Skip to content

Reasoning

Progress in model reasoning: chain of thought, reasoning models, math and logic benchmarks and the debates around them.

Latest picks

481–500 of 585

Apr 29Wednesday

X · @OpenAI

A 60-Year-Open Erdős Problem Was Solved With Help From GPT-5.4 Pro

OpenAI says GPT-5.4 Pro helped solve an Erdős problem open for 60 years. The post names Sebastien Bubeck, Ernest Ryu, and Andrew Mayne, but does not disclose the problem name, proof details, or reproducible conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass because an OpenAI model aiding a 60-year Erdős problem is a strong AI-research hook. HKR-K fails: no problem name, proof details, or reproduction conditions are disclosed.

Apr 28Tuesday

QbitAI · WeChat

NTU REI-Bench Tests Vague Human Instructions, With Success Rates Dropping Up to 36.9%

NTU MARS Lab released REI-Bench, a benchmark with 9 ambiguity levels for vague human instructions. Tests used 4 robot planning frameworks and 6 small LLMs; LLaMA3.1-8B+SayCan fell from 57.7% to 46.9% in standard multi-turn context. The key issue is implicit reference resolution, where baseline success dropped 7.4% to 36.9%.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 36.9% drop is a strong hook, and the setup gives 9 ambiguity levels, 4 frameworks, and 6 models. This is a solid embodied-AI benchmark, not a major model release, so it fits the 78–84 band.

Synced · WeChat

ACL 2026: Huawei Taylor Lab Proposes SHAPE, Adding a Reasoning Tax to LLM Inference

Huawei Taylor Lab, Peking University, and Shanghai University of Finance and Economics proposed SHAPE, accepted by ACL 2026, with about 3% average accuracy gain. It uses entropy segmentation, short rollouts for potential estimation, dynamic length discounts, and token-level credit assignment, cutting token use by about 30%. The key mechanism is a reasoning tax: long high-potential late-stage segments are penalized to reduce verbose confirmation loops.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the paper gives testable gains of about +3% math accuracy and -30% tokens, with concrete mechanisms. It is a strong research item, not a same-day model-launch story.

Hacker News front page

Talkie: a 13B vintage language model from 1930

Nick Levine, David Duvenaud, and Alec Radford released Talkie, a 13B vintage LM trained only on pre-1931 text. The post shows a 24/7 Claude Sonnet 4.6 chat feed and tests surprise on nearly 5,000 NYT historical event descriptions. The key angle is temporal cutoff training as a probe of prediction, bias, and knowledge limits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the vintage-1930 framing is memorable, and the pre-1931 corpus plus ~5,000 NYT tests provide concrete substance. This is a strong research release, not a major frontier-model capability update, so it stays in 78–84.

TechCrunch · AI

DeepMind’s David Silver raised $1.1B to build AI that learns without human data

Ineffable Intelligence raised $1.1B at a $5.1B valuation. The British AI lab was founded months ago by former DeepMind researcher David Silver. The title says it targets AI that learns without human data; the post does not disclose the mechanism.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a David Silver lab raised $1.1B at a $5.1B valuation around human-data-free learning. No mechanism or reproducible setup is disclosed, so it stays below the 95+ band.

Apr 27Monday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

First Spatio-Temporal Time-Series Reasoning Framework for LLMs | ACL'26

Emory University, Microsoft, and partners introduced STReasoner for spatio-temporal time-series reasoning, with ST-Bench covering four task types. It uses Network SDE plus Multi-Agent data generation, then Align, SFT+CoT, and S-GRPO training. The article claims inference cost is 0.004× closed models, with code on GitHub.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-K pass: the story has a “first framework” hook plus ST-Bench, S-GRPO, 0.004× cost, and code release. HKR-R is weak because spatiotemporal reasoning is a narrower research lane.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Five Months After Altman’s Code Red, GPT Image 2 Tops Arena Image Rankings

GPT Image 2 topped three Arena image charts within 12 hours, scoring 1512 in text-to-image and beating Nano Banana 2 by 241 points. Arena calls it the largest Image Arena gap, with 93% blind-test wins and a 316-point text-rendering gain. The key shift is native thinking: planning, self-checking, web search, and 8 coherent images per run.

