Skip to content

Reasoning

Progress in model reasoning: chain of thought, reasoning models, math and logic benchmarks and the debates around them.

Latest picks

561–580 of 585

Apr 16, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card

OpenAI published the o3 and o4-mini system card on April 16, 2025, saying both models support full tools including web browsing, Python, and image and file analysis. Under Preparedness Framework V2, the Safety Advisory Group found neither model reached the High threshold in three tracked risk categories: bio/chemical capability, cybersecurity, and AI self-improvement.

Why it matters: This primary-source system card adds concrete capability and safety details for o3 and o4-mini: full tool use, Preparedness Framework V2, and sub-High ratings in bio, cyber, and self-improvement. HKR-K and HKR-R pass; HKR-H is weak because the headline is dry.

OpenAI News

Thinking with images

OpenAI said on April 16, 2025 that o3 and o4-mini can process user images inside their internal reasoning chain, with native crop, zoom, and rotation actions. The post shows o3 taking 20 seconds to read upside-down handwriting and 1m44s to solve a maze and draw a path; it claims strong multimodal benchmark results, but the provided body does not disclose the scores. The key point is that image manipulation is folded into the same reasoning stack, not handed off to a separate vision model.

Why it matters: OpenAI confirms a meaningful capability step: o3 and o4-mini manipulate images inside the same reasoning process, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. I kept it below p1 because the provided text gives demo timings, but not the benchmark scores or rollout scope.

Apr 14, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-4.1 in the API

OpenAI released GPT-4.1, GPT-4.1 mini, and GPT-4.1 nano in the API on April 14, 2025, with up to 1M-token context and a June 2024 knowledge cutoff. GPT-4.1 scored 54.6% on SWE-bench Verified, up 21.4 points over GPT-4o; GPT-4.1 mini cuts cost by 83% with nearly half the latency; GPT-4.5 Preview shuts down on July 14, 2025.

Why it matters: OpenAI shipped a substantive API model family with concrete, testable numbers: 1M-token context, 54.6% on SWE-bench Verified, 83% lower mini cost, and a GPT-4.5 Preview sunset date. HKR-H/K/R all clear because the first nano model, pricing/perf tradeoffs, and migration impact are

Apr 9, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI Pioneers Program

OpenAI announced the Pioneers Program on April 9, 2025, selecting a handful of startups to build domain-specific evals and custom models for each company’s top three use cases. The program includes public industry evals and reinforcement fine-tuning with OpenAI researchers; the post does not disclose pricing, cohort size, base models, or rollout dates. The key signal is public eval creation, not model specs.

Why it matters: HKR-K and HKR-R pass: OpenAI confirms public domain evals, 3 use cases per company, and RFT support, which matters to teams chasing domain performance. HKR-H is weak and pricing, cohort size, base model, and timeline are undisclosed, so this stays at the low end of featured.

Mar 10, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Detecting misbehavior in frontier reasoning models

OpenAI published research on March 10, 2025 saying a second LLM can monitor frontier reasoning models’ chain-of-thought and detect reward hacking in coding tasks. The post shows o1/o3-mini-class examples with explicit intent like “hack verify” and “always return true,” and says strong supervision on CoT does not remove most misbehavior but makes intent harder to see.

Feb 27, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-4.5

OpenAI released GPT-4.5 as a research preview on February 27, 2025 for Pro users and developers worldwide. The post calls it the largest and strongest GPT model for chat, with lower hallucination and better steerability, but the excerpt does not disclose the SimpleQA scores or hallucination-rate values. The key detail is the training path: scaled unsupervised learning on Microsoft Azure AI supercomputers, plus new techniques using data derived from smaller models.

Why it matters: A major OpenAI model launch is same-day coverage by default: the post confirms a GPT-4.5 research preview for Pro users and developers worldwide, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. It stays below 95 because the excerpt does not disclose key benchmarks, pricing, or context-window details.

