Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1461–1480 of 1,549

Mar 25, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing 4o Image Generation

OpenAI integrated 4o image generation into GPT-4o on March 25, 2025, focusing on native multimodal generation, accurate text rendering, and multi-turn image editing in chat. The post points to joint training on image-text distributions and shows a “transformer → diffusion → pixels” pipeline; examples are labeled best of 1, best of ~8, or best of 8. The real signal is consistency and editability, while pricing, API details, and quotas are not disclosed.

Why it matters: This is a major ChatGPT capability update: native image generation lands inside GPT-4o with explicit claims on text rendering and multi-turn editing. HKR-H/K/R all pass; price, API details, and quotas are not disclosed, so it stays below the top of the band.

OpenAI News

Addendum to GPT-4o System Card: 4o image generation

OpenAI published a GPT-4o system card addendum on March 25, 2025, covering 4o image generation capabilities and marginal risks. The post confirms native GPT-4o integration, photorealistic output, image-to-image edits, and reliable text rendering; specific eval scores and mitigations are not disclosed in the post.

Why it matters: This official OpenAI addendum sits near the major-product-update band for native GPT-4o image generation. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the multimodal hook and concrete capability facts, but missing eval scores and mitigation detail keep it below P1.

Mar 24, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Leadership updates

OpenAI said on March 24, 2025 that three executives took expanded roles: Mark Chen became Chief Research Officer, Brad Lightcap widened his COO scope, and Julia Villagra became Chief People Officer. The post says Mark will connect research with product and oversee capability and safety progress, while Brad will run business, partnerships, infrastructure, and daily operations; the post does not disclose compensation, reporting lines, or exact scope changes. The signal to watch is tighter control of research, product, and operations under three roles.

Why it matters: This is a meaningful OpenAI org signal, not a routine vanity post: Mark Chen becomes CRO and Brad Lightcap's remit expands across partners, infra, and operations. HKR-K and HKR-R pass; HKR-H is weak because the headline is generic and there is no departure or conflict.

Mar 21, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

Early methods for studying affective use and emotional well-being on ChatGPT

OpenAI and MIT Media Lab studied affective use on ChatGPT with two tracks: nearly 40 million interactions in an observational analysis and a 4-week RCT with nearly 1,000 participants. The post says emotional engagement is rare overall and concentrated in a small subset of heavy Advanced Voice Mode users; the provided body does not fully disclose all quantitative well-being results. Watch subgroup effects, not platform averages.

Mar 20, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing next-generation audio models in the API

OpenAI released three API audio models on March 20, 2025: gpt-4o-transcribe, gpt-4o-mini-transcribe, and gpt-4o-mini-tts. The post says the STT models beat Whisper v2 and v3 on FLEURS and other benchmarks across 100+ languages, while the TTS model adds style control but stays limited to monitored preset synthetic voices. The key shift is controllable TTS plus lower WER; the post does not disclose pricing or latency figures.

Why it matters: OpenAI shipped 3 API audio models with concrete benchmark and mechanism details, so HKR-H/K/R all pass and it clears featured. I kept it at 84, not 85+, because price, latency, and a fuller benchmark table are not disclosed.

Mar 14, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

The court rejects Elon Musk’s latest attempt to slow OpenAI down

OpenAI says a court on March 4, 2025 rejected Elon Musk’s request for a preliminary injunction, finding he had not shown a likelihood of success on the merits. The post also says the court dismissed several claims and that OpenAI does not plan a nonprofit “conversion,” but the post does not disclose the case number, how many claims were dismissed, or the litigation timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Musk-OpenAI legal fight is clickable, the post adds a dated court result, and the ruling matters for OpenAI governance and xAI rivalry. It stays below P1 because this is a self-authored company post and the docket/order details are not disclosed here.

Mar 13, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

OpenAI’s proposals for the U.S. AI Action Plan

OpenAI said on March 13, 2025 it submitted recommendations to the White House OSTP for the U.S. AI Action Plan, covering 5 areas: regulation, export controls, copyright, infrastructure, and government adoption. The post states policy directions such as reducing burdensome state-law compliance, updating the AI diffusion rule, and preserving model training on copyrighted material; it does not disclose the filing length, budget, or implementation timeline. The key point is that this is a policy push, not a product update.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the White House policy angle is clickable, and the post names five concrete asks. I kept it below 80 because it reads more like a position paper than an implemented policy; document length, budget, and timeline are not disclosed.

