Skip to content

Reasoning

Progress in model reasoning: chain of thought, reasoning models, math and logic benchmarks and the debates around them.

Latest picks

521–540 of 585

Apr 16Thursday

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

Post-AGI may arrive within 50 years: Demis Hassabis on AlphaFold, three AI risk classes, and human value

Demis Hassabis said in a 1-hour interview that post-AGI scenarios can arrive within 50 years, while AGI should stay in labs for another 10-20 years. He cited concrete numbers: AlphaFold has been used by 3M+ scientists, Isomorphic Labs is running 18-19 drug programs, and the most urgent risks in the next 2-4 years are misuse and agent misalignment.

Apr 15Wednesday

X · @AnthropicAI

New Anthropic Fellows research: developing an Automated Alignment Researcher

Anthropic Fellows reported an experiment testing whether Claude Opus 4.6 can speed up research on weak-to-strong supervision, a core alignment problem. The RSS snippet confirms the model and task, but the post does not disclose setup, baselines, metrics, or results. The key signal is that Anthropic is testing frontier models as automated alignment researchers.

Why it matters: A credible Anthropic-source research teaser plus a novel safety angle clears HKR-H and HKR-R. HKR-K fails because the post discloses the direction and model only; setup, baselines, metrics, and results are not disclosed, so this sits near the featured threshold.

Apr 12Sunday

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

Breaking RLHF scaling bottlenecks: DeepMind raises data efficiency 10x with information-directed exploration

A Google DeepMind team reports that online RLHF plus information-directed exploration on Gemma 9B reaches about 55% win rate with under 20k preference labels, versus about 200k for offline RLHF. The post describes four algorithms—offline, periodic, online, and information-directed exploration; online training uses batches of 64 prompts and 16 sampled responses per prompt, while the ENN head adds under 5% parameters. The key point is methodological, not that RLHF failed; the post also says results use Gemini 1.5 Pro simulated feedback, and the 1000x gain is an extrapolation toward 1M labels.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 10x label-efficiency claim is a strong hook, and the post includes concrete setup details. I kept it at 77 because this is a secondary video summary, feedback is simulated with Gemini 1.5 Pro, and the 1000x figure is an extrapolation.

Apr 11Saturday

QbitAI · WeChat

Liu Zhuang and Danqi Chen team open-source Vero, a general visual reasoning RL framework, reaching SOTA with zero thinking data

Princeton researchers including Liu Zhuang and Danqi Chen open-sourced Vero, an RL framework for visual reasoning, and report beating Qwen3-VL-8B-Thinking on 23 of 30 benchmarks. The post says Vero uses 600K samples filtered from 59 datasets, task-routed rewards, and single-stage RL across six task groups. The key point is the mechanism mix: no private thinking data, but the post does not disclose training cost or base model configuration.

Why it matters: Featured on HKR-H/K/R: the zero-thinking-data claim is a strong hook, and the post includes concrete benchmark and method details. I keep it in the low 80s because training cost, base model choice, and full reproduction conditions are not disclosed.

Apr 10Friday

X · @claudeai

We're bringing the advisor strategy to the Claude Platform.

Claude is adding the advisor strategy to Claude Platform, with Opus as the advisor and Sonnet or Haiku as the executor. The RSS snippet says this yields near-Opus-level agent intelligence at lower cost; the post does not disclose pricing, benchmark scores, or rollout timing.

Why it matters: Anthropic ships a substantive Claude Platform update, and HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Opus-advisor plus Sonnet/Haiku-executor setup is novel, concrete, and directly relevant to agent builders. The score stays below P1 because price, benchmarks, and rollout timing are not disclosed.

Apr 9Thursday

X · @op7418

Meta releases Muse Spark model

Meta released the Muse Spark model with native multimodal reasoning, tool use, visual chain-of-thought, and multi-agent orchestration, but it is only available in the Meta AI app and is not open source for now. The snippet says its Contemplating mode coordinates multiple parallel agents for reasoning, and its Artificial Analysis score is below Gemini 3.1 Pro, GPT-5.4, and Claude Opus 4.6. The post does not disclose model size, pricing, or rollout timing.

Why it matters: A major-lab model launch plus the “poached team’s first output” angle lands HKR-H/K/R. The score stays near the featured floor because the post offers capability claims and relative benchmark placement only; params, pricing, rollout timing, and access scope are not disclosed.

Apr 4Saturday

Latent Space

Marc Andreessen introspects on The Death of the Browser, Pi + OpenClaw, and Why “This Time Is Different”

Marc Andreessen argues in a 76-minute interview that this AI cycle differs from 2016 because of reasoning, coding, agents, and recursive self-improvement. The post gives one concrete mechanism: Pi/OpenClaw as LLM + shell + filesystem + markdown + cron loop; it mentions “death of the browser,” but does not disclose a verifiable timeline or product plan. The sharper point is his Unix-like framing of file-backed agent state and portability.

