Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

961–980 of 1,549

May 22Friday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

ChatGPT now supports creating and editing presentations directly in PowerPoint

ChatGPT is testing PowerPoint support for creating and editing presentations directly, including building, updating, understanding, and refining editable slides; the post does not disclose pricing, rollout scope, or availability conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI shows ChatGPT creating and editing editable PowerPoint slides. Pricing, rollout scope, and enterprise controls are not disclosed, so this stays featured rather than P1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Codex Enables Secure Cross-Device Mac Control Around the Clock

OpenAI Devs says Codex can use apps on a Mac from a phone while the Mac remains locked and the screen is off; the post does not disclose permission boundaries, pricing, or a release timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI Devs disclosed a concrete Codex Mac-control condition. Missing permission boundaries, pricing, and launch timing keep it below the 85+ band.

Bloomberg Technology

SpaceX Files for Nasdaq IPO | Bloomberg Tech 5/21/2026

Bloomberg says SpaceX filed for a Nasdaq IPO and pitched a $28.5 trillion opportunity spanning AI to Mars; the snippet also says OpenAI is preparing an IPO filing that could arrive as soon as Friday.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: an OpenAI IPO filing as soon as Friday is a high-impact finance node from Bloomberg. The lead is still SpaceX, and OpenAI valuation, deal size, and filing link are not disclosed, so this lands at 88.

May 21Thursday

MIT Technology Review · AI

Anthropic’s Code with Claude Showed Off Coding’s Future—Whether You Like It or Not

Anthropic used its two-day Code with Claude event in London to show Claude Code automation, with nearly half the room saying they shipped a pull request fully written by Claude in the past week, and many keeping their hands raised when asked whether they had shipped it without reading the code.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the MIT Tech Review piece has a strong Claude Code hook, a concrete developer-behavior number, and clear resonance for programmers. It is not a model release or major product launch, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

The Verge · AI

Musk v. Altman: Much Ado About Nothing

The jury found Elon Musk’s lawsuit was filed after the statute of limitations had expired, while the case centered on OpenAI’s shift from nonprofit to for-profit status and whether Musk lost money; the post does not disclose damages awarded or next legal steps.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI-Musk-Altman feud has drama, a concrete time-bar ruling, and governance resonance. Thin facts on damages or next legal moves keep it in low featured, not 78+.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Anthropic Acquires SDK Toolmaker Stainless, Leaving OpenAI and Others to Maintain SDKs

Anthropic has completed its acquisition of Stainless, an SDK generation company used by OpenAI, Anthropic, Meta, Cloudflare, and other infrastructure vendors; Stainless says prior SDK ownership remains with customers, but it will shut down hosted products including SDK generator and stop providing ongoing support.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the deal targets API SDK generation, names OpenAI/Meta/Cloudflare as customers, and says hosted products will shut down. Anthropic bump applies, but this is not a model or core capability release, so it fits 78–84.

Latent Space

OpenAI GPT-next Disproves 80-Year-Old Erdős Planar Unit Distance Problem for Under $1000

OpenAI said an internal general-purpose reasoning model disproved the 1946 Erdős planar unit distance problem by finding a new family of constructions; the reasoning summary reportedly spans about 125 pages, while outside observers speculate the run used under 32 hours or under $1,000.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: an OpenAI internal reasoning model allegedly refuting the 1946 Erdős problem with ~125 pages is a major capability signal. Cost and runtime are still external estimates, keeping it below 95.

Synced · WeChat

Zhipu deploys ZCube, raising inference throughput 15% on the same GPUs

Zhipu deployed ZCube in a thousand-GPU GLM-5.1 production inference cluster, replacing ROFT while keeping GPUs, software stack, and business code unchanged; throughput rose by over 15%, TTFT P99 fell 40.6%, and switch plus optical module costs dropped by one third.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Zhipu reports ZCube in a GLM-5.1 1k-GPU production inference cluster with +15% throughput and 40.6% lower TTFT P99. Single-source infra optimization keeps it below major model-release weight.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI to Confidentially File for IPO as Soon as Friday

The title says OpenAI will confidentially file for an IPO as soon as Friday; the RSS body only includes the CNBC URL, Hacker News with 41 points and 2 comments, and does not disclose valuation, offering size, or listing timetable.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: an imminent OpenAI confidential IPO filing is a top-band foundation-model-company IPO event. The post is thin and lacks valuation or raise size, but the stated timing keeps it P1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI Model Independently Solves 80-Year-Old Math Problem

An OpenAI AI model solved the plane unit distance problem proposed in 1946, using Golod-Shafarevich theory to produce a family of more efficient constructions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the item is only an X summary and lacks model name, paper link, reproducibility, and third-party verification. Strong OpenAI reasoning-research signal, kept below P1.

