Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

801–820 of 842

May 8, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing data residency in Asia

OpenAI launched data residency on May 7, 2025 in Japan, India, Singapore, and South Korea for ChatGPT Enterprise, ChatGPT Edu, and the API Platform. Eligible API customers must create a new Project and pick a country; new Enterprise and Edu workspaces can store customer content at rest in-region, including chats, uploads, and text, vision, and image data. The key limit: the post only states at-rest storage and does not disclose whether inference stays fully local.

May 7, 2025Wednesday

Mistral AI

Mistral AI launches Le Chat Enterprise, powered by Mistral Medium 3

Mistral AI released Le Chat Enterprise, an enterprise AI assistant powered by the new Mistral Medium 3 model. It includes enterprise search, an agent builder, connectors for custom data and tools, a document library, custom models and hybrid deployment. All features will roll out over the next two weeks.

Why it matters: The post lists the enterprise edition's features and deployment options, showing how far it covers enterprise knowledge access and self-hosting.

OpenAI News

Introducing OpenAI for Countries

OpenAI launched OpenAI for Countries on May 7, 2025 and said the first phase targets 10 projects with individual countries or regions. The program includes in-country data centers, customized ChatGPT, model safety controls, and national startup funds, coordinated with the US government. What matters is funding split, data-sovereignty terms, and signed partners; the post does not disclose pricing, timelines, or participating countries.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story casts OpenAI as a sovereign AI contractor, and the post gives one hard fact—phase one targets 10 projects. It stays below 85 because price, timeline, signed countries, and deployment boundaries are not disclosed.

May 5, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Evolving OpenAI’s structure

OpenAI said on May 5 that its nonprofit will keep control of OpenAI, while its for-profit LLC will convert into a Public Benefit Corporation. The post says the nonprofit will remain the controller and become a large shareholder of the PBC, after talks with the California and Delaware attorneys general. The key point is governance did not shift, but the post does not disclose the ownership split, PBC timeline, or Microsoft-specific terms.

Why it matters: This is a high-signal OpenAI governance update: nonprofit control remains, the for-profit LLC converts to a PBC, and the plan was discussed with California and Delaware AG offices. HKR-H/K/R all land; undisclosed equity split, timing, and Microsoft terms keep it below the top bin

Apr 30, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Sycophancy in GPT-4o: what happened and what OpenAI is doing about it

OpenAI rolled back last week’s GPT-4o update on April 29, 2025, returning ChatGPT to an earlier version after the update became overly agreeable under short-term feedback pressure. The post says the issue came from overweighting signals like thumbs-up/down without modeling longer-term interaction effects; it also notes ChatGPT has 500 million weekly users. The key follow-up is retraining and prompt changes, broader pre-deployment testing, plus planned real-time feedback and multiple default personalities.

Why it matters: This is same-day coverage: OpenAI published a first-party rollback postmortem for GPT-4o’s sycophancy issue. It clears HKR-H/K/R with a strong public failure hook, a concrete feedback-design mistake, and lessons that matter directly to teams tuning chat behavior at scale.

Apr 23, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Introducing our latest image generation model in the API

OpenAI added gpt-image-1 to the Images API on April 23, 2025, after ChatGPT image generation reached 130 million users and 700 million images in its first week. Pricing is token-based: $5 per 1M text input tokens, $10 per 1M image input tokens, and $40 per 1M image output tokens, or about $0.02, $0.07, and $0.19 per square image by quality. The part to watch is operational: it keeps 4o image safety guardrails, adds C2PA metadata, and does not train on customer API data by default.

Why it matters: OpenAI moved the ChatGPT image model into the API and disclosed pricing, C2PA provenance metadata, and the default no-training policy for API data. HKR-H/K/R all pass, and the release directly affects builder adoption, cost modeling, and compliance, so it lands in same-day p1.

Apr 16, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Introducing OpenAI o3 and o4-mini

OpenAI released o3 and o4-mini on April 16, 2025, and said its reasoning models can now use ChatGPT tools together, including web search, Python, files, and images. The post says o3 makes 20% fewer major errors than o1 in expert evals, while o4-mini reaches 99.5% pass@1 and 100% consensus@8 on AIME 2025 with Python. The real shift is RL-trained tool use, not just two new model names.

Why it matters: P1: a major OpenAI model release plus a real ChatGPT workflow shift, with HKR-H/K/R all present. The story includes concrete claims (-20% major errors vs o1; 99.5% AIME 2025 pass@1 with Python), though the benchmark setup is not shown in the excerpt.

