Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

781–800 of 842

Sep 2, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Building more helpful ChatGPT experiences for everyone

OpenAI said it will ship ChatGPT safety changes over the next 120 days and roll out Parental Controls within a month. Disclosed steps include routing conversations with signs of acute distress to reasoning models such as GPT-5-thinking, and letting parents link accounts for teens 13+, disable memory and chat history. The post does not disclose router trigger thresholds or alert false-positive rates.

Why it matters: This changes core ChatGPT behavior, so HKR-H/K/R all pass: the routing hook is novel, the post gives concrete controls, and teen safety is a live industry topic. I keep it below 85 because trigger criteria, false-positive rate, and rollout scope are not disclosed.

Aug 28, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing gpt-realtime and Realtime API updates for production voice agents

OpenAI released the speech-to-speech model gpt-realtime and made the Realtime API generally available, adding remote MCP server support, image input, and SIP phone calling. The post reports 82.8% on Big Bench Audio versus 65.6% for the December 2024 model, and 30.5% on the audio MultiChallenge benchmark versus 20.6%. The key change is that tool access and phone connectivity now ship in the same production API.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI model + API release, not a minor refresh. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the release has a clear hook, hard benchmark deltas, and direct deployment impact for production voice agents, so it reaches p1.

Aug 26, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI details ChatGPT crisis support and safety improvements

OpenAI says GPT-5, now the default ChatGPT model, cut non-ideal responses in mental health emergencies by over 25% versus 4o. The post says ChatGPT routes suicidal users to 988, Samaritans, or findahelpline.com and that OpenAI works with 90+ physicians across 30+ countries; the post body is truncated, so later plans are not fully disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post gives a concrete 25%+ reduction in non-ideal crisis replies, named referral pathways, and a strong safety-trust angle. I keep it at 82 because this is a focused safety update, not a broad capability launch, and the latter part is truncated.

Aug 7, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5 for developers

OpenAI released GPT-5 in its API on August 7, 2025, in three sizes: gpt-5, gpt-5-mini, and gpt-5-nano. The post reports 74.9% on SWE-bench Verified, 88% on Aider polyglot, 96.7% on τ2-bench telecom, plus new verbosity, minimal reasoning_effort, and custom tools; pricing and full availability details are not disclosed in the provided text. The real developer signal is the API surface change, not just a model rename.

Why it matters: This is an OpenAI flagship-model API launch, so it belongs in the 95–100 band. HKR-H lands on the GPT-5 debut; HKR-K lands on concrete benchmark scores and new controls; HKR-R lands on immediate developer concerns around migration, tooling, and model comparison; the excerpt omits

OpenAI News

GPT-5 and the new era of work

OpenAI launched GPT-5 on August 7, 2025, started rollout to Team users the same day, said Enterprise and Edu access would follow next week, and made it available in the API immediately. The post gives two hard numbers: 5 million paid ChatGPT business users and nearly 700 million weekly ChatGPT users; it does not disclose benchmark scores, pricing, or context length.

Why it matters: An OpenAI GPT-5 launch is a market-wide event, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post gives rollout timing and a 5M paid-business-user datapoint, but it omits benchmark scores, pricing, and context length, so this lands at the low end of the top band.

OpenAI News

First look at GPT-5

OpenAI published a page titled “GPT-5: First Look” on August 7, 2025, confirming a public reveal for GPT-5. The post only shows the title, date, and site navigation; it does not disclose model size, pricing, context window, benchmarks, or API details. This reads like a placeholder, not a technical brief.

