Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

1481–1500 of 1,549

Feb 1, 2025Saturday

OpenAI News

OpenAI bans China-linked accounts that used ChatGPT to plant anti-US articles in Latin American media

OpenAI banned ChatGPT accounts likely tied to China that generated English posts attacking dissident Cai Xia and Spanish-language articles criticizing the US. The Spanish articles appeared on news sites in Peru, Mexico, and Ecuador, some labeled as sponsored content, with bylines pointing to a Jilin-based company. OpenAI says this is the first observed case of a China-origin influence operation successfully placing long-form articles in Latin American mainstream media, rating it Category 4 on the Breakout Scale. Social media engagement was minimal; the paid articles may have reached a wider audience.

Why it matters: OpenAI's official disclosure names a real company and provides operational details, denser than routine transparency reports. Score capped because this is a Feb 2025 re-run—would be 82-84 if fresh.

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned a Cambodia-based cluster using ChatGPT for pig-butchering scams

OpenAI banned a cluster of ChatGPT accounts originating in Cambodia that were used to translate and generate romance-investment scam conversations in Japanese, Chinese, and English. The scammers targeted men over 40 on Facebook, X, and Instagram using stolen influencer photos, then moved chats to LINE or WhatsApp within days. OpenAI reconstructed a six-step workflow from public engagement to fraudulent investment, noting the actors provided the model with detailed fake personas and used it mainly for translation and flirty replies.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI threat intel case study reconstructing a Cambodia-based scam ring's full AI-assisted pig-butchering pipeline, with concrete victim profiles and platform paths. The ding is that this is a Feb 2025 report — timeliness takes a hit — and it's a security ops disc...

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned China-linked accounts using ChatGPT for surveillance-tool pitches and document analysis

OpenAI disclosed in Feb 2025 that it banned a cluster of ChatGPT accounts likely from China, dubbed “Peer Review.” The operators used the models to analyze English document screenshots, draft sales pitches for a “Qianyue Overseas Public Opinion AI Assistant,” and debug related code. The tool claimed to scrape X, Facebook, and other platforms to spot China-related protest calls and report them. Code debugging primarily invoked Meta’s Llama 3.1 8B, with references to Alibaba’s Qwen and an unspecified DeepSeek model. OpenAI found no evidence the generated content was posted publicly and said impact assessment requires input from other model providers.

Why it matters: Official threat intel from OpenAI with a named operation and adversary TTPs — solid policy/safety crossover. Downside: it's a Feb 2025 re-run with no new angle, and it's a single-source narrative without third-party corroboration.

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned accounts using AI to fake job applicants and land remote roles

OpenAI disclosed in a February 2025 threat report that it banned dozens of accounts tied to a deceptive employment scheme. The accounts used its models to generate fake résumés, fake references, and real-time interview answers to land remote jobs at Western companies. The tactics match what Microsoft and Google previously attributed to North Korean IT-worker fraud, though OpenAI says it cannot confirm the actors' locations or nationalities. Once hired, they kept using the models for coding tasks and to invent cover stories for skipping video calls.

Why it matters: OpenAI's own threat intel report details account bans tied to a deceptive hiring scheme—fake resumes, real-time interview cheating, and post-hire cover stories—with links to DPRK IT worker activity. It's a first-party enforcement action with concrete TTPs, not a generic safety...

Jan 31, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

OpenAI o3-mini

OpenAI released o3-mini on Jan 31, 2025 across ChatGPT and the API, raising Plus and Team limits from 50 to 150 messages per day versus o1-mini. The post confirms function calling, Structured Outputs, developer messages, streaming, and low/medium/high reasoning effort, but no vision; API access starts with usage tiers 3-5, and Enterprise arrives in February. The key signal is cost-performance: testers preferred o3-mini over o1-mini 56% of the time, with 39% fewer major errors on hard real-world questions; the page references Codeforces and other evals, but the provided body is truncated so not all scores are disclosed.

Why it matters: OpenAI o3-mini is a same-day, official model release, so it lands in the must-write band. HKR-H/K/R all pass: new model hook, concrete usage and benchmark deltas, and clear relevance to cost-sensitive coding and reasoning workflows.

