit reference resolution, where baseline success dropped 7.4% to 36.9%.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 36.9% drop is a strong hook, and the setup gives 9 ambiguity levels, 4 frameworks, and 6 models. This is a solid embodied-AI benchmark, not a major model release, so it fits the 78–84 band.

Latent Space

Physical AI that Moves the World — Qasar Younis & Peter Ludwig, Applied Intuition

Applied Intuition’s founders reviewed a 10-year physical AI path, with the company valued at $15B. The post cites 30+ products, 18 of the top 20 non-Chinese automakers as customers, and L4 driverless trucks in Japan. The key constraint is onboard deployment: millisecond latency, low power, small models, and safety validation.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the piece ties a major Physical AI company to real AV deployment with customer, valuation, and L4 details. No new model or major launch is disclosed, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

Apr 24Friday

Synced · WeChat

After robots beat humans in marathon times: hardware nears its limit, intelligence becomes the second half

Honor's humanoid robot Lightning ran 50:26 at the 2026 Beijing Yizhuang half marathon, faster than the men's human world record of 57:20; the post also says Unitree H1 did a 1.9 km winding course in 4:13. The post cites nearly 200 embodied-AI financings and over RMB 30 billion in Q1 2026, plus Spirit AI's $455 million Pre-A on April 16. The real signal is capital shifting from robot hardware to model-centric 'brains.'

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the human-vs-robot race result is a real hook, and the piece adds concrete funding numbers plus a clear thesis on value shifting from hardware to intelligence. It remains secondary commentary rather than a primary product, research, or company release, so it is

Bloomberg Technology

Bezos’ Physical AI Lab Has Closed Round at $38 Billion Value

Project Prometheus closed a $10 billion round at roughly a $38 billion valuation, led by Jeff Bezos with former Google executive Vik Bajaj. The RSS snippet discloses only the round size, valuation, and principals; the post does not disclose investors, product scope, or timing. The key signal is the scale: a single $10 billion round prices a physical AI lab at $38 billion.

Why it matters: Bloomberg provides a hard datapoint: Project Prometheus closed a $10B round at a $38B valuation, with Jeff Bezos attached, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. It stays below p1 because investors, product direction, and close timing are not disclosed.

Apr 23Thursday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Tashi Zhihang raises $455.0 million in a Pre-A round, with Sequoia China and Hillhouse jointly leading

Tashi Zhihang said on April 16 it closed a $455.0 million Pre-A round led by Sequoia China, Hillhouse Ventures, and Meituan, which the post says set China records for embodied AI single-round and Pre-A financing. The post also says its AWE3.0 four-modal model lifted unseen-view task success by 3x and cut execution jitter by about 45%, and that its A1 robot set a Guinness record in sub-millimeter wire-harness assembly within one hour. What matters is whether model, data, and deployment keep reproducing; the post does not disclose valuation or deal terms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the round size and investor mix are compelling, and the post includes concrete model and robot metrics. I keep it at 83, not P1, because key facts remain company-supplied; valuation, deal terms, and third-party validation are not disclosed.

Financial Times · Technology

Tesla boosts spending plans to $25bn as Musk doubles down on AI bet

Tesla raised its spending plan to $25bn, with Musk directing more capital toward AI-linked projects. The RSS snippet names self-driving taxis, trucks, robots, and chip factories, and says the increase will be “very significant”; the post does not disclose the time frame, line items, or model details. The key signal is that Tesla is funding a full stack, not just model training.

Why it matters: FT reports a concrete capex jump to $25bn tied to robotaxis, trucks, robots and chip factories. HKR-H/K/R all pass on scale and strategic relevance, but missing timing, line-item spend and model specifics keep it in mid-featured, not must-write.

Apr 21Tuesday

Synced · WeChat

Anonymous world model MotuBrain tops WorldArena and RoboTwin2.0

MotuBrain ranked first on both WorldArena and RoboTwin2.0, with a 63.77 EWM Score on WorldArena and 95.8/96.1 in RoboTwin Clean and Randomized settings. The post says it also leads Motion Quality, Flow Score, and Motion Smoothness, and averages 96.0 across 50 RoboTwin tasks versus 92.3 for second place; the post does not disclose its owner, model size, or training setup. The result matters because it supports a single-model path that combines world prediction with robot action, at least on benchmarks.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the anonymous double-#1 hook; HKR-K lands on concrete scores across WorldArena and RoboTwin; HKR-R lands on the embodied-AI nerve around one model doing prediction and action. I kept it in the low 80s because ownership, scale, training data, and reproducibility are

Apr 20Monday

QbitAI · WeChat

Sudo, valued above $2 billion, unveils embodied model Sudo R1 with zero real-robot data and ~98% first-try grasp success

Sudo unveiled embodied model Sudo R1 and says it achieved about 98% first-try grasp success in 200+ zero-shot tests with zero real-robot training data, nearing 100% within two attempts. The post says the 60-minute run covered 100+ unseen objects, including transparent, metallic, soft, and reflective items, using integrated world-model and reinforcement-learning training on a high-fidelity simulator. It also says Sudo is valued above $2 billion and is working with CATL, but the post does not disclose round size, benchmark protocol, or third-party validation.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the zero-real-data, zero-shot, 98% claim is novel and concrete, and it hits robotics' data-cost nerve. Kept below 85 because the metrics are self-reported; funding amount, benchmark definition, and third-party validation are not disclosed.

Synced · WeChat

In the first year of “deployment mode,” AgiBot expanded its rollout plans to seven solutions

AgiBot said at its April 17 Shanghai event that it released 4 robots, 6 AI models, and 7 standardized deployment solutions, and framed 2026 as the first year of embodied AI “deployment mode.” The post cites concrete metrics: Expedition A3 runs 8-10 hours, WITA Omni 1.0 targets sub-500ms interaction latency, and BFM was trained on 100 million-plus frames and 700 hours of motion-capture data; it also claims 5,100-plus shipments and 39% share in 2025, with the 10,000th robot rolling off in March 2026. The real point for practitioners is repeatable delivery rather than launch volume: the post lists 7 scenarios from 3C line loading to patrol, but independent validation details are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story leads with seven deployment playbooks and backs it with shipment, share, latency, and training figures. It stays at 76 because key outcome claims are company-sourced; customer impact and independent validation are not disclosed.