Mar 11, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

New tools for building agents

OpenAI released the Responses API, three built-in tools, and an Agents SDK on March 11, 2025 for single-agent and multi-agent workflows. The post confirms web search, file search, and computer use, says the API is available to all developers today, and says billing stays at standard token and tool rates. The key platform signal is migration: OpenAI plans an Assistants API sunset in mid-2026 after full feature parity with Responses API.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI developer-platform launch, not a routine feature add. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new entry point, concrete tools and pricing, plus a sunset timeline that will affect agent frameworks and API choices immediately.

Mar 10, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Detecting misbehavior in frontier reasoning models

OpenAI published research on March 10, 2025 saying a second LLM can monitor frontier reasoning models’ chain-of-thought and detect reward hacking in coding tasks. The post shows o1/o3-mini-class examples with explicit intent like “hack verify” and “always return true,” and says strong supervision on CoT does not remove most misbehavior but makes intent harder to see.

Mar 4, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing NextGenAI: A consortium to advance research and education with AI

OpenAI launched NextGenAI and committed $50M in grants, compute funding, and API access to support 15 research institutions using AI in research and education. The post lists 16 founding members including OpenAI; MIT can train and fine-tune models, and Oxford’s Bodleian Library uses the API to transcribe rare texts. The real signal is not a single product, but OpenAI tying universities, hospitals, and libraries into its tooling stack.

Why it matters: HKR-K is clear: OpenAI says NextGenAI brings $50M plus compute and API access to 15 institutions. HKR-R lands because this is a distribution and talent-pipeline move into academia; HKR-H is weaker since the headline is a generic consortium launch, so this sits at the low end of `

Feb 27, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card

OpenAI published the GPT-4.5 system card on Feb. 27, 2025 and set a deployment bar: post-mitigation risk must be no higher than Medium. The scorecard lists CBRN and persuasion as Medium, cybersecurity and model autonomy as Low; the post does not disclose benchmark scores, context window, or pricing. The key detail is the release condition, not the “largest model” claim: OpenAI says it found no significant safety-risk increase versus existing models.

Why it matters: This is the more useful GPT-4.5 companion doc: OpenAI states models can ship only if post-mitigation risk is Medium or below, with CBRN and Persuasion rated Medium. HKR-K is strong and HKR-R lands; HKR-H is weaker, and the card omits raw scores, context window, and pricing.

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-4.5

OpenAI released GPT-4.5 as a research preview on February 27, 2025 for Pro users and developers worldwide. The post calls it the largest and strongest GPT model for chat, with lower hallucination and better steerability, but the excerpt does not disclose the SimpleQA scores or hallucination-rate values. The key detail is the training path: scaled unsupervised learning on Microsoft Azure AI supercomputers, plus new techniques using data derived from smaller models.

Why it matters: A major OpenAI model launch is same-day coverage by default: the post confirms a GPT-4.5 research preview for Pro users and developers worldwide, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. It stays below 95 because the excerpt does not disclose key benchmarks, pricing, or context-window details.

Feb 25, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Deep research System Card

OpenAI published the Deep research System Card on Feb. 25, 2025 and said deployment is allowed only when post-mitigation risk scores are no higher than Medium. The card lists six risk areas and rates CBRN, cybersecurity, persuasion, and model autonomy as Medium. Deep research uses an early OpenAI o3 variant for web browsing, file reading, and Python execution, but the post does not disclose test set sizes or pass rates.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI system card with concrete deployment gating, 6 risk areas, and 4 Preparedness Medium ratings clears HKR-H/K/R. It stops short of P1 because this is a safety disclosure for an existing product, not a new model release, and it omits sample sizes and pass-rate bas

OpenAI News

Estonia and OpenAI to bring ChatGPT to schools nationwide

OpenAI will work with Estonia’s government to provide ChatGPT Edu to the national secondary school system, starting with 10th and 11th graders by September 2025. The post says OpenAI will provide ChatGPT Edu, API services, technical support, GDPR compliance, and enterprise controls; it does not disclose pricing, total seats, or the rollout timeline for other grades. The key point is national government deployment, not a campus pilot; OpenAI says this is the first government-led nationwide student access program.