Why it matters: This is a high-attention, low-information official placeholder. HKR-H and HKR-R pass because GPT-5 appears on OpenAI’s site and that alone hits the model-race nerve; HKR-K fails because the body gives no specs, pricing, context window, benchmarks, or API details. Source authority

Aug 4, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

What OpenAI is optimizing ChatGPT for

OpenAI said on August 4, 2025 that ChatGPT is optimized to help users finish tasks and leave, not maximize time spent. Break reminders are live for long sessions, and new behavior for high-stakes personal decisions is coming soon. Evaluation now includes custom rubrics built with 90+ physicians across 30+ countries.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI guidance on ChatGPT incentives and safety, with concrete facts: rest-break reminders are live and multi-turn evals include 90+ doctors from 30+ countries. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the high-risk decision behavior lacks shipping scope and trigger details, so this is

Jul 31, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing Stargate Norway

OpenAI said Stargate Norway, its first European AI data center project, is planned for 230MW with a further 290MW expansion target. Nscale and Aker will build it in Narvik, aiming for 100,000 NVIDIA GPUs by end-2026, using renewable power and closed-loop direct-to-chip liquid cooling. The key detail is allocation: OpenAI is an initial offtaker, while surplus capacity is intended for users in Norway, the UK, the Nordics, and Northern Europe; the post does not disclose capex or exact GPU models.

Jul 30, 2025Wednesday

Mistral AI

Mistral ships Codestral 25.08 and an enterprise coding stack

Mistral AI released Codestral 25.08 along with a full enterprise coding stack: Codestral, Codestral Embed, Devstral and a Mistral Code IDE plugin.

Why it matters: The post gives Codestral 25.08's completion gains and how the enterprise stack is deployed, so you can judge whether a private coding setup is viable.

Jul 29, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing study mode in ChatGPT

OpenAI launched study mode in ChatGPT on July 29, 2025 for logged-in Free, Plus, Pro, and Team users, with ChatGPT Edu coming in the next few weeks. It uses custom system instructions to deliver Socratic prompts, scaffolded responses, knowledge checks, and on/off toggling instead of direct answers, adapting to skill-level questions and prior chat memory. The key change is interaction design, not a new model; the post does not disclose the underlying model, outcome metrics, or misuse safeguards.

Jul 17, 2025Thursday

Mistral AI

Mistral adds Deep Research, voice mode and more to Le Chat

Mistral rolled out a batch of new Le Chat features: a preview Deep Research mode, a voice mode powered by the new Voxtral speech model, a multilingual thinking mode backed by the Magistral reasoning model, Projects for organizing conversations, and advanced image editing built with Black Forest Labs.

Why it matters: Mistral announced five Le Chat features at once, so readers can see how its research, voice and image-editing abilities fit together.

OpenAI News

ChatGPT agent System Card

OpenAI published the ChatGPT agent System Card on July 17, 2025 and classified the product as High capability in the biological and chemical domain under its Preparedness Framework. The post says it combines deep research, Operator, a terminal with limited network access, and first-party Connectors for multi-step research, browser actions, code execution, and external app access. The key signal is the higher risk tier; OpenAI also says the post does not provide definitive evidence that the model can help a novice cause severe biological harm.

Why it matters: This is not routine safety paperwork. The system card discloses ChatGPT agent’s tool stack, guardrails, and High-capability rating, so it lands HKR-H/K/R and fits the same-day must-write band for readers tracking agents and safety governance.

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT agent

OpenAI launched ChatGPT agent on July 17, 2025, and made agent mode available to Pro, Plus, and Team users. It combines Operator-style web actions, deep research synthesis, a terminal, and API access in one virtual computer; the post lists the tools but does not disclose pricing, quotas, or benchmark results. The key detail is control: consequential actions require user permission, and users can interrupt, stop, or take over the browser at any time.

Jun 16, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing OpenAI for Government

OpenAI launched OpenAI for Government on June 16, 2025, consolidating its existing US public-sector work under one program for federal, state, and local agencies. Its first partnership is a pilot with the US Department of Defense CDAO under a contract capped at $200 million, offering ChatGPT Enterprise, ChatGPT Gov, secure environments, and limited custom national-security models. The practical signal is deployment: a Pennsylvania pilot reported about 105 minutes saved per employee per day, while the post does not disclose model versions, pricing, or rollout scale.