Financial Times · Technology

Anthropic on Track for First Profitable Quarter

Anthropic is on track to record its first profitable quarter ahead of OpenAI and xAI; the RSS snippet does not disclose the quarter, revenue, profit figure, or accounting basis.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the FT claim reframes Anthropic’s business race against OpenAI and xAI. Missing quarter, revenue, and profit figures keeps it below P1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI may file draft IPO prospectus as soon as Friday, targeting September 2026 listing

OpenAI expects to file a draft IPO prospectus as soon as Friday, with Sam Altman setting a September 2026 listing target and the company carrying a private valuation above $850 billion.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: an OpenAI draft IPO filing with a $850B+ valuation and September target is a must-write capital-markets story. It stays below the top band because this is still a single-source expected filing, not the filed prospectus.

r/LocalLLaMA

HalBench: Custom sycophancy and hallucination benchmark tests 4 frontier models

HalBench tested 4 frontier models on 3,200 false-premise prompts, with Sonnet 4.6 ranking first at a 0.565 mean score and Gemini 3.1 Pro last at 0.339; higher scores mean the model more often named the false premise and pushed back instead of complying.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: HalBench has a clear custom-eval hook, 3,200 prompts with scores, and a live trust/safety angle. Single Reddit sourcing and an unvalidated benchmark keep it at the low featured band.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI claims it solved an 80-year-old math problem — for real this time

OpenAI says its reasoning model disproved a geometry conjecture unsolved since 1946, and the snippet says mathematicians who challenged its previous claim now back it; the post does not disclose the model name, proof details, or verification process.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI plus an 80-year geometry conjecture is a strong, testable reasoning claim. Missing model name, proof details, and validation flow keep it below P1.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI barrels toward IPO that may happen in September

OpenAI resumed IPO preparations one day after Elon Musk lost a lawsuit targeting its structure, leadership, and finances; the headline says the IPO may happen in September, but the post does not disclose valuation, underwriters, or filing timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI IPO timing claim is urgent, concrete enough, and highly resonant. No hard exclusion, but missing valuation, banks, and filing details keeps it below the 95+ actual-IPO band.

Financial Times · Technology

OpenAI readies IPO filing to list as soon as September

OpenAI is preparing an IPO filing for a listing as soon as September with a target valuation of $1 trillion; the post names Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, and Cooley but does not disclose filing terms or exchange details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: FT reports OpenAI may file as soon as September, targeting a $1T valuation with named advisers. A foundation-model IPO filing is top-band AI industry news, even before the formal submission.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

ChatGPT mobile app adds Codex support for cross-device collaboration

OpenAI Devs says the ChatGPT mobile app now supports Codex, letting users ask questions on mobile and continue the same conversation on desktop; the post does not disclose supported platforms, app versions, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: OpenAI Devs is authoritative and HKR-H/K/R pass, but the post only confirms mobile Codex access and handoff; platform, version, and rollout scope are not disclosed, so it sits at the featured threshold.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI Is Preparing to File for an IPO Soon

The title says OpenAI is preparing to file for an IPO soon; the RSS body only discloses 25 Hacker News points and 5 comments, and the post does not disclose valuation, fundraising size, filing date, or listing timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: WSJ’s claim that OpenAI is preparing an IPO is major, but not yet a filing. Missing valuation, raise size, and timetable keep it in the mid 85–94 band rather than 95+.

May 20Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Masayoshi Son’s $60B+ OpenAI Bet Draws Internal Concern at SoftBank

SoftBank has committed more than $60 billion to OpenAI and holds over 10% without a board seat, while some executives question the risk of concentrating that much capital in one company.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story pairs a >$60B OpenAI bet with no board seat and internal pushback. That makes it same-day material on funding, governance, and concentration risk.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI offers $2 million API investment to every YC startup

OpenAI is offering each startup in Y Combinator’s current batch $2 million in API credits in exchange for equity; the post does not disclose the equity stake, credit expiration, or usage limits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: $2M per current YC startup in API credits for equity is concrete and talkable. Missing equity %, term and usage caps keep it at 78, below the 85+ must-write band.