Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

981–1000 of 1,550

May 20Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI offers $2 million API investment to every YC startup

OpenAI is offering each startup in Y Combinator’s current batch $2 million in API credits in exchange for equity; the post does not disclose the equity stake, credit expiration, or usage limits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: $2M per current YC startup in API credits for equity is concrete and talkable. Missing equity %, term and usage caps keep it at 78, below the 85+ must-write band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Microsoft reportedly warns internally that GitHub faces existential risk as AI coding tools reduce hosting need

Microsoft internally warned that GitHub faces an existential risk from AI coding assistants such as Cursor and Claude Code, and told some teams to stop using Claude Code by the end of June 2026 and move to GitHub Copilot CLI.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle is sharp, the summary gives a Claude Code-to-Copilot CLI deadline, and the workflow stakes are real. Single-source “reported” framing and no Microsoft response keep it below the 85 must-write band.

OpenAI News

An OpenAI model has disproved a central conjecture in discrete geometry

An OpenAI model solved the 80-year-old unit distance problem and disproved a major conjecture in discrete geometry; the post does not disclose the model name, proof mechanism, or reproducibility conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI math result is novel, concrete, and debate-starting. Missing model name, proof mechanism, and reproducibility keep it at 85, not a higher P1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Unsustainable Subsidies

Google, OpenAI, and Anthropic diverged on model pricing: Gemini 3.1 Pro is priced at $2 input and $12 output, GPT-5.5 at $5 and $30 after a short subsidy, and Claude Opus 4.7 stayed at $5 and $25.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is Tom Tunguz commentary on pricing rather than a primary model release. The concrete price spread makes it featured, not must-write.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Gemini 3.5 Flash price rises sharply as Google plans broad rollout

Google released Gemini 3.5 Flash at I/O with $1.50 per million input tokens and $9 per million output tokens, making it 3x and 6x the previous model’s pricing, while adding roughly 1 million input tokens and about 65,000 maximum output tokens.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a Google model update with a sharp pricing twist and concrete token costs. It stays below p1 because the body only gives price and rollout intent, not capability deltas, benchmarks, or context window.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

ChatGPT Image Generation Surpasses 1.5 Billion Uses Per Week

OpenAI says users generate more than 1.5 billion images per week in ChatGPT, and the post discusses new use cases and trends since the release of Images 2.0.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass because OpenAI disclosed a concrete 1.5B-per-week image-generation usage figure. This is a strong adoption signal, but no new capability, pricing, or technical mechanism keeps it in the lower 78–84 band.

Bloomberg Technology

SoftBank Insiders Worry About Masayoshi Son’s Bet on OpenAI

Bloomberg’s Big Take Asia podcast says Masayoshi Son’s OpenAI investment totals $60 billion. The snippet says the bet is raising concerns inside SoftBank. The post does not disclose deal terms, OpenAI valuation, financing structure, closing status, or timetable.

Why it matters: Bloomberg sourcing and the $60B figure clear HKR-H/K/R and make this more than funding chatter. Missing terms, valuation, and timing keep it below the 85+ must-write band.

Bloomberg Technology

SoftBank Founder’s Starstruck Bet on OpenAI Raises Concern

SoftBank has committed more than $60 billion to OpenAI, and some insiders are uneasy about Masayoshi Son’s devotion to Sam Altman; the RSS snippet does not disclose deal terms, deployment timing, or how many insiders raised concerns.

Why it matters: Bloomberg adds a >$60B SoftBank commitment and insider concern, so HKR-H/K/R pass. Terms, timeline, and dissent count are not disclosed, keeping it below p1.

TechCrunch · AI

Elon Musk said Sam Altman ‘stole’ a non-profit — but the trial showed he had similar aims

A jury quickly rejected Elon Musk’s lawsuit against OpenAI’s other founders and Microsoft, and TechCrunch says the courtroom record showed a weak case, including that Musk waited too long to file it.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a Musk/Altman courtroom reversal, a quick jury rejection, and OpenAI nonprofit-governance stakes. It is a strong legal recap, not a product release or corporate restructuring, so it stays in 78-84.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI launches Guaranteed Capacity for long-term compute access

OpenAI launched Guaranteed Capacity, a service for customers to secure long-term access to OpenAI compute and plan critical workloads under capacity constraints; the post does not disclose pricing, contract duration, or quota levels.