Why it matters: OpenAI GPT Image 2 topping three Arena image boards is a major multimodal update. HKR-H/K/R all pass, backed by concrete numbers: 1512 score, +241 lead, 93% blind win rate.

QbitAI · WeChat

Stanford-led LLM-as-a-Verifier claims SOTA on Terminal-Bench 2.0

Stanford, Berkeley and Nvidia introduced LLM-as-a-Verifier, claiming SOTA on Terminal-Bench 2.0 and SWE-Bench Verified. It selects trajectories via score-token granularity, repeated checks and criteria decomposition; ForgeCode accuracy reached 86.4%.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Stanford, Berkeley, and NVIDIA offer a concrete verifier mechanism and benchmark numbers. It is still a benchmark research release, not a major model or product launch, so it fits the 78–84 band.

Apr 26Sunday

Hacker News front page

DeepSeek-V4 on Day 0: From Fast Inference to Verified RL with SGLang and Miles

SGLang and Miles added day-0 inference and RL support for DeepSeek-V4, covering 1.6T Pro and 284B Flash. The post cites a 1M-token context, FP4 MoE expert weights, 128-token SWA, and 4:1 or 128:1 KV compression. The key systems detail is ShadowRadix coherence across three KV pools and two compression-state pools.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a DeepSeek-V4 day-0 systems stack, concrete context/compression mechanisms, and clear deployment-cost stakes. The systems depth narrows reach, but no hard-exclusion rule is triggered.

Hacker News front page

Amateur armed with ChatGPT solves an Erdős problem

Liam Price used GPT-5.4 Pro on one prompt to solve a 60-year Erdős problem. Price is 23 and lacks advanced math training; the proof was posted on erdosproblems.com. The post is truncated and does not disclose the full conjecture or peer-review status.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the amateur-one-prompt angle is rare, and GPT-5.4 Pro plus erdosproblems.com gives checkable facts. Held to 86 because the excerpt omits the full conjecture and peer-review status.

Apr 25Saturday

Latent Space

DeepSeek V4 Pro and Flash released, runnable on Huawei Ascend chips

DeepSeek released V4 Pro and V4 Flash, with 1.6T/49B active and 284B/13B active parameters. Both support 1M-token context, Base/Instruct variants, and an MIT license; the report claims 27% FLOPs and 10% KV cache versus V3.2 at 1M tokens. The key point is Huawei CANN compatibility, not just benchmarks, because it reduces CUDA dependence.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a major DeepSeek release adds concrete specs, 1M context, MIT licensing, and Huawei Ascend support. This sits in the 85–94 must-write band, with hardware independence pushing it upward.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Anthropic’s Three Experiments in Claude-Run Commerce: From a Fridge to a Market

Anthropic ran 3 Claude commerce experiments in 12 months, spanning a mini-fridge, a multi-agent store, and a 69-person Slack market. Project Deal closed 186 trades; Opus sellers earned $2.68 more than Haiku, while Opus buyers paid $2.45 less. The key signal: weaker-model users did not perceive the loss.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Anthropic’s real-commerce agent tests include transaction counts, model deltas, and failure cases. It is a strong research analysis, not a new model launch, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

MIT Technology Review · AI

Three reasons why DeepSeek’s new model matters

DeepSeek released a V4 preview with two versions: V4-Pro and V4-Flash. V4-Pro costs $1.74/M input tokens and $3.48/M output tokens; V4-Flash is about $0.14/$0.28, and both support 1M-token context. The key point is attention efficiency and open weights pressuring agentic coding costs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek V4 is a domestic flagship release with 1M context, two price tiers, and open-weight cost pressure. The preview status keeps it below a full GPT/Claude major release, but it is same-day material.

X · @AnthropicAI

New Anthropic research: Project Deal

Anthropic announced Project Deal and had Claude buy, sell, and negotiate for employees in a San Francisco office marketplace. The setup is confirmed as an internal marketplace; the post does not disclose scale, model version, or outcome metrics.