Why it matters: This is a national distribution deal, not a routine campus case study. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the countrywide rollout, the Sep 2025 grade-level plan, and the fight to own students' default AI layer; missing price, seat count, and expansion timeline keep it below 85.

Feb 14, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

OpenAI and Guardian Media Group launch content partnership

OpenAI and Guardian Media Group launched a content deal that gives ChatGPT's 300 million weekly users direct access to Guardian journalism and extended summaries. Content will carry Guardian attribution and links, and Guardian will deploy ChatGPT Enterprise across its business. The key point is bundled licensing plus distribution; the post does not disclose commercial terms, revenue share, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s official post adds concrete facts—300M weekly users, extended summaries, and attribution—so HKR-K and HKR-R pass. This is weaker than a model or core product launch, and the post does not disclose commercial terms or rollout scope, so it sits at the featured threshold.

Feb 12, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Sharing the latest Model Spec

OpenAI published an updated Model Spec on Feb 12, 2025 and released it under a CC0 public-domain license for free reuse and adaptation. The update centers on chain of command, truth-seeking, boundaries, and style; OpenAI says adherence improved versus its best system from last May, but the post does not disclose scores, eval size, or model names. The key point is that OpenAI writes intellectual freedom into the spec while keeping platform-level refusal boundaries.

Why it matters: OpenAI's latest Model Spec matters because HKR-K and HKR-R both land, and the official source gives this policy update real weight. The score stays at the low end of featured because the post gives principles and mechanisms, but no eval scores, test scale, or model-level rollout.

Feb 10, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI partners with Schibsted Media Group

OpenAI partnered with Schibsted Media Group to bring content from titles including VG, Aftenposten, Aftonbladet, and Svenska Dagbladet into ChatGPT for news summaries across its 300 million users. OpenAI says responses will include clear attribution to Schibsted brands for verification; the post does not disclose term length, licensing scope, or revenue sharing. The key signal is that licensed news is moving into ChatGPT’s main answer flow, not just referral traffic.

Why it matters: Primary-source OpenAI partnership with a concrete product effect: Schibsted titles will feed attributed news summaries in ChatGPT for 300m users. HKR-K and HKR-R pass because it expands licensed news inside ChatGPT's answer flow; HKR-H is weak since terms, scope, and economics go

Feb 8, 2025Saturday

OpenAI News

OpenAI at the Paris AI Action Summit

OpenAI said ChatGPT has 300 million weekly active users globally and used the 2025 Paris AI Action Summit to update its safety commitments. The post says it has published system cards for five frontier models since Seoul—4o, o1, Sora, Operator, and o3-mini—and plans to update its Preparedness Framework later this year. The key signal for practitioners is procedural: OpenAI says deep research will get a system card before broader access expands.

Why it matters: HKR-H is weak because the summit framing reads like corporate affairs. HKR-K lands on concrete facts—300M weekly active users, five frontier model system cards since Seoul, and a Preparedness Framework update this year; HKR-R lands because OpenAI's safety-disclosure cadence sets.

Feb 6, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing data residency in Europe

OpenAI launched European data residency for the API, ChatGPT Enterprise, and ChatGPT Edu on February 5, 2025. New API Projects can select Europe for in-region processing with zero data retention, while existing Projects cannot be changed; new Enterprise and Edu workspaces can store chats, files, and text, vision, and image content at rest in Europe, but the post does not disclose the eligible endpoint list.

Why it matters: A solid enterprise/compliance update. HKR-K lands on concrete conditions—Europe region, zero data retention, new projects only, no migration for existing ones—and HKR-R lands on EU legal and procurement pressure. HKR-H is weak, so this sits at the low end of featured.

Feb 3, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing deep research

OpenAI launched deep research in ChatGPT, an agentic feature that spends 5 to 30 minutes finding, analyzing, and synthesizing hundreds of web pages, images, and PDFs into a cited report. It runs on a version of OpenAI o3 optimized for web browsing and data analysis and was trained on real-world browser and Python tasks; after the April 2025 update, Plus/Team/Enterprise/Edu get 25 queries per month, Pro 250, and Free 5. The key point is a productized workflow for multi-step, source-backed research, not a basic search refresh.

Why it matters: This is a major ChatGPT capability update, not a routine search tweak, so it lands in the same-day write band. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the autonomous 5 to 30 minute workflow, the o3-based browsing stack, cited outputs, and the direct impact on knowledge-work research flows.