Feb 25, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Deep research System Card

OpenAI published the Deep research System Card on Feb. 25, 2025 and said deployment is allowed only when post-mitigation risk scores are no higher than Medium. The card lists six risk areas and rates CBRN, cybersecurity, persuasion, and model autonomy as Medium. Deep research uses an early OpenAI o3 variant for web browsing, file reading, and Python execution, but the post does not disclose test set sizes or pass rates.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI system card with concrete deployment gating, 6 risk areas, and 4 Preparedness Medium ratings clears HKR-H/K/R. It stops short of P1 because this is a safety disclosure for an existing product, not a new model release, and it omits sample sizes and pass-rate bas

Feb 3, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing deep research

OpenAI launched deep research in ChatGPT, an agentic feature that spends 5 to 30 minutes finding, analyzing, and synthesizing hundreds of web pages, images, and PDFs into a cited report. It runs on a version of OpenAI o3 optimized for web browsing and data analysis and was trained on real-world browser and Python tasks; after the April 2025 update, Plus/Team/Enterprise/Edu get 25 queries per month, Pro 250, and Free 5. The key point is a productized workflow for multi-step, source-backed research, not a basic search refresh.

Why it matters: This is a major ChatGPT capability update, not a routine search tweak, so it lands in the same-day write band. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the autonomous 5 to 30 minute workflow, the o3-based browsing stack, cited outputs, and the direct impact on knowledge-work research flows.

Jan 31, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

OpenAI o3-mini

OpenAI released o3-mini on Jan 31, 2025 across ChatGPT and the API, raising Plus and Team limits from 50 to 150 messages per day versus o1-mini. The post confirms function calling, Structured Outputs, developer messages, streaming, and low/medium/high reasoning effort, but no vision; API access starts with usage tiers 3-5, and Enterprise arrives in February. The key signal is cost-performance: testers preferred o3-mini over o1-mini 56% of the time, with 39% fewer major errors on hard real-world questions; the page references Codeforces and other evals, but the provided body is truncated so not all scores are disclosed.

Why it matters: OpenAI o3-mini is a same-day, official model release, so it lands in the must-write band. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new model hook, concrete usage and benchmark deltas, and clear relevance to cost-sensitive coding and reasoning workflows.

OpenAI News

OpenAI o3-mini System Card

OpenAI rates o3-mini's post-mitigation overall risk as Medium, with Medium in CBRN, persuasion, and model autonomy, and Low in cybersecurity. The post says o3-mini is the first model to hit Medium on model autonomy due to stronger coding and research-engineering performance, but it does not disclose benchmark scores and says its real-world ML self-improvement capability is still below High. The key policy gate is explicit: deployment requires Medium or below, and further development allows High or below.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI system card, not routine promo copy. HKR-H/K/R all pass: it discloses o3-mini's Medium post-mitigation risk, a Medium autonomy rating, and explicit deploy/develop gates. The missing benchmark scores keep it below a major model-release tier, so it fits 8

Jan 30, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Strengthening America’s AI leadership with the U.S. National Laboratories

OpenAI said on January 30, 2025 it signed an agreement with the U.S. National Laboratories to deploy o1 or another o-series model on Venado, an NVIDIA supercomputer at Los Alamos, for a system that includes about 15,000 scientists. The resource will be shared across Los Alamos, Lawrence Livermore, and Sandia for science, cybersecurity, energy, and nuclear-security work; the key detail is that nuclear and broader CBRN use cases will receive selective review and safety consultation from OpenAI researchers with security clearances.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the national-lab + nuclear-review angle is clickable, and the post adds concrete facts—15,000 scientists, Venado, three labs, and selective CBRN review. Not P1 because this is a partnership deployment, not a new model release or major capability jump.

Jan 23, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Operator System Card

OpenAI published the Operator System Card on Jan 23, 2025 and said its Computer-Using Agent can be deployed only if its post-mitigation score is Medium or lower. The card rates CBRN, cybersecurity, and model autonomy as Low, and persuasion as Medium; it highlights harmful tasks, model mistakes, and prompt injection. The key mechanism is human confirmation plus task refusal: critical steps like financial transactions, emails, and calendar deletion need approval, while stock trading is fully restricted.

OpenAI News

Computer-Using Agent

OpenAI released a research preview of Computer-Using Agent on Jan 23, 2025, and is exposing it first through Operator to U.S. ChatGPT Pro users. The model combines GPT-4o vision with RL-based reasoning and acts through screenshots, a mouse, and a keyboard; it scored 38.1% on OSWorld, 58.1% on WebArena, and 87.0% on WebVoyager. The key point is API-free GUI control, while sensitive actions still require user confirmation.

Why it matters: This is a same-day OpenAI agent release: CUA powers Operator and ships first to US ChatGPT Pro users. HKR-H/K/R all pass because the GUI-control hook is novel, the post gives mechanism plus 38.1/58.1/87.0 benchmarks, and it raises concrete autonomy and safety questions.