OpenAI News

OpenAI o3-mini System Card

OpenAI rates o3-mini's post-mitigation overall risk as Medium, with Medium in CBRN, persuasion, and model autonomy, and Low in cybersecurity. The post says o3-mini is the first model to hit Medium on model autonomy due to stronger coding and research-engineering performance, but it does not disclose benchmark scores and says its real-world ML self-improvement capability is still below High. The key policy gate is explicit: deployment requires Medium or below, and further development allows High or below.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI system card, not routine promo copy. HKR-H/K/R all pass: it discloses o3-mini's Medium post-mitigation risk, a Medium autonomy rating, and explicit deploy/develop gates. The missing benchmark scores keep it below a major model-release tier, so it fits 8

Jan 30, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Strengthening America’s AI leadership with the U.S. National Laboratories

OpenAI said on January 30, 2025 it signed an agreement with the U.S. National Laboratories to deploy o1 or another o-series model on Venado, an NVIDIA supercomputer at Los Alamos, for a system that includes about 15,000 scientists. The resource will be shared across Los Alamos, Lawrence Livermore, and Sandia for science, cybersecurity, energy, and nuclear-security work; the key detail is that nuclear and broader CBRN use cases will receive selective review and safety consultation from OpenAI researchers with security clearances.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the national-lab + nuclear-review angle is clickable, and the post adds concrete facts—15,000 scientists, Venado, three labs, and selective CBRN review. Not P1 because this is a partnership deployment, not a new model release or major capability jump.

Jan 28, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing ChatGPT Gov

OpenAI launched ChatGPT Gov on January 28, 2025 for U.S. agencies to deploy in Microsoft Azure commercial or Azure Government cloud with access to models including GPT-4o. The post lists file upload, shared chats, custom GPTs, and an admin console, and ties the setup to IL5, CJIS, ITAR, and FedRAMP High requirements. The signal is adoption: since 2024, 90,000+ users across 3,500+ U.S. agencies have sent 18 million+ messages.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the Gov-specific SKU is a real hook, and the post includes hard numbers plus compliance targets. Strong featured rather than p1 because this is a packaging/deployment launch with adoption proof, not a major frontier-model capability jump.

Jan 23, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Operator System Card

OpenAI published the Operator System Card on Jan 23, 2025 and said its Computer-Using Agent can be deployed only if its post-mitigation score is Medium or lower. The card rates CBRN, cybersecurity, and model autonomy as Low, and persuasion as Medium; it highlights harmful tasks, model mistakes, and prompt injection. The key mechanism is human confirmation plus task refusal: critical steps like financial transactions, emails, and calendar deletion need approval, while stock trading is fully restricted.

OpenAI News

Computer-Using Agent

OpenAI released a research preview of Computer-Using Agent on Jan 23, 2025, and is exposing it first through Operator to U.S. ChatGPT Pro users. The model combines GPT-4o vision with RL-based reasoning and acts through screenshots, a mouse, and a keyboard; it scored 38.1% on OSWorld, 58.1% on WebArena, and 87.0% on WebVoyager. The key point is API-free GUI control, while sensitive actions still require user confirmation.

Why it matters: This is a same-day OpenAI agent release: CUA powers Operator and ships first to US ChatGPT Pro users. HKR-H/K/R all pass because the GUI-control hook is novel, the post gives mechanism plus 38.1/58.1/87.0 benchmarks, and it raises concrete autonomy and safety questions.

OpenAI News

Introducing Operator

OpenAI released Operator on Jan 23, 2025 as a research preview for U.S. Pro users; it uses its own browser to click, type, and scroll through web tasks. It runs on Computer-Using Agent, combining GPT-4o vision with RL-based reasoning; the post says it sets SOTA on WebArena and WebVoyager but does not disclose scores. The key boundary is control: login, payment, and CAPTCHA flows hand control back to users, and a July 17 update says it was folded into ChatGPT agent.

Why it matters: OpenAI's Operator is a same-day, must-write product release: a browser-using agent moves ChatGPT from answering to acting. HKR-H/K/R all pass; the post gives the own-browser setup, GPT-4o+RL, and user handoff for login/payments, but US Pro limits and missing benchmark scores keep

Jan 22, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Trading Inference-Time Compute for Adversarial Robustness

OpenAI reports that o1-preview and o1-mini often drive adversarial attack success rates close to zero as inference-time compute increases. The paper tests math tasks, SimpleQA prompt injection, Attack Bard images, and StrongREJECT misuse prompts; it labels the result as preliminary, and the truncated post does not fully disclose all failure cases. The key point is that this gain comes from longer reasoning at inference, not adversarial training.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the hook is counterintuitive, the paper proposes a concrete mechanism, and it lands on a real safety/deployment nerve. I kept it at 82, not p1, because the post frames this as initial evidence and the excerpt does not fully disclose failure modes, cost tradeoffs

Jan 21, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Announcing The Stargate Project

OpenAI, SoftBank, Oracle, and MGX launched Stargate, a new company planning to invest $500 billion over four years in US AI infrastructure for OpenAI, with $100 billion deployed immediately. SoftBank handles financing, OpenAI handles operations, and Masayoshi Son is chairman; buildout has started in Texas with Arm, Microsoft, NVIDIA, and Oracle as initial technology partners. The key signal is compute supply and control structure, not the headline rhetoric.