Why it matters: HKR-H comes from OpenAI turning compute scarcity into a reserved-capacity product; HKR-K is limited to the product name and planning mechanism, with no price, term, or quota. HKR-R hits production reliability and budgeting, so it clears featured but stays mid-band.

TechCrunch · AI

Agentic app coding gets an upgrade with Google’s release of Android CLI

Google released Android CLI for AI coding agents, letting platforms such as Claude Code and OpenAI Codex build Android apps from the command line; the RSS snippet does not disclose version numbers, release timelines, pricing, or performance data.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body lacks version, timeline, and performance data. Google plus Android plus agentic coding clears the featured line, not the must-write band.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI is making it easier to check if an image was made by its models

OpenAI announced two measures for detecting AI-generated images: it joined the open C2PA standard and added Google’s SynthID to its products. The RSS snippet does not disclose which OpenAI products include SynthID, whether the checks cover legacy images, or when the measures become available to users.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI-Google provenance tie-up is clickable, and C2PA plus SynthID are concrete mechanisms. Coverage, launch timing, and verification flow are not disclosed, so this stays at the featured threshold.

May 19Tuesday

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI co-founder Andrej Karpathy joins Anthropic’s pre-training team

Andrej Karpathy joined Anthropic’s pre-training team, which runs large-scale training for Claude’s core knowledge and capabilities; the RSS snippet does not disclose his title, reporting line, or start date.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Karpathy’s OpenAI identity, Anthropic pre-training role, and Claude-scale training work make this a same-day talent-war story, even though level, reporting line, and start date are undisclosed.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Former OpenAI core member Andrej Karpathy chooses Anthropic to return to frontier LLM research

Andrej Karpathy has joined Anthropic to return to frontline LLM research; the post identifies him as a former OpenAI core team member and Tesla Autopilot architect, but does not disclose his team, title, or specific research projects.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Karpathy joining Anthropic is a high-signal personnel move in frontier labs. Team, title, and project are undisclosed, so the score stays at the low end of the 85 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Membrane launches single-skill API integration for AI agents

Membrane launched a universal skill that lets Claude Code, ChatGPT, and Cursor call more than 100,000 APIs with one instruction, covering services from Stripe payments to NASA Mars rover data.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: one skill for 100K+ APIs is a strong agent-tooling hook. Source is a social post summary with no pricing, auth model, safety boundary, or live case, so this stays in the mid-weight product-update band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Former executive says Microsoft’s AI strategy faltered, with Copilot paid usage below 3%

Former Microsoft executive Matt Veloso said Microsoft generated about $30 billion from its AI partnership between 2023 and 2025, while related costs reached $100 billion; he also said actual usage among paid Copilot users is below 3%.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a former executive gives concrete Microsoft AI cost, revenue, and Copilot usage numbers. Kept at 80 because this is a single former-exec claim, not an official Microsoft disclosure.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Advancing content provenance for a safer, more transparent AI ecosystem

OpenAI launched an AI content provenance system that combines Content Credentials and SynthID with a verification tool; the post does not disclose supported media formats, rollout scope, or detection accuracy.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the OpenAI provenance stack has a concrete cross-standard mechanism and trust/compliance relevance. Missing format coverage, rollout scope, and accuracy keep it in the low featured band.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

AI startup annualized revenue hits $80B, with OpenAI and Anthropic taking 89%

The Information says 34 leading AI startups reached about $80 billion in annualized revenue, with OpenAI and Anthropic taking 89%, while Anthropic exceeded $30 billion in April 2026 and surpassed OpenAI’s reported $25 billion.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story has a sharp Anthropic-vs-OpenAI hook, concrete revenue-concentration numbers, and startup-economics resonance. It is secondary financial reporting, not a model release, so it stays in 78–84.

New York Times Chinese

Musk Loses the “AI Trial of the Century”; What Comes Next?

A federal jury in Oakland ended Elon Musk’s three-week case against OpenAI and Sam Altman by ruling that the statute of limitations had expired, while Musk said he would appeal to the Ninth Circuit.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the names, verdict, and legal mechanism are strong. The body gives duration and statute-limit grounds, but no direct impact on OpenAI’s structure or financing, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Why spend hundreds of millions acquiring open-source AI infra?

Anthropic acquired Bun, Vercept, Coefficient Bio, and Stainless within six months, while OpenAI acquired Astral; the post does not disclose deal values, terms, or the cost comparison against forking the open-source projects.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the counterintuitive title, five named acquisitions, and open-source infra capture anxiety create signal. Missing prices, terms, and fork-cost evidence keep it in the lower featured band.