Why it matters: This is a strong commentary piece, not a market-moving event. HKR-H comes from the browser-death hook, HKR-K from the Pi+OpenClaw mechanism, and HKR-R from the interface/distribution nerve; lack of roadmap, metrics, or launch details keeps it at the low end of featured.

Mar 31Tuesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

There are more AI health tools than ever—but how well do they work?

Microsoft launched Copilot Health this month, and Amazon expanded Health AI beyond One Medical; the piece also cites OpenAI’s ChatGPT Health and Anthropic’s Claude, showing consumer health chatbots are becoming a trend. Microsoft says Copilot gets 50 million health questions per day, but all six academics interviewed raised safety concerns over the lack of independent evaluation; the post cites a Mount Sinai study saying ChatGPT Health can over-recommend care for mild cases and miss emergencies. The key issue is external validation, not vendor-run benchmarks.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-K and HKR-R: it combines concrete scale, named critics, and Mount Sinai error modes around a high-risk AI vertical. HKR-H also lands through the 'more tools, but do they work?' tension, but this is trend reporting rather than a market-moving launch or breakthrough, so

Mar 20Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The Download: OpenAI is building a fully automated researcher, and a psychedelic trial blind spot

OpenAI says it plans to build an autonomous AI research intern by September 2026 for a small set of research problems, ahead of a multi-agent automated researcher targeted for 2028. The RSS snippet gives the timeline and staged plan, but the post does not disclose evals, compute budget, or research scope. The real question is whether the agent can produce verifiable research output.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the “fully automated researcher” hook, HKR-K on the two roadmap dates, and HKR-R on research-job substitution plus lab rivalry. It stays below must-write because the post does not disclose benchmarks, compute budget, or scope, so this is a strong roadmap signal, no

MIT Technology Review · AI

OpenAI is making a fully automated researcher its North Star

OpenAI made a “fully automated researcher” its multi-year North Star and plans an autonomous “AI research intern” by September for a small number of specific problems. The post says this roadmap combines reasoning, agents, and interpretability, with a multi-agent research system targeted for 2028; it does not disclose pricing, compute, or evaluation criteria. The real thing to watch is long-horizon execution and task decomposition, not the slogan.

Why it matters: This lands on HKR-H/K/R: the roadmap has a strong hook, new timelines, and a direct job-and-competition nerve. Kept at 84, not p1, because this is a reported strategy piece rather than a shipped product, and price, compute, and evals are not disclosed.

Mar 17Tuesday

Mistral AI

Mistral releases Mistral Small 4, unifying reasoning, multimodal and coding

Mistral AI released Mistral Small 4, the first Mistral model to unify Magistral reasoning, Pixtral multimodal and Devstral coding-agent abilities in a single model. It ships under the Apache 2.0 license.

Why it matters: Merging reasoning, multimodal and coding agents into one open model is a direct test of what unified models do to deployment cost.

Mar 13Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

The Download: how AI is used for military targeting, and the Pentagon's war on Claude

A US Defense Department official said the military can feed target lists into a classified generative AI system to analyze and rank strike priority, with humans reviewing the output. The title also says the Pentagon CTO called Claude a risk to the defense supply chain because of a built-in “policy preference”; the post does not disclose the exact model, timeline, or control mechanism. The key point is that generative AI is entering high-stakes decision loops while audit details remain undisclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the post links genAI directly to target-priority ranking and frames a Pentagon pushback against Claude over embedded policy preferences. Key facts—the model used, deployment timing, and audit controls—are not disclosed, so it stays in the low featured band.

Mar 12Thursday

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA Nemotron 3 Super delivers 5x higher throughput for agentic AI

NVIDIA launched Nemotron 3 Super, a 120B open model with 12B active parameters, and says it delivers up to 5x higher throughput for agentic AI. It has a 1M-token context window and uses hybrid MoE, latent MoE, and multi-token prediction; the post says Blackwell NVFP4 gives up to 4x faster inference than Hopper FP8, with over 10T training tokens disclosed. What matters is that NVIDIA is releasing open weights, training recipes, and RL environments for reproduction and fine-tuning.

