Skip to content

Reasoning

Progress in model reasoning: chain of thought, reasoning models, math and logic benchmarks and the debates around them.

Latest picks

461–480 of 585

May 4Monday

TechCrunch · AI

In Harvard Study, AI Gave More Accurate ER Diagnoses Than Two Doctors

A Harvard study compared LLMs with two doctors on ER diagnoses; at least one model was more accurate. The post does not disclose model names, sample size, or accuracy rates.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Harvard tested LLM diagnosis on real ER cases against two doctors. Missing model names, sample size, and accuracy keep it at the featured threshold, not 78+.

May 3Sunday

r/LocalLLaMA

LLM proxy that lets Claude Code talk to any model

DataNebula released open-source rosetta-llm, letting Claude Code call multiple providers through one gateway. It translates Anthropic Messages, OpenAI Chat, and OpenAI Responses, and round-trips encrypted reasoning via the signature field. The key detail is thinking-block fidelity for multi-turn agent prompt-cache hits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Reddit open-source tool post with no adoption, stars, or benchmark data disclosed. Score stays in the mid-weight tooling band, not 78+.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Stanford Nature Study: AI Designs 16 Phages from Scratch

Stanford and Arc Institute used Evo to design 302 phage genomes; 16 infected, replicated, and lysed E. coli. Evo 2 uses StripedHyena 2 with a 1M-base context; Evo-Φ69 expanded 16–65× in 6 hours. The key issue is biosafety: one capsid protein had no known homolog in existing life.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: AI-made viable phage genomes, concrete 302/16/1M-bp details, and a clear biosecurity nerve. Score stays at 82 because it is still an AI+life-science paper, not a direct AI product or developer workflow update.

QbitAI · WeChat

DeepSeek V4’s biggest omission

DeepSeek V4’s technical report omits Engram while listing mHC, CSA, HCA, Muon, and FP4. Engram was open-sourced by DeepSeek and Peking University in January, inserting lookup modules between Transformer layers 2 and 15; its 27B test raised MMLU by 3.4 and Multi-Query NIAH to 97.0%. The engineering signal is CXL pooling: 8 servers shared a 4TB memory pool with under 5% throughput loss.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the omitted-Engram angle is clickable, with layer ranges, benchmark deltas, and CXL memory-pool numbers. It is analysis, not the V4 launch itself, so 78–84 fits.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI's o1 correctly diagnosed 67% of ER patients vs. 50–55% by triage doctors

OpenAI o1 correctly diagnosed 67% of ER triage patients, versus 50–55% for doctors. The title cites a Harvard trial, but the RSS post does not disclose sample size, case mix, or evaluation protocol. Practitioners should track the test setup, not only the accuracy gap.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a high-risk ER comparison gives the hook, 67% vs 50–55% gives a testable number, and clinical trust/safety creates resonance. Missing sample size and protocol keep it in 78–84, not P1.

May 1Friday

r/LocalLLaMA

MiMo-V2.5-Pro: the actual best open-weights model

Reddit user cjami benchmarked Xiaomi MiMo-V2.5-Pro in autonomous Blood on the Clocktower games. It scored 88% as Good and 48% as Evil, with 183,639 output tokens per game, $0.99 cost, and a 0.4% tool-call error rate. The key comparison is Kimi K2.6: 580,000 tokens, $2.65, and 10–15 hours per game.

Why it matters: Single Reddit benchmark limits authority, so this is not a model-release story. HKR-H/K/R all pass via a named test with win rates, token counts, cost, and tool-error data, placing it in the 78–84 featured band.

Synced · WeChat

The Evolution of RL: From PPO to MaxRL in LLM Reasoning Training

Jiqizhixin translated Alexander Weers' article on RL algorithms for LLM reasoning from 2024 to 2026. It covers REINFORCE, PPO, GRPO, RLOO, Dr. GRPO, DAPO, CISPO, MaxRL, DPPO, and ScaleRL, comparing critic removal, clipping, normalization, and pass@k goals. The key signal is mechanism choice, not algorithm names.

Why it matters: A strong technical explainer, not a model or paper release. HKR-H comes from the PPO→MaxRL arc, HKR-K from concrete mechanism comparisons, and HKR-R from live RL-recipe choices; the higher technical bar keeps it in low featured.

Synced · WeChat

Researchers Estimate GPT, Claude, and Gemini Parameter Counts Using API Calls

Bojie Li posted IKP on arXiv to estimate parameter counts of 188 LLMs from 27 vendors via black-box API calls. The dataset has 1,400 questions across 7 rarity tiers, fitted on 89 open models with R²=0.917. Debate centers on synthetic data, MoE effects, and a 90% interval of 0.3x to 3x.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: API-only parameter inference is a strong hook, with concrete counts and error bounds. The 0.3–3x CI limits confidence, so this fits 78–84 featured, not P1.

QbitAI · WeChat

Peking University Open-Sources Unified World Model Framework for Synthesis and Reasoning Tasks

Peking University DCAI and Kuaishou Kling open-sourced OpenWorldLib for four task types: video generation, 3D modeling, VLA control, and multimodal reasoning. Its Pipeline coordinates Operator, Reasoning, Synthesis, Representation, and Memory modules, supporting forward and stream execution. The key test is whether unified interfaces cut cross-task reproduction cost.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post gives a concrete open-source framework, task scope, modules, and inference modes. It lacks benchmark results, adoption data, or major ecosystem integration, so it stays at 78.

Apr 30Thursday

r/LocalLLaMA

My calculator is a transformer

radarsat1 shows an RPN interpreter compiled into Transformer weights; “2 3 + 2 *” returns 10. The residual stream acts as registers, attention weights are compiler-calculated, while nonlinear MLP logic is still trained. The prototype is 1.1 GB; the key point is calculable attention weights, not a practical calculator.