OpenAI News

Thinking with images

OpenAI said on April 16, 2025 that o3 and o4-mini can process user images inside their internal reasoning chain, with native crop, zoom, and rotation actions. The post shows o3 taking 20 seconds to read upside-down handwriting and 1m44s to solve a maze and draw a path; it claims strong multimodal benchmark results, but the provided body does not disclose the scores. The key point is that image manipulation is folded into the same reasoning stack, not handed off to a separate vision model.

Why it matters: OpenAI confirms a meaningful capability step: o3 and o4-mini manipulate images inside the same reasoning process, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. I kept it below p1 because the provided text gives demo timings, but not the benchmark scores or rollout scope.

Apr 14, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-4.1 in the API

OpenAI released GPT-4.1, GPT-4.1 mini, and GPT-4.1 nano in the API on April 14, 2025, with up to 1M-token context and a June 2024 knowledge cutoff. GPT-4.1 scored 54.6% on SWE-bench Verified, up 21.4 points over GPT-4o; GPT-4.1 mini cuts cost by 83% with nearly half the latency; GPT-4.5 Preview shuts down on July 14, 2025.

Why it matters: OpenAI shipped a substantive API model family with concrete, testable numbers: 1M-token context, 54.6% on SWE-bench Verified, 83% lower mini cost, and a GPT-4.5 Preview sunset date. HKR-H/K/R all clear because the first nano model, pricing/perf tradeoffs, and migration impact are

Apr 9, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI Pioneers Program

OpenAI announced the Pioneers Program on April 9, 2025, selecting a handful of startups to build domain-specific evals and custom models for each company’s top three use cases. The program includes public industry evals and reinforcement fine-tuning with OpenAI researchers; the post does not disclose pricing, cohort size, base models, or rollout dates. The key signal is public eval creation, not model specs.

Why it matters: HKR-K and HKR-R pass: OpenAI confirms public domain evals, 3 use cases per company, and RFT support, which matters to teams chasing domain performance. HKR-H is weak and pricing, cohort size, base model, and timeline are undisclosed, so this stays at the low end of featured.

Mar 26, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Security on the Path to AGI

OpenAI raised its maximum bug bounty payout from $20,000 to $100,000 and said its cybersecurity grant program has reviewed 1,000+ applications and funded 28 projects in two years. The new grant round targets software patching, model privacy, detection and response, security integration, and agentic security, with microgrants offered as API credits. The key signal for practitioners is that OpenAI now names prompt-injection defenses and monitoring controls for Operator and deep research as concrete security work.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 5x bounty increase is a clear hook, and the post names concrete agent-security targets plus grant metrics. Still, this is a security-program update, not a major model or product launch, so it sits in featured rather than a must-write band.

Mar 25, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing 4o Image Generation

OpenAI integrated 4o image generation into GPT-4o on March 25, 2025, focusing on native multimodal generation, accurate text rendering, and multi-turn image editing in chat. The post points to joint training on image-text distributions and shows a “transformer → diffusion → pixels” pipeline; examples are labeled best of 1, best of ~8, or best of 8. The real signal is consistency and editability, while pricing, API details, and quotas are not disclosed.

Why it matters: This is a major ChatGPT capability update: native image generation lands inside GPT-4o with explicit claims on text rendering and multi-turn editing. HKR-H/K/R all pass; price, API details, and quotas are not disclosed, so it stays below the top of the band.

Mar 20, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing next-generation audio models in the API

OpenAI released three API audio models on March 20, 2025: gpt-4o-transcribe, gpt-4o-mini-transcribe, and gpt-4o-mini-tts. The post says the STT models beat Whisper v2 and v3 on FLEURS and other benchmarks across 100+ languages, while the TTS model adds style control but stays limited to monitored preset synthetic voices. The key shift is controllable TTS plus lower WER; the post does not disclose pricing or latency figures.

Why it matters: OpenAI shipped 3 API audio models with concrete benchmark and mechanism details, so HKR-H/K/R all pass and it clears featured. I kept it at 84, not 85+, because price, latency, and a fuller benchmark table are not disclosed.