Why it matters: This is a solid model-release story with all three HKR signals, led by strong HKR-K: parameter counts, active params, context length, training scale, and Blackwell/Hopper comparison are all concrete. It stays below 85 because the key performance claims come from NVIDIA's own blog

Mar 10Tuesday

OpenAI News

New ways to learn math and science in ChatGPT

OpenAI launched interactive math and science visualizations in ChatGPT on March 10, 2026, covering 70+ core concepts and rolling out globally across all plans. Users can adjust variables, manipulate formulas, and see graphs update in real time; OpenAI says 140 million people use ChatGPT weekly for math and science learning. The key point is productized interactivity, while the post does not disclose the underlying model, evaluation method, or outcome data.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the interactive-visual hook, HKR-K on 140M weekly learners plus 70+ concepts and live manipulation, and HKR-R on the product and edtech nerve. It is still a mid-weight product update; model details and learning-outcome evaluation are not disclosed, so it stays in a

Mar 5Thursday

OpenAI News

Reasoning models struggle to control their chains of thought, and that’s good

OpenAI frames an article around the claim that reasoning models struggle to control their chains of thought, and that this is a good thing. Only the title is available here, with no body text, so there are no verifiable numbers, methods, or mechanisms to summarize. The claim relates to reasoning and safety discussions, but any interpretation should stay limited to the headline.

Why it matters: OpenAI presents a contrarian but testable safety claim, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The excerpt shows the thesis, section headers, and paper link, but not the key numbers, setup, or limits, so this stays high featured rather than P1.

OpenAI News

GPT-5.4 Thinking System Card

OpenAI published the GPT-5.4 Thinking System Card on March 5, 2026 and says it is the latest GPT-5 reasoning model and the first general-purpose model with mitigations for high-capability cybersecurity. The post confirms the safety approach follows prior GPT-5 models and builds on measures used for GPT-5.3 Codex, but it does not disclose benchmark scores, mitigation details, or deployment conditions. The key signal is the risk threshold change: OpenAI has extended high-cyber mitigations to a general reasoning model.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: a new GPT-5 reasoning model and the first general-purpose model with high-capability cyber mitigations. It stays below p1 because the disclosed text does not provide eval scores, mitigation details, or deployment conditions.

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT for Excel and new financial data integrations

OpenAI launched ChatGPT for Excel beta on March 5, 2026, bringing GPT-5.4 into Excel workbooks and finance workflows. The post says it can build and update models, trace changes to cells, and is off by default for Enterprise and Edu admins; OpenAI's internal banking benchmark rose from 43.7% with GPT-5 to 87.3% with GPT-5.4 Thinking. The key move is data access: Moody’s, Dow Jones Factiva, MSCI, Third Bridge, and MT Newswires are live, while FactSet is listed as coming soon.

Why it matters: This is more than a routine add-on: OpenAI puts ChatGPT into Excel, names major finance data feeds, and cites a 43.7%→87.3% internal banking benchmark gain. HKR-H/K/R all pass; importance lands at 82 because this is a strong vertical workflow move, not a market-wide model release

Mar 3Tuesday

OpenAI News

GPT-5.3 Instant: Smoother, more useful everyday conversations

OpenAI released GPT-5.3 Instant on March 3, 2026 as an update to ChatGPT’s most-used model, aiming for fewer unnecessary refusals, fewer disclaimers, and more accurate everyday answers. The post shows one concrete contrast: GPT-5.2 Instant refused long-range archery trajectory help, while GPT-5.3 Instant requested parameters and gave a no-drag example at 300 fps (about 91 m/s), 45°, and 845 m; the key issue is the safety-boundary shift, while the post does not disclose benchmark scores, system card details, or API pricing.

Why it matters: OpenAI updated a core ChatGPT everyday model, and the story clears HKR-H/K/R because the refusal-boundary shift is concrete and widely relevant. The post includes a specific 5.2 vs 5.3 behavior example, but no system card, benchmark table, or API pricing, so it lands below the 85

Feb 27Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

AI is rewiring how the world’s best Go players think

AI has become standard in pro Go training in South Korea, and the piece says competing professionally without it is now essentially impossible. It cites two figures: Shin Jin-seo matches AI moves 37.5% of the time versus a 28.5% player average, and AlphaGo Zero beat AlphaGo Lee 100-0 after three days of training. The shift to watch is training, not hype: KataGo is now a common tool, opening moves often mirror AI for the first 50 turns, and even top players still cannot fully explain its choices.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the novelty is elite cognition shifting under AI, and the story brings concrete numbers plus a named tool. It is a reported commentary rather than a new model or product move, so it sits at the low end of featured.

Feb 26Thursday

OpenAI News

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory and OpenAI partner to accelerate federal permitting

OpenAI and Pacific Northwest National Laboratory evaluated coding agents on NEPA drafting tasks from 18 federal agencies, finding 1-5 hours saved per subsection, or about 15% less drafting time. The DraftNEPABench benchmark was designed with 19 experts and covers 102 tasks, using Codex CLI with GPT-5 for long-document synthesis, cross-checking, and structured writing. The key limit is explicit: this measures well-scoped drafting work, not full real-world permitting decisions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: federal permitting is an unusual hook; the post gives 19 experts, 102 tasks, and 1–5 hours saved; the debate is agents entering regulated workflows. Score stays below major product news because this is a scoped benchmark, not a shipped capability.