Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1541–1547 of 1,547

May 15, 2024Wednesday

OpenAI News

Ilya Sutskever to leave OpenAI, Jakub Pachocki announced as Chief Scientist

OpenAI announced that Ilya Sutskever will leave and Jakub Pachocki will become Chief Scientist. Only the title confirms these 2 personnel changes; the post body is empty and does not disclose timing, transition terms, or scope of responsibilities.

Why it matters: This is a 95+ personnel story: OpenAI's cofounder and chief scientist is leaving, which fits the policy's top band. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body does not disclose timing, scope, or transition details, so it stops short of a higher score.

May 13, 2024Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-4o and more tools to ChatGPT free users

OpenAI says it is bringing GPT-4o and more tools to ChatGPT free users, with free-tier access as the stated condition. Only the title is available; the post does not disclose tool list, usage limits, rollout timing, or regions.

Why it matters: This is a high-weight OpenAI product update, with HKR-H/K/R all passing: strong access hook, a concrete new availability fact, and clear competitive resonance. I stopped below the top of the band because the body is empty: tools, quotas, regions, and rollout conditions are notdis

Apr 24, 2024Wednesday

OpenAI News

GPT-4 API general availability and deprecation of older models in the Completions API

OpenAI says the GPT-4 API is generally available and older models in the Completions API will be deprecated. Only the title confirms these two facts; the post body is empty and does not disclose scope, timeline, or affected model names. The real issue to watch is migration cost: this is both an API and model transition.

Why it matters: This is a meaningful OpenAI platform update with strong HKR-K and HKR-R: GPT-4 API GA plus Completions deprecations affects developers immediately. It stays below p1 because the body is absent, so rollout scope, deadlines, and the affected model list are not disclosed.

Mar 8, 2024Friday

OpenAI News

Review completed; Altman and Brockman to continue to lead OpenAI

OpenAI says its review is complete, and Sam Altman and Greg Brockman will continue leading the company. Only the title is disclosed; the post does not disclose the review scope, evidence, or effective timeline. The key signal is leadership continuity, not strategy detail.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI governance news with strong HKR-H and HKR-R: it resolves the core suspense from the board crisis and matters to roadmap and partner trust. HKR-K is limited because the post discloses the outcome only; scope, evidence, and governance changes are not provided.

Feb 13, 2024Tuesday

OpenAI News

Memory and new controls for ChatGPT

OpenAI says ChatGPT is getting memory and new controls, with 2 changes disclosed in the title. The body is empty, so default state, opt-out scope, and user-tier availability are not disclosed. The key issue is control granularity; the title alone is not enough to judge product impact.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI post confirms ChatGPT memory plus new controls, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass on a core product readers already use. HKR-K fails because the body does not disclose defaults, rollout scope, user tiers, or control granularity, keeping this at the low featured edge.

Nov 29, 2023Wednesday

OpenAI News

Sam Altman returns as CEO, OpenAI has a new initial board

Sam Altman returns as OpenAI CEO, and OpenAI has a new initial board. The confirmed facts come only from the title; the post body is empty and does not disclose board size, member names, or timing. The real issue is governance change, but this item gives no verifiable detail.

Why it matters: This is a 95–100 band governance event: Sam Altman returns as CEO and OpenAI resets its initial board. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the reversal and industry impact, but the post does not disclose board members or timing, so it stays below a perfect score.

Sep 25, 2023Monday

OpenAI News

ChatGPT can now see, hear, and speak

OpenAI says ChatGPT now supports seeing, hearing, and speaking. The post body is empty, so it does not disclose model versions, rollout timing, regional limits, pricing, or API scope. The real watchpoints are voice latency, vision limits, and access paths.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI product update: the title confirms vision input, voice input, and speech output for ChatGPT, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The copy provided here omits tiers, rollout scope, latency, and pricing, which keeps it at 88 rather than the top of the band.