Why it matters: This is far above a routine partnership story: OpenAI is tying itself to a $500B, four-year infrastructure buildout with $100B to deploy immediately. HKR-H/K/R all pass because the scale is surprising, the post gives concrete capital and governance details, and the story lands on

Jan 15, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Partnering with Axios expands OpenAI’s work with the news industry

OpenAI announced a content partnership with Axios and funding to expand Axios Local into 4 U.S. cities. OpenAI says it now works with nearly 20 media organizations, covering 160+ outlets, hundreds of brands, and 20+ languages. ChatGPT Search shows select summaries, excerpts, citations, and source links from partners; the post does not disclose deal value or Axios-specific technical terms.

Why it matters: This passes HKR-K and HKR-R: OpenAI gives concrete scope numbers and a specific Search distribution mechanism. It stays near the featured floor because the post is still partnership PR, and the grant size plus technical terms are not disclosed.

Jan 14, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Adebayo Ogunlesi joins OpenAI's Board of Directors

OpenAI said on January 14, 2025 that Adebayo Ogunlesi joined its Board of Directors. The post identifies him as GIP's founding partner, chairman and CEO, and a senior managing director at BlackRock; OpenAI says the appointment adds infrastructure, finance, and market strategy experience to board oversight.

Why it matters: This is a high-attention personnel move: OpenAI added Adebayo Ogunlesi to its board, which carries real governance interest. HKR-H and HKR-R pass, but HKR-K is weaker because the company post gives bio details only, not board remit or structural changes, so it fits the 72–77 band

Jan 13, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI’s Economic Blueprint

OpenAI published its Economic Blueprint on January 13, 2025, arguing the US should use nationwide AI rules and invest in chips, data, energy, and talent. The post cites $175 billion in global funds waiting for AI projects and says OpenAI will launch its Innovating for America effort at a January 30 event in Washington, DC. The real signal is policy, not product: it argues against state-by-state regulation, and the February 20 update only says it added federal AI workforce proposals.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI policy memo, not a product launch. HKR-K comes from the $175B investment figure and a clear federal-over-state regulatory stance; HKR-R comes from chips, energy, talent, and regulatory pressure points. HKR-H is weaker, so it lands near the featured floo

Dec 27, 2024Friday

OpenAI News

Why OpenAI’s structure must evolve to advance our mission

OpenAI says its board is evaluating changes to its nonprofit/for-profit structure, after estimating in 2019 that AGI would require about $10B. The post cites ChatGPT’s 300M+ weekly users and $137M in 2015 donations, but the specific final structure under consideration is not fully disclosed in the provided text. The key signal is financing pressure: OpenAI says investors at this scale want more conventional equity.

Dec 20, 2024Friday

OpenAI News

Deliberative alignment: reasoning enables safer language models

OpenAI published deliberative alignment on Dec 20, 2024, training o-series models to reason over written safety specs before answering. The post says o1 uses this method and needs no human-labeled CoT or answers; it says o1 beats GPT-4o on internal and external safety benchmarks, but the post does not disclose exact scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the angle is novel, the mechanism is concrete, and the topic hits a live industry debate on reasoning-model safety. I keep it at 83 because the post excerpt does not disclose key benchmark scores, so it stays in the high-quality research band, not must-write.

Dec 17, 2024Tuesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI o1 and new tools for developers

OpenAI released o1 in the API, updated the Realtime API, added Preference Fine-Tuning, and shipped beta Go/Java SDKs; o1 is rolling out first to usage tier 5 developers. Disclosed details include 60% fewer reasoning tokens than o1-preview on average, and a 60% GPT-4o audio price cut in Realtime API to $40/1M input and $80/1M output tokens. The key shift is production support for function calling, Structured Outputs, developer messages, vision, and a reasoning_effort parameter; the post is truncated, so some GPT-4o mini realtime pricing details are not disclosed here.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI developer release: o1 reaches the API with function calling, Structured Outputs, vision, and developer messages, which materially improves production readiness. HKR-H/K/R all pass; the excerpt includes concrete token and pricing data, but later GPT-4o

Dec 13, 2024Friday

OpenAI News

Elon Musk wanted an OpenAI for-profit

OpenAI said on December 13, 2024 that Elon Musk pushed in 2017 to convert OpenAI into a for-profit and sought majority equity, absolute control, and the CEO role. The post includes a timeline and email excerpts, saying Musk formed “Open Artificial Intelligence Technologies, Inc.” on September 15, 2017, and that OpenAI rejected those terms. The real signal is the capital logic: the post says the team concluded in 2017 that AGI would need billions in compute, with Ilya Sutskever referencing hardware spend below $10B.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the headline has a real reversal, and the post adds specific 2017 control demands plus concrete compute-cost claims. It stays at 80 because this is a one-sided OpenAI legal narrative, not an independently verified product or research release.