Skip to content

Reasoning

Progress in model reasoning: chain of thought, reasoning models, math and logic benchmarks and the debates around them.

Latest picks

501–520 of 585

Apr 23Thursday

X · @dotey

Microsoft makes Copilot Agent Mode the default in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint

Microsoft made Copilot Agent Mode the default experience in Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, available now to Microsoft 365 Copilot and Premium subscribers, including Personal and Family plans. Microsoft reports internal test gains: Excel engagement up 67% and approval up 65%, Word engagement up 52%, and PowerPoint new-user retention up 36%. What matters is that multi-step in-document execution is now the default, with preview and rollback controls.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the default flip is the hook, the post includes rollout scope, concrete pilot metrics, and preview/keep/revert controls, and the Office distribution angle will get discussed. I keep it at 84 because this is a large product update, not a new model release or

Apr 22Wednesday

r/LocalLLaMA

ServiceNow-AI/SuperApriel-15B-Instruct · Hugging Face

ServiceNow released SuperApriel-15B-Instruct, a single-checkpoint 15B model with 8 deployment presets spanning 1.0× to 10.7× decode throughput at 32K sequence length. It has 48 decoder layers with 4 mixer variants per layer and up to 262K context positions depending on runtime; the key point is that speed-quality tradeoffs and speculative decoding are exposed from the same weights.

Why it matters: A single checkpoint spanning 8 deployment presets with 1.0x-10.7x decode throughput gives strong HKR-H and HKR-K, and the serving tradeoff gives HKR-R. The blast radius is narrower: this is a 15B inference-focused release, not a frontier-lab flagship update, so 76 and featured.

Synced · WeChat

Transformer can be converted into Mamba: Apple uses cross-architecture distillation to make inference cost linear

Apple presents a two-stage cross-architecture distillation path that converts Pythia-1B Transformer into a 1B HedgeMamba, reaching 14.11 perplexity with 10B tokens, about 2.7% of the teacher data. The teacher scores 13.86 PPL, while direct Transformer-to-Mamba distillation jumps above 100; the method first aligns with Hedgehog linear attention, then maps into Mamba initialization and fine-tunes. The key point is the path, not one trick: long-context inference shifts from quadratic to linear cost, and the post says downstream results on ARC, PIQA, BoolQ, RACE, and LogiQA approach the teacher.

Apr 21Tuesday

Synced · WeChat

Monet: Enabling multimodal LLMs to reason in latent visual space

Monet trains Qwen2.5-VL-7B into Monet-7B to reason with continuous latent visual embeddings instead of external tools; the work is accepted by CVPR 2026 and releases paper, code, model, and a 125K SFT dataset. The method uses three-stage SFT plus VLPO reinforcement learning; the post reports 3% to 9.75% gains on in-distribution tasks and 2.31% on out-of-distribution abstract visual reasoning versus the base model. The key detail is the VLPO mechanism and dataset construction; the post does not disclose one unified table of absolute headline scores.

Why it matters: This hits HKR-H and HKR-K: the angle is abstract visual reasoning, and the post includes 125K SFT data, a 3-stage SFT setup, VLPO, and 3%–9.75% / 2.31% gains. HKR-R is weaker because full absolute leaderboard scores and real deployment evidence are not disclosed, so it lands as a

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT Images 2.0

OpenAI introduced ChatGPT Images 2.0 as a new image generation model, highlighting better text rendering, multilingual support, and visual reasoning. The RSS snippet names only these three upgrades; the post does not disclose architecture, resolution, pricing, latency, or availability. What matters is whether text fidelity and multilingual consistency improve in real use; for now, only headline-level details are disclosed.

Why it matters: A primary-source OpenAI image update clears HKR-H and HKR-R: the 2.0 label and text-rendering claim hit real workflows. HKR-K is weak because the post discloses only three upgrade areas; resolution, price, latency, architecture, and rollout are absent, so it stays just above the

Apr 20Monday

r/LocalLLaMA

Compared some models for feature planning

A Reddit user tested 9 models on planning a “load tracking” feature for a Go budgeting app, then used Claude Code to rank the generated specs, with Claude Opus 4.6 placed first. The table shows Opus 4.6 produced a 19 KB spec with 44 code reads at $2.47; GLM 5.1 ranked second and Qwen 3.6 35B fp8+vLLM ranked third. Do not treat this as a benchmark: the author says it is not representative, and the post does not disclose any manual quality review yet.

Why it matters: A named first-person test gives real workflow data, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The ceiling stays low: one task only, ranked by Claude Code itself, and no human acceptance result is disclosed, so this lands at the low end of featured.

