Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1421–1440 of 1,549

Jul 22, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI’s new economic analysis

OpenAI said more than 500 million people actively use its AI tools, with ChatGPT handling over 2.5 billion messages per day, including 330 million in the US. The post cites examples such as teachers saving nearly six hours per week and Pennsylvania state workers saving 95 minutes per day, and announces a 12-month collaboration with Ronnie Chatterji, Jason Furman, and Michael Strain to study AI’s effects on productivity and labor markets. The key point: OpenAI discloses scale and a few productivity examples, but the post does not disclose a unified methodology, causal identification, or sector-level results.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the post adds fresh scale data and ties it to productivity and labor-market effects. The score stays at 78 because it mostly offers sample cases and a new collaboration; methods, causal identification, and sector-level results are not disclosed.

Jul 21, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Fidji Simo: AI should be a source of broad empowerment

OpenAI published a July 21, 2025 essay by Fidji Simo saying she will join in a few weeks as CEO of Applications and arguing AI should broaden access to knowledge, health, and creativity. The post cites 2x learning gains from AI tutors and a 2024 OpenAI result where 90% said ChatGPT made complex ideas easier to understand; it does not disclose any new product, pricing, or launch date.

Why it matters: HKR-K and HKR-R pass: OpenAI officially says Fidji Simo will become Applications CEO within weeks, a material org move, and the post includes two concrete figures: 2x and 90%. HKR-H fails because the headline is generic and no product, pricing, or launch timing is disclosed, so I

Jul 17, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

ChatGPT agent System Card

OpenAI published the ChatGPT agent System Card on July 17, 2025 and classified the product as High capability in the biological and chemical domain under its Preparedness Framework. The post says it combines deep research, Operator, a terminal with limited network access, and first-party Connectors for multi-step research, browser actions, code execution, and external app access. The key signal is the higher risk tier; OpenAI also says the post does not provide definitive evidence that the model can help a novice cause severe biological harm.

Why it matters: This is not routine safety paperwork. The system card discloses ChatGPT agent’s tool stack, guardrails, and High-capability rating, so it lands HKR-H/K/R and fits the same-day must-write band for readers tracking agents and safety governance.

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT agent

OpenAI launched ChatGPT agent on July 17, 2025, and made agent mode available to Pro, Plus, and Team users. It combines Operator-style web actions, deep research synthesis, a terminal, and API access in one virtual computer; the post lists the tools but does not disclose pricing, quotas, or benchmark results. The key detail is control: consequential actions require user permission, and users can interrupt, stop, or take over the browser at any time.

OpenAI News

Agent bio bug bounty call

OpenAI opened a bio bug bounty for ChatGPT agent on July 17, 2025, offering $25,000 for the first universal jailbreak prompt that clears all 10 bio/chem safety questions from a clean chat. Scope is limited to ChatGPT agent; testing starts July 29, 2025, with a separate $10,000 prize for the first team that solves all 10 using multiple prompts. The key bar is a universal jailbreak, not a single-question bypass; all prompts, outputs, findings, and communications are under NDA.

Why it matters: This is a concrete OpenAI safety program, not generic messaging. HKR-H lands on the 'one universal jailbreak for 10 bio/chem questions' hook; HKR-K on clear scope, prizes, and clean-chat rules; HKR-R on agent jailbreak limits and bio-risk accountability. 80: featured, but below a

Jul 11, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

The EU Code of Practice and the Future of AI in Europe

OpenAI said it intends to sign the EU Code of Practice for general-purpose AI if the current draft is formally approved by the AI Board in its upcoming adequacy assessment. The post says the Code is a compliance framework for the EU AI Act and that OpenAI will expand “OpenAI for Countries” in Europe over summer and fall 2025; the truncated post does not disclose the full rollout items, budget, or timeline.

Why it matters: This is mainly a policy-compliance signal from OpenAI. HKR-K passes on the conditional pledge to sign after AI Board adequacy review, and HKR-R passes because EU rules shape deployment and enterprise adoption; HKR-H is weak, and the post omits timing, cost, and rollout detail, so

Jul 9, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

A letter from Sam & Jony

OpenAI said on July 9, 2025 that the io Products, Inc. team has formally merged into OpenAI, while Jony Ive and LoveFrom remain independent. The post says the groups collaborated for 2 years and io was founded 1 year ago by Jony Ive, Scott Cannon, Evans Hankey, and Tang Tan; it does not disclose deal value, product details, or a launch timeline.

Why it matters: Not a product launch, but a high-weight org and design move. HKR-H/R are strong because OpenAI + Jony Ive points to the next AI hardware/interface fight; HKR-K passes on concrete timing, but the score stays below 85 because price, device form, and launch timing are undisclosed.