Why it matters: HKR-H comes from the counterintuitive title; HKR-K has a reproducible input, weight-construction mechanism, and 1.1GB figure. HKR-R is real but niche, so this stays just above featured threshold, below 78.

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek released Thinking with Visual Primitives framework

DeepSeek, Peking University, and Tsinghua released the Thinking with Visual Primitives paper and repository. The framework inserts coordinate points and bounding boxes into chain-of-thought; the post does not disclose benchmark scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is visual primitives inside reasoning, the new fact is point/box CoT plus an open repo, and the audience cares about grounded VLMs. No benchmark scores are disclosed, so it stays at 80, not P1.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

AI Raw Proofs Pile Up on GitHub as Terence Tao Says Solving Alone Is Not Enough

Terence Tao says math is shifting from proof scarcity to proof abundance, with 20-plus AI solutions pending assessment on an Erdős problems GitHub page. The post says GPT-5.4 Pro generated an Erdős #1196 approach in 80 minutes, and Tao verified the core within 24 hours. The key issue is verification and digestion workflow, not raw proof count.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: Tao plus GitHub proof backlog gives HKR-H, while 20+ pending AI solutions and an 80-minute GPT-5.4 Pro claim give HKR-K. This is not a model release, so it stays below 85.

Synced · WeChat

ACL 2026 Survey: Intrinsic Interpretability Moves LLMs from Post-hoc Analysis to Design

ACL 2026 Main accepted a survey on intrinsic interpretability for LLMs, grouping methods into five design paradigms. It covers functional transparency, concept alignment, decomposable representations, explicit modularization, and latent sparsity induction, with MoE, CBM, and GLU/SwiGLU examples. The key test is whether interpretable parts sit on the model’s computation path, not outside it.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the survey has a clear framing shift, five named mechanisms, and safety/debugging relevance. It is a useful research release, not a model launch or empirical breakthrough.

Synced · WeChat

Alec Radford tests Hassabis’s AGI challenge with a model trained on pre-1931 data

Alec Radford’s team trained 13B talkie on 260B English tokens dated before 1931. They tested surprise on nearly 5,000 historical events and used HumanEval for lower-contamination code evaluation. The key issue is time leakage: the 13B model still has vague post-WWII knowledge.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 1930 cutoff is a sharp hook, the post gives 260B tokens and ~5,000 event tests, and the finding targets data leakage. This is strong research, not a model or platform release, so 78–84 fits.

r/LocalLLaMA

inclusionAI/Ling-2.6-1T · Hugging Face

inclusionAI open-sourced Ling-2.6-1T on Hugging Face, with 1 trillion parameters. It uses MLA plus Linear Attention and Contextual Process Redundancy Suppression to reduce CoT overhead. The post cites AIME26 and SWE-bench Verified but does not disclose scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but benchmark scores for AIME26 and SWE-bench Verified are not disclosed. A 1T open model with a named architecture mechanism fits featured, not P1.

Dwarkesh Patel podcast

Reiner Pope: The Math Behind How LLMs Are Trained and Served

Dwarkesh interviewed Reiner Pope in a 1-session blackboard lecture on LLM training and serving. The post lists 7 timestamps on batch size, MoE rack layout, pipeline parallelism, KV cache, and API pricing. The key mechanism is cost: without batching, serving economics can be 1,000x worse.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 1000x batching cost hook, concrete serving mechanics, and inference-cost resonance are strong. This is a high-quality tutorial, not a same-day industry event, so it stays at 77.

Apr 29Wednesday

r/LocalLLaMA

mistralai/Mistral-Medium-3.5-128B · Hugging Face

Mistral AI released Mistral Medium 3.5 128B on Hugging Face, with 128B dense parameters and a 256k context window. It supports text and image input, function calls, JSON output, and a Modified MIT License with exceptions for high-revenue firms. Reasoning effort is configurable as none or high per request.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass for a major Mistral model release with concrete specs. It stays at 84 because benchmarks, pricing, and reproducible tests are not disclosed in the body.

r/LocalLLaMA

SenseNova-U1: Unifying Multimodal Understanding and Generation with NEO-Unify Architecture

SenseNova released SenseNova-U1 with 4 MoT multimodal models. The post lists 8B and A3B variants with GitHub and HuggingFace weight links. The key claim is a monolithic architecture instead of adapters; benchmarks are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: open weights, 4 MoT multimodal models, and a single architecture are concrete. Benchmarks are not disclosed, and the source is Reddit, so this stays in the 72–77 featured-threshold band.

r/LocalLLaMA

Qwen3.6 27B on Dual RTX 5060 Ti 16GB with vLLM: ~60 tok/s, 204k Context Working

A user ran Qwen3.6 27B with vLLM on dual RTX 5060 Ti 16GB cards, reaching ~62–66 tok/s at 8K. The setup used 32GB VRAM, TP=2, fp8 KV cache, MTP 3 tokens, and a 204800 context window. The tight part is memory: after a 168k prefill, each GPU used ~15.65GiB with max_num_seqs=1.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post gives a concrete local-inference benchmark with hardware, vLLM settings, speed, and context limits. Single Reddit sourcing caps it below the 78–84 band.

X · @dotey

HKUST, NUS, Oxford and others release an 88-page survey on world models

Over 10 universities released an 88-page survey proposing a “capability level × domain law” framework for world models. It reviews 400+ works and reports the best video models pass physical-consistency tests at only 26.2%. The key L3 case is A-Lab: 353 closed-loop experiments in 17 days, yielding 36 compounds.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the survey turns “world model” confusion into a testable taxonomy, with 400+ papers, a 26.2% physics-consistency rate, and A-Lab’s 353 trials in 17 days. Not a model launch, so it stays below the 85 band.