Apr 18Saturday

QbitAI · WeChat

RAG retrieves the right docs but still answers wrong? Saarland University team diagnoses why | ACL 2026

A Saarland University-led team introduced Disco-RAG, adding a 3-step “reading” layer between retrieval and generation, and says the paper was accepted as an ACL 2026 main-conference long paper. The post says it uses RST-based argument trees, cross-passage relation graphs, and outline generation with zero training; it reports gains on Loong, ASQA, and SciNews, but does not fully disclose the exact scores. The key claim is that many RAG failures come from reading and discourse understanding, not retrieval recall.

Why it matters: This is a solid research release with HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R: a strong practical hook, a concrete mechanism, and a pain point RAG builders know well. I keep it at 80, not higher, because the post does not fully disclose benchmark numbers and external replication is still missing

Synced · WeChat

What is OpenAI prioritizing under compute limits?

Greg Brockman said OpenAI narrowed priorities under hard compute limits to two bets: a personal assistant and AI workers that solve hard user problems, and current compute cannot fully support both. The snippet says Sora resources were reduced while focus shifted to reasoning models, a unified AI layer, and the next base model Spud; it does not disclose the claimed compute budget, timeline, or model specs. The key point is not a B2B retreat but a compute-driven reprioritization.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the compute-ceiling angle is strong, the piece adds concrete priority shifts, and OpenAI roadmap triage hits cost and dependency nerves. It stays at 80 because this is secondary reporting; spend, timing, and technical details are not disclosed.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Claude Opus 4.7 splits users 48 hours after launch: benchmark lead, reasoning tests drop

Anthropic's Claude Opus 4.7 drew split reactions within 48 hours: Artificial Analysis scored it at 57, tied for No.1, while NYT Connections Extended fell from 94.7% on 4.6 to 41.0%. The post says a new tokenizer raises token usage to 1.0-1.35x on the same text, and old thinking parameters can return 400 errors; Anthropic also cites a 1753 Elo GDPval-AA score, 79 points above No.2. The real issue is migration cost and capability trade-offs, not a single leaderboard.

Why it matters: The signal is not the “backlash” framing but the four concrete shifts: benchmark lead, reasoning drop, higher token use, and API breakage. HKR-H/K/R all land, but this is secondary analysis 48 hours after launch, not the primary Anthropic release, so it stays below p1.

Financial Times · Technology

Months-old start-up Recursive raises $500mn for self-teaching AI

Recursive raised $500mn, and the headline says the company is building “self-teaching AI.” The body is empty, so beyond the firm being months old and the $500mn amount, the post does not disclose investors, valuation, or technical method. Those missing details matter more than the label.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R on one strong fact: a months-old AI startup raised $500mn. The score stays near the featured floor because the body does not disclose investors, valuation, or the mechanism behind the 'self-teaching AI' claim.

Apr 17Friday

Latent Space

[AINews] Anthropic Claude Opus 4.7 - one step better than 4.6 in every dimension

Anthropic launched Claude Opus 4.7 at the same $5/$25 per million input/output tokens; the post says 4.7-low through 4.7-high each outperform the matching higher 4.6 tiers. Reported changes include a new xhigh reasoning tier, Claude Code defaulting to xhigh, an 11-point gain on SWE-Bench Pro, and image input up to 2,576 px on the long edge (~3.75 MP). Do not overread the tokenizer change: the same input can use up to 35% more tokens, but the post says total token use still falls by up to 50% from prior equivalents.

Why it matters: Anthropic's flagship-model release fits the policy's 85–94 band. HKR-H/K/R all pass because the post gives concrete pricing, benchmark, image-limit, and token-accounting changes that hit Claude users' core coding and cost concerns.

X · @OpenAI

Introducing GPT-Rosalind, OpenAI's frontier reasoning model for biology, drug discovery, and translational medicine

OpenAI introduced GPT-Rosalind as a reasoning model for biology, drug discovery, and translational medicine research. The title and snippet disclose its intended domains; the post does not disclose size, benchmarks, availability, pricing, or launch timing. The key point is research targeting, but reproducible details are absent so far.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI announcement plus the unusual biology/drug-discovery positioning gives this HKR-H and HKR-R. HKR-K is weak because the post discloses only the model name and target domains; benchmarks, params, access, and launch timing are not disclosed, so it stays at the low

X · @dotey

Claude Opus 4.7 uses more thinking tokens, so Anthropic permanently raised rate limits for paid users

Anthropic permanently raised rate limits for all paid subscribers because Claude Opus 4.7 uses more thinking tokens than its predecessor. The post confirms the affected group but does not disclose the increase size, pricing rules, or rollout timing; users who do not see the change should verify they are on Opus 4.7 and have updated Claude Code.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Anthropic quota update for paying users, with all three HKR axes present: a strong surprise hook, a concrete operational fact, and direct resonance on usage limits. It stays at featured, not P1, because the post does not disclose the size of the increase, pr

X · @dotey

Official best practices for using Claude Opus 4.7 with Claude Code

Anthropic shared guidance for Claude Opus 4.7 in Claude Code: the default Effort level is now xhigh, and users should provide goals, constraints, and acceptance criteria upfront. The post lists five Effort tiers—low, medium, high, xhigh, and max—with xhigh recommended for most coding, API design, migration, and code review tasks. The key shift is behavior: adaptive thinking is built in, while tool use and SubAgent spawning are less frequent by default, so prompts should state those needs explicitly.