OpenAI News

Introducing Operator

OpenAI released Operator on Jan 23, 2025 as a research preview for U.S. Pro users; it uses its own browser to click, type, and scroll through web tasks. It runs on Computer-Using Agent, combining GPT-4o vision with RL-based reasoning; the post says it sets SOTA on WebArena and WebVoyager but does not disclose scores. The key boundary is control: login, payment, and CAPTCHA flows hand control back to users, and a July 17 update says it was folded into ChatGPT agent.

Why it matters: OpenAI's Operator is a same-day, must-write product release: a browser-using agent moves ChatGPT from answering to acting. HKR-H/K/R all pass; the post gives the own-browser setup, GPT-4o+RL, and user handoff for login/payments, but US Pro limits and missing benchmark scores keep

Jan 22, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Trading Inference-Time Compute for Adversarial Robustness

OpenAI reports that o1-preview and o1-mini often drive adversarial attack success rates close to zero as inference-time compute increases. The paper tests math tasks, SimpleQA prompt injection, Attack Bard images, and StrongREJECT misuse prompts; it labels the result as preliminary, and the truncated post does not fully disclose all failure cases. The key point is that this gain comes from longer reasoning at inference, not adversarial training.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the hook is counterintuitive, the paper proposes a concrete mechanism, and it lands on a real safety/deployment nerve. I kept it at 82, not p1, because the post frames this as initial evidence and the excerpt does not fully disclose failure modes, cost tradeoffs

Dec 27, 2024Friday

OpenAI News

Why OpenAI’s structure must evolve to advance our mission

OpenAI says its board is evaluating changes to its nonprofit/for-profit structure, after estimating in 2019 that AGI would require about $10B. The post cites ChatGPT’s 300M+ weekly users and $137M in 2015 donations, but the specific final structure under consideration is not fully disclosed in the provided text. The key signal is financing pressure: OpenAI says investors at this scale want more conventional equity.

Dec 20, 2024Friday

OpenAI News

Deliberative alignment: reasoning enables safer language models

OpenAI published deliberative alignment on Dec 20, 2024, training o-series models to reason over written safety specs before answering. The post says o1 uses this method and needs no human-labeled CoT or answers; it says o1 beats GPT-4o on internal and external safety benchmarks, but the post does not disclose exact scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the angle is novel, the mechanism is concrete, and the topic hits a live industry debate on reasoning-model safety. I keep it at 83 because the post excerpt does not disclose key benchmark scores, so it stays in the high-quality research band, not must-write.

Dec 17, 2024Tuesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI o1 and new tools for developers

OpenAI released o1 in the API, updated the Realtime API, added Preference Fine-Tuning, and shipped beta Go/Java SDKs; o1 is rolling out first to usage tier 5 developers. Disclosed details include 60% fewer reasoning tokens than o1-preview on average, and a 60% GPT-4o audio price cut in Realtime API to $40/1M input and $80/1M output tokens. The key shift is production support for function calling, Structured Outputs, developer messages, vision, and a reasoning_effort parameter; the post is truncated, so some GPT-4o mini realtime pricing details are not disclosed here.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI developer release: o1 reaches the API with function calling, Structured Outputs, vision, and developer messages, which materially improves production readiness. HKR-H/K/R all pass; the excerpt includes concrete token and pricing data, but later GPT-4o

Dec 5, 2024Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT Pro

OpenAI launched ChatGPT Pro at $200 per month, with unlimited access to OpenAI o1, o1-mini, GPT-4o, Advanced Voice, and a higher-compute o1 pro mode. The post specifies a stricter 4/4 reliability metric, where a question counts only if the model answers correctly in all four attempts, but it does not disclose concrete quotas or latency figures. The key signal is compute tiering: longer reasoning time is now a paid product feature.

OpenAI News

OpenAI o1 System Card

OpenAI published the system card for o1 and o1-mini, with a deployment gate that requires post-mitigation risk scores of medium or lower. The listed Preparedness results are low for cybersecurity, medium for CBRN and persuasion, and low for model autonomy; testing covered o1-near-final-checkpoint and o1-dec5-release. The key point for practitioners is that OpenAI confirms large-scale RL for chain-of-thought reasoning, while the post does not disclose dataset mix or full benchmark scores.

Why it matters: This is a high-signal safety disclosure for a frontier OpenAI reasoning model, not routine collateral. HKR-K is strong because it publishes the deployment threshold, four Preparedness ratings, and test scope; HKR-R lands because practitioners track CoT safety, transparency, and 3