Why it matters: This is not a model launch, but it is a meaningful OpenAI government push with a DoD pilot capped at $200M and a named 105-min/day productivity claim. HKR-H/K/R all pass, so it clears featured; missing model/version, pricing, and deployment detail keeps it below p1.

Jun 4, 2025Wednesday

Mistral AI

Mistral AI launches Mistral Code enterprise coding assistant

Mistral AI released Mistral Code, an enterprise AI coding assistant that combines four models: Codestral, Codestral Embed, Devstral and Mistral Medium. It runs in the cloud, on dedicated capacity or on air-gapped local GPUs, so code stays inside the company's boundary.

Why it matters: Mistral lays out the model mix, deployment options and customer cases for an enterprise coding assistant, showing one path to private coding setups.

May 27, 2025Tuesday

Mistral AI

Mistral releases Agents API with built-in connectors and MCP tools

Mistral released an Agents API that pairs its language models with built-in connectors for code execution, web search, image generation and MCP tools. It also offers persistent memory across conversations and agent orchestration.

Why it matters: Mistral details the connectors, memory and orchestration of its Agents API, letting readers judge how an agent platform would be deployed.

May 23, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

Addendum to the OpenAI o3 and o4-mini system card: OpenAI o3 Operator

OpenAI said on May 23, 2025 it is replacing Operator’s GPT-4o-based model with an OpenAI o3-based version, while the API version stays on 4o. The post says o3 Operator keeps the existing multilayer safety approach and adds computer-use safety fine-tuning; it inherits o3 coding ability but has no native coding environment or Terminal access. The key gap is disclosure: the addendum title points to a system card update, but the post does not disclose benchmark scores, misuse metrics, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI deployment update, with HKR-H from the o3-for-Operator / 4o-for-API split, HKR-K from explicit safety and capability boundaries, and HKR-R from browser-agent relevance. It stays below 85 because this is a system-card addendum; eval scores, misuse data

May 21, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

New tools and features in the Responses API

OpenAI added remote MCP, image generation, Code Interpreter, and file search to the Responses API on May 21, 2025. The post says these tools span GPT-4o, GPT-4.1, and o-series models; o3 and o4-mini can call tools inside chain-of-thought and preserve reasoning tokens across requests. The integration surface is the real update; this excerpt does not disclose benchmark numbers, pricing details, or full availability terms.

Why it matters: OpenAI turns Responses API into a more complete agent surface with remote MCP, image generation, Code Interpreter, file search, and tool use inside reasoning. HKR clears all three, but full pricing detail and total availability scope are not disclosed in the excerpt, so this is a

May 16, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

Addendum to OpenAI o3 and o4-mini system card: Codex

OpenAI published a May 16, 2025 addendum to the o3 and o4-mini system card, stating that Codex is a cloud coding agent powered by codex-1, an o3 variant tuned for software engineering. Each agent runs in an isolated cloud container preloaded with the user's code and environment, then loses internet access while it reads or edits files and runs tests, linters, and type checkers. The practical detail is the audit trail: Codex cites terminal logs and files, and its output can be exported as a GitHub PR or local diff.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R because the addendum adds concrete execution details: isolated cloud containers, user-defined dev envs, internet disabled after setup, and test-running behavior. Strong featured score, but not p1: it is supporting safety documentation, not the primary launch

OpenAI News

Introducing Codex

OpenAI released the Codex research preview on May 16, 2025, a cloud software engineering agent powered by codex-1 that can handle multiple coding tasks in parallel. It runs each task in an isolated sandbox, can read and edit repos, execute tests and commands, and usually finishes in 1 to 30 minutes with terminal logs and test outputs as evidence. It launched for ChatGPT Pro, Business, and Enterprise users, then expanded to Plus on June 3; the post excerpt does not fully disclose pricing or complete limitations.

Why it matters: This is a same-day write: OpenAI moved from code assistance to a cloud software-engineering agent, with launch access for ChatGPT Pro, Business, and Enterprise. HKR-H/K/R all pass, with concrete mechanics and verifiable outputs; incomplete pricing and limits keep it at 88.