Why it matters: This is not a model launch, but an official Anthropic workflow note that changes day-to-day Claude Code usage: default effort, 5 levels, and fewer tool/SubAgent calls unless asked. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the scope is narrower than a major product release.

Apr 16Thursday

X · @op7418

Claude Code now supports Claude Opus 4.7

Claude Code now supports Claude Opus 4.7, and the RSS snippet confirms X-HIGH as the default reasoning level. The only concrete detail disclosed is that users must switch manually to Max if X-HIGH is insufficient. The post does not disclose pricing, rate limits, or launch timing.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Claude product update with all three HKR signals: a new model in Claude Code plus one concrete operational detail, X-HIGH vs. manual Max. I kept it below the top band because price, rate limits, and formal release timing are not disclosed.

Hacker News front page

Claude Opus 4.7 System Card

Anthropic published a 232-page system card for Claude Opus 4.7 on April 16, 2026, saying it outperforms Opus 4.6 but remains below the limited-release Claude Mythos Preview. The card says Opus 4.7 does not advance Anthropic’s capability frontier, catastrophic risk remains low, cyber capability is roughly similar to Opus 4.6, and it does not cross the threshold for automated AI R&D. The excerpt does not disclose benchmark scores or the new cybersecurity safeguard details.

Why it matters: This is not a flashy launch post, but it is a substantive Anthropic system card update. HKR-K is strong: Opus 4.7 beats 4.6, stays below automated AI R&D thresholds, and is roughly similar to 4.6 on cyber evals; HKR-R lands because Claude users track general-access model ceilings

X · @claudeai

Introducing Claude Opus 4.7, our most capable Opus model yet.

Claude introduced Opus 4.7 and describes it as its most capable Opus model so far. The RSS snippet gives three claims: better rigor on long-running tasks, more precise instruction following, and self-verification before replying; the post does not disclose benchmarks, context window, pricing, or rollout scope. What matters is whether those claims show up in public evals, not the tagline.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Anthropic model release and clears HKR-H/K/R: a new Opus, three testable behavior claims, and strong resonance with Claude-heavy practitioners. The score stays in the high 80s because benchmarks, pricing, context window, and rollout scope are not disclosed.

r/LocalLLaMA

Qwen3.6-35B-A3B released

Qwen released Qwen3.6-35B-A3B as open source under Apache 2.0; it is a sparse MoE with 35B total parameters and 3B active. The post also claims agentic coding, strong multimodal perception and reasoning, plus thinking and non-thinking modes; the post does not disclose benchmarks, context length, or latency.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a new open Qwen model is timely, and the post confirms 35B total, 3B active, and Apache 2.0. The score stays at 82 because this is still a launch post; benchmarks, context window, latency, and multimodal details are not disclosed here.

Hacker News front page

AI cybersecurity is not proof of work

antirez argues AI bug finding is bounded by model intelligence level I, not by brute-force sampling alone; for the same code, execution paths eventually saturate. His concrete example is the OpenBSD SACK bug: weaker models fail even with unlimited tokens because they do not connect window validation, integer overflow, and the NULL branch. The key variable is model quality and access speed, not just more GPU.

Why it matters: High-quality commentary with HKR-H from the contrarian headline, HKR-K from the OpenBSD SACK mechanism and firsthand test, and HKR-R because it hits the 'more sampling vs better models' debate in AI security. Not a product, research release, or multi-source event, so it stays mid

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-Rosalind for life sciences research

OpenAI released GPT-Rosalind on April 16, 2026, and made it available as a research preview in ChatGPT, Codex, and the API for qualified customers. The post says it targets biology, drug discovery, and translational medicine, and adds a free Codex life sciences plugin connecting to 50+ scientific tools and data sources. The real signal is deployment breadth: Amgen, Moderna, and Thermo Fisher Scientific are involved, but the post does not disclose model size, pricing, or benchmark scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because OpenAI is shipping a vertical life-sciences model; HKR-K lands on access paths and the 50+ tool/data plugin. HKR-R also lands on the domain-model debate, but missing params, pricing, and benchmark scores keep it at featured, not p1.