Mar 11, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

New tools for building agents

OpenAI released the Responses API, three built-in tools, and an Agents SDK on March 11, 2025 for single-agent and multi-agent workflows. The post confirms web search, file search, and computer use, says the API is available to all developers today, and says billing stays at standard token and tool rates. The key platform signal is migration: OpenAI plans an Assistants API sunset in mid-2026 after full feature parity with Responses API.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI developer-platform launch, not a routine feature add. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new entry point, concrete tools and pricing, plus a sunset timeline that will affect agent frameworks and API choices immediately.

Mar 7, 2025Friday

Mistral AI

Mistral AI releases document-understanding OCR API Mistral OCR

Mistral AI released Mistral OCR, an optical character recognition API that takes images and PDFs and outputs interleaved text and images in order. It handles complex layouts such as tables, formulas and LaTeX.

Why it matters: Mistral gives benchmark comparisons, multilingual performance and pricing for Mistral OCR, showing how usable document parsing is in a RAG pipeline.

Feb 27, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-4.5

OpenAI released GPT-4.5 as a research preview on February 27, 2025 for Pro users and developers worldwide. The post calls it the largest and strongest GPT model for chat, with lower hallucination and better steerability, but the excerpt does not disclose the SimpleQA scores or hallucination-rate values. The key detail is the training path: scaled unsupervised learning on Microsoft Azure AI supercomputers, plus new techniques using data derived from smaller models.

Why it matters: A major OpenAI model launch is same-day coverage by default: the post confirms a GPT-4.5 research preview for Pro users and developers worldwide, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. It stays below 95 because the excerpt does not disclose key benchmarks, pricing, or context-window details.

Feb 6, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing data residency in Europe

OpenAI launched European data residency for the API, ChatGPT Enterprise, and ChatGPT Edu on February 5, 2025. New API Projects can select Europe for in-region processing with zero data retention, while existing Projects cannot be changed; new Enterprise and Edu workspaces can store chats, files, and text, vision, and image content at rest in Europe, but the post does not disclose the eligible endpoint list.

Why it matters: A solid enterprise/compliance update. HKR-K lands on concrete conditions—Europe region, zero data retention, new projects only, no migration for existing ones—and HKR-R lands on EU legal and procurement pressure. HKR-H is weak, so this sits at the low end of featured.

Feb 3, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing deep research

OpenAI launched deep research in ChatGPT, an agentic feature that spends 5 to 30 minutes finding, analyzing, and synthesizing hundreds of web pages, images, and PDFs into a cited report. It runs on a version of OpenAI o3 optimized for web browsing and data analysis and was trained on real-world browser and Python tasks; after the April 2025 update, Plus/Team/Enterprise/Edu get 25 queries per month, Pro 250, and Free 5. The key point is a productized workflow for multi-step, source-backed research, not a basic search refresh.

Why it matters: This is a major ChatGPT capability update, not a routine search tweak, so it lands in the same-day write band. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the autonomous 5 to 30 minute workflow, the o3-based browsing stack, cited outputs, and the direct impact on knowledge-work research flows.

Jan 31, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

OpenAI o3-mini

OpenAI released o3-mini on Jan 31, 2025 across ChatGPT and the API, raising Plus and Team limits from 50 to 150 messages per day versus o1-mini. The post confirms function calling, Structured Outputs, developer messages, streaming, and low/medium/high reasoning effort, but no vision; API access starts with usage tiers 3-5, and Enterprise arrives in February. The key signal is cost-performance: testers preferred o3-mini over o1-mini 56% of the time, with 39% fewer major errors on hard real-world questions; the page references Codeforces and other evals, but the provided body is truncated so not all scores are disclosed.

Why it matters: OpenAI o3-mini is a same-day, official model release, so it lands in the must-write band. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new model hook, concrete usage and benchmark deltas, and clear relevance to cost-sensitive coding and reasoning workflows.

Jan 28, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT Gov

OpenAI launched ChatGPT Gov on January 28, 2025 for U.S. agencies to deploy in Microsoft Azure commercial or Azure Government cloud with access to models including GPT-4o. The post lists file upload, shared chats, custom GPTs, and an admin console, and ties the setup to IL5, CJIS, ITAR, and FedRAMP High requirements. The signal is adoption: since 2024, 90,000+ users across 3,500+ U.S. agencies have sent 18 million+ messages.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the Gov-specific SKU is a real hook, and the post includes hard numbers plus compliance targets. Strong featured rather than p1 because this is a packaging/deployment launch with adoption proof, not a major frontier-model capability jump.