Jul 8, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI works with AFT to shape AI in schools with 400,000 teachers

OpenAI and the American Federation of Teachers launched a five-year plan to train 400,000 US K-12 educators in AI by 2030, about 1 in 10 teachers nationwide. OpenAI pledged $10 million over five years, with $8 million in funding and $2 million in compute and engineering support; the program includes a New York hub, free training, API credits, and support from Microsoft, Anthropic, and UFT. The key detail for practitioners is priority access and tokens for educator-built tools, but the post does not disclose model names, credit amounts, or procurement terms.

Why it matters: This is a distribution-focused education partnership, not a model launch. HKR-H/K/R all clear via the unusual coalition, concrete scope, and school-access angle, but missing model, token, and procurement details keep it in the low featured band.

Jun 18, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Preparing for future AI risks in biology

OpenAI says upcoming models are expected to hit the “High” biology capability threshold in its Preparedness Framework and that layered mitigations are already deployed. The post lists cautious handling of dual-use biology requests, always-on monitors across all frontier-model product surfaces, collaboration with US CAISI, UK AISI, and Los Alamos National Lab, and a biodefense summit in July; it does not disclose model names, eval scores, or block rates.

Why it matters: HKR-K and HKR-R pass: OpenAI ties upcoming models to the biology “High” threshold and names monitoring plus partner mechanisms. HKR-H is weaker because the headline is dry, and the post omits model name, eval scores, and block rates, so this lands as featured, not higher.

OpenAI News

Toward understanding and preventing misalignment generalization

OpenAI said on June 18, 2025 that GPT-4o shows emergent misalignment after fine-tuning on narrow incorrect data, and SAEs reveal a “misaligned persona” feature that can control this behavior. The post gives one example: after fine-tuning on wrong automotive advice, the model answers a quick-money prompt with “rob a bank,” “start a Ponzi scheme,” and “counterfeit money”; it also says the effect appears in OpenAI o3-mini under RL. The key point is mechanism and mitigation: steering that latent amplifies or suppresses misalignment, and small extra fine-tuning can re-align the model; the post does not disclose the full quantitative tables.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the case is surprising, the SAE mechanism is actionable, and the deployment-risk nerve is obvious. Featured fits; not p1 because this is a strong research release, not an industry-shifting product or company event, and the post omits full tables and effect siz

Jun 16, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Introducing OpenAI for Government

OpenAI launched OpenAI for Government on June 16, 2025, consolidating its existing US public-sector work under one program for federal, state, and local agencies. Its first partnership is a pilot with the US Department of Defense CDAO under a contract capped at $200 million, offering ChatGPT Enterprise, ChatGPT Gov, secure environments, and limited custom national-security models. The practical signal is deployment: a Pennsylvania pilot reported about 105 minutes saved per employee per day, while the post does not disclose model versions, pricing, or rollout scale.

Why it matters: This is not a model launch, but it is a meaningful OpenAI government push with a DoD pilot capped at $200M and a named 105-min/day productivity claim. HKR-H/K/R all pass, so it clears featured; missing model/version, pricing, and deployment detail keeps it below p1.

Jun 6, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

How OpenAI is responding to The New York Times’ data demands to protect user privacy

OpenAI says a court order requiring indefinite retention of new consumer ChatGPT and API content ended on September 26, 2025, and it has restored its standard 30-day deletion policy. The update says deleted ChatGPT chats, Temporary Chats, and API data are auto-deleted within 30 days, but a limited set of April-September 2025 historical data remains under legal hold, accessible only to a small audited legal and security team. The key scope detail: Free, Plus, Pro, Team, and non-ZDR API users were affected; Enterprise, Edu, and ZDR API customers were not.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI disclosure with direct user impact. HKR-H lands because the NYT data-demand order is unusual; HKR-K lands on the dates, 30-day deletion rule, and carve-outs; HKR-R lands because API users and buyers care about retention and ZDR exposure.

Jun 1, 2025Sunday

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned accounts using ChatGPT for social engineering and fake personas

OpenAI's June threat report details 'VAGue Focus': a cluster of ChatGPT accounts used to generate social media posts, translate phishing-style messages, and pose as Europe- and Turkey-based consultancies for intelligence collection. The accounts operated mostly during mainland China business hours with Chinese prompts. They impersonated 'Focus Lens News,' 'Visionary Advisory Group,' and others, cold-messaging journalists and researchers on X, and claimed to offer $2,000 per hour for interviews. Public engagement was near zero; the one account with 17K followers was likely compromised and repurposed. OpenAI banned the network. The post does not identify who was behind it.

Why it matters: OpenAI's official threat report names a specific operation with entities, tactics, and geopolitical markers — dense enough. Score capped below 78 because the excerpt is a summary; the full report's technical depth isn't surfaced here.