Why it matters: This clears featured on HKR-H and HKR-R: Anthropic has attention weight, and an agent negotiating office deals is inherently discussable. It stays mid-band because HKR-K is weak; the post gives the setup, but not sample size, model version, success metrics, or controls.

Apr 24Friday

TechCrunch · AI

DeepSeek previews new AI model that ‘closes the gap’ with frontier models

DeepSeek previewed two new models and said architectural changes make them more efficient and higher-performing than DeepSeek V3.2, while nearly closing the gap with leading models on reasoning benchmarks. The RSS snippet discloses only that there are two models and that they outperform V3.2; model names, parameter counts, benchmark scores, test sets, and release timing are not disclosed. The key question is reproducible evals, because “closes the gap” comes without numbers.

Why it matters: A new-model preview from DeepSeek, a flagship Chinese lab, clears HKR-H and HKR-R on competitive relevance alone. HKR-K is weak because the story gives only 'two models' and 'better than V3.2' while model names, benchmark scores, test sets, and release timing are not disclosed,so

QbitAI · WeChat

Claude admits three issues: downgraded reasoning, cleared memory, and constrained output

Anthropic said on April 23 that three Claude issues hurt quality: Claude Code default reasoning was changed from high to medium on March 4 while the UI still showed high. A March 26 cache bug cleared thinking state every turn for 15 days, and an April 16 prompt limit of 25 words between tool calls and 100 words in final replies cut Opus 4.6/4.7 by 3% before a rollback four days later.

Why it matters: This is an Anthropic postmortem on Claude regressions, not generic complaint content. HKR-H/K/R all land: strong hook, three dated and testable facts, and a direct hit on transparency, billing, and silent-downgrade nerves; still below a major model launch, so 82.

X · @dotey

DeepSeek releases and open-sources V4 preview; 1M context is standard across all services

DeepSeek released and open-sourced the V4 preview, making 1M context standard across all official services with no tier or price split. The post says V4-Pro and V4-Flash use token compression plus DSA sparse attention to cut compute and memory costs for 1M context; legacy APIs remain for 3 months and stop after July 24.

Why it matters: DeepSeek is a flagship Chinese model vendor, and this V4 preview is a substantive release with open source and 1M context made standard across official services. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post includes mechanisms and a migration deadline, and the tier reset makes it a same-day P1.

X · @dotey

OpenAI launches GPT-5.5 for paid ChatGPT and enterprise users, with Codex; API coming soon

OpenAI launched GPT-5.5 for ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise users, alongside Codex. OpenAI says per-token latency matches GPT-5.4, while Terminal-Bench 2.0 rises to 82.7% from 75.1%; API pricing is $5 per 1M input tokens and $30 per 1M output tokens with a 1M-token context. The key detail is efficiency: the post says GPT-5.5 uses about half the total tokens of frontier rival coding models at the same intelligence level.

Why it matters: This is a core OpenAI model release with benchmark, pricing, and 1M-context details, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The title says the API is “coming soon” while the summary lists API pricing; that mismatch trims confidence slightly, but it still belongs in the must-write p1 band.

X · @OpenAI

Introducing GPT-5.5

OpenAI introduced GPT-5.5, and it is now available in ChatGPT and Codex. The RSS snippet says it targets real work and agents, can understand complex goals, use tools, check its work, and carry more tasks to completion; the post does not disclose parameters, pricing, context window, or benchmark results. What matters is the execution loop, not the headline's “new class of intelligence.”

Why it matters: OpenAI launching GPT-5.5 in ChatGPT and Codex is same-day mandatory coverage. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new model release, concrete agent-workflow claims, and direct impact on daily AI work. Price, context window, params, and benchmarks are undisclosed, so it stays below 95.

Apr 23Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5.5

OpenAI introduced GPT-5.5 and says it targets complex cross-tool tasks such as coding, research, and data analysis. The RSS snippet only confirms “faster” and “more capable”; the post does not disclose benchmarks, context window, pricing, release timing, or availability, which are the details practitioners should watch.

Why it matters: An OpenAI flagship-model release is same-day news, so HKR-H and HKR-R are clear. HKR-K fails because the post discloses the name and use cases but not benchmarks, context window, price, or availability, so this stays featured rather than p1.