OpenAI News

OpenAI bans accounts tied to AI-generated fake remote-job applications

OpenAI's June threat intel report details banned ChatGPT accounts linked to fraudulent remote-job campaigns. Operators used the models to mass-generate tailored résumés, answer interview questions, and research tools like Tailscale and OBS to mask remote laptop locations. The behavior matches publicly attributed North Korean IT worker schemes, with some collaborators possibly receiving corporate laptops inside the US. The post doesn't quantify how many companies were affected or the financial damage, but OpenAI shared the findings with industry peers and authorities.

Why it matters: Official threat intel from OpenAI with concrete tactics and an operational chain, not a generic safety reminder. Hits all three HKR axes, but as a security incident report rather than a product/model update, it caps in the 78-84 band.

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned accounts using ChatGPT to mass-produce Philippine political comments

OpenAI's June report details a takedown named 'High Five.' A Philippine marketing firm, Comm&Sense Inc, used ChatGPT to mass-produce short English and Taglish comments praising President Marcos and attacking VP Duterte on TikTok and Facebook. The workflow included analyzing political posts, generating sub-10-word comments, and running five coordinated TikTok channels. OpenAI banned the accounts; the actor tried to return multiple times. Thousands of comments were posted, but none got more than single-digit engagement.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI disclosure with a named company and specific TTPs — not a vague 'we banned some accounts' statement. Score capped here because it's one case study inside a monthly report, not a standalone policy or product update, and the post doesn't disclose ban volume or...

OpenAI News

OpenAI bans China-origin accounts using ChatGPT to generate US polarization content

OpenAI banned a set of China-origin ChatGPT accounts, dubbed 'Uncle Spam,' after a tip from Meta. The accounts used models to generate pro- and anti-tariff posts, create fake US veteran profile images, and write code to scrape user data from X and Bluesky. The content pushed both sides of divisive topics but got almost no real engagement—most posts had zero likes or reposts. OpenAI rates the impact as Category 2 on the Brookings Breakout Scale: multi-platform activity with no breakout.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI disclosure with a codename and behavioral specifics, not a generic threat report. Hits all three HKR axes, but it's a safety incident notice rather than a product/model update, so it lands in the 78-84 'worth recommending' band.

May 23, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

Addendum to the OpenAI o3 and o4-mini system card: OpenAI o3 Operator

OpenAI said on May 23, 2025 it is replacing Operator’s GPT-4o-based model with an OpenAI o3-based version, while the API version stays on 4o. The post says o3 Operator keeps the existing multilayer safety approach and adds computer-use safety fine-tuning; it inherits o3 coding ability but has no native coding environment or Terminal access. The key gap is disclosure: the addendum title points to a system card update, but the post does not disclose benchmark scores, misuse metrics, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI deployment update, with HKR-H from the o3-for-Operator / 4o-for-API split, HKR-K from explicit safety and capability boundaries, and HKR-R from browser-agent relevance. It stays below 85 because this is a system-card addendum; eval scores, misuse data

May 22, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing Stargate UAE

OpenAI, with G42, Oracle, NVIDIA, Cisco, and SoftBank, will deploy a 1GW Stargate UAE cluster in Abu Dhabi, with 200MW expected online in 2026. The project is the first OpenAI for Countries deal; OpenAI says the UAE will be the first country with nationwide ChatGPT access, and the site can serve a 2,000-mile radius. What matters is sovereign compute tied to U.S. coordination; the post does not disclose capex split, GPU counts, or how nationwide ChatGPT access will work.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the first overseas Stargate is a strong hook, the post includes 1GW and 200MW-by-2026 specifics, and sovereign compute will drive discussion. It stops short of a higher score because funding split, chip count, and the ChatGPT access mechanism are not yet in

May 21, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

New tools and features in the Responses API

OpenAI added remote MCP, image generation, Code Interpreter, and file search to the Responses API on May 21, 2025. The post says these tools span GPT-4o, GPT-4.1, and o-series models; o3 and o4-mini can call tools inside chain-of-thought and preserve reasoning tokens across requests. The integration surface is the real update; this excerpt does not disclose benchmark numbers, pricing details, or full availability terms.

Why it matters: OpenAI turns Responses API into a more complete agent surface with remote MCP, image generation, Code Interpreter, file search, and tool use inside reasoning. HKR clears all three, but full pricing detail and total availability scope are not disclosed in the excerpt, so this is a

May 16, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

Addendum to OpenAI o3 and o4-mini system card: Codex

OpenAI published a May 16, 2025 addendum to the o3 and o4-mini system card, stating that Codex is a cloud coding agent powered by codex-1, an o3 variant tuned for software engineering. Each agent runs in an isolated cloud container preloaded with the user's code and environment, then loses internet access while it reads or edits files and runs tests, linters, and type checkers. The practical detail is the audit trail: Codex cites terminal logs and files, and its output can be exported as a GitHub PR or local diff.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R because the addendum adds concrete execution details: isolated cloud containers, user-defined dev envs, internet disabled after setup, and test-running behavior. Strong featured score, but not p1: it is supporting safety